Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 19, 2004
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 247 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
52
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ReviewCriticDec 29, 2011
Definitely not as bad as the critics make it out to be, but National Treasure's storyline is very preposterous. The acting is O.K., and I'd say so is the movie. The history is terrible, however.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeFeb 20, 2014
National Treasure is an enormous flawless movie, and it's very entertaining and exiting.

The opening scene in National Treasure is completely super, and I really enjoyed the historical references in this wonderful movie. The story might be
National Treasure is an enormous flawless movie, and it's very entertaining and exiting.

The opening scene in National Treasure is completely super, and I really enjoyed the historical references in this wonderful movie. The story might be one of the best ever made, and combined with the enormous well played actors, couldn't this movie be more awesome as it is. National Treasure is an exiting movie that keeps me entertained, and it's also funny. The amount of action in National Treasure is the greatest thing about this movie, because it's so fascinating and entertaining. Another thing that's great about this movie is the music, it's so damn good! The ending in National Treasure is wonderful, and the movie overall never felt boring at any time, which is why I'm giving National treasure a 9/10.

National Treasure gets a 9/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JustinC.May 6, 2005
I thought this movie was great. It was the best Disney movie I've seen in a while. The whole movie was filled with adventure and I thought when they were stealing the declaration of independence it was very,very clever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kylonb.Jun 20, 2005
The movie was so great!! it always made me confused, it was like the next generation of indiana jones.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ErraticCommunistJan 31, 2008
A light-hearted film with a great plot, which when combined with its revenue becomes another example of "Don't trust the critics". But judging by the "average rating" I guess that any film that doesn't have end of the world scenes A light-hearted film with a great plot, which when combined with its revenue becomes another example of "Don't trust the critics". But judging by the "average rating" I guess that any film that doesn't have end of the world scenes or over-the-top violence in it is deemed inferior today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LordOFlibertYJan 21, 2012
I'm not sure if my dvd of National Treasure was the same as the critics but I thought this movie was fantastic. Sure there was some faults here and there but personally I'd rank this on my top 5 N. Cage movies. I thought Sean Bean was greatI'm not sure if my dvd of National Treasure was the same as the critics but I thought this movie was fantastic. Sure there was some faults here and there but personally I'd rank this on my top 5 N. Cage movies. I thought Sean Bean was great in this film and people that don't like it is probably because they already know about American History so they know that a low of stuff in the movie is BS but I didn't know much about the Founding Fathers etc so I guess I understood it more on a movie persperctive Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CRLJul 30, 2011
This is definitely one the critics just couldn't understand. National Treasure was a fantastic movie, especially for a history geek like me. Nicolas Cage isn't quite as crazy, Diane Kruger is surprisingly good, and Justin Bartha makes oneThis is definitely one the critics just couldn't understand. National Treasure was a fantastic movie, especially for a history geek like me. Nicolas Cage isn't quite as crazy, Diane Kruger is surprisingly good, and Justin Bartha makes one of the greatest comic reliefs in Riley I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
hoops2448Jan 26, 2012
National Treasure is Disney's attempt at Indiana Jones and for the most part it works. The films are entertaining in the fact they are simplistic and yet well constructed. National Treasure revolves around Ben Gates (Benjamin Franklin GatesNational Treasure is Disney's attempt at Indiana Jones and for the most part it works. The films are entertaining in the fact they are simplistic and yet well constructed. National Treasure revolves around Ben Gates (Benjamin Franklin Gates if you want to emphasise a stupid plot device) as he travels the US looking for clues leading to a treasure of unimaginable wealth with the assistance of Tech Wizz Riley Poole, Art Restorer Abigail Chase (if you didn't know it was a chase movie) and his father Patrick Gates. All the while they are trying to stay ahead of a rival treasure hunter Ian Howe. The film moves from set piece to set piece well with the film never really stopping to relax. This unrelenting pace makes the film thoroughly enjoyable. However they still make it easy to follow making the viewing easygoing which is exactly what is needed from a Disney film. That being said the film seriously embraces cheese both in its script and in some of the action and at times its hard not to notice. However the overall feel is one of lighthearted fun and that is exactly what you will have watching the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysMar 8, 2014
National Treasure is an intriguing adventure film with an interesting premise and carefully plotted clues about America's biggest secrets. Nicolas Cage is great as Ben Gates, and this is one of his best roles.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GorgJul 18, 2009
Fantastic movie. Screw the critics.
5 of 7 users found this helpful
10
libnoSep 10, 2010
The critics have this all wrong. National Treasure was one of the best movies ever. P.S. There are like 50 guys who gave this a N/A score but said they loved it. What's up with that?
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
ScottB.Jan 5, 2007
The worst movie script I have ever seen, surpassing even Star Wars Episode III, and that's saying alot.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
OzyApr 2, 2014
Im shocked at the critics review of this movie. I specifically joined to put my 2cents against them. One of my all time favourites. National Treasure has had a lasting affect on me. I've never met anyone who didn't like it. If you're into aIm shocked at the critics review of this movie. I specifically joined to put my 2cents against them. One of my all time favourites. National Treasure has had a lasting affect on me. I've never met anyone who didn't like it. If you're into a mission impossible style movie this is a must watch. It has action adventure comedy romance and a happy ending, what else could you want in a feel good movie! It had fantastic twists all throughout, in particular the end. Its not the pianist or shindlers list- not all movies are like this nor would we want them all to be. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
JakeS.May 9, 2005
It was good, but i had no point and was hard to follow for it being a disney movie. if Disney wanted to make that kind of movie, they should have made it better and more like Pirates of the Carrabean .
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KateB.Aug 26, 2006
This wasn't good and it wasn't awful, but it was pretty bad. It was all running and chasing and goodies outwitting baddies etc etc. All the conventional stuff. Plus, on the DVD animatic they have blatantly stolen the Pirates of the This wasn't good and it wasn't awful, but it was pretty bad. It was all running and chasing and goodies outwitting baddies etc etc. All the conventional stuff. Plus, on the DVD animatic they have blatantly stolen the Pirates of the Caribbean Soundtrack. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrittMay 13, 2005
I loved the movie, it had a great plot although some of the history was wrong. Justin Bartha i loved! He was so funny! It wasn't supposed to be like any other movie, it wanted you to believe that there could have been a map on the I loved the movie, it had a great plot although some of the history was wrong. Justin Bartha i loved! He was so funny! It wasn't supposed to be like any other movie, it wanted you to believe that there could have been a map on the Declaration. It was made to be believable. I thought it was awesome and it made my list of fav. movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisR.May 7, 2005
National Treasure: Benjamin Franklin Gates (Nicolas Cage) searches for a great treasure that was accumulated over centuries and eventually came into the hands of our Founding Fathers during the Revolutionary War; they hid it from the British National Treasure: Benjamin Franklin Gates (Nicolas Cage) searches for a great treasure that was accumulated over centuries and eventually came into the hands of our Founding Fathers during the Revolutionary War; they hid it from the British and then left clues as to its exact location in such places as on the back of the Declaration of Independence. Gates and his side-kick Riley Poole (Justin Bartha) pick up ally Abigail Chase (Diane Kruger) along the way as they try to beat rival Shaw (David Fisher) to the treasure trove, solving 200 year old riddles. If you liked the Indian Jones series or Brandon Fraser's The Mummy, you'll like this movie, although it's not quite their equal. A fun action-adventure flick that includes some mystery and a mixture of history trivia all adds up to an entertaining evening. I give this one an 8.10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GizelaCAug 1, 2005
I LOVED this movie. It is extremely action packed- a second is never wasted, and not a second of this awesome movie failed to keep my interest. It is now one of my favorite movies. National Treasure is like the most exciting roller coaster I LOVED this movie. It is extremely action packed- a second is never wasted, and not a second of this awesome movie failed to keep my interest. It is now one of my favorite movies. National Treasure is like the most exciting roller coaster I've ever been on! I'd give it 100/10 if I could! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FraserW.Jul 15, 2006
Although some of the characters do need some tuning the clues the story the history it was all perfect that has to be one of the best action movies with a meanigful plot that i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VikramM.Nov 20, 2004
National Treasure is in ways like Speed, it is extremely far-fetched but it is an awesome great movie to watch. I saw it yesterday and I loved this movie, I went to see it for the action and the adventure not to see if the plot was real. National Treasure is in ways like Speed, it is extremely far-fetched but it is an awesome great movie to watch. I saw it yesterday and I loved this movie, I went to see it for the action and the adventure not to see if the plot was real. Don't listen to the critics: GREAT MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NunO.Dec 5, 2004
Man, did those reviewers even see the same movie my family and I did? We loved it, especially the friendship between the leads and the sometimes clever dialogue and historical tidbits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaD.Jan 17, 2005
I loved this film. It was exciting and on the edge of your seat stuff. As long as you hadnt watched the trailer, which I hadnt, you would enjoy it. The trailer spoils the film (saw it afterwards). A great feel good film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelO.Jan 29, 2005
I thought this was a well made movie. Nick Cage's acting did remind me of some of his previous movies though. Overall I enjoyed the race through the national landmarks to look for clues. It was sort of a Raiders of the Lost Ark meets I thought this was a well made movie. Nick Cage's acting did remind me of some of his previous movies though. Overall I enjoyed the race through the national landmarks to look for clues. It was sort of a Raiders of the Lost Ark meets Raising Arizona...good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WinnieSJan 9, 2005
I was suprised by the weak critical response to this movie. While there is no doubt that it follows a familiar formula, as a family movie, I found it very entertaining -- and educational, which is a rarity these days. We had great I was suprised by the weak critical response to this movie. While there is no doubt that it follows a familiar formula, as a family movie, I found it very entertaining -- and educational, which is a rarity these days. We had great discussions after the movie and are planning family trips to Washington, DC and Philadelphia to seize the related interest in our real national treasures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkF.Feb 1, 2005
I think this is one of the worst movies I have seen in the last year. I just keep going back to the part where Nicholas Cage actually reads part of the Declaration of Independence. I think that that is some of the cheesiest pandering dialog I think this is one of the worst movies I have seen in the last year. I just keep going back to the part where Nicholas Cage actually reads part of the Declaration of Independence. I think that that is some of the cheesiest pandering dialog I have ever been forced to sit through. I just hate to hear people say it was like Indiana Jones.... No Indiana Jones was fun, with better dialog, better action sequences, a more compelling story, better villains, and by far a better action hero in Harrison Ford. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyK.Mar 23, 2005
It wasn't very realistic, but it was fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelohaS.Mar 4, 2005
The kids and I thought it was a great movie. Fun, intertaning, no nudity, or trashy graphics. Surpreises around every corner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffP.May 11, 2005
Don't usually care much for Cage films but was a decent movie. I would say it was a typical Bruckheimer film. Lot's of cool explosions, cheesy lines, attractive female. If you can manage to let yourself go and not worry about the Don't usually care much for Cage films but was a decent movie. I would say it was a typical Bruckheimer film. Lot's of cool explosions, cheesy lines, attractive female. If you can manage to let yourself go and not worry about the "that-could-never-happen" you will be entertained for a couple hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
groundfisherMay 19, 2005
A fast-paced, fun movie. It does bear some resemblances to the Indy Jones movies (to those of you who pan this movie and laud Indy Jones - you haven't watched Indy Jones recently, which is full of cheesy lines, caricatures and racial A fast-paced, fun movie. It does bear some resemblances to the Indy Jones movies (to those of you who pan this movie and laud Indy Jones - you haven't watched Indy Jones recently, which is full of cheesy lines, caricatures and racial stereotypes. And that's only half the fun!). This is not a movie to be taken seriously. Don't come looking for thoughtful dialogue, brilliant performances or beautiful cinematography. Did you watch Indy Jones with that in mind? Come looking for a fast-paced movie with no lulls, a movie with some cheap thrills and an amusing (and not to be taken seriously!) interpretation of America's foundation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.May 1, 2006
A watered-down Indiana Jones with no lasting lessons, but otherwise good taut entertainment with one foot tip-toeing through our national history, the other firmly bolted down in La-La Land.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanP.Mar 29, 2007
I thought this was a great popcorn flick. Very engrossing and lots of fun. Compare this to the Da Vinci Code movie, where my girlfriend started counting the number times I yawned. Yeah, National Treasure may be a derivative work, but the I thought this was a great popcorn flick. Very engrossing and lots of fun. Compare this to the Da Vinci Code movie, where my girlfriend started counting the number times I yawned. Yeah, National Treasure may be a derivative work, but the plain and simple fact is that it works and Da Vinci Code doesn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Aug 1, 2009
An excellent film. Great acting, action, etc. This movie is very believable and appealing to both adults and kids. I loved it. I will never be able to figure out why so many people hate the film, because I thought it was out standing, unlike An excellent film. Great acting, action, etc. This movie is very believable and appealing to both adults and kids. I loved it. I will never be able to figure out why so many people hate the film, because I thought it was out standing, unlike the sequel. See this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonKNov 18, 2004
Great thrill ride, another Bruckheimer great. Keeps you on the edge of your seat while tickling your history knowledge just a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JayANov 19, 2004
Terrible. Pure entertainment is fine, but they should have assumed that most of the target audience would have passed an elementary history course at least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewHNov 21, 2004
One of the very best mediocre movies I have ever seen (if you know what I mean.) Super fun that appeals to my inner geek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceS.Nov 23, 2004
Great Movie! Better than Indiana Jones!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Nov 29, 2004
I went in with low expectations and was thankfully surprised. There was a lot of unexpected humor, and the story held together much better than trailers revealed. I guess this movie is just one that some people love and others hate. My I went in with low expectations and was thankfully surprised. There was a lot of unexpected humor, and the story held together much better than trailers revealed. I guess this movie is just one that some people love and others hate. My friends and I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ToddA.Dec 12, 2004
Basically, National Treasure is a terrible rip-off of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. The screenplay is beyond over-the-top, the acting is pretty bad, and the majority of the scenes are awfully unrealistic. See this movie if you want Basically, National Treasure is a terrible rip-off of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. The screenplay is beyond over-the-top, the acting is pretty bad, and the majority of the scenes are awfully unrealistic. See this movie if you want some entertainment, but don't expect too much out of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenSDec 18, 2004
I loved this movie!! This is just a fun movie. It was the kind of movie that afterwards, I felt good about spending $9 to go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CrystalDec 21, 2004
A brilliant movie though the plot is somewhat of a cliché. Actors are very much appropriate. Justin Bartha is a great addition, adding the hilarity into the movie, which was lovely. Action wasn?t much but enjoyment level was decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukeFDec 2, 2004
This movie was the same movie it was portayed to be. A fun movie that you don't even realize was only rated PG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryKJan 11, 2005
National Treasure is far from being the big stinker that so many syndicated movie critics say it is. It's ridiculous to be so critical about the credibility of a movie that doesn't pretend to be anything more than a pleasant little National Treasure is far from being the big stinker that so many syndicated movie critics say it is. It's ridiculous to be so critical about the credibility of a movie that doesn't pretend to be anything more than a pleasant little comic book adventure. And the critical remarks about the acting are way off target as well. National Treasure delivers enough action, excitement, suspense, and humor, to keep one entertained from beginning to end. I saw it as a stellar effort by both cast and crew alike to guarantee a fun night at the movies. I certainly had fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
burtonmJan 12, 2005
Sad. I barely finished watching it. Several strong urges to walk out of the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CraigAJan 15, 2005
Throughout this movie I kept trying to like it, telling myself that it was bound to get better as it went along. It didn't. Some particularly bad points: Toward a critical point in the film, the main characters suddenly decide to kiss Throughout this movie I kept trying to like it, telling myself that it was bound to get better as it went along. It didn't. Some particularly bad points: Toward a critical point in the film, the main characters suddenly decide to kiss (as if the director realized he had not included any romance). The female lead's accent comes and goes throughout the movie. And if historic documents are really as easy to steal as the film implies, than our nation's museums are in real trouble. Wait until the DaVince Code movie comes out - don't bother with this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarioS.Jan 17, 2005
I hate to be disapointed in a movie, specialy when the theme of the movie is one of my favorites. This movie is full of clichés and couldn't be more predictable. And not even the plot itself (which became secondary right after I hate to be disapointed in a movie, specialy when the theme of the movie is one of my favorites. This movie is full of clichés and couldn't be more predictable. And not even the plot itself (which became secondary right after the first actions scenes) could save this movie from disgrace... I couldn't believe I was actually watching a Nic Cage movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulC.Jan 19, 2005
Great pace & non-stop action. Admitedly the clue-chasing can't be scrutinised as there are too many flaws. Enjoy the spectacle not the logic. The whole family came out buzzing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OlohijeO.Jan 28, 2005
It's a movie u would watch and go to bed with a smile on your face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
napoleondynamitefanJan 28, 2005
I thought that it was good, but definitaly not as good as napoleon dynamite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jayh.Jan 29, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DSJan 30, 2005
I liked it a lot. It was fun to see all the clues and stuff. It reminded me of the da vinci code, but maybe thats just me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerrickW.Feb 18, 2005
I'm surprised to see this movie with a 39 from the critics. This movie reminded me of two different stories, Indiana Jones and the Robert Langdon character in Dan Brown's novels. While this movie is neither as good as Indiana Jones I'm surprised to see this movie with a 39 from the critics. This movie reminded me of two different stories, Indiana Jones and the Robert Langdon character in Dan Brown's novels. While this movie is neither as good as Indiana Jones or as interesting as The Da Vinci Code or Angels and Demons, it certainly entertains throughout. While it is definately hard to believe the history in the movie, one has to remember that when you go to a movie you must suspend at least a little realism because that is why we are there, to be entertained, not to be shown a real life story. I thought the story was executed well enough to make it enjoyable and worthy of an above average grade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadShiiraMar 14, 2005
None of the clues in "National Treasure" that may or may not lead to a fortune quite reaches the level of stupidity in "End of Days" when Rod Steiger declares that all of Christiandom had been reading the number of the beast upside-down. But None of the clues in "National Treasure" that may or may not lead to a fortune quite reaches the level of stupidity in "End of Days" when Rod Steiger declares that all of Christiandom had been reading the number of the beast upside-down. But what Cage finds on the hundred-dollar bill comes pretty close. Benj Gates is no Indiana Jones, but "National Treasure" is a better "Raiders..." knockoff than "High Road to China" and the 1985 remake of "King Solomon's Mines". There are blatant reminders of "Indiana Jones and the Lost Crusade", but no direct steals. Actually, it would've been fun to see the Declaration of Indpendence put in a real position of jepoardy, in which Benj would have to choose between a piece of paper, or the girl. This is beside the point, but Abigail (Diane Krueger) is the worst federal employee of all-time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamApr 23, 2005
A humorous, intense, and interesting little film with great acting, nice effects, and if the sequel (if released) improves on its flaws, mainly repetion, then there could be a 10 rewarded, but for this one i'll stick with an 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tuggApr 30, 2005
I can't really understand why this movie was panned so badly. At the time I saw it I didn't know it wasn't well accepted, and I thought it was a pretty good flick. No, it's not a movie of consequence; no, it's not a I can't really understand why this movie was panned so badly. At the time I saw it I didn't know it wasn't well accepted, and I thought it was a pretty good flick. No, it's not a movie of consequence; no, it's not a plausable - but it is a good ride, with some interesting plot development. It's great for families. Don't avoid it based on the 39 the critics gave it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidKApr 7, 2005
This movie is wonderful. Fortuneately, the public has voted with their wallets and made the movie a success! How could critics give it a "39". It's fun, wholesome, you get to see historical items, and the acting is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewS.May 13, 2005
Great movie for Tweenagers 10-13 year olds to get excited about American and World History. I found the girl (Abigail Chase) to be the kind of girl my son would bring home and tell me he's going to marry. Nicholas Cage and Jon Voight Great movie for Tweenagers 10-13 year olds to get excited about American and World History. I found the girl (Abigail Chase) to be the kind of girl my son would bring home and tell me he's going to marry. Nicholas Cage and Jon Voight play a great son-father team like Indy Harrison Ford and Sean Connery. I hope to see more clean action films like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ByronW.May 18, 2005
This set-piece thriller injects mind-numbing absurdity into already ridiculously convoluted situations, liberally tosses cliches into the dubious mix and wraps the whole thing in thick illogic, making for a film that is nearly unwatchable. This set-piece thriller injects mind-numbing absurdity into already ridiculously convoluted situations, liberally tosses cliches into the dubious mix and wraps the whole thing in thick illogic, making for a film that is nearly unwatchable. There's more of a thin story line than any cogent plot: a man follows a series of impossibly serpentine clues to a treasure. Although there are a few lines of dialogue that indicate that the writers knew that they were caught in a vortex of mindlessness, they are overwhelmed in the miasma of silliness masquerading as action. The movie might have been saved if it had abandoned all pretense by surrendering itself to comedy like The Mummy (1999), but it held to a serious tone amidst the buffoonery, resulting in a film that should be on everyone's "to skip" list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneD.May 6, 2005
A great movie - - sure, it could never really happen, but it was fun. I wish Hollywood would make more movies like this - - clean (no nudity or sexual innuendos), wholesome, exciting and intriguing. A few kids that I saw it with got really A great movie - - sure, it could never really happen, but it was fun. I wish Hollywood would make more movies like this - - clean (no nudity or sexual innuendos), wholesome, exciting and intriguing. A few kids that I saw it with got really excited about history. They knew the story line was fictional, but it got them interested in our Founding Fathers and what they did for our country - - not a bad effect if you ask me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
oliviaB.Jun 17, 2005
The funniest,educational movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GillesB.Jul 7, 2005
Very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamW.Aug 31, 2005
Yeah it was dumb but it was dumb fun, just like the Da Vinci Code. What, did you think the DaVinci code was genius or something? Come on. It's entertaining, it's fun, a bit silly, and a bit fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.Feb 20, 2006
This is an entertaining movie, which deserves better ratings than it receives on metacritic. Those who criticize the plot as unlikely probably praise movies such as Spiderman and King Kong, so I think they miss the point here. This film fits This is an entertaining movie, which deserves better ratings than it receives on metacritic. Those who criticize the plot as unlikely probably praise movies such as Spiderman and King Kong, so I think they miss the point here. This film fits comfortably into the Indiana Jones style of adventure-comedy-romance genre. It may not be art, or revolutionary, nor challenge the viewer, but it's fun to watch, which is more than I can say for a lot of movies these days. If you like adventure flicks, this one is worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMar 16, 2006
Wow, it's amazing how critics are almost always universally wrong these days. This is a fun, entertaining, and interesting movie. It's thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SageE.Jul 1, 2007
Despite all its references to things and people of great cultural importance to the USA, National Treasure is a popcorn movie. The plot is absurd, as is nearly every plot twist - but it's all done in good fun, and the turns are executed Despite all its references to things and people of great cultural importance to the USA, National Treasure is a popcorn movie. The plot is absurd, as is nearly every plot twist - but it's all done in good fun, and the turns are executed quickly so that you don't dwell on how outlandish the story is. In terms of a plot living off a massive conspiracy theory, it's more entertainingly executed than things like Da Vinci Code or Conspiracy Theory. Just like those movies, if you go to it for an education, you're asking for disappointment. This movie is good for fast-talking drama, mystery by way of adventure, and attractive people following absurd plans in the name of truth. It's just fun; don't look for anything more than that in it, or you'll lose it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackBMay 3, 2008
I watched this film to follow a genre that seems to have been lost in Hollywood over recent years, adventure. Its exactly what I got and i thoroughly enjoyed it. There are probably many things wrong with this film but if you just want to I watched this film to follow a genre that seems to have been lost in Hollywood over recent years, adventure. Its exactly what I got and i thoroughly enjoyed it. There are probably many things wrong with this film but if you just want to relax for a couple of hours and take movie with a pinch of salt, then this film is great. Thoroughly enjoyable plot, good action sequences and a nice enough cast. All good fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CameronS.Nov 17, 2004
GOOD MOVIE! Really enjoyed it. The acting was good, the story is implausible but it was good fun. I really recomend this movie for the entire family. We need more movies like this. GOOD MOVIE! DONT LISTEN TO THE CRITICS WHO BASH IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DevinB.Nov 18, 2004
Flat, laughably contrived, misconcieved, poorly dialogued, anti-intellectual dreck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenS.Nov 18, 2004
This movie is fun from end to end! Its got action, laughs and a very likable cast... right down to the bad guy. Enjoy a movie for a change... go see this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattG.Nov 18, 2004
Did somebody read The Da Vinci Code perhaps? The similarities are striking, but I hope they do a better job when they make TDC into a film. I live in Philadelphia, so it was nice to see my city in National Treasure. But other than that and a Did somebody read The Da Vinci Code perhaps? The similarities are striking, but I hope they do a better job when they make TDC into a film. I live in Philadelphia, so it was nice to see my city in National Treasure. But other than that and a few laughs, there was not too much to this movie. It's not bad, but there are just too many "yeah, right" moments for me to rate it above a 7. It kept my attention, but I think they could have done a better job with the script and the actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveM.Nov 19, 2004
Something should have clicked in my head when Nic Cage actually tried to seriously carry off the line, "The dollar bill is trying to tell me something..."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Alexanderj.Nov 19, 2004
It s a great non realistic view of mysterious beliefs. Not very complicated to follow, and its pretty much open for interpretation on whether you choose to believe or not. Although it doesn't keep you at the edge of your seat, which inIt s a great non realistic view of mysterious beliefs. Not very complicated to follow, and its pretty much open for interpretation on whether you choose to believe or not. Although it doesn't keep you at the edge of your seat, which in my opinion would have made it a little more enjoyable. I was expecting a little more. but you get what you get! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SilvermanNov 19, 2004
Don't listen to the overrated failures as critics that rated this movie low. After this movie ended in the public theater that I watched this movie at, everyone, without exception gave it a standing ovation and gave it a great roaring Don't listen to the overrated failures as critics that rated this movie low. After this movie ended in the public theater that I watched this movie at, everyone, without exception gave it a standing ovation and gave it a great roaring round of applause. Watch this excelent movie, you will surely fall in love with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaB.Nov 21, 2004
This movie was the worst movie I've ever seen. I can't stand Freemasonry~ they brainwash people like my husband for example... This movie sucks. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonE.Nov 20, 2004
I'm glad to vote with my hard earned dollars - not only that but the 3 of us missed the first 5 minutes - sure wish we had'nt - Might even go back and see it again. Great ride !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NMEneNov 22, 2004
If you really want to see Nick Cage, save yourself some money and rent it when it comes out on DVD, or see it at the Dollar theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YanyJ.Nov 22, 2004
Terible!!! Don't spend the money and time on this movie, is not worth it. If there really was a hidden treasure after the revolutionary war, when USA had no money, I am sure they would've found it instead of getting money from Terible!!! Don't spend the money and time on this movie, is not worth it. If there really was a hidden treasure after the revolutionary war, when USA had no money, I am sure they would've found it instead of getting money from France.... Horrible story, horrible acting...Just a bad movie all together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeRNov 24, 2004
What? Better than Indiana Jones? Never. This movie is complete rubbish with too many holes in the plot for a "plot" to even exist
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ShermanJ.Nov 28, 2004
Entertaining, educationally informative, slow at times, but fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyDec 11, 2004
Tremendous entertainment. Only goes to prove that once again the critics have no pulse for the public.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterDec 15, 2004
I went to see four movies this week (Birth, Incredibles, Bridget, and this one, National Treasure). I went to see National Treasure last because it got the worst rating by critics. It turned out to be the best of four. An excellent movie, I went to see four movies this week (Birth, Incredibles, Bridget, and this one, National Treasure). I went to see National Treasure last because it got the worst rating by critics. It turned out to be the best of four. An excellent movie, packed with suspense, good acting, plot, from begining to end. Not a second is lost.Two thumbs down for critics, they missed this one just like they did for Riddick. I heartedly recomment it to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MickeyP.Dec 23, 2004
Cage did it great! As always. The movie is close to factual on many counts regarding Freemasonry and our history! Good for the entire family a plesant surprise after reading some of the critics reviews! They are not always right,especially Cage did it great! As always. The movie is close to factual on many counts regarding Freemasonry and our history! Good for the entire family a plesant surprise after reading some of the critics reviews! They are not always right,especially on this NT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobJ.Dec 9, 2004
Very Good Actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 11, 2005
Every body say "that's a s..." but i like it very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatmNov 19, 2005
I could write a long review, but I'll save us all a lot of trouble. This movie sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyS.Jan 22, 2005
Really Funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveFJun 22, 2005
Really not that bad. Come on people, what do you expect from a Walt Disney, PG rated treasure hunt movie?? For what it is, this movie is clever and fun. Nicholas Cage makes a good Indiana Jones wannabe. Sure, you'll laugh at its Really not that bad. Come on people, what do you expect from a Walt Disney, PG rated treasure hunt movie?? For what it is, this movie is clever and fun. Nicholas Cage makes a good Indiana Jones wannabe. Sure, you'll laugh at its Disneyness...but it's never painful to watch-- just over-the-top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlueFalconSep 12, 2005
It was fun and entertaining throughout. If you liked the rock, or con air, you'll like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilahdM.Sep 15, 2005
I really don't know how this got such bad ratings. My family & I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyH.Jan 24, 2006
Perfect...for the home version of "Mystery Science Theater 3000"...this movie is so bad it is almost laughable...if it were not so flabbergastingly absurd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottN.Nov 23, 2007
39/100 for National Treasure? All I can say is WOW, I don't know what movie critics are looking at when watching a film. National Treasure was well-paced with with the right amount of humor and action, and a satisfying payoff when 39/100 for National Treasure? All I can say is WOW, I don't know what movie critics are looking at when watching a film. National Treasure was well-paced with with the right amount of humor and action, and a satisfying payoff when it's all said and done. This is one of my favorites, and am shocked at the lack of kudos given to this film. I watch a movie for entertainment value. Apparently movie critics are looking for something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamTJan 28, 2008
Not the best Disney (or general) film ever, but still pretty darn good for my tastes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
skinnys.Apr 28, 2009
The first thing that I liked about this movie is that it starts out mysterious. I like these types of movies because it leaves me thinking and is not boring. The second thing that I liked about this movie is that things like clues lead to The first thing that I liked about this movie is that it starts out mysterious. I like these types of movies because it leaves me thinking and is not boring. The second thing that I liked about this movie is that things like clues lead to other things and it keeps you guessing. I did this throughout the whole movie. I had to watch it twice just to get it better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LABNov 21, 2004
The theatre was packed and EVERYONE clapped at the end...I have really missed movies like this...It was enormously entertaining and I will definitely buy the DVD.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarryM.Nov 23, 2004
It was two-hours of ENTERTAINMENT! Was Indiana Jones factual. I don't think it was on par with those movies but I and my daughters liked it and enjoyed watching it which isn't the primary purpose of a movie to entertain one?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeanS.Nov 26, 2004
I was sleepy when I entered. This movie kept me awake throughout. I enjoyed the city sights, the clever dialog puncuating the action, and fascinating photography. I would recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Hades999Nov 27, 2004
Too long, too routine (eventually,) too flat. Started off with some gusto but degenerated quickly thereafter into monotony.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ComptonNov 28, 2004
I really enjoyed this movie. The action as well as the suspense kept me interested. If you like the Indiana Jones movies go watch this in the theaters. If not, rent it for sure. (Not as good as Indiana Jones but those are classics.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScottGDec 13, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] Entertaining, but doesn't make a lick of sense. The villains show a willingness to kill in the first scene, but spend the rest of the movie in classic Disney villain style--making a bunch of toothless threats. The hero [***SPOILERS***] Entertaining, but doesn't make a lick of sense. The villains show a willingness to kill in the first scene, but spend the rest of the movie in classic Disney villain style--making a bunch of toothless threats. The hero shows ingenuity one minute, idiocy the next. The world they live in includes a New York riddled with subway tunnels, water and electrical mains that has somehow missed a monumental storage facility. This combination screams of cynical writing--keep things moving fast enough and people won't realize it's gibberish. Still--a great concept and some fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamC.Dec 28, 2004
More Tomb Raider than Raiders of the Lost Ark, this is most definitely a Bruckheimer film. It is not however one of his better ones. Much the same could be the said of the film as a Nicholas Cage film. Whilst enjoyable enough, and worth More Tomb Raider than Raiders of the Lost Ark, this is most definitely a Bruckheimer film. It is not however one of his better ones. Much the same could be the said of the film as a Nicholas Cage film. Whilst enjoyable enough, and worth seeing if you have nothing else better to do with your time, it does not rate alongside films like The Rock or Con Air. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JudyT.Dec 28, 2004
Indiana Jones rip-off that just not as imaginative. Not one memorable character. Filled with cheesy lines, an unsatisfying ending, inept villians and FBI agents. Popcorn fair at best. Just another mediocre 2004 movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful