User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 217

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    "Night At the Museum" is way too formulaic, but hey, at least it makes you laugh.
  2. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    A wonderful movie that has many great, funny moments. It isn't strenuous on your mind but still is very entertaining. One of the best movies of 2006.
  3. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    Thinking it over, Night at the Museum isn't really that good. But it does offer a solid enough family film, thats different enough to justify watching it. Its plot is half hearted and generic, but thats not the point. It's a family firendly and fun film, with some great ideas, just let down by other half hearted ideas.
  4. May 7, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly entertaining movie, one of Ben Stiller's best. It was also great to see Robin Williams as Theodore Roosevelt. Good movie for the entire family.
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    This is a movie kids ands adults will both enjoy, it's funny, enjoyable, and charming, add some actual history facts thrown in, and you've got a movie that I can't help but recommend to everyone.
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    I watched this largely because my nephew said it was good. Since he's usually right about movies I gave it a shot. I didn't care much for the beginning of the film but it got a lot better as the second act came to a close. The ending was uplifting in a way these kinds of movies can't really avoid. But it wasn't cliche.
  7. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This was a great movie, It was so fun to watch this one. The characters were full with variation and all of them made me laugh. Cavemen, T-rex, americans, romans, Attila and lots of weird characters made this movie a very original thing.
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    It is not as predictable and formulatic as everyone says it is. A great idea is well executed and the result is a fun family film with a lot of good performances.
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    No big deal but not terrible. Ben Stiller is quite funny, but he gets boring after some time. The movie has some funny parts, but it's no big deal. Nice to watch at night to break a leg, but not the best option of a comedy movie.
  10. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    "Night at the Museum" has some memorable funny scenes, but has some memorable annoying scenes too. Like that monkey slapping scene, it's so irritating. The movie itself was pretty surprising, because I didn't think that the story would be like this.
  11. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    Entertaining and original.
  12. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Boasting jaw dropping special effects and big laughs. Non stop fun
  13. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    A fun family comedy that works in most ways. Ben Stiller is funny in the way he reacts to all the exhibits coming to life and it is always good to see Dick Van Dyke.
  14. May 10, 2013
    6
    Owen Wilson and Steve Coogan are the only actors that keep this movie up with comedy and massive laughs as the little warring guys. They get small parts (No pun intended) and were easily the best parts of the movie. However, Larry Dayley is a boring, dull role to play and even though Stiller tries to craft memorable scenes, most of it falls flat. It's watchability doesn't rest in the hands of the cavemen, slightly stiff Robin Williams or the cute monkey But in the hands of Jed and Octavious. Those guys deserve their own film. Expand
  15. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Night at the Museum wasn't as great as I thought, but still, never the less, it's still somewhat enjoyable. The story sets in very well, but with some slow paced moments, it really kind of stresses a little bit. It has its funny moments and also has its heart-felt moments. As far as characters go, Larry Daley (Ben Stiller) is the only one that really has got what it takes to keep the movie going. Other characters such as Teddy Rosevelt (Robin Williams) and Sacajawea (Mizuo Peck) kind of make the story boring and uninteresting. Overall, even with its negativities, it's still a fun movie to watch. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2013
    7
    Esta pelicula de fantasia me parecio muy buena, tuvo un buen guion y un buen tema, lo que no me gusto de la pelicula fue que en el papel principal estara Ben Stiller, el no es de hacer ese tipo de peliculas.
  17. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    Night at the Museum is actually quite original in terms of plot, but it the execution that brings this flick slightly down. It definitely could've been better.
  18. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Night at the Museum is just a fun loving film.
    There is nothing spectacular nor bad about this family comedy. Fairly predictable without much depth, but a few good laughs and a well paced cinema.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    50
    The first half-hour's too slow; the last half-hour's too manic, as if to compensate. But at least it entertains, thanks in large measure to the buddy-pic relationship between Owen Wilson's miniature cowpoke and his Roman pal Steve Coogan.
  2. This season's answer to "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas," it's an overstuffed grab bag in which lumps of coal are glued together with melted candy.
  3. Director Levy struggles to find a uniform pitch that would agreeably blend together the gags, the visual effects and the obligatory heart moments. In its absence, there's a stop-and-start hollowness that confuses noise and chaos for comic energy.