Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 14 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 14, 2014
    75
    It's the cars, and the mega-horsepowered action, that matter most. With its driver-POV spinouts, wrong-way chases, and multilane median jumps, the movie is a roaring revel of an automotive fantasy.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 13, 2014
    63
    When the actors are in cars, the movie's fun. When they get out to argue, or seethe, it's uh-oh time. Happily, director Scott Waugh comes out of the stunt world himself, and there's a refreshing emphasis on actual, theoretically dangerous stunt driving over digital absurdities.
  3. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Mar 12, 2014
    60
    A snoozy-but-diverting, lightly constipated B-movie.
  4. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 10, 2014
    40
    The cars are hot, the action is decent, but the characters and plot need a serious tune-up.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Mar 13, 2014
    40
    The racing scenes are its one hope of reclaiming your attention, but there aren’t nearly enough of them to justify such a killing duration.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 13, 2014
    38
    There's nothing to distract you from a plot so tired there are tire tracks from other racing movies all over it.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Scott Waugh's moronic flick has multiple personalities — it's the Sibyl of street racing, with a script that doesn't feel so much typed as button-mashed.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 90
  2. Negative: 14 out of 90
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It paid a great deal of respect to the origins and set up of the Need for Speed world. Packed full of hardcore racing just as I recalled in the game and just like in the game police got involved and things got broken. If you've never played the game then you just don't get it. Need for Speed lives up to the game and it was just as fun a ride. And, I pray to God no movie makes anyone want to go street racing. It's stupid and you will hurt someone. Leave that stuff to the pro drivers it is not for mortal men. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    If you have played Need for Speed since the original (like myself), or are simply just a fan of franchise, you will love this movie. I went to the theatre expecting this movie to be a huge disappointment, however I was very wrong. I went to see a movie about cars and that is exactly what I got. Better than all the fast and the furious movies combined.

    It's expected that the critics don't like this movie, and honestly I don't usually listen to the opinions of elitist movie snobs, who are usually sitting in their parents basement (no offense to anyone who lives home) thinking they are better than everyone, when in fact, if given the chance any movie they would make would most likely be garbage...anyways

    If you go to the movies expecting a Need for Speed movie, you will be very happy. Not to mention that the main girl is SMOKIN HOT : )
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    First of all I do admit I am a sucker for video game movies. Given that, this movie is awesome. This movie will give fans of the video game series what they should expect. Within the first 10 minutes there is already a race. You will get lots of police chase scenes and lots of crashes with tons of flying parts. There is a decent variety of high end cars you will see. This movie made me want to dust off my PS Vita and play my copy of NFS Most Wanted again. I usually end up falling asleep in the theater for most movies but this is one of those few movies I stayed wide awake the whole time from start to finish. Expand
  4. chw
    Aug 21, 2014
    7
    Need for Speed wasn't as terrible as the movie critics say it is. I'd probably buy it, and I don't buy movies that are even decent. Wasn't as great as The Fast and the Furious movies, but still a must-see. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    6
    What made The Fast and the Furious an enjoyable film series is that it wasn't just about the fast cars, but the family that enjoyed them. Dom, Brian, Mia etc. Need for Speed is The Fast and the Furious without the family element, they try to portray it but you never get a feel for it since most of the movie involved being inside a car. The lacking in character development is the reason why the characters don't leave a lasting impression.
    But if you are a fan of the classic Need for Speed video games, you will know that it's all about running from the cops in the best car you can afford. If that's what you're after then this movie is for you. Overall, it is an enjoyable movie, so long as you're not asking for more than 132 mins of dazzle.
    Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    Not a very well done racing movie. The one really positive thing I can say about this movie was Aaron Paul's acting was really well done. The race scenes were boring and really clichéd and didn't live up to the standards I was hoping for. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    0
    Boring ass story, boring ass action scenes. It somehow gets a 6.9 rating. Well, I'm here to lower it! This movie was boring and just plain stupid. **** this movie. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers