Vivendi Entertainment | Release Date: October 16, 2009
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
20
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JanYOct 18, 2009
Come on, let
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AtaNov 5, 2009
Glad to see barely 2 boroughs depicted in this film. This movie is so contrived. It's like an 11-car Crash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
eggygJan 18, 2010
A mixed bag of short movie with bland overall after taste. NY portrayal is just too gloomy and unromantic. Even standard vampire movie is mostly more romantic than this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JS.Oct 17, 2009
Great date movie. Really fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JS.Oct 17, 2009
Great date movie. Really fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
teenagerreviewNov 7, 2009
The actors and dicectors are great. in every story there are 2 great actors who are in a relationship, in love, or just have a moment. every thing here is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StevenJDec 1, 2009
There is nothing less funny than trying to be funny. There is nothing less poignant than trying to be poignant. This movie feels like a film school attempt to be comedic and thought-provoking, but fails on both fronts. You don't laugh There is nothing less funny than trying to be funny. There is nothing less poignant than trying to be poignant. This movie feels like a film school attempt to be comedic and thought-provoking, but fails on both fronts. You don't laugh and you don't reflect. It also fails to tell the truth about love, about New York, about life. Most, although not all, of the lives and loves portrayed in this film are shallow, driven by sex rather than commitment, and self-absorbed rather than sacrificial. If the writing were better, the interweaving of the stories better, it might have at least held together as a montage film. As is, however, it's not worth the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AEOct 28, 2009
I really wanted to like this film and the city it celebrates more than I did. Though there are many tender human moments, the overwhelming feeling saturating the film is an oppressive isolation wherein the millions in their midst ironically I really wanted to like this film and the city it celebrates more than I did. Though there are many tender human moments, the overwhelming feeling saturating the film is an oppressive isolation wherein the millions in their midst ironically make connections exponentially more difficult. It is a relief, then, to see A.O. Scott say the film makes NYC "a parallel city that no one would want to live in, much less visit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 6, 2010
I've been to New York and seen the good side of it. I don't want to see the bad side of it. If you want to watch this movie with me,LOL! Don't see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
Thiz movie is an anthology about different kind of love stories in the setting of New York. It is also a reincarnation of 2006s France movie, PARIS J TAIME. A full All-Star Casts and directed by many well-known Directors. The movie containsThiz movie is an anthology about different kind of love stories in the setting of New York. It is also a reincarnation of 2006s France movie, PARIS J TAIME. A full All-Star Casts and directed by many well-known Directors. The movie contains about eleven segments (which I approximately counted). Each Segment has unique style and combines in one atmosphere. I know it is very hard to criticize thiz kind of film where each segment could be the weakness or the strength of whole film itself. So these are my evaluation based on impression that left to me. Mira Nair segment tells about a glimpse of love, played by Natalie Portman. Portman also made her directing debut in one of the segments, which it revolves around a little girl and a man spend some time at the park, Later We knew that man was her father. Portman direction only tried to describe the situation. Shekhar Kapur segment is the most thoughtful scene. We should take time to muse wisdom inside. It is about love, tragedy, and the meaning of life. The roles played by Julie Christie, Shia LaBeouf, and John Hurt. The script made by the late Anthony Minghella. Yvan Attal and Allen Hughes segments were more about passion and lust. Attal segment it starred by Ethan Hawke and Maggie Q. It underlined love seduction. Hughes part is more about sex and the hesitation that comes along after one night stand relation, played by Bradley Cooper and Drea de Matteo. The Brett Ratner segment is probably the most easy-watching part. It is about unique prom night story. This Part played by Anton Yelchin, Olivia Thirlby, and James caan. I think Thirlby gives a delightful performance here. Ratner direction is on pop-standart level. And finally, the most hilarious part is about an old-couple. The dialogue is so tickling. Thiz segment is directed by Joshua Marston. The other segments for me just come through without any deep impression. Other Casts are: Hayden Christensen, Rachel Bilson, Andy Garcia, Orlando Bloom, Christina Ricci, Shu Qi, and many. In overall, NEW YORK, I LOVE YOU could not gives maximum freshness that what we have seen in PARIS J TAIME before. However, the transition of various New York landscape between one segment and with the others is very smooth enough. Thiz movie maybe is not a specific movie about lovers, but more about love in universal way.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
sammieteeOct 21, 2013
I just couldn't get into this movie at all. The different stories just didn't seem to mesh sometimes and I keep hoping to get clarification for some and I never did. I just felt overwellemed watching it and nearly turned it off at one point.I just couldn't get into this movie at all. The different stories just didn't seem to mesh sometimes and I keep hoping to get clarification for some and I never did. I just felt overwellemed watching it and nearly turned it off at one point. I was expecting something better than what I got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews