Night Moves

  • Studio:
  • Release Date: May 30, 2014
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    May 29, 2014
    60
    So be forewarned: What admirers will consider measured may read, to the unimpressed, as merely slow-moving.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    May 27, 2014
    60
    As a procedural study, Night Moves is undeniably effective: The buildup is slow, painstaking and intense, the fallout inevitable but still shocking...But the soul is somehow missing.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Night Moves, which shows her at her best and worst, also shows two roads, right and wrong, that Reichardt can choose to pursue. As someone who likes this filmmaker even when I don't like her movies, I hope she takes the harder road.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 29, 2014
    50
    The story is a shallow-draft bark with flat characters on board: Josh, in particular, is de-energized to the point of entropy. Night Moves suffers from a lack of mystery and a deficit of motion.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    If you know activists, as I do, these characters are not as flat as some have suggested. The quiet moments in the truck while rehearsing orIf you know activists, as I do, these characters are not as flat as some have suggested. The quiet moments in the truck while rehearsing or reflecting on their plan, the lack of dialogue sometimes, seemed very realistic to me after seeing many young idealists convinced they are acting for the greater good and trying to be cool while doing it. I never knew anyone who went as far as murder, but you can see how the unchecked self-righteousness of people isolated from their families and the wider society and in a group-think situation could lead to unintended wrongdoing. Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2014
    9
    I wasn't sure what to expect with this film as I have mixed personal feelings about the subject. What I came away with is all life is sacredI wasn't sure what to expect with this film as I have mixed personal feelings about the subject. What I came away with is all life is sacred and even if intentions are good, actions always have consequences. Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2014
    5
    Not nearly enough material to make a full-length movie out of this. So extremely boring. The message of the movie is fine and the acting andNot nearly enough material to make a full-length movie out of this. So extremely boring. The message of the movie is fine and the acting and directing is good enough as well, but quite frustrating to get through the whole thing, and I'm usually a big fan of laid-back slow movies. Full Review »