Next

Next Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this sci-fi thriller, Nicholas Cage stars as a Las Vegas magician with a secret gift that is both a blessing and a curse: he has the uncanny ability to tell you what will happen next. (Revolution Studios)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. 80
    Directed by Lee Tamahori with his customary flash and glitter, Next lives from one brilliantly executed chase sequence to the next, which is more than enough reason to stay the course.
  2. 63
    A watchably absurd popcorn flick about a man who can see two minutes into the future.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    What starts out as a mildly diverting thriller blows itself to smithereens in the final reel.
  4. 50
    Next begins to seriously embarrass itself and its stars -- except for Biel, surprisingly, who manages to escape with a shred of dignity, possibly because her role requires little beyond looking gorgeous -- once it rolls to its climax.
  5. For an action thriller based on a Dick story, Next is peculiarly low-tech and hokey.
  6. 40
    Next is clearly an attempt at a puzzle movie, one of those brainteaser pictures that lures viewers into another dimension, but it doesn't have the momentum, the quick-wittedness, to keep us wondering what's going to happen next.
  7. As a thriller, Next goes a certain distance on Cage's sad-sack charm and sense of humor, but it does nothing with its intriguing premise, and it's mostly just one more tedious and progressively dumb collection of Hollywood action clichés.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27
  1. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    Uma ficção-científica subestimada.... Um Filme de ação subestimado.... Nicolas Cage,jESsica Biel e Julianne Moore estão ótimos perfeitos...Uma ficção-científica subestimada.... Um Filme de ação subestimado.... Nicolas Cage,jESsica Biel e Julianne Moore estão ótimos perfeitos... 15 idiotas.... Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................excellent.... Expand
  3. E71
    Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I almost never write reviews but the intense negativity towards this movie really ticks me off so I had to say something.

    There are so many
    I almost never write reviews but the intense negativity towards this movie really ticks me off so I had to say something.

    There are so many crappy movies out there achieving high ratings yet this one, which both kept me entertained throughout and wanting more when it was over has become subject of a crucifixion.

    I confess that I didn't watch this movie about the time it was released because of how low the scores were (under 5.0 on IMDB at the time) and now that I have seen it I'm shocked at how cruel everyone has been. In fact, I think a lot of people made the same mistake as I have, basing their decision not to watch the movie on the ratings, because its IMDB rating is now over 6.0.

    It's not an Oscar winner, but it's got a clever script, is entertaining, has the beautiful Jessica Biel in it and deserves a lot more than the low ratings it's been given.

    Honestly, I think you haters either have insurmountable expectations or your taste in storytelling has decayed to the level of super cheesy action flicks like the more recent Die Hard installments.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    6
    This is a perfect example of a Nicolas Cage movie. You will totally love or totally hate this movie based on how much you love Nicolas CageThis is a perfect example of a Nicolas Cage movie. You will totally love or totally hate this movie based on how much you love Nicolas Cage doing dumb action stuff. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    Next is a wasted opportunity.
    The movie Next is a blast for about the first ten minutes. A great concept and an okay script. It then blunders
    Next is a wasted opportunity.
    The movie Next is a blast for about the first ten minutes. A great concept and an okay script. It then blunders repeatedly unsure of how to evolve, and ruins everything it started with. The dialogue suddenly becomes horrible and the acting is revolting. A ninety-minute film feels twice as long as it should.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    2
    A lazy film that breaks the most important rule of creative writing...lazy endings. This film has one of the laziest (worst) endings I haveA lazy film that breaks the most important rule of creative writing...lazy endings. This film has one of the laziest (worst) endings I have ever seen. Horrible film. Expand
  7. JIminyBBeat
    Apr 27, 2007
    0
    What a total POS movie! Terrible on nearly every level with Cage turning in yet another dreadful, self-indulgent performance. But we all know What a total POS movie! Terrible on nearly every level with Cage turning in yet another dreadful, self-indulgent performance. But we all know he's a horrific, vain actor...the real mystery is what dirt Revolution Studios has on Julianne Moore that she continues to make films under their moniker. She is SO much better than this nonsense...but she is pretty terrible in this film as well. After showing some promise in The Illusionist, Jessica Biel turns in a performance that makes her work on Seventh Heaven look like Meryl Streep. All that being said, it's still not outright laughable ala The Wicker Man. Why does crap like this get made? And why do I end up seeing it? =) Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Movies Based on Philip K. Dick Stories

    Ranked: Movies Based on Philip K. Dick Stories Image
    Published: March 2, 2011
    "The Adjustment Bureau," in theaters Friday, is just one of many movies based on stories by writer Philip K. Dick. We examine Hollywood's fascination with the sci-fi author, from "Blade Runner" to "Impostor."
  2. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  3. Upfronts: The CW's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule

    Upfronts: The CW's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule Image
    Published: May 19, 2016
    Get a look at The CW's plans for next season, including details on the network's new shows.
  4. Upfronts: ABC's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule

    Upfronts: ABC's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule Image
    Published: May 17, 2016
    Find ABC's fall schedule and a list of renewed and canceled shows, and get a look at the network's nine newcomers for next season.
  5. Upfronts: Fox's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule

    Upfronts: Fox's New Shows and 2016-17 Schedule Image
    Published: May 16, 2016
    Get details on all of Fox's new shows for next season (including Prison Break and 24 revivals and a Lethal Weapon adaptation), along with a look at schedules and a final list of renewed/canceled shows.