Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: October 14, 2005
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
6
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
D.BrunnerMar 10, 2006
Some of the stories were impacting and certainly well-acted, but the film as a whole didn't hold together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottM.Apr 1, 2006
Robin Wright Penn's scene took my breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillApr 6, 2006
An exceptional, subtle film. It's an adult version of "Crash." Whereas "Crash" is mawkish, manipulative, ham-handed and insultingly implausible, "Nine Lives" exudes reality and humanity. It compliments the viewer by gently implying its An exceptional, subtle film. It's an adult version of "Crash." Whereas "Crash" is mawkish, manipulative, ham-handed and insultingly implausible, "Nine Lives" exudes reality and humanity. It compliments the viewer by gently implying its most powerful messages, especially in the final scene. Glenn Close isn't visiting her husband's grave, as nearly every media reviewer seems to believe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RhettW.Dec 28, 2005
The two stories featuring Robin Wright Penn and Kathy Baker were exceptional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarjorieC.Oct 23, 2005
Remarkable and moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatG.Oct 30, 2005
This movie was thought-provoking and well worth the time and money to see it. I was especially touched by its illustration of how we are surrounded by people going about their lives--and we may have no clue as to what burdens they are This movie was thought-provoking and well worth the time and money to see it. I was especially touched by its illustration of how we are surrounded by people going about their lives--and we may have no clue as to what burdens they are carrying with them. Excellent acting all around. The film is unconventional, and that is a compliment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichK.Feb 21, 2006
It's nice to see a movie shot like like a play -- each vignette is one continuous shot. But in this play the damaged female characters seem to be living in a play, some other play that we're not privy to. In 2006 a film of distant, It's nice to see a movie shot like like a play -- each vignette is one continuous shot. But in this play the damaged female characters seem to be living in a play, some other play that we're not privy to. In 2006 a film of distant, unaccountable dreamworlds is not a vision, it's claustrophobia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RickMar 23, 2006
This film had quality moments, but they were all disjointed. There was no continuity or relevance between segments and none of them really made a point. Consequently it was excruciatingly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ShaunaApr 12, 2006
Terrible! what was the point of this? the last story was the worst. i thought it was alright, thinking that everything was going to be connected in the end but no! nothing! terrible movie. I watched it because the other user comments made it Terrible! what was the point of this? the last story was the worst. i thought it was alright, thinking that everything was going to be connected in the end but no! nothing! terrible movie. I watched it because the other user comments made it seem like anyone who likes art movies would like it, but i love art movies and this sucked! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AwalK.Apr 9, 2006
Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I thought the nine different stories should have been more connected and weaved together. I don't Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I thought the nine different stories should have been more connected and weaved together. I don't expect 'Crash' or 'Pulp Fiction' but this movie seemed rather disjointed. The cinematography (each vignette is one long, continuous shot) is extraordianry, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tokiasmeDec 17, 2007
Lovely, touching and profound.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Oct 16, 2005
This movie was one of the best of the year. It deserves to be nominated for numerous film awards throughout the year. SAG nominee for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture for Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrillo, This movie was one of the best of the year. It deserves to be nominated for numerous film awards throughout the year. SAG nominee for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture for Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrillo, Glenn Close, Stephen Dillane, Dakota Fanning, Lisa Gay Hamilton, Holly Hunter, Robin Wright Penn, and Sissy Spacek and an Oscar for Dakota Fanning!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlanG.Jan 21, 2006
pointless. you must be an art movie fanatic to enjoy this one...
0 of 0 users found this helpful