User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.Brunner
    Mar 10, 2006
    5
    Some of the stories were impacting and certainly well-acted, but the film as a whole didn't hold together.
  2. ScottM.
    Apr 1, 2006
    8
    Robin Wright Penn's scene took my breath away.
  3. Bill
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    An exceptional, subtle film. It's an adult version of "Crash." Whereas "Crash" is mawkish, manipulative, ham-handed and insultingly implausible, "Nine Lives" exudes reality and humanity. It compliments the viewer by gently implying its most powerful messages, especially in the final scene. Glenn Close isn't visiting her husband's grave, as nearly every media reviewer seems An exceptional, subtle film. It's an adult version of "Crash." Whereas "Crash" is mawkish, manipulative, ham-handed and insultingly implausible, "Nine Lives" exudes reality and humanity. It compliments the viewer by gently implying its most powerful messages, especially in the final scene. Glenn Close isn't visiting her husband's grave, as nearly every media reviewer seems to believe. Expand
  4. RhettW.
    Dec 28, 2005
    7
    The two stories featuring Robin Wright Penn and Kathy Baker were exceptional.
  5. MarjorieC.
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Remarkable and moving.
  6. PatG.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This movie was thought-provoking and well worth the time and money to see it. I was especially touched by its illustration of how we are surrounded by people going about their lives--and we may have no clue as to what burdens they are carrying with them. Excellent acting all around. The film is unconventional, and that is a compliment.
  7. RichK.
    Feb 21, 2006
    6
    It's nice to see a movie shot like like a play -- each vignette is one continuous shot. But in this play the damaged female characters seem to be living in a play, some other play that we're not privy to. In 2006 a film of distant, unaccountable dreamworlds is not a vision, it's claustrophobia.
  8. Rick
    Mar 23, 2006
    2
    This film had quality moments, but they were all disjointed. There was no continuity or relevance between segments and none of them really made a point. Consequently it was excruciatingly boring.
  9. Shauna
    Apr 12, 2006
    1
    Terrible! what was the point of this? the last story was the worst. i thought it was alright, thinking that everything was going to be connected in the end but no! nothing! terrible movie. I watched it because the other user comments made it seem like anyone who likes art movies would like it, but i love art movies and this sucked!
  10. AwalK.
    Apr 9, 2006
    5
    Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I thought the nine different stories should have been more connected and weaved together. I don't expect 'Crash' or 'Pulp Fiction' but this movie seemed rather disjointed. The cinematography (each vignette is one long, continuous Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I thought the nine different stories should have been more connected and weaved together. I don't expect 'Crash' or 'Pulp Fiction' but this movie seemed rather disjointed. The cinematography (each vignette is one long, continuous shot) is extraordianry, though. Expand
  11. tokiasme
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Lovely, touching and profound.
  12. MichaelB.
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    This movie was one of the best of the year. It deserves to be nominated for numerous film awards throughout the year. SAG nominee for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture for Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrillo, Glenn Close, Stephen Dillane, Dakota Fanning, Lisa Gay Hamilton, Holly Hunter, Robin Wright Penn, and Sissy Spacek and an Oscar for Dakota Fanning!!
  13. AlanG.
    Jan 21, 2006
    2
    pointless. you must be an art movie fanatic to enjoy this one...
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Rory L. Aronsky
    90
    Garcia is a thoughtful filmmaker not only by the group of actors he has gathered, but in remembering that there has been and will be people watching his movie.
  2. A bold film both in its storytelling strategies and its filmmaking logistics.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    80
    Though the episodic structure results in a whole not quite equal to some of its parts, pic is an unusually tender, perceptive character study buoyed by stellar performances from a who's who of talented (and many underused) actresses.