Ninja Assassin

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 183

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DaveA
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    It should be noted that this is a bad movie, but that is the point. Being a bad movie makes this movie no less awesome; watching this movie is just like watching a train wreck. That said, I had fun; it is an amazingly awesome blood bath, where every persons blood pressure must be through the roof and a character can lose a half gallon of blood before succumbing to anemia. If you want to It should be noted that this is a bad movie, but that is the point. Being a bad movie makes this movie no less awesome; watching this movie is just like watching a train wreck. That said, I had fun; it is an amazingly awesome blood bath, where every persons blood pressure must be through the roof and a character can lose a half gallon of blood before succumbing to anemia. If you want to see a 90 min cut scene for Ninja Gaiden, then this movie is for you. Expand
  2. TDKinDallas
    Nov 29, 2009
    8
    Excellent karate chop movie. If you are into this kind of movie, then you should have already seen it. Worth the price of admission just for the cgi bodily dismemberment (wish there had been even more) and why did they even try to have a story...I mean c'mon!
  3. NickZ
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    Rating this moving on any cinematic scale is absolutely absurd and doing so is simply failure to understand what one has just watched. Ninja Assassin is a vehicle for 80
  4. NateH
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    Not perfect, but the film is saved by the fact that Rain's in it and ninjas are awesome. Plot is indeed worthless, however.
  5. JsonO
    Nov 27, 2009
    7
    Obviously, this is not a critics' movie. They stopped fancying martial arts movie since 80s. However, you are into martial arts movies, this movie is for you. Tons of fights and actions.
  6. LK
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    This is truly action entertainment at its highest. I really enjoyed it & thought kpop star Rain was magnificent in the fighting scenes. The script was not great, but the movie was saved because of Rain!
  7. JCChase
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Loved, loved, loved it. No plot holes, tons of action.
  8. ChrisP
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    This movie is a 100 pound box of awesome! It does not waste much time with excessive talkiness or the trappings of cinema because, quite frankly it is the story of ninjas. And the ninjas and the fighting scenes depicting them deliver everything a reasonable person might want from a ninja movie: frenetic combat, over the top violence, and stealthy assassins who disappear and reappear in This movie is a 100 pound box of awesome! It does not waste much time with excessive talkiness or the trappings of cinema because, quite frankly it is the story of ninjas. And the ninjas and the fighting scenes depicting them deliver everything a reasonable person might want from a ninja movie: frenetic combat, over the top violence, and stealthy assassins who disappear and reappear in the shadows of night. The plot is spare, but straightforward because you aren't coming to see the movie because of the plot. The characters (other than the main character) are thinly developed, but you're not coming to see the movie because of the character development. You're coming to see badass ninja action and Ninja Assassin delivers in spades for almost all of its 99 minute runtime. If you have ever considered the thought of ninja warfare entertaining, this is a movie for you. Expand
  9. zhouyuyeeo.
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    It gives what I've expected. Great fight scene, great choreography. Would like to see a sequel.
  10. CalebK
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    The title says it all!!!! There is no better ninja movie that has come out in the last 10 years, so leave the ladies at home grab some pops with the boys and enjoy 1.5 or of merciless slicing and dicing
  11. GwenB
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I am amazed at how unimformed and out of touch the critics in America are. This movie Starred an actor named Rain (Jung Jihoon) who is an actor/model/R&B singer who practices martial arts as a hobby (even though he rivals Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan). Ninja Assassin Tells exactly how deadly Ninjas truly are and lets us see inside the world that many of us are unfamiliar with and which takes I am amazed at how unimformed and out of touch the critics in America are. This movie Starred an actor named Rain (Jung Jihoon) who is an actor/model/R&B singer who practices martial arts as a hobby (even though he rivals Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan). Ninja Assassin Tells exactly how deadly Ninjas truly are and lets us see inside the world that many of us are unfamiliar with and which takes us out of our America safety zone. Yet in the midst of it, it shares a love story unlike the lovers in The King and I. Mika, though interesting as a journalist, is played beautifully by Naomi Harris. The story leaves us suspenseful and wanting more. When the movie ended, I heard applause everywhere. I am beginning to see that if critics hate a movie, it mut be good! Expand
  12. NeilB
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Look, please stop looking for the English Patient level of film,character and plot development in a movie called "Ninja Assassin". The movie was terrific for its genre, and ushered in a new action star. Something sorely needed. While I understand the plot wasnt the greatest. The action sure was, and the ending was ridiculously aggressive. Rain is the Next Bruce, (Other Asian Action Stars, Look, please stop looking for the English Patient level of film,character and plot development in a movie called "Ninja Assassin". The movie was terrific for its genre, and ushered in a new action star. Something sorely needed. While I understand the plot wasnt the greatest. The action sure was, and the ending was ridiculously aggressive. Rain is the Next Bruce, (Other Asian Action Stars, please hand over the RAIN's ) Pun intended. Expand
  13. SugarMomma
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    You get more than you expect. The story and script writing is good. The acting is intense, and believable (Rain is captivating on screen). There is humor. Raizo's story is told through well-paced flashbacks that intersperse the action in a way that leaves you emotionally invested in his character. And of course, the fight scenes are beautifully choreographed, and the hero is a demon You get more than you expect. The story and script writing is good. The acting is intense, and believable (Rain is captivating on screen). There is humor. Raizo's story is told through well-paced flashbacks that intersperse the action in a way that leaves you emotionally invested in his character. And of course, the fight scenes are beautifully choreographed, and the hero is a demon incarnate! I was gripped throughout the whole movie, and thought it went by really fast. Loved it. Expand
  14. JamesW
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    Is it a perfect film? Certainly not. In fact, if you are something of a movie snob you may find yourself repulsed with Ninja Assassin. However, if you are looking for a simple, mindless action flick with a bevy of Ninjas where you can simply check your brain at the door, Ninja Assassin definitely delivers.
  15. paulh
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    I will rate this movie on how much I enjoyed it. If you go into the movie expecting to see the "real" stories behind ninjas, you'll be disappointed...mainly because ninjas don't exist. The critics must have expected an oscar performance and a waterproof script going into this movie.
  16. Paul
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    There are many types of movies out their, and this movie just happens to fall into one single category which is, Holy Sh#t.!, if you like action movies, and you want to be amazed visually, then watch this movie. Its entertaining, bloody, and pretty sweet.
  17. michaelk
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Now heres the thing... if you go to the movies one night to see a great movie, with deep, complex characters, a solid multi-layered story full of twists and a strong emotionally driven plot... dont see this movie if you go to the movies to movies one night just to escape, waste some time and be entertained this is the movie for you (provided you can handle ALOT of blood and gore). I fell Now heres the thing... if you go to the movies one night to see a great movie, with deep, complex characters, a solid multi-layered story full of twists and a strong emotionally driven plot... dont see this movie if you go to the movies to movies one night just to escape, waste some time and be entertained this is the movie for you (provided you can handle ALOT of blood and gore). I fell into this latter category and i walked away thoroughly happy with how i spent my money. Is it a great movie by technical definition or compared to movies like (two of my personal favorites) Saving Private Ryan or Pan's Labyrinth? No. Its violent, campy escapism at its finest and, lets just be honest, thats all it ever intended itself to be. Expand
  18. CHIQAGOLIL
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Award winning Korean Actor Rain stars in this drama that has viewers actually reacting to a movie for a change. From the ouuus and ahhhs to the applaud at the ending, we are blown away by this Korean phenomena. I am startled at how critics of this movie do not know the R&B singer, Rain who stars lead as Raizo. Then again, if critics don't see naked White women performing lewd acts, Award winning Korean Actor Rain stars in this drama that has viewers actually reacting to a movie for a change. From the ouuus and ahhhs to the applaud at the ending, we are blown away by this Korean phenomena. I am startled at how critics of this movie do not know the R&B singer, Rain who stars lead as Raizo. Then again, if critics don't see naked White women performing lewd acts, they never think the movie is worth watching anyway. Love. Expand
  19. TreyW
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Do not listen to these absurd reviews saying the movie was bad. It was one of the best martial arts movies I have ever seen. Pure non-stop action and a simple but good plot (a lot more than expected). When I first went to see the movie I knew it would be good but I did not know I would like it this much! I cannot wait to buy it when it comes to DVD and hope they make a second one.
  20. PaulJ.
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    This movie was awesome. It was probably one of the goriest movies ever made.Lots of action. I'm buying it when it comes out. Fast no slow parts at all.
  21. KimK.
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    I loved the story line. It may be gory and really AHHH! like, but I think the story line is much better than some other action films. Although there were many things that were so fake...like how Raizo was like totally attacked by 30 ninjas and survived, it was a really good movie. BE WARNED! A LOT OF GORY ACTION! And people around the age of 30 might not like it! HAHA.
  22. SK
    Nov 25, 2009
    8
    Lots of blood and gore! Great ninja action, but the lighting is too dark and the camera is too shaky sometimes, so it's hard to see what's going on.
  23. ShaunG
    Nov 25, 2009
    8
    Obviously this movie is not going to win any awards. It is what is. It's a total guy movie. Like a video game. Total action entertainment with body parts flying all around. You just have to buy into it for an hour and half and have fun watching the action scenes. I really liked it.
  24. NicholasF
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    Alright I'm sick of hearing bad reviews for this movie. The special effects are a overdone and exaggerated, but it's to enhance the movie, but it shouldn't take away from it. I'm pretty sure that the special effects aren't meant to be taken seriously, or meant to look real. The fight scenes are incredible, and for everyone who says "the story doesn't make Alright I'm sick of hearing bad reviews for this movie. The special effects are a overdone and exaggerated, but it's to enhance the movie, but it shouldn't take away from it. I'm pretty sure that the special effects aren't meant to be taken seriously, or meant to look real. The fight scenes are incredible, and for everyone who says "the story doesn't make sense" should probably see it again. I personally thought the story was very compelling, and it was emotional in between all the blood. Personally one of my favorite movies by the Wachowski Brothers. Do not hesitate to see this movie, or you'll be missing out on what will soon become a cult classic. Expand
  25. KharlV
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Watched it thanksgiving morning.. what a treat! Got me all ready to gut open a turkey. The opening scene was amazing (in movies such as this, you want to be utterly surprised with the first kill)... Like with Punisher: War Zone (chair through guys eye). I laughed, I clapped, and kept saying "Greateste Ninja Movie Ever!" Not for those feint of heart (or want a solid plotline, acting, good Watched it thanksgiving morning.. what a treat! Got me all ready to gut open a turkey. The opening scene was amazing (in movies such as this, you want to be utterly surprised with the first kill)... Like with Punisher: War Zone (chair through guys eye). I laughed, I clapped, and kept saying "Greateste Ninja Movie Ever!" Not for those feint of heart (or want a solid plotline, acting, good pace in a film.. etc). For what it is... I give it a solid A+!!!!! Expand
  26. JasonE
    Nov 29, 2009
    7
    if you want to complain about how it was a cinamatic fail then you obviously went for the wrong reasons. The title says it all. Ninja Assassin. I went to see a gory actionfest with mind numbing action. When they weren't talking about the retarded story I got exactly what I wanted. It drops to a 7 for me because there was way to much talking for a ninja flick.
  27. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    While the acting could've been better, I really enjoyed this movie. Awesome martial arts by Rain. And I loved seeing blood all over the place. Good thing this movie wasn't in 3d though!
  28. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    This movie is hilarious. Pure camp action. The Plot is supposed to suck because it is completely Tongue in Cheek and over the top. I would give it a 10, if they kept the pace consistent to the crescendo. . . but it's near perfect for what they were trying to do. . . Kick ass and have a fun romp at the same time!
  29. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    This movie is so under-appreciated it is a crime.

    There is a plot, its detailed, and develops well. There are characters, protagonists antagonists, etc. In short it has all the standard trimmings of a story/movie. Where this movie excels and possibly puts people off, is the graphic and nearly-over-the-top manner in which the combat/fight scenes are executed. Yes there is
    This movie is so under-appreciated it is a crime.

    There is a plot, its detailed, and develops well. There are characters, protagonists antagonists, etc.

    In short it has all the standard trimmings of a story/movie.

    Where this movie excels and possibly puts people off, is the graphic and nearly-over-the-top manner in which the combat/fight scenes are executed. Yes there is violence. Lots of it. Too much? well thats subjective.

    In the end, I think this is the best treatment of the Ninja "legend" inclusive of hints of mysticism (shadow-jumping etc.) that I have seen.

    If you liked The Matrix movies you'll love this.

    Do not listen to these absurd reviews saying the movie was bad. It was one of the best martial arts movies I have ever seen. Pure non-stop action and a simple but good plot (a lot more than expected). When I first went to see the movie I knew it would be good but I did not know I would like it this much! I cannot wait to buy it when it comes to DVD and hope they make a second one.
    Expand
  30. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    "Ninja Assassin" knows exactly what it is-A bloody good time. Though, many people mite not care for the offerings that this movie has for us, this movie was really made to be a load of bloody fun! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy gore, the action, and the thrills.
  31. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent movie, you have to watch it 2nd time to really appreciate it. It is so real although it could be a little bloody, but that is the ninja was famous for. Of course, for people who don't understand what ninja is all about, it would be difficult for them to enjoy the movie. The actor Rain is fantastic, and well loved by millions all over asia. If compare Rain singingThis is an excellent movie, you have to watch it 2nd time to really appreciate it. It is so real although it could be a little bloody, but that is the ninja was famous for. Of course, for people who don't understand what ninja is all about, it would be difficult for them to enjoy the movie. The actor Rain is fantastic, and well loved by millions all over asia. If compare Rain singing on stage normally to what he was in the movie, you realise how much work he had put into this movie. Well deserve a 9! Expand
  32. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    let's be real you don't go to watch a movie titled ninja assassin for an in depth plot. you go to see the martial arts ninja action and it delivers in satisfying over the top action sequences coupled with excellent fight scenes. would anyone watch a movie titled Debbie does Dallas expecting some great story to emerge? no
  33. May 19, 2013
    10
    It's like being injected with a bloody, gory and jaw dropping drug. Ninja Assassin captures the story of Rain, a student in martial arts. When Rain's bloodthirsty killers shadow him, he uses his carnage to payback and get his lady love who has been captured by the antagonist. NA is a good film, in fact a really good film. The fast paced killings, brilliant martial arts and good story- AllIt's like being injected with a bloody, gory and jaw dropping drug. Ninja Assassin captures the story of Rain, a student in martial arts. When Rain's bloodthirsty killers shadow him, he uses his carnage to payback and get his lady love who has been captured by the antagonist. NA is a good film, in fact a really good film. The fast paced killings, brilliant martial arts and good story- All done by James McTiguge. This film is about killing and killing works. The visuals are stunning and a bloody good time. This was the only fun, indo, fast and gory film that worked in 2009. This film is not for soft people or people who don't like this genre and blood and gore. This film is not for everyone. Certainley, not for kids, though. You can't compare it to masterpieces like There Will Be Blood or The Dark Knight. But certainly, rent or buy this film for 9.99 and sit back with buttery popcorn and enjoy the blood, gore and stylized violence. Or buy a ticket if needed. This was a badass movie and the critics are talking s**t about it. Expand
  34. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I'm very disappointed with all these "critics" giving thumbs down to this masterpiece. If you are a movie "critic" and you gave this NINJA movie a thumbs down... you don't know about Ninjas and NINJA fans.

    This move is exactly what Ninja fans love about Ninjas. It's PERFECT!
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20
  1. Ninja isn't a great movie, but if you're in the right frame of mind, it is a bloody good time.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    40
    Seemingly made to capitalize on a dubious CG innovation -- namely, the slicing of bodies in half by whizzing five-pointed stars -- Ninja Assassin has little else to recommend it, not even laughs.
  3. Numbingly gory when it isn’t just plain numbing.