Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2008
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
10
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
TiffanyT.Oct 7, 2008
I'm a Nicholas Sparks fan; I have read all the books and seen all the movies. I love him. With that being said, I felt this movie missed it by a mile. The book was my amazingly written. In the book the characters had a well developed I'm a Nicholas Sparks fan; I have read all the books and seen all the movies. I love him. With that being said, I felt this movie missed it by a mile. The book was my amazingly written. In the book the characters had a well developed love together that was not explored in the movie. The movie focused too much on the individual aspects of each then when he dies we are supposed to cry and feel sad! How could we do that we did not fall in love with their love, or them that weekend. It was incredibly so and drawn out, it was like listening to a person who has a studded talk. I felt horrible my boyfriend missed Monday night football to watch this awful movie with me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GoffyOct 21, 2008
I think I am going to be sick. How awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Sep 27, 2008
She had him at, "I was planning on grilling a salmon for dinner." He needed forgiveness, this big shot doctor from the bayou, who had recently lost a local resident on his operating table. He should've lost her the second after She had him at, "I was planning on grilling a salmon for dinner." He needed forgiveness, this big shot doctor from the bayou, who had recently lost a local resident on his operating table. He should've lost her the second after mentioning his failure to inform the family about their loved one's death in person; the grieving husband, who asks Dr. Paul Flanner(Richard Gere) if he remembers the color of his wife's eyes, already knows the answer. The son certainly knows a d*** when he sees one, and kicks in the doctor's car door. Heck, even the doctor's own son thinks his father is a tool. Mark(James Franco) is so PO'ed at the old man, he moves to Ecquador. But still, Adrienne(Diane Lane) sees the potential in this deeply flawed man. They compare baggage. They clean out her friend's pantry. They do a round of shots. All Paul ever wanted out of life was to be a good doctor. But now that he's met this wonderful woman, the big shot doctor from the bayou is going to learn the greatest lesson of all: how to be a good man. It's hard to miss the moment when Adrienne falls for Paul. There's the long, deep, passionate kiss, of course, and, oh, as if that wasn't enough, there's the inclement weather to help symbolize, with all the subtlety of a hole in your head, the washing away of their past transgressions. Soon, after the storm, they're slow dancing on the pier, and celebrating the crab. The storm turns them back into teenagers. When they part with such sweet sorrow, they exchange letters. "Nights of Rodanthe" tries for second-chance romance, but it always seems a little off, because the film is unaware to the fact that Adrienne ended up with a man who's even worse than her husband. God knows. And does something about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GossipBoyNAOct 1, 2008
Loved Lane..but movie is weepy and unconvincing.. - dialogue is wooden at itmes and Gere seems a bit miscast at times.. - Franco is underused... gorgeous to look at though..watch Lane in "Under The Tuscun Sun" for a much mroe beautiuful Loved Lane..but movie is weepy and unconvincing.. - dialogue is wooden at itmes and Gere seems a bit miscast at times.. - Franco is underused... gorgeous to look at though..watch Lane in "Under The Tuscun Sun" for a much mroe beautiuful romantic film! - or see both Gere and Lane in the terrific "Unfaithful"... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaigeT.Sep 29, 2008
This was the worst movie I have seen in ages!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SuzanneW.Oct 19, 2008
I think I squirmed the whole duration of this movie. It was incredibly sappy and it actually made me uncomfortable to watch it. Don't waste your money on this one unless you are a true Nicholas Sparks fan. I had no idea what I got I think I squirmed the whole duration of this movie. It was incredibly sappy and it actually made me uncomfortable to watch it. Don't waste your money on this one unless you are a true Nicholas Sparks fan. I had no idea what I got myself into when I said I'd see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarinaD.Dec 6, 2008
Ahhh... what a chick-flick! I loved it as a 2-box movie. (You'll need two boxes of tissues if you'll go & see it) As long as you know what you're going to see, I can recommend it. The house looked great!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayH.Feb 8, 2009
The good production and fine cast can't make up for the stifling slow pace of the film. It is slow to get started, and at best reached a state of barely not bored. The film never ignites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmandaH.Mar 15, 2009
I thought this movie was beautiful, It shows how real love can feel. When she received his letters she acted just how I do when I recive a letter from my fiance in bootcamp. I understood the characters and wept with them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
francelAug 29, 2009
Another low brow weeper from the pen of Nicholas Sparks (who else?) Lovely Diane Lane and dashing Richard Gere do what they can to move along an absolutely embarrassing story, but what can they do when the best thing about a movie is the Another low brow weeper from the pen of Nicholas Sparks (who else?) Lovely Diane Lane and dashing Richard Gere do what they can to move along an absolutely embarrassing story, but what can they do when the best thing about a movie is the beach house? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyOct 17, 2008
Loved the stars. The movie was so tedious and boring that it disintergrated before my eyes. I felt nothing for this tear jerker and kept looking at my watch waiting for the predictable ending. Just boring without any chemistry between two Loved the stars. The movie was so tedious and boring that it disintergrated before my eyes. I felt nothing for this tear jerker and kept looking at my watch waiting for the predictable ending. Just boring without any chemistry between two great stars. Don't even bother renting it of DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeatriceOct 19, 2008
Have you ever waited for paint to dry? This flick is about the same. Don't spend your hard earned money on this turkey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
eddies.Sep 27, 2008
i took my wife to view this film.hoping to see more than what it offered.we expected something in the likes of the notebook.but it fell short by far it was making me laugh.very dissapointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GregWeaverSep 28, 2008
What a disappointment! Something clearly was lost when the book was translated to the screenplay and when the director tried to get two really great actors to try to convey even the simplest emotions. I strongly recommend that you do NOT see What a disappointment! Something clearly was lost when the book was translated to the screenplay and when the director tried to get two really great actors to try to convey even the simplest emotions. I strongly recommend that you do NOT see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinJan 13, 2009
I loved this movie!! I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan! I cried through just about all of the movie. If you actually have a heart, this movie is one to see!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichelleSMar 28, 2009
I thought this movie was pretty entertaining for a love story. I thought the storyline itself was different and had the right amount of comedy, sappiness and drama. I was surprised by the ending. I guess not all love stories have that I thought this movie was pretty entertaining for a love story. I thought the storyline itself was different and had the right amount of comedy, sappiness and drama. I was surprised by the ending. I guess not all love stories have that stereotypical happily ever after. I do feel that this still ended on a good note in that she learned a lot about herself and what she wanted out of life. And come on, how can you go wrong with Richard Gere and Diane Lane! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
heyitsmegrif4Aug 3, 2012
Overly melodramatic and sentimental with a hardly believable short romance that isn't believable because of the lack of chemistry between Gere and Lane. I give this movie 26%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
This film suffers from not only being another generic and bland version of a Nicholas Sparks novel, but a complete lack of chemistry between its two, oft-loved leads, Richard Gere and Diane Lane.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews