• Studio:
  • Release Date: May 30, 2014
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    5
    To have the word "moves" in the title is a misnomer, because the one thing this film doesn't do is move. This deliberately-paced drama features Jesse Eisenberg in almost every frame. He plays an organic farmer who sets out with Dakota Fanning and Peter Sarsgaard to blow up a damn in an act of eco terrorism. Their careful operation occupies the first half of the story, then the inevitable complications add to the impact. Eisenberg works against his usual fast-paced, neurotic delivery with this sullen, serious performance. While it's mildly interesting, the low-key pace and quiet lack of energy make it an exercise in patience. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2014
    4
    I adored Kelly Reichardt's first film OLD JOY. So subtle, obtuse and winning. OLD JOY displayed a true feel for the awkwardness of contemporary American life. Three films later and I'm realizing that I don't really care for her aesthetic. With NIGHT MOVES, everything that seemed so intricate and complex, comes across as banal and contrived. The first 40 minutes are quite terrific but then NIGHT MOVES becomes everything it seems to despise. I always feel saddened when a filmmaker is clearly losing their way and Reichardt is clearly lost but I'll keep hoping for her return. We need distinct voices in film but she has lost hers at least for now. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    This film doesn't go anywhere. The characters are flat, the plot is thin and Night Moves ends up stalling in the driveway. Call a tow-truck before watching this one.
  4. Sep 18, 2014
    5
    Not nearly enough material to make a full-length movie out of this. So extremely boring. The message of the movie is fine and the acting and directing is good enough as well, but quite frustrating to get through the whole thing, and I'm usually a big fan of laid-back slow movies.
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    4
    All was good, I was willing to wait as the plot unfolded, and love that tension is built by what doesn't happen as much as by what does. My biggest disappointment is the ending, which is nonsensical, unbelievable and out of character, given how the lead actor's role is handled. Perhaps this is a flaw in direction, or in Eisenberg's artistic choices, but it spoils the film for me. It feels like a "then I woke up" ending. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Aug 25, 2014
    80
    Gripping, smart and well-tooled, this greenies-on-a-mission movie gives terrific build-up and a riveting central set-piece, with only a slight dip at the end. If she is looking for another genre to subvert, a Reichardt superhero movie would be a sight to behold.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 26, 2014
    80
    Night Moves is an unexpected pleasure, offering more than what we expect and taking its time to deliver.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 12, 2014
    88
    This is a quietly gripping gem.