Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2014
    83
    There's a subtle wisdom to this screenplay that complements its exceedingly bad taste, small lessons among the laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 8, 2014
    88
    It’s a party where we want to stay, until we’re dragged out kicking and screaming.
  3. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 8, 2014
    100
    What makes Neighbors exceptional, rather than merely great, is its successful attempt to reinvent the studio comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    May 7, 2014
    83
    Speaking in her native Aussie twang, Byrne shows that she's a deadpan comic ace. And thanks to her chemistry with Rogen, Neighbors proves that just because you grow up doesn't mean you have to be a grown-up.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    May 6, 2014
    90
    Nicholas Stoller's hilarious Neighbors splashes into summer with the satisfying swish-plop-hooray of a winning beer pong serve.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    Not only is it uproariously funny and almost breathtakingly dirty, it is better written than it needs to be on a character level, delivering completely on its premise.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 9, 2014
    91
    Neighbors is one of the funniest, most visually inventive studio comedies in recent memory.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 82
  2. Negative: 21 out of 82
  1. May 9, 2014
    9
    Neighbors is just undeniably laugh out loud funny, it is hell-a- arious . If you are going in expecting a typical R rated comedy you are going in blind and that's good for you. If you did not watch the trailers and you are going in blind that is great for you, because every minute in this movie either has a joke or is sweet. Everyone in this movie did a great job, Seth Rogen plays like every Seth Rogen in a movie which is really fun to watch, Rose Byrne is actually very funny in this movie and HOT. Zac Efron is the one Disney lead that did not ruin his life and apparently his movie career is going up and I am happy for him he was so funny in this movie, he can be goofy and douche perfectly well! Apparently this movie is a step forward in its genre, it is unforgettable, hilarious and just so well made I highly recommend it to everyone! Just go see it and you'll know why! Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2014
    0
    The baby was the best actor. To much dick humor, Crude unrealistic plot. Lot of jokes I have seen in other movies played out over and over again. Nothing new, nothing creative. Waste of time. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2014
    2
    Did I watch the same movie as everyone else? I'm sorry, but I can't laugh at scenes that make no sense. I'm too busy questioning the actions of these characters to care about what's going on in the story. Why do these parents even care about their noisy neighbors? They love partying, doing drugs, and leaving their infant child home alone. Why would these parents care if their baby can't sleep? They are already having intercourse in front of the child... Also, why would a police officer rat out a neighbor that filed a noise complaint? Why would someone dry hump a bush sculptor of a person bent over to get rid of it? Just cut it down! It's like an 8 year old wrote this script. I found myself asking constantly, "Why is this happening?" I must have missed the part where I was suppose to laugh. I was expecting to find a funny clever film like This is the End... Oh, how wrong I was. Good job everyone. You fooled me into paying a lot of money to see this garbage. The joke's on me. Full Review »