Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 9, 2011
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
24
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
olympiansDec 12, 2011
Even though New Year's Eve is nowhere near the worst film ever ("The Bounty Hunter" comes to mind) it's true to say that it is not good. However, if you are prepared to play a round of "spot the false teeth" then you are in for a treat! DoesEven though New Year's Eve is nowhere near the worst film ever ("The Bounty Hunter" comes to mind) it's true to say that it is not good. However, if you are prepared to play a round of "spot the false teeth" then you are in for a treat! Does anyone in Hollywood have their own teeth these days?. My advice? Go with a bunch of girlfriends but make sure you have a very liquid lunch/dinner first. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Likable cast, but completely pointless. I honestly have no idea why this movie was made. Overall I was entertained, but it left no mark on me whatsoever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Mar 20, 2013
Didn't go into it expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised It's corny I'll give it that but it's also an enjoyable film to watch, plus it's fun guessing what's going to happen next! The all-star cast works well together especially theDidn't go into it expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised It's corny I'll give it that but it's also an enjoyable film to watch, plus it's fun guessing what's going to happen next! The all-star cast works well together especially the couples linked with one another. It's similar to other films with large casts like 'Love Actually' and while not as good as that was it's still a decent effort and it will hit the right audiences, so overall it's worth a shot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 21, 2013
Same as the first cliche, A-List actors to bring in the money, predictable, ok plot but this one tries a little to hard, but I prefer this to the first. The movie as the same as the first are only for the months it portrays Only watch theSame as the first cliche, A-List actors to bring in the money, predictable, ok plot but this one tries a little to hard, but I prefer this to the first. The movie as the same as the first are only for the months it portrays Only watch the movie in December and January. Every other month it will probably be boring. I mean I like it I just only hate Ashton Kutcher he really can't act all he does is either overact Yell, Scream, Childish. or underact boring, and stupid I dont like him in anything other then those What Happens in Vegas series thing. But I say watch New Years Eve in Dec and Jan. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Zack2981Dec 14, 2011
Don't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im still not clear on what that may have been. It's not a movie I would tend to go see but I got roped intoDon't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im still not clear on what that may have been. It's not a movie I would tend to go see but I got roped into it and it couldn't have been more painful. At least each actor I can't stand is only in it for a handful of minutes. It seems like just long enough for them to pick up a paycheck really. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
GagaForGhibliJun 6, 2012
This Is A Good Movie!
Why All The Bad Reviews?
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
moviemongerOct 20, 2012
Ugh! Only one of the five or six different stroylines was even a tad bit interesting. Clearly, "NYE" is a vehicle built to attract an audience eager to walk down Hollywood Blvd. Two time Oscar winner Hillary Swank was simply a dud...OrUgh! Only one of the five or six different stroylines was even a tad bit interesting. Clearly, "NYE" is a vehicle built to attract an audience eager to walk down Hollywood Blvd. Two time Oscar winner Hillary Swank was simply a dud...Or should I say her character. Mr. Marshall has done this sort of thing before - thinking he will be exonerated from blame for a crappy script by providing the audience with a bunch of big names. Well, this small name thought this was a waste of time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
dannyhernannyDec 30, 2011
How was a movie like this made? My friend & I made a last minute decision to go to the movie and this was the only one playing, so we went. I am amazed that someone green-lit this film...it's horrible. From the drag-queen makeup on the ladiesHow was a movie like this made? My friend & I made a last minute decision to go to the movie and this was the only one playing, so we went. I am amazed that someone green-lit this film...it's horrible. From the drag-queen makeup on the ladies to BonJovi's red leather jacket that looked like it was from Brittany Spears tour circa 2002, then there's the plot and the writing...horrible. I stayed to watch because it was like a train wreck. I can write so much more, but I'll leave it at that. I guess I'm the biggest loser here because I paid to see it...but reader be warned. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 23, 2012
Really best! One of my favourit!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
laurafrofroJan 27, 2012
If you go in expecting an Oscar contender, of course you will be disappointed. But if you enjoy a cute story and a cavalcade of stars who make you laugh often and cry at least once, you won't be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryDec 14, 2011
This is a stylistic followup to "Valentine's Day," which was fun. It's directed by Garry Marshall and features an enormous name-laden cast, including De Niro, Swank, Berry, Kutcher, Pfeiffer, Efron, Biel, Bon Jovi and Heigl. They star inThis is a stylistic followup to "Valentine's Day," which was fun. It's directed by Garry Marshall and features an enormous name-laden cast, including De Niro, Swank, Berry, Kutcher, Pfeiffer, Efron, Biel, Bon Jovi and Heigl. They star in multiple scenarios that revolve around the last night of the year and they all do a good job. The moviemaking is competent and the pacing never lags (how could it with so many stories?), but there isn't enough comedy and it tries to be too heartfelt. As a result, it's just busy and flat. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
JoaoRodarteDec 18, 2011
Ok, I bet you guys are wondering why I am giving to this film such a great score, so there it is: I went to the movie expecting to see any movie that would made me feel better, and it brought it. I think that people aren't seeing that theOk, I bet you guys are wondering why I am giving to this film such a great score, so there it is: I went to the movie expecting to see any movie that would made me feel better, and it brought it. I think that people aren't seeing that the beauty of the movie is exactly its simplicity, and how possible its happenings are. If you are looking for a smart and brilliant movie you shouldn't watch it, but if you are searching something that have the power to make you feel better about your own life, go for it. Thanks a lot for reading. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
willfarnworthDec 12, 2011
Having read reviews about this film on the cinema's website and from reviews in newspapers and on this site, I was expecting to waste two hours of my life watching the worst film ever, until I was talked into it by my girlfriend.

Frankly,
Having read reviews about this film on the cinema's website and from reviews in newspapers and on this site, I was expecting to waste two hours of my life watching the worst film ever, until I was talked into it by my girlfriend.

Frankly, the reviews do not do it justice. Whilst it is true that it is a bit predictable, if you are looking for an easily-watchable Christmassy movie and nothing more (e.g., a true chick flick, feel-good plot) then you will enjoy it. It is basically an American & New year version of "love actually"; mirroring it in every way down to the emotional story lines, theme, ensemble cast, etc...

My girlfriend cried like a baby during it, and without giving away too much, Robert DeNiro's storyline was particularly moving... Although I would never admit it to her, my eyes got a bit watery during that part too. I must have got something in my contact lenses!

Aside from being a little predictable, the only other negative points are Lea Michele's lip syncing - which hasn't got any better since the first episode of 'Glee', and the UNBELIEVABLY white teeth of most of the cast. I can't really deduct points for teeth though...

By the way, If Ashton Kutcher is reading this; you look like an unwashed hippy with your long hair and beard - go back to your look from 'The Guardian'.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
clarkglobuleDec 17, 2011
how delicious for critics to sink their teeth into and lambaste movies. i'm an armchair critic, buti kinda liked this one. consider all them boy gets girl/boy loses girl/boy gets girl twaddle flicks that've fared better than news years eve.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Why_So_JoshJan 5, 2012
Remember the 2003 film Love Actually? Of course you do. It was a British classic. And do you remember the 2010 film Valentineâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Roadie_42Feb 8, 2012
It wasn't so bad. Obviously it wasn't a colossal or a block-buster but it was enjoyable. The acting it wasn't for a Oscar nomination but it was funny sometimes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
lphiliotisDec 23, 2011
this movie was exactly what i thought it was going to be...just like valentine's day ( which i was not impressed with either). for having such a talented cast don't you think they could have made a better movie?? some of the sections werethis movie was exactly what i thought it was going to be...just like valentine's day ( which i was not impressed with either). for having such a talented cast don't you think they could have made a better movie?? some of the sections were very slow too, i almost fell asleep in parts. I still think however, this was a fun holiday movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JazzJazzJan 13, 2012
I'm giving this a mixed review - it was a pleasant surprise in that it wasn't your usual typical cringe-worthy rom-com but I feel the director tried way too hard to have an A-list packed cast. I think it's a shame when this happens becauseI'm giving this a mixed review - it was a pleasant surprise in that it wasn't your usual typical cringe-worthy rom-com but I feel the director tried way too hard to have an A-list packed cast. I think it's a shame when this happens because there's so many aspiring actors who can act much better than Jon Bon Jovi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Halknowsbest567Feb 9, 2012
Okay this is so bad, this is a bad way to make a movie, to many people in this movie the story is a jump around. The only good thing about this movie and why it gets a 1 because of the love in this movie.... But the acting was really bad.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tara61May 1, 2012
It all comes down to what you expect before you start watching the movie. I expected cheesy, sappy, chick flick and basically this is what I've got. However, I was surprised by some of the stories (Michelle Pfeiffer & Zac Efron, JoshIt all comes down to what you expect before you start watching the movie. I expected cheesy, sappy, chick flick and basically this is what I've got. However, I was surprised by some of the stories (Michelle Pfeiffer & Zac Efron, Josh Duhamel). I would like to point that Michelle & Zac have a very strange chemistry and their story seemed believable and offered hope. This movie is a great holiday movie as it awakes optimism and strengthens the belief that finally everything will be alright. Everything else, really doesn't matter... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SimpleMethodAug 14, 2013
This was so painful. So, so painful. I'm not sure what the draw is to getting big casts and compiling them into crappy holiday movies, this and valentines day were a huge waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JgatzJul 24, 2013
I've watched this movie plenty of times and I get the same good feeling every single time. Anyone that loves the holiday season will love this movie. Bon jovi is the only negative part of the movie for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscDec 17, 2015
It's so predictable what were you expecting? It's made by the makers of "Valentine's Day" and director Gary Marshall (Pretty Woman and Runaway Bride) also screenwriter Katherine Fugate (writer of Valentine's Day) not to mention some of theIt's so predictable what were you expecting? It's made by the makers of "Valentine's Day" and director Gary Marshall (Pretty Woman and Runaway Bride) also screenwriter Katherine Fugate (writer of Valentine's Day) not to mention some of the cast members are in this, Marshall does a great job with making the film magical and glossy. It has some touching moments a few heartwarming scenes that's the only thing Fugate does right. It's New year's eve (the film's title)! In New York one night to promise love, hope, forgiveness, second chances and more. The mother daughter story: Kim (Sarah Jessica Parker) is a single mother she thinks her teenage daughter Hailey (Abigail Breslin) is a child, Hailey wants to do is go out with a boy named Seth (Jake T. Austin "Wizards Of Waverly Place") so she can kiss him at midnight. Hilary Swank plays Claire, who's in charge of the city's big tradition, the ball drop in Times Square something goes wrong so they get the grand Kominsky (Hector Elizondo who also starred in Valentine's Day) to fix it. The Ex's meet again story: Katherine Heigl plays Laura a chef who is cooking for a New Year's Eve party for a record company, she runs into her ex Jensen (John Bon Jovi) who's a rock star performing at that the party. The New Year's resolutions list story: Ingrid (played by the great Michelle Pfeiffer) after almost having a near-death experience, quits her job at a record company, asks Paul (Zac Efron) a messenger to help her achieve her New Year's resolutions list. At a hospital, Stan (the great Robert De Niro) who is in the final stages of cancer, who only wants to see the ball drop, his nurse Aimee (Halle Berry) is staying with him, who is making sure he is okay. Giving birth on New Year's Eve story: Tess (Jessica Biel who also starred in Valentine's Day, what is this a Valentine's Day reunion?) and Griffin (the funny and talented Seth Meyers) a couple who are expecting, want to be the first after New Year because of the available cash price; but they have a competition when another couple (Til Schweiger and Sarah Paulson) who wants the money and is about to give birth. Stuck in a elevator story: Randy (Ashton Kutcher) not a fan of the big holiday because something happened is on an elevator with Jensen's back up singers Elise (Glee's Lea Michelle) are stuck on an elevator. Sam (Josh Duhamel) who is out of town, he is trying to get to New York, to find the love of his life he meet last New Years. I liked this movie the acting was good despite wasted, it has a few great stories. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 9, 2016
A nice comedy movie that is very light and funny

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-28560f-New-Years-Eve-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews