Neighbors

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 8, 2014
    100
    What makes Neighbors exceptional, rather than merely great, is its successful attempt to reinvent the studio comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2014
    83
    There's a subtle wisdom to this screenplay that complements its exceedingly bad taste, small lessons among the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    May 6, 2014
    80
    You’ll laugh if you’re young, you’ll laugh if you’re old.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 8, 2014
    75
    Efron makes you believe he’s capable of anything. Neighbors is rude, brazen and merrily offensive, and the movie mines the homoerotic undertones of fraternities to fine (if lowbrow) comic effect. But Efron, of all people, gives the film a curious edge.
  5. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    May 6, 2014
    70
    While it’s occasionally distasteful, it’s an engaging hangout film from beginning to end, thanks to its game performances and smart direction.
  6. 63
    The fun is supposed to build from the elaborate plots the marrieds and the bros engage in to foil each other. Only, it doesn’t.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 8, 2014
    20
    Neighbors stakes its claim in suburban-property cliches. Given the dull, stale results, maybe the end of the world was a better fit.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 94
  2. Negative: 21 out of 94
  1. May 11, 2014
    10
    Great laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supportingGreat laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supporting cast of Dave Franco, Rose Byrne and newcomer Jerrod Carmichael really impress and help to offer more great laughs. 10/10 Expand
  2. May 13, 2014
    9
    A hilarious new offering from seth rogen and nicholas stoller lives up to the hype. Bad Neighbors the funniest movie of 2014 so far. TheA hilarious new offering from seth rogen and nicholas stoller lives up to the hype. Bad Neighbors the funniest movie of 2014 so far. The chemistry between Seth Rogen and Zac Efron and Rose Byrne is fantastic. Rose is actually the funniest bit of this film. Zac proves himself to be a force of nature in hollywood and he shows in this film that he is here to stay. Yes it has some flaws but everything else is SO GOOD! I can ignore those problems. For me it gets a VERY FRESH! score of 85100 Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2014
    8
    Summary: Neighbors is likable and wickedly funny. 80/100 [B+]

    Even though I have some issues with "Neighbors" such as the characterization
    Summary: Neighbors is likable and wickedly funny. 80/100 [B+]

    Even though I have some issues with "Neighbors" such as the characterization and the character development, I really enjoyed the movie, especially the performances; all of them are quite likable, except Seth Rogen he is just a "meh" for me, I don't even remember his name in the movie, anyway, he's just OK. Moving on, the plot moves quickly and there are a lot of funny moments during the first 30 minutes. It has a decent running time (96 min) but it feels very short, the movie is so entertaining and funny, 10 minutes more would be great.

    The dialog is a little bit overcooked and quite insane sometimes. Neighbors is for a very specific audience, it's a very crude comedy. Also, I loved the cast, Rose Byrne was terrific! there's a scene involving her boobs and it's definitely the best scene in the movie. Zac Efron gives his most standout performance since "Hairspray" and Seth Rogen as I said he's just watchable. In addition, Dave Franco was great too and he has the most realistic character in the whole film; finally, there's a cute baby called "Stella" and she will steal your heart. [B+]
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    7
    Neighbors is for sure a raunchy laugh out loud comedy, Its 90 minutes of crude humor but somewhere behind all the pot smoke the moviesNeighbors is for sure a raunchy laugh out loud comedy, Its 90 minutes of crude humor but somewhere behind all the pot smoke the movies actually has a heart. Nicholas Stoller has made some decent films like Forgetting Sarah Marshall and The Five-Year Engagement but Neighbors is his best movie to date. There are a few extremely funny gags running throughout the film with your typical frat humor in between. The part that was a shock to me is that some scenes were lighthearted i guess its such a shock to me because you really never see that it this type of comedy. The cast is solid Seth Rogen is Seth Rogen i guess some would consider that a bad thing but i on the other hand do not. Zac Efron did a solid performance and i know for being an old Disney actor people seem to write him off but the guy can act also him and Dave Franco were an hilarious duo i wouldn't mind them two being in another movie together. Rose Byrne really caught me off guard with how funny she is i wasn't expecting to be laughing so hard with scenes where she is the focal point.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 Neighbors kicks off the summer comedy slate with a bang, its for sure the most i laughed at the theaters this year so far, well actually im not so sure about that because The Amazing Spider-Man 2 was hilariously bad anyways Neighbors is well worth a watch.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    Outrageous, crude and way over the top, Neighbors provides some very funny material but even at a short running time, the same jokes andOutrageous, crude and way over the top, Neighbors provides some very funny material but even at a short running time, the same jokes and endless party scenes begin to become exhausting. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2014
    4
    This is way overrated. The sex jokes have been done countless times before. The plot is stupid. The acting is mostly bad. The only things thatThis is way overrated. The sex jokes have been done countless times before. The plot is stupid. The acting is mostly bad. The only things that i enjoyed were the fight in the end, and - surprisingly - Zac Efron (it was good seeing him shed the Disney-kid persona and try something different).

    This Is The End was a very good movie that made me enthusiastic for Seth Rogen again. It was one of the reasons that made me check this one out. Unfortunately, I find myself greatly disappointed.
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2014
    0
    Total garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learnTotal garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learn something else. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers