User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 223
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EmilyH
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in alot of our "American" cases don't understand or want to understand. But Rob Marshall showed us the truth in this film about Italian life and Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in alot of our "American" cases don't understand or want to understand. But Rob Marshall showed us the truth in this film about Italian life and Federico Fellini. I'm only 17 years old and i understood the movie more then half of the older and younger audience. Most people left because they thought it was boring and didnt understand and they wanted a movie with a love and a fun story line and that's not what they got. They got a true and amazing story about a man. i Thought it was liberating and really brought justice to the stage production and to Federico Fellini himself. And for who ever said this movie brought nothing to the arts i'm sorry to tell you that you are sadly mistaken and that it brought more to the arts then any movie or film i have ever come across. It brought true honesty to a man and his "Being Italian" and if you don't call that art then you don't know the true meaning of art and you can not call yourself an artist. Expand
  2. BrainR.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    I'm really surprised that a lot of critics didn't like this film at all! This movie is WAY better than "Chicago", ever can. The songs are wonderful, the cast is amazing, everything is! I really recommend this movie!
  3. Seth
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very short in number meaning unfortunately a lot of people won't even give it a chance. If you have ever experienced creative blocks and love the I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very short in number meaning unfortunately a lot of people won't even give it a chance. If you have ever experienced creative blocks and love the Italian culture from the 60s then you can't help but enjoy this movie. It looks fantastic, all the stars put in great performances and unlike what others have said, has some great and memorable songs. I can't say I was a massive fan of Chicago and didn't really enjoy Moulin Rouge, but for me, this movie was incredible. Do yourself a favour and watch it and make up your own mind. You might be surprised. Expand
  4. JasonL.
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    This musical is downright perfect in every direction it goes. The songs, actors, everything is perfect in this wonderful movie by Rob Marshall.
  5. CJ
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent film! A little chaotic, but so was 8 1/2.
  6. musicallover
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Fun, energetic, great time at a theatre.
  7. LindaC
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    The spirit of William
  8. LonellF
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This movie is quite simply a masterpiece. Rob Marshall has bettered himself since Chicago and made a dark, quirky, emotionally rich work of art. Beyond the visuals is a real heart and a thoughtful examination of crises, relationships, the creative process and being creatively and emotionally stymied. All of the performances are pitch-perfect. Magnificent!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Rob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard and dazzling musical sequences.
  10. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Academy Award nominated for Best Supporting Actress I resent the fact that this movie would have negative reviews from fans.
  11. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    The saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which will most likely be confusing for those that aren't familiar with Fellini's original film. Everything said, I'm interested in seeing it again. I am leavingThe saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which will most likely be confusing for those that aren't familiar with Fellini's original film. Everything said, I'm interested in seeing it again. I am leaving room for this one to grow on me. Expand
  12. EggyG
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This movie depends heavily on Guido Contini character...and Daniel Day Lewis delivered in stunning & stylish way...watching his acting was half the fun of this movie...quit amazing. The actresses, music, cinematography is also above average...enough to gives Nine a 9.
  13. MichelH
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what he has become. He is creatively and ethically bankrupt and must change or perish. At this precipice of his life music, song, dance and beautiful sets This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what he has become. He is creatively and ethically bankrupt and must change or perish. At this precipice of his life music, song, dance and beautiful sets play out the emotions of the characters in such a way as to dramatically feel, almost grok, the depiction of the joys, sadness, mortality and resurrection of the infinite human spirit. It's the most brilliant use of the musical medium of film making since the Phantom. However, the flip side sorely seems to be that this musical is another pearl tossed before the swine of critics enamored with but the pornography of violence or the "Shock the Monkey" type of teenage pandering. So.......? I'm afraid we won't get many more of these wonderful creative gems of spiritual dimension. DAMN! Expand
  14. ralph'sdeadbunny
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Great movie! A little weak, but the acting made up for it!
  15. DeanH
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Certainly not for everyone, yet "Nine" succeeds in being a gorgeous bridge between "8 1/2" and the stage show "Nine." Stunning cinematography, capable singing, and better editing than Marshall's "Chicago," "Nine" is a 9. Fans of gunfire, gratuitous sex, CGI, and The Real World should stay far, far away.
  16. LindaM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Beautiful people, costumes, sets and artful music telling the engaging story of a tormented film director trying to bring honesty to his work and life.
  17. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    For me was a very good movie, if you enjoy movies and musicals, this is for you. The cinematography was excellent. Kidman, Dench, Cruz, Cotillard, Fergie, HUdson look very nice in the movie. you must to see it.
  18. DaveH
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    This was much better than these comments imply. I love musicals (but didn't care for Chicago) and just got back from Italy and I am a film fanatic so this worked for me. It's true it didn't have any truly memorable songs but it was very evocative of its time (the 60's) and the performances were terrific, especially Cotillard.
  19. ari
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 hours....guess he watched something else. This movie was definitely not a masterpiece, but the critics got this completely wrong...it was not as as bad as they made it out to be. It was just a good satisfying and entertaining time at the movies. The numbers It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 hours....guess he watched something else. This movie was definitely not a masterpiece, but the critics got this completely wrong...it was not as as bad as they made it out to be. It was just a good satisfying and entertaining time at the movies. The numbers were great, the acting was better, the story was a little thin and underdeveloped. Some say it was chaotic, it's meant to be that way...we're supposed to get a feel for Guido's frustration. Some characters were underdeveloped and thus seemed out of place, thats the writing...too much was cut out that should have stayed. In fact i wish the movie was 2.5 hours, maybe it would have been better. I'd still give it a 7, and i'll bump it up one because the acting was excellent! Judi Dench is completely underrated in this movie...she was great! Expand
  20. elaines
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    It is what it was on the stage. it did not have the stry of the movie "8 1/2". "Nine" the movie needed to be grounded in story and character...where were the women's character? still great work by Marshall.
  21. rickd
    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    I really liked it, am shocked my favorite critics who I usually agree with didn't.
  22. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Overall the movie falls very short of being much more than a composite work that fails. Individually the film is filmed with performances that had they been somehow blended with each other it might have been much more satisfying. Lewis was an excellent choice for the protoganist but he has his limitations. The women each in their own way deliver the goods it's the goods they are askedOverall the movie falls very short of being much more than a composite work that fails. Individually the film is filmed with performances that had they been somehow blended with each other it might have been much more satisfying. Lewis was an excellent choice for the protoganist but he has his limitations. The women each in their own way deliver the goods it's the goods they are asked to deliver that are questionable, and not so much the goods as to the way in which they are asked to deliver them. Cruz, Coitllard and Loren are excellent within their limitations. Kidman is quite good as is Dench and Fergie. Only Kate Hudson seems lost in the shuffle and in many respects just wasn't needed. The cohesion is missing. That's the failing. Expand
  23. May 21, 2011
    8
    I don't understand why so many people hate this movie. It's such a luscious film. Perhaps the only downside is being unable to understand Penelope Cruz when she's singing. Fergie's "Be Italian" is one of the best musical numbers ever. This movie is poignant, fabulous, and charming.
  24. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    Daniel Day-Lewis is most definitely not in his best form; but Marion Cotillard,who steals the show, and help from the other women in this cast make this musical a triumph. Although not a single song is really entertaining enough to keep you engaged the whole time. I give this film 76%.
  25. Matt
    Jan 31, 2010
    7
    Fun and Flashy. Marion and Pénelope are AMAZING
  26. LarryH
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Much better than the savage reviews. Rob Marshall's homage to Fellini is a ravishing mess of a film with some really fine performances and impressive singing. C'mon, all those beautiful women singing and dancing. If you thought Catherine Zeta Jones was hot in "Chicago," wait til you watch Penelope Lopez melt the screen with her "Guido" number. And Marion Cotilliard is the true Much better than the savage reviews. Rob Marshall's homage to Fellini is a ravishing mess of a film with some really fine performances and impressive singing. C'mon, all those beautiful women singing and dancing. If you thought Catherine Zeta Jones was hot in "Chicago," wait til you watch Penelope Lopez melt the screen with her "Guido" number. And Marion Cotilliard is the true north of this story. It's not perfect by a long shot, but it IS mesmerizing. Expand
  27. PatG
    Jan 9, 2010
    7
    I enjoyed Nine! Yes, it has an unconventional structure, but I could follow it. And the production numbers and the performers were very entertaining. Even Day-Lewis sounded just fine with his singing. It is worth seeing.
  28. Jennifer
    Dec 25, 2009
    7
    I rated this one a seven because it lacked movie magic. That feeling you get when the movie ends and you feel like you just experienced something great and you cannot wait to tell everyone what an amazing movies it was. I loved the costumes and I even liked the story and the layout of the film. Great performance by Marion Cotillard. My only complaint as I said above is the magic.
  29. BillyS
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    First of all, i'm sorry but, Daniel Day Lewis is totally wrong for the lead in Nine, they should have stayed with Javier Bardem. Second, with a cast like Sophia Loren, Nicole Kidman, Judi Dench, Penelope Cruz, Marion Cottilard and Kate Hudson you'd think someone would step up and deliver an Oscar worthy performance, but it's Black Eyed Peas singer Fergie who steals the First of all, i'm sorry but, Daniel Day Lewis is totally wrong for the lead in Nine, they should have stayed with Javier Bardem. Second, with a cast like Sophia Loren, Nicole Kidman, Judi Dench, Penelope Cruz, Marion Cottilard and Kate Hudson you'd think someone would step up and deliver an Oscar worthy performance, but it's Black Eyed Peas singer Fergie who steals the movie with her appointed number - "Be Italian". The whole movie plays like an assembly line of musical numbers where each actress gets their 15 minutes then on to the next. The production is visually stunning and should be nominated for alot of technical Oscars, but the movie just doesn't connect with the augience. A major disappointment consifering all involved. Expand
  30. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    "Nine" may be blabbering nonsense, but is admittedly great-looking. Nice performances from Cotillard and Cruz, enjoyable musical numbers, stunningly directed choreography and many improvements on the musical. Among its many weaknesses, the plot is confusingly pointless, the characters terribly one-sided and the premise too generic. It is pretty to look at, though, and an impressive piece"Nine" may be blabbering nonsense, but is admittedly great-looking. Nice performances from Cotillard and Cruz, enjoyable musical numbers, stunningly directed choreography and many improvements on the musical. Among its many weaknesses, the plot is confusingly pointless, the characters terribly one-sided and the premise too generic. It is pretty to look at, though, and an impressive piece of the movie-musical genre, even when compared to "Chicago". Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. The numbers, while lively, remain cluttered and stage-bound. The women, however, are spirited and sexy.
  2. The disappointments here are many, from a starry cast the film ill-uses to flat musical numbers that never fully integrate into the dramatic story. The only easy prediction is that Nine is not going to revive the slumbering musical-film genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Sophisticated, sexy and stylishly decked out, Rob Marshall's disciplined, tightly focused film impresses and amuses.