Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nine is a vibrant and provocative musical that follows the life of world famous film director Guido Contini as he reaches a creative and personal crisis of epic proportion, while balancing the numerous women in his life including his wife, his mistress, his film star muse, his confidant and costume designer, a young American fashion journalist, the whore from his youth and his mother. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Alastair Plumb
    80
    Though slightly marred by a clunky structure and a lack of truly catchy tunes, Nine’s wall-to-wall first-rate performances from its stellar cast (especially Cotillard) add a touch of class.
  2. 75
    Despite following its stage inspiration and bringing structure to Fellini's "8 1/2" (the ultimate source material), Nine still suffers at times from a lack of narrative drive and it doesn't have the surreal, dreamlike quality of "8 1/2" to fall back upon.
  3. It seems perverse to say a musical is at its best when nobody is singing, but Nine is a perverse kind of musical.
  4. 50
    A joyless trudge, particularly when compared to Fellini’s vibrant original?
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    We'd all like to live in an Italian movie. So says a character in Nine, and it's probably the best line in this musical misfire.
  6. 50
    Eventually, the inconsistency wears, and the film provokes mostly indifference and restlessness.
  7. 25
    It's a film within a film about a film within a film, and seems to lose layers of authenticity with each iteration, finally becoming a profoundly alienating experience.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 80
  2. Negative: 32 out of 80
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Rob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard and dazzling musical sequences. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Academy Award nominated for Best Supporting Actress I resent the fact that this movie would have negative reviews from fans.
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    Daniel Day-Lewis is most definitely not in his best form; but Marion Cotillard,who steals the show, and help from the other women in this cast make this musical a triumph. Although not a single song is really entertaining enough to keep you engaged the whole time. I give this film 76%. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    Well, 'Nine' surely is not Rob Marshall's masterpiece (especially after 'Chicago' and 'Memoirs of a Geisha'), but it does have some good points.
    First of, technically, there is not much to say against it. Good costumes and set design, nice cinematography and good enough music. The performances are very good, especially Penelope Cruz and Marion Cotillard. Penelope Cruz, once again, proves that she is a very versatile performer and excellently pin-points the Italian accent for the role of Contini's mistress. Cotillard is also excellent, but somewhat underwhelming after her amazing performance in 'La Vie en Rose'. However, the rest of the cast is very good, too. Daniel Day-Lewis is not as good as usual, but still decent. Judi Dench is, well.. somewhat disturbing, but still ok. Nicole Kidman is perfect as the actress-diva of the 60s, but is somewhat underused, since the first half of the film is just building up for her arrival and then: nothing. Lovely performance and singing, though. The story is hard to follow and at the end of the film one wonders what it was all about. A writers block? A mid-life crisis? Many women? A man who does not know what he wants with his life? With his film? Seems ironical, since it reflects Rob Marshall's confusion over what to do with this film, for he surely could have done a much better job.
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the movie´s photography is simply perfect, i swear i love it´s scenography, BUT the movie, it´s kind of boring, i admit i like every kind of movies like musicals, historic drama´s but i was REALLY bored. Penelope Cruz actuation was not bad at all, but i consider that is NOT that greatful to be nominated for AcademyAwrds. . I thnk that the movie get´s so long, without an important topic, at the end, WHO cares Contini ? . Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2010
    4
    only good parts were when Penelope Cruz was on screen..worth renting if nothing else.......................................................................................................................................... Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    0
    This movie was an insult to musical theatre. I honestly think it was the worst movie I have ever seen. I could hardly sit through it. Of all the musicals to turn into a movie, this was not the one. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  3. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.