New Year's Eve

New Year's Eve Image
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "New Year's Eve" celebrates love, hope, forgiveness, second chances and fresh starts, in the intertwining stories told amidst the pulse and promise of New York City on the most dazzling night of the year. (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 20 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 7, 2011
    67
    New Year's Eve is dunderheaded kitsch, but it's the kind of marzipan movie that can sweetly soak up a holiday evening.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 7, 2011
    50
    New Year's Eve is not unbearable. It's not bad, but it's not good, either. It delivers exactly what you expect: pretty faces, shallow romance and a mythical fanaticism about an event in a friendly Manhattan unblemished by hyper-vigilant security measures, obnoxious drunks or New York Jets fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 8, 2011
    40
    An inferior retread of Marshall's equally contrived "Valentine's Day," only dressed up with coats and confetti.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 8, 2011
    25
    New Year's Eve is fun in the way that eating at a buffet is fun. It's two hours of foods that have nothing to do with each other piled high on a plate because it was too cheap to resist.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 8, 2011
    25
    The sanitized setting and sappy script are so littered with cardboard characters and crass product placements that you'll mourn for the muggers and porno theaters that De Niro cursed in "Taxi Driver."
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Dec 12, 2011
    20
    Even with the bar lowered, this seems appallingly bad, a lazy assortment of weak punch lines, sentimental music cues, and trite situations.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Bad beyond belief.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Really best! One of my favourit!
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    I've watched this movie plenty of times and I get the same good feeling every single time. Anyone that loves the holiday season will love thisI've watched this movie plenty of times and I get the same good feeling every single time. Anyone that loves the holiday season will love this movie. Bon jovi is the only negative part of the movie for me. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2015
    8
    It's so predictable what were you expecting? It's made by the makers of "Valentine's Day" and director Gary Marshall (Pretty Woman and RunawayIt's so predictable what were you expecting? It's made by the makers of "Valentine's Day" and director Gary Marshall (Pretty Woman and Runaway Bride) also screenwriter Katherine Fugate (writer of Valentine's Day) not to mention some of the cast members are in this, Marshall does a great job with making the film magical and glossy. It has some touching moments a few heartwarming scenes that's the only thing Fugate does right. It's New year's eve (the film's title)! In New York one night to promise love, hope, forgiveness, second chances and more. The mother daughter story: Kim (Sarah Jessica Parker) is a single mother she thinks her teenage daughter Hailey (Abigail Breslin) is a child, Hailey wants to do is go out with a boy named Seth (Jake T. Austin "Wizards Of Waverly Place") so she can kiss him at midnight. Hilary Swank plays Claire, who's in charge of the city's big tradition, the ball drop in Times Square something goes wrong so they get the grand Kominsky (Hector Elizondo who also starred in Valentine's Day) to fix it. The Ex's meet again story: Katherine Heigl plays Laura a chef who is cooking for a New Year's Eve party for a record company, she runs into her ex Jensen (John Bon Jovi) who's a rock star performing at that the party. The New Year's resolutions list story: Ingrid (played by the great Michelle Pfeiffer) after almost having a near-death experience, quits her job at a record company, asks Paul (Zac Efron) a messenger to help her achieve her New Year's resolutions list. At a hospital, Stan (the great Robert De Niro) who is in the final stages of cancer, who only wants to see the ball drop, his nurse Aimee (Halle Berry) is staying with him, who is making sure he is okay. Giving birth on New Year's Eve story: Tess (Jessica Biel who also starred in Valentine's Day, what is this a Valentine's Day reunion?) and Griffin (the funny and talented Seth Meyers) a couple who are expecting, want to be the first after New Year because of the available cash price; but they have a competition when another couple (Til Schweiger and Sarah Paulson) who wants the money and is about to give birth. Stuck in a elevator story: Randy (Ashton Kutcher) not a fan of the big holiday because something happened is on an elevator with Jensen's back up singers Elise (Glee's Lea Michelle) are stuck on an elevator. Sam (Josh Duhamel) who is out of town, he is trying to get to New York, to find the love of his life he meet last New Years. I liked this movie the acting was good despite wasted, it has a few great stories. Grade B- Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    how delicious for critics to sink their teeth into and lambaste movies. i'm an armchair critic, buti kinda liked this one. consider all themhow delicious for critics to sink their teeth into and lambaste movies. i'm an armchair critic, buti kinda liked this one. consider all them boy gets girl/boy loses girl/boy gets girl twaddle flicks that've fared better than news years eve. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    Even though New Year's Eve is nowhere near the worst film ever ("The Bounty Hunter" comes to mind) it's true to say that it is not good.Even though New Year's Eve is nowhere near the worst film ever ("The Bounty Hunter" comes to mind) it's true to say that it is not good. However, if you are prepared to play a round of "spot the false teeth" then you are in for a treat! Does anyone in Hollywood have their own teeth these days?. My advice? Go with a bunch of girlfriends but make sure you have a very liquid lunch/dinner first. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    I'm giving this a mixed review - it was a pleasant surprise in that it wasn't your usual typical cringe-worthy rom-com but I feel the directorI'm giving this a mixed review - it was a pleasant surprise in that it wasn't your usual typical cringe-worthy rom-com but I feel the director tried way too hard to have an A-list packed cast. I think it's a shame when this happens because there's so many aspiring actors who can act much better than Jon Bon Jovi. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    Don't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im stillDon't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im still not clear on what that may have been. It's not a movie I would tend to go see but I got roped into it and it couldn't have been more painful. At least each actor I can't stand is only in it for a handful of minutes. It seems like just long enough for them to pick up a paycheck really. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers