Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nine is a vibrant and provocative musical that follows the life of world famous film director Guido Contini as he reaches a creative and personal crisis of epic proportion, while balancing the numerous women in his life including his wife, his mistress, his film star muse, his confidant andNine is a vibrant and provocative musical that follows the life of world famous film director Guido Contini as he reaches a creative and personal crisis of epic proportion, while balancing the numerous women in his life including his wife, his mistress, his film star muse, his confidant and costume designer, a young American fashion journalist, the whore from his youth and his mother. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Alastair Plumb
    80
    Though slightly marred by a clunky structure and a lack of truly catchy tunes, Nine’s wall-to-wall first-rate performances from its stellar cast (especially Cotillard) add a touch of class.
  2. 75
    Despite following its stage inspiration and bringing structure to Fellini's "8 1/2" (the ultimate source material), Nine still suffers at times from a lack of narrative drive and it doesn't have the surreal, dreamlike quality of "8 1/2" to fall back upon.
  3. It seems perverse to say a musical is at its best when nobody is singing, but Nine is a perverse kind of musical.
  4. 50
    A joyless trudge, particularly when compared to Fellini’s vibrant original?
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    We'd all like to live in an Italian movie. So says a character in Nine, and it's probably the best line in this musical misfire.
  6. 50
    Eventually, the inconsistency wears, and the film provokes mostly indifference and restlessness.
  7. 25
    It's a film within a film about a film within a film, and seems to lose layers of authenticity with each iteration, finally becoming a profoundly alienating experience.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 81
  2. Negative: 32 out of 81
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Rob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel DayRob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard and dazzling musical sequences. Expand
  2. CJ
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent film! A little chaotic, but so was 8 1/2.
  3. ari
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 hours....guess he watched something else. This movie was definitely not a masterpiece, but the critics got this completely wrong...it was not as as bad as they made it out to be. It was just a good satisfying and entertaining time at the movies. The numbers were great, the acting was better, the story was a little thin and underdeveloped. Some say it was chaotic, it's meant to be that way...we're supposed to get a feel for Guido's frustration. Some characters were underdeveloped and thus seemed out of place, thats the writing...too much was cut out that should have stayed. In fact i wish the movie was 2.5 hours, maybe it would have been better. I'd still give it a 7, and i'll bump it up one because the acting was excellent! Judi Dench is completely underrated in this movie...she was great! Collapse
  4. H.D.Bfly
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    Day-Lewis was terrible. The worst Italian imitation ever. His accent was Eastern European. Totally miscast. And the character was totally Day-Lewis was terrible. The worst Italian imitation ever. His accent was Eastern European. Totally miscast. And the character was totally unlikeable, bereft of even a hint of charisma. Why would anyone like him, let alone love him? Okay, the women. We see them in the beginning, like a tease on a TV variety show. Starring Nicole Kidman--whom you won't see until the third act. Kate Hudson, who appears in the "reality" portion of the film half the time she's in the fantasy musical number. There is no character for them to play, only types, and they come and go so quickly, there is no time to get to know the characters or have the actress's develop a scintilla of one. Sophia Loren? I dare anyone to repeat a line she said--good or bad--that doesn't have the word Guido in it. What was her song? I couldn't tell you if a knife was at my throat. Marion Cotillard was a wonder. I've never seen her act before and she blew me away. The brightest spot in a lightless film. [Although I generally liked the cinematography.] Penelope Cruz was good, too. And Judi Dench, well, was Judi Dench. You can always depend on that old workhorse. The rest, a big mess. Terrible DDL, terrible songs, and stinky direction. I went in expecting a not-great film but even those low expectations were not met. Expand
  5. GaryD.
    Jan 19, 2010
    3
    A nightmare of timing with a staggering start leading to a collapse in the middle with an inadequate finish. The music poorly contrived. A nightmare of timing with a staggering start leading to a collapse in the middle with an inadequate finish. The music poorly contrived. Though the costumes were beautiful the movie failed to capitalize on the period. Kate Hudson and Fergie had the best numbers and the best choreography. Daniel Day Lewis had the worst. Expand
  6. BaltazarH
    Jan 16, 2010
    1
    The "Italian" acting in my opinion was kind of in the middle for me...either you exaggerate the funny Italian accent or you do it for real. The "Italian" acting in my opinion was kind of in the middle for me...either you exaggerate the funny Italian accent or you do it for real. None of the songs were very interesting at all. I don't understand how a movie with so many top actors wasn't entertaining to me at all. Expand
  7. BahHumbug
    Dec 19, 2009
    0
    Fellini is going to rise from his grave and kill those responsible for this steaming pile.

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  3. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.