Neighbors

Neighbors Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 380 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 8, 2014
    100
    What makes Neighbors exceptional, rather than merely great, is its successful attempt to reinvent the studio comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2014
    83
    There's a subtle wisdom to this screenplay that complements its exceedingly bad taste, small lessons among the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    May 6, 2014
    80
    You’ll laugh if you’re young, you’ll laugh if you’re old.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 8, 2014
    75
    Efron makes you believe he’s capable of anything. Neighbors is rude, brazen and merrily offensive, and the movie mines the homoerotic undertones of fraternities to fine (if lowbrow) comic effect. But Efron, of all people, gives the film a curious edge.
  5. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    May 6, 2014
    70
    While it’s occasionally distasteful, it’s an engaging hangout film from beginning to end, thanks to its game performances and smart direction.
  6. 63
    The fun is supposed to build from the elaborate plots the marrieds and the bros engage in to foil each other. Only, it doesn’t.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 8, 2014
    20
    Neighbors stakes its claim in suburban-property cliches. Given the dull, stale results, maybe the end of the world was a better fit.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 99
  2. Negative: 20 out of 99
  1. May 11, 2014
    10
    Great laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supportingGreat laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supporting cast of Dave Franco, Rose Byrne and newcomer Jerrod Carmichael really impress and help to offer more great laughs. 10/10 Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    Perhaps the funniest film of 2014 and probably the most anticipated film of the year. Seth Rogen are great. You find yourself cheering forPerhaps the funniest film of 2014 and probably the most anticipated film of the year. Seth Rogen are great. You find yourself cheering for either one of their side as you acquire more and more information. Its hard to believe that this is a film that has never been done before. Its so original. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    8
    This movie reminds me a lot of other Seth Rogen films like "This Is The End" Or "Pineapple Express" but without James Franco. Instead of him ,This movie reminds me a lot of other Seth Rogen films like "This Is The End" Or "Pineapple Express" but without James Franco. Instead of him , you get his little brother. Witch isn't that bad, The acting is what you expect from a late night comedy that's geared towards people who probably are not sober well watching the film. But the part that you care about in a comedy movie the most is great. The jokes, Offensive, Original and very adult.
    Definitely get some friends together and watch this as a late night movie.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    7
    Neighbors is for sure a raunchy laugh out loud comedy, Its 90 minutes of crude humor but somewhere behind all the pot smoke the moviesNeighbors is for sure a raunchy laugh out loud comedy, Its 90 minutes of crude humor but somewhere behind all the pot smoke the movies actually has a heart. Nicholas Stoller has made some decent films like Forgetting Sarah Marshall and The Five-Year Engagement but Neighbors is his best movie to date. There are a few extremely funny gags running throughout the film with your typical frat humor in between. The part that was a shock to me is that some scenes were lighthearted i guess its such a shock to me because you really never see that it this type of comedy. The cast is solid Seth Rogen is Seth Rogen i guess some would consider that a bad thing but i on the other hand do not. Zac Efron did a solid performance and i know for being an old Disney actor people seem to write him off but the guy can act also him and Dave Franco were an hilarious duo i wouldn't mind them two being in another movie together. Rose Byrne really caught me off guard with how funny she is i wasn't expecting to be laughing so hard with scenes where she is the focal point.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 Neighbors kicks off the summer comedy slate with a bang, its for sure the most i laughed at the theaters this year so far, well actually im not so sure about that because The Amazing Spider-Man 2 was hilariously bad anyways Neighbors is well worth a watch.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    An enjoyable, if not, predictable comedy with a fantastic ensemble cast who don't have too much to do. The movie moves along at a brisk paceAn enjoyable, if not, predictable comedy with a fantastic ensemble cast who don't have too much to do. The movie moves along at a brisk pace and the frat boys are funny, yet one-dimensional. Sadly the movie falls into sit-com like scenarios which can be amusing and chuckle worthy, but very forgettable in the long run. The script is paper thin, and the characters story arcs are mere speed bumps in between the comedy. It isn't a game changer in the world of comedy, but there are worse ways to spend your hour and forty.
    Sadly, still not the movie that will make me like Rogen, i just dont fing him funny at all, and ive seen most of his movies sadly!
    Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2014
    4
    The movie at first glance was going to involve into something else. At first I thought this was going to be a good comedy, and after there wasThe movie at first glance was going to involve into something else. At first I thought this was going to be a good comedy, and after there was a total turn in the story - it all went down. Acting was below average, perhaps because I don't see Zefron acting on that kind of a serious level, although still in a comedy - it just doesn't work out at the end. Expand
  7. May 16, 2014
    0
    Total garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learnTotal garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learn something else. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (4/8): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (4/8): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: April 8, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, The BFG, Neighbors 2, David Brent: Life on the Road, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. Film Friday (1/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (1/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: January 22, 2016
    Get a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Suicide Squad, Key & Peele's Keanu, Neighbors 2, Barbershop: The Next Cut, and more.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: September 2014

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: September 2014 Image
    Published: August 30, 2014
    Find a complete schedule of TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of September, including Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Godzilla, and Neighbors, plus recent seasons of Hannibal, Sleepy Hollow, and 24, a new extended cut of Once Upon a Time in America, and more.
  4. Film Friday (4/11): This Week's New Trailers + News

    Film Friday (4/11): This Week's New Trailers + News Image
    Published: April 11, 2014
    Get a recap of this week's movie news, and watch new trailers for 22 Jump Street, A Most Wanted Man, Neighbors, How to Train Your Dragon 2, Chef, Wish I Was Here, and more.