User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1284 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PB
    Sep 12, 2009
    8
    Gripping and tense throughout, I found myself engrossed in the plot. The only disappointment was the painfully realistic ending. I felt they should have made it more apparent that the Sheriff was the main protagonist, which would have made the ending less peculiar. I felt I had to do some research to fully understand the decisions made in terms of plot, as the story motifs are a bit lost Gripping and tense throughout, I found myself engrossed in the plot. The only disappointment was the painfully realistic ending. I felt they should have made it more apparent that the Sheriff was the main protagonist, which would have made the ending less peculiar. I felt I had to do some research to fully understand the decisions made in terms of plot, as the story motifs are a bit lost in translation as a result of film adaptation. In terms of screenplay, it was a incredibly shot and acted film that I enjoyed a great deal. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    Javier Bardem really makes this film, His performance is not only haunting but its amazing. His supporting cast is good as well. The film is interesting ,as is the plot, but I just cant put it up there with other top films. Its the performances that make this film and it shows through out.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    brilliant masterpiece! The acting performed by Bardem is excellent. The touches of unexpected moments make it really entertaining. Might be a little dissapointing in the end for some.
  4. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    10
    No Country for Old Men was an amazing adaptation of the book by Cormac McCarthy. (I've actually read the book. That's why I can say that) The story was great, and the actors were extraordinary (mainly Javier Bardem).
  5. KL
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    Not a bad film, and since the film seems to be a faithful adaption of the novel then the actual ending couldn't change. It is a subtle ending which, to some that might have got gripped by the Chigurh Vs Moss scenes may have got lost on, the film's opening lines spoken by Sherriff Tom Bell are crucial, but I can reasonable imagine that after 2 and a half hours most viewers would Not a bad film, and since the film seems to be a faithful adaption of the novel then the actual ending couldn't change. It is a subtle ending which, to some that might have got gripped by the Chigurh Vs Moss scenes may have got lost on, the film's opening lines spoken by Sherriff Tom Bell are crucial, but I can reasonable imagine that after 2 and a half hours most viewers would be a pains to remember what was said! That aside the film was well made but not quite the perfect film that some here have held it up to be. There are a few plot holds and scenes which didn't make much sence and wouldn't really happen in reality although this could be a critism of the writer of the original novel. Spoilers: Why did Moss go back with water to the injured man in the truck? Assuming that he did manage to survive after Moss left him, water alone wouldn't save the man. When the Chigurh come calling on Moss, why did Moss, a man that goes hunting not take some sort of cover or different position rather than sit squarely oin the bed so that Chigurh wouldn't be able to get a clean shot off first? Woody Haroldson's character also seemed to be rather pointless. Moss's off screen demise was truely anticlimatic having followed the guy's trials for much of the movie. Was this decision to do Moss death offscreen just done in that manner just to be different and suprising... perhaps but it still was very anticlimatical all the same. In conclusion No Country For Old Men was good but could have been better. Expand
  6. ViolettaK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    7
    The only movie I've seen that really lets the viewer know what living in Texas is like. No one speaks English, the best you will get out of an average person is something close to Pidgin, Woody's character on Cheers is smarter than the local sheriff, there are guns always going off, every old person you meet thinks a hispanic in a suit is strange and there is at least one Anton The only movie I've seen that really lets the viewer know what living in Texas is like. No one speaks English, the best you will get out of an average person is something close to Pidgin, Woody's character on Cheers is smarter than the local sheriff, there are guns always going off, every old person you meet thinks a hispanic in a suit is strange and there is at least one Anton Chigurh in every county. Very realistic! Expand
  7. ChrisSOC
    May 17, 2008
    6
    Some interesting characters..... after that it is a story that has little point, and is one of the most overrated films of all time.

    What is it with film critics and their "best movie I've seen this year," both the top movies of 2007 I've seen kind of suck. Acadamy worthy acting, but light years from acanamy worthy movie.
  8. ChadS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    The Coen Brothers get serious. With "No Country for Old Men", Joel and Ethan Coen answer critics' charges that they favor style over substance. The stylized(read: witty) dialogue is still there, but this time, the regional characters seem less like unwitting punchlines for urbanites to laugh at. When a deputy laughs, then checks himself, after the sheriff(Tommy Lee Jones) makes a The Coen Brothers get serious. With "No Country for Old Men", Joel and Ethan Coen answer critics' charges that they favor style over substance. The stylized(read: witty) dialogue is still there, but this time, the regional characters seem less like unwitting punchlines for urbanites to laugh at. When a deputy laughs, then checks himself, after the sheriff(Tommy Lee Jones) makes a pithy comment about a newspaper article, there's the unmistakable feel that the Coen Brothers are performing a mea culpa, an admission of self-awareness that they do sometimes treat rural folks a bit unfairly. Make no mistake: "No Country for Old Men" is not "O Brother Where Art Thou". Although Jones has occasional fits of long-windedness that stops the film cold in its tracks, "No Country for Old Men" is mostly engrossing, droll(not ha-ha funny) and bloody. Expand
  9. mg
    Jan 21, 2008
    6
    awesome middle, brimming with tension and brilliant acting. crap last half hour though and a real let down was when you don't even see llewelyn die. Really it's crap from there on out.
  10. MarkR
    Jan 20, 2008
    6
    This seems to be a love it or hate it kind of movie. I experienced neither emotion. But I'm not sure that I understand what all the critical fuss is about. I like the Coen Bros. and their films. I love serious and artistic films. I even went to one of the best film schools in the country and studied film criticism. And yet this film left me cold. One thing that bothers me about many This seems to be a love it or hate it kind of movie. I experienced neither emotion. But I'm not sure that I understand what all the critical fuss is about. I like the Coen Bros. and their films. I love serious and artistic films. I even went to one of the best film schools in the country and studied film criticism. And yet this film left me cold. One thing that bothers me about many of the comments posted here by those who loved the film is the inference that you must be an idiot if don't like it, that you must only appreciate mindless action films if you don't love No Country for Old Men. As I stated above, I know a lot about film and appreciate films of all kind and I'm certainly not an idiot (for a career I publish and editor a well regarded independent music and entertainment magazine, if that means anything), and yet I can't get behind No Country for Old Men as one of the absolute best films of the year. The basic premise/plot (stolen drug money and the assassin on the trail of the money) has been done many times before. But obviously the Coen Bros. twist the conventions of the genre in somewhat interesting ways. I found the movie engaging for the first two-thirds or three-fourths, but then it lost me. The final ending itself did nothing for me what-so-ever. Based on the Oscar contenders that I've seen thus far this year, I'd much prefer that There Will Be Blood or Atonement win best picture, two films that affected me emotionally much more than No Country for Old Men did. From an intellectual perspective I could appreciate No Country for Old Men, although I still don't understand why so many critics and audience members seem to have such undying love for it, but I truly feel that both Atonement and There Will Be Blood are better made films in all facets. Still, you should definitely see this one for yourself and form your own opinion either way. Expand
  11. JackB
    Mar 2, 2008
    4
    The first 90 minutes of this film had me on the edge of my seat. Then within 5 minutes and two scenes, everything that had been building up was ruined by an incredibly poor and ill constructed twist. After watching Broken Flowers, which also had no ending, i must say im becoming somewhat disillusioned by the film industry at this moment in time.
  12. KenL.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Flawless!
  13. DavidShepherd
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this movie, it has some of the greatest acting I've seen, they either make you love them, or hate them, theres no in between. The intensity is so great, keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. The ending is the only part that I don't like, there are so many questions and loose end that need to answered, it makes me so mad.
  14. EmmaG.
    Feb 19, 2008
    6
    It's a well done movie, that's all. I don't understand why it's getting so many awards, there have been better movies this year (Eastern Promises, for example).
  15. KristofferD.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    This movie was awesome! And as a Texan, the use of language and personality really hit home. It was great!
  16. FredC.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best movie of the year, (so far). Well acted, and a great screenplay.
  17. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    Some reasons why this movie is great... that the haters just seem to utterly miss. a) Superb cinematography focused on a bleak southern landscape that easily reflects the movie's naturalistic theme b) Motifs such as different portrayals of money determining fate c) Pithy dialogue in which the Coens' derive cornpone wisdom out of people who have seen too much (love the scene with the twoSome reasons why this movie is great... that the haters just seem to utterly miss. a) Superb cinematography focused on a bleak southern landscape that easily reflects the movie's naturalistic theme b) Motifs such as different portrayals of money determining fate c) Pithy dialogue in which the Coens' derive cornpone wisdom out of people who have seen too much (love the scene with the two retired lawmen in the desert shack near the end) d) Tommy Lee Jones, all wrinkled and angst-ridden about the state of the world when he should be looking forward to retirement. e) lots more but you can read critics reviews to find out what those reasons are. I'm not prone to giving out 10s unless something deserves it. I've seen this three times and it's as perfect as movies come. Some of the haters here are just downright pretentious while others really are too dumb to get a great piece of film making like this. Expand
  18. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    A truely unique movie. An effective thriller and much more besides. Visually a joy. Perfect casting for the three male leads. Has the stamp of the Coen Bros: gentle humor slipping underneath great drama (and great violence).
  19. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    A thrilling film most of the way through with an outstanding performance from Javier Bardem that disappoints with a finale which may have great meaning and suit the story but falls flat from a entertaining point of view. Don't let a disappointing albeit unique finale turn you off what is a great film.
  20. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing film. This was probably the first movie that ever actually affected me in a big way. Perfect casting, amazing performance from Javier and a perfect use of pretty much no musical score whatsoever. It's a western, but not the type of western I had expected. So different from any other film I had ever seen before it, I really was blown away by the amazing direction. This isAbsolutely amazing film. This was probably the first movie that ever actually affected me in a big way. Perfect casting, amazing performance from Javier and a perfect use of pretty much no musical score whatsoever. It's a western, but not the type of western I had expected. So different from any other film I had ever seen before it, I really was blown away by the amazing direction. This is the type of movie I love. It isn't really moved along with action and suspense (though it has plenty of both), but by character interaction and dialogue. Potentially the best western of all time. Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No Country for Old Men is an incredibly taut thrill ride. It starts off with Sheriff Ed Bell (Tommy Lee Jones) discussing to the audience the story about a 14 year old girl who was murdered by her teenage lover because of the fact that he had been in the state of killing someone for an enduring time. This really sets the mood for No Country for Old Men as Sheriff Bell quickly summarizes the evil that lies deep in our hearts, his voice is flat, calm, and delegate. This in turn he is able to grasp and pull in the audience to forebode what terror may lie ahead. Then we're able to witness a gruesome murder in the hands of Anton Chigurh, the antagonist. What's so strong about this whole opening act is that Bell analyzes the very true nature of mankind, and then we're able to witness it as a whole ourselves. This act is brilliant, truly brilliant. Jones delivers his small speech with such clarity and confidence that it all seems too real. The plot is mostly focused on the 3 main characters Sheriff Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones), Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin), and Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem). While hunting antelope in the Texan desert, Moss stumbles upon an unusual scene of a drug deal gone really wrong. There are a few scattered bodies everywhere and a dead dog. After finding at least a dozen kilos of drugs neatly placed in the back of a truck, Moss figures that the money is probably somewhere near. He makes his way from the site and finds a deceased man with a briefcase in his lap; the contents are 2 million dollars. Moss makes off with the money and leaves town. Chigurh, the most evil soul in films since Hannibal Lecter, tries to hunt down Moss at all costs to get the money back that he thinks is his own, Sheriff Bell is hot on the trail of both trying to hunt down Chigurh and trying to find Moss before Chigurh does. It sounds like a typical cat and mouse game but it really isn't. The Coen brothers formula works yet again and they are able to deliver a true one of a kind gem. The three main actors are simply flawless and amazing, Chigurh being the best villain since Hannibal Lecter, as said above. Jones is his normal self taking on a character that is broken and flawed and Brolin is simply dazzling. All three characters are intelligent, each depicting a different personality that exhibits each of their downfall later near the climax of the story. That saying, Chigurh is unbelievably evil, unbelievably obsessed with his prey, unbelievably haunting, and unbelievably funny. Never have I seen a character as creepy as Bardem's Chigurh that I have cringed and laughed at the same time, he is truly perfect. The many different shootouts that occur in the film either between Brolin and Bardem, or other characters alike, are mesmerizing at times. The quiet shots of the alleyway shootout between the two is astounding because the quietness leaves so much suspense that you're literally on the edge of your seat waiting for the next shot to be fired. That famous Coen dialogue is in here as well. There are key moments where it really comes to light, especially the gas station scene with Chigurh and the clerk he tries to play the fate of life with. The interactions between each character is flawless, they all display emotions, react to those emotions, and ultimately deliver a brilliant scene. What I think is the strongest part of the film, though, is about the last half hour. In that timespan we're able to see these 3 characters for who they really are and what their ultimate goal really is, though the predicaments they face make them fail ultimately and none of the trio really find and take what they were going for the entire time, and almost all three make away with something else entirely. What's great about that whole scene is that it leaves you to wonder after viewing how these characters fail. Could they have succeeded? Could they have crossed a fatal path with each other? Who knows, and this is what makes it all worth while and it makes you think long after. After many viewings its easy to spot the discrepancy of the characters and what makes them who they really are and you could easily spot the solutions that they could have accomplished in order to have succeeded in their quests. The ending is debatable of course but what's so achieving about it is that it ends abruptly, so abruptly like a smack to the face. It leaves you to wonder why it does that, why it ends on such a low depressing note that leaves you in darkness, and why it leaves you to decide wholefully. No Country for Old Men is a marvel to films, a simple masterpiece that pushes itself far beyond the other boundaries that other films have tried to accomplish. It's underrated in some aspects of course, mostly because of the ending but all in all it is a truly miraculous film that's simply flawless and simply astounding. It's a twisted story with beautiful moments that delves deep into the dark roots of human nature. Expand
  22. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    No Country for Old Men is an example of how a chase movie should be done. When I first saw this film I thought that it was distinctly average, yet upon re-watching it I found it much more enjoyable. The film is gripping and tense, with all the performances being fantastic, particularly Javier Bardem whose performance is nothing short of chilling. Indeed, Bardem is involved in all of theNo Country for Old Men is an example of how a chase movie should be done. When I first saw this film I thought that it was distinctly average, yet upon re-watching it I found it much more enjoyable. The film is gripping and tense, with all the performances being fantastic, particularly Javier Bardem whose performance is nothing short of chilling. Indeed, Bardem is involved in all of the films best scenes and helps massively to elevate the film above the average. The only major flaw with this movie is that the ending speech given by Tommy Lee Jones is immensely hard to understand, and after seeing the film twice I still don't get it. Nevertheless, No Country for Old Men is a great film and definitely well worth watching. Expand
  23. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Cormac McCarthy's national bestseller help the coen brothers make their first and finest adaption. No Country For Old Men, the bloodiest hell ride that shows the horror of the notorious psychopath kilter, named Anton Chigurh. This madman soon chases this guy named llewelyn Moss, a Vietnam veteran who finds a truckload of mexican brown dope and a case filled with ten million dollars inCormac McCarthy's national bestseller help the coen brothers make their first and finest adaption. No Country For Old Men, the bloodiest hell ride that shows the horror of the notorious psychopath kilter, named Anton Chigurh. This madman soon chases this guy named llewelyn Moss, a Vietnam veteran who finds a truckload of mexican brown dope and a case filled with ten million dollars in cash, with dead bodies laying around him. So llewellyn tries to keep the ten million so his wife can have all that she needs, then thats when chigurh comes in. The man in back of the situation is Ed Tom Bell, an old sheriff thats new to these kind of crimes (hence the title of movie), with 1980s mexican border problems, much more murders happen.

    These three men are never really filmed together throughout the movie, even though its a chase movie, but it shows how the creative mind of the coens put a unique their in there movie, which makes it not very visible to you. I've also heard that it stayed true to the book, and has set a great visual to it as well. The originality of this film definitely makes it a much watch, and its the bloodiest from the coens I've seen yet. Javier Bardem shows his skills in new type of work, being Chigurh. His creepy looks (mostly the haircut) shows that the character is insane, has no sense of humor, and no sense of compassion or regret. His weapons are as unique as him, being some strange air tank that shoots through locks, and this shotgon with a gigantic silencer, which probably makes most of the gore in the movie. Nobody can play a better role as Llewelyn than Josh Brolin. growing up as a country man made this role easy for him, just acting like himself will be perfect acting. Tommy Lee Jones plays sheriff Ed Tom Bell, which Jones also said that the character he was playing was a lot like him as well as Brolin, like some of the parts was just like a natural conversation to him. No Country For Old Men has inspired me in so many levels. A movie this original, could be one of the best. This movie is one of the best of the decade, very close to "There Will Be Blood", and thats one good compliment.
    Expand
  24. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    The best movie I have seen in years. The story was compelling and the acting was incredible. The story and plot is not that predictable like other Hollywood movies -- so I was entirely hooked while watching it. Very well done!
  25. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Powerful, stunning, horrific, it must be another Coen movie!
    The Coen brothers pull the concept of this film off so well that it was more intense to see Tommy Lee Jones anxiety when approaching a crime scene than actually seeing any of said occurrence actually happen.

    Another notable scene within the film is when Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem)walks into a gas station and responds to the shop
  26. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    No Country for Old Men is the best Coen Brothers movie since Fargo. The highlight of the movie is the amazing cast, particularly Javier Bardem as the ruthless killer Anton Chigurh. His haircut alone will give you nightmares. Then there is the always great Tommy Lee Jones, Josh Brolin, Woody Harrelson, and Kelly McDonald. But this is more than just a showcase of great acting, it is aNo Country for Old Men is the best Coen Brothers movie since Fargo. The highlight of the movie is the amazing cast, particularly Javier Bardem as the ruthless killer Anton Chigurh. His haircut alone will give you nightmares. Then there is the always great Tommy Lee Jones, Josh Brolin, Woody Harrelson, and Kelly McDonald. But this is more than just a showcase of great acting, it is a technical masterpiece with amazing sound effects and film editing that really maximizes intensity and suspense. The story is one that has been told a thousand times before, but it's never been told quite like this. It doesn't follow the typical mold of a get away film. The good guys don't always win, and the bad guy doesn't always find justice. Furthermore, No Country has one of the best film endings of all time, even if others often claim it is anticlimactic or whatever it is they accuse it of being. I won't spoil the ending, but it fits perfectly and it has an allegorical meaning that really ties the whole movie together. Expand
  27. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 10 out of 10. It's an amazing masterpiece. Acting is amazing. Everyone gives Oscar worthy performances. There's not that much music but that adds to the intensity, and when there is, it's great. The story is phenomical. Its so intense and you just want to stay around to see what'll happen next. Overall, this is a masterpiece. No country for old men is a great thriller,First off, this is a 10 out of 10. It's an amazing masterpiece. Acting is amazing. Everyone gives Oscar worthy performances. There's not that much music but that adds to the intensity, and when there is, it's great. The story is phenomical. Its so intense and you just want to stay around to see what'll happen next. Overall, this is a masterpiece. No country for old men is a great thriller, great western, and a even better movie. This is highly recommended for anyone wanting to watch a good movie. Expand
  28. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Absolutely outstanding! The acting is spot on in all parts. It's magnificently written and manages to shock you and keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. At the same time the writing manages to show many different walks of life in a heavily realistic fashion. The writing also amazing show cases the character progression of the villain, played by Javier Bardem and hisAbsolutely outstanding! The acting is spot on in all parts. It's magnificently written and manages to shock you and keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. At the same time the writing manages to show many different walks of life in a heavily realistic fashion. The writing also amazing show cases the character progression of the villain, played by Javier Bardem and his performance solidifies his character as possibly one of the most memorable movie characters of all time. This film is a must watch plain and simple. Expand
  29. KH.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The story works at a few levels and some folks were only looking at the basic plot and hence disliked the compressed narrative near the end. Some stories concern themselves with more than just the relating of plot. This movie is one of the more complicated movies. If you're looking for shooting action with a bad guy and a hero, you'll be disappointed and give this movie a low score.
  30. AndrewJohnmeyer
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in sound//music editing in the film. In the absence of the usual barrage of sound, every click, scuff, and shuffle take on an unrivaled immediacy. Collapse
  31. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    Hunter/cowboy bloke stumbles across a load of cash after a drug deal shootout in the middle of the Texas desert. Javier Bardem comes after him.
    Very well acted & shot & the scenes with Bardem are fantastic. The "Where does he work?" & Gas Station scenes are just superb.
    The only problem was the last half hour which went a bit up it's own arse.
  32. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie. A misunderstood masterpiece. As complex as it is simple. As vague as it is clear. I have seen it eight times and it never gets old.
  33. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    The Coen Brothers did it again; "No Country for Old Men" proceeds its way to the oscars as a quiet, deep movie that strikes the core of tension, a true masterpiece.
  34. FlorianW.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, even if most questions were answered more or less. The final 20 minutes were far from boring either, the insights into Chigurh's fatalistic mindset, establishing his role as a quasi-angel-of-vengeance as well as the role of greed in the movie thrilled me. Highly recommended, even if I can't guarantee you'll like it - but that's how it is with art, it is discourse put into form. Where entertainment tries to please the masses, art seeks to challenge the mind. Expand
  35. Dave
    Dec 28, 2009
    0
    Horrid movie. What you have is a psychopath running amok, killing 3 random people before he even eats his breakfast. Meanwhile, out of all the law enforcement in the U.S., it seems that only one chronically depressed sheriff even cares to try to track the guy down... but apparently he isn't smart enough to look for fingerprints on that glass of milk. Somehow the critics were fooled Horrid movie. What you have is a psychopath running amok, killing 3 random people before he even eats his breakfast. Meanwhile, out of all the law enforcement in the U.S., it seems that only one chronically depressed sheriff even cares to try to track the guy down... but apparently he isn't smart enough to look for fingerprints on that glass of milk. Somehow the critics were fooled by the various displays of technical expertise into thinking this was a good movie. In reality, all these shining little aspects can't save the movie from its own dismal plot. Expand
  36. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    When it comes to great moving films that hook you up from the beginning to end, The Coen Brothers have it all. No Country For Old Men is so good you will clap at the climax, you will remember this movie for the rest of your life.
  37. NebojsaN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous violence, the early demise of the protagonist and especially the ending, which they perceive as a non-ending. In my opinion, the ending was perfect and brought home the whole point of the movie. Any other "neat" ending that some folks seem to crave would have made this a completely different kind of movie - a movie of cheap, gratuitous violence - and I'm sure they would have loved it. Basically, if you need everything spelled out for you in obvious, simplistic terms - you will hate this movie. Most everyone else will love it. Expand
  38. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My personal pick for best film of the 2000's. The Coen brothers made their finest film here (yes that includes "Fargo") by perfectly adapting McArthy's novel into a Southern lament about fate and circumstance. I love the way the characters grow closer and closer and their stories twist tighter and tighter but never get to see each other. I love the way the Coens lead the audience deeper and deeper into an abyss of nightmares and darkness, forcing us to watch as Llewellyn is slowly but surely found and killed. I love the performances, not giving too much away, but letting its classical philosophies float throughout the air and recur multiple times before the end of the film in its beautiful poetic dialogue that is individualized so perfectly that we could never imagine another character trying to speak their words. I love the ambiguous ending, showing that the film is more about philosophy rather than "who lived, who didn't", and forcing modern audiences to realize that sometimes it's simply better to just not kno. I love this movie. Expand
  39. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    No Country For Old Men follows an antelope hunter, a man named Llewlyn Moss, who stumbles on a drug deal gone bad and takes a satchel stuffed full of money (Around two million dollars overall.) and from there on is relentlessly hunted down by Mexican criminals and a ruthless assassin named Anton Chigurh. Now, this might sound almost like a thin story, but it is pulled off perfectly. TheNo Country For Old Men follows an antelope hunter, a man named Llewlyn Moss, who stumbles on a drug deal gone bad and takes a satchel stuffed full of money (Around two million dollars overall.) and from there on is relentlessly hunted down by Mexican criminals and a ruthless assassin named Anton Chigurh. Now, this might sound almost like a thin story, but it is pulled off perfectly. The film takes place just after the Vietnam War in Texas. The movie has some amazing moments- you'll be on the edge of your seat as Anton chases Moss through the empty night streets of a Texan city, firing at the hunter with a silenced shotgun. But the movie isn't all guns and action, though those scenes are pulled off effortlessly. There are many meaningful characters, like Sheriff Bell, who is struggling to piece together the mass murders erupting on his streets. Really, I found my favorite character to be Anton Chigurh, the psychotic, incredibly intelligent character. Javier Bardem is so good at his role, it is simply shocking to see him in action. And the ending isn't a happy-crappy one where Moss becomes the big hero at the end and takes down his assassins; instead it is cold and almost slightly depressing. If you like action movies, a flick with a good story, or, hell, if you like movies in general, this is for you. Expand
  40. BobS.
    Sep 2, 2008
    5
    The ending sucked, because there wasn't one. The whole movie is a set-up for a non-existent ending. It's like driving two hours to go to a theme park only to find a big hole in the ground. If that sounds like your kind of thing then I strongly suggest seeing this movie.
  41. KrisKelley
    Apr 6, 2008
    3
    Unsatisfying ending.
  42. DC
    Apr 30, 2009
    3
    Good performances, interesting enough characters with a nice tone of its own. I was really enjoying it, feeling the tension build and build and then whoosh the cohens whip the rug out from under you and as you sit there lying on your back going "Hey what the hell happened?" the two brothers pull down their pants and take a nice big steaming dump on your face. While shouting "Ha Ha fuck Good performances, interesting enough characters with a nice tone of its own. I was really enjoying it, feeling the tension build and build and then whoosh the cohens whip the rug out from under you and as you sit there lying on your back going "Hey what the hell happened?" the two brothers pull down their pants and take a nice big steaming dump on your face. While shouting "Ha Ha fuck you consumer, fuck you. You want closure? You want an ending that is in some way satisfying to the viewer? You want to at least have a final denouement between one of the protagonists and the psycho? Fuck you moron eat our filth!!" That's how I felt anyway. A film that could have been great totally destroyed by the most horrendous "bait and switch" I've ever had the misfortune to see. In a word "Disgusting". Expand
  43. KyleB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Good movie, but the ranking needs to go down because of the ending, no way it should be 8.0 more like 5 or 6.
  44. MattB
    Dec 14, 2007
    3
    The end of the movie was honestly the most awkward experience I have ever had at the movies. People of all ages and levels of maturity were left dumbfounded. We all sat there looking at the screen waiting for the film to resume, but it never did. This movie is getting great reviews and I in no doubt assume it to be a bad story. I do in fact claim that this film is a terrible The end of the movie was honestly the most awkward experience I have ever had at the movies. People of all ages and levels of maturity were left dumbfounded. We all sat there looking at the screen waiting for the film to resume, but it never did. This movie is getting great reviews and I in no doubt assume it to be a bad story. I do in fact claim that this film is a terrible representation of that story. It left me bored and lost, when it should have left me in a spot where I am not having to try to understand what the hell the point is. For the majority of movie goers I would recommend seeing a film that presents itself to the audience, unless of course they are just looking for a cool gun. Expand
  45. JohnD.
    Oct 27, 2008
    3
    Intriguing but not a movie I would say was enjoyable. The acting was incredibly good but the ending left me with no closure which I so desperately was looking for in a movie that was convoluted in many ways. Too many unanswered questions for me and I would not recommend this movie and do not understand all the hype it has received.
  46. JeffB.
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Although the actors did a great job ... the plot had no substance or meaning due to a poorly written ending. I don't even think the Director could tell you what it meant. All i can figure out is they reached thier target budget and said "Alright ... let's end it here".
  47. ChristosM
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences left,like Sheriff Llewelyn Moss,struggle to proove humanity's evil urges are not native and spontaneous,though facts tend to proove them wrong.Hollywood endings have no space in such films! Expand
  48. norab.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    I am not one for violent movies - I get a gut-wrenching feeling that makes me tremble inside - and I trembled from the opening scene of this film. But I was mesmerized by the story line - I think Cormac McCarthy's story as the source for the this amazing movie is as sharp and brilliant as the western landscape it takes place in. The Coen Brothers have made a masterpiece.
  49. NathanielJ
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This is a great black alternative western. It has a creepy yet undeniably cool villain, a protagonist that everyone wants to root for, and... Woody Harrelson. The movie shows how people can always die with dignity even if a serial killer with a humongous silenced shotgun is about to kill you. If you were watching this movie with the expectation of it being over hyped, then you screwed This is a great black alternative western. It has a creepy yet undeniably cool villain, a protagonist that everyone wants to root for, and... Woody Harrelson. The movie shows how people can always die with dignity even if a serial killer with a humongous silenced shotgun is about to kill you. If you were watching this movie with the expectation of it being over hyped, then you screwed yourself over. Expand
  50. JasonJ
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaicThe review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaic 'what is good?, what is evi? 'motif, probably thinking enough for most filmgoers. But that doesn't happen, and we are left with something much more difficult (or impossible) to digest. Jones will endure, like his father leading the way through the cold mountain pass, bearing the struggling, sputtering light into the unknown, into nothingness. And when our time comes, like Brolin's does (and Jones's will soon), none of us will see it coming. And the result? The world, with its default setting for ugliness, will continue to turn, unconcerned with us, or with our notions of good or evil and our struggles to define or contain either. And that's the message-- and it's bleak, no doubt. The film's draw for critics and other thinkers is this message, however; and it is precisely because it is far more sophisticated than a freshman philosophy resolution that would have left us questioning the nature of good and evil;or, heaven forbid, an ending that would have entailed the death of Chigurgh, the credits rolling on a final shot of a millionaire Brolin and his wife sipping Margaritas on a Mexican beach. The film's message is indeed nihilist, perhaps beyond nihilist; and it's great in the way that Macbeth is great, and for many of the same reasons. Expand
  51. DevinN.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Isn't it great that when people complain about this movie, it usually involves disdain at how well its rated? Excellent theme, excellent execution, brilliant film.
  52. JoyceC.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    After reading most of the reviews given here, people start yapping about how crappy the ending was. Well, from my opinion, I thought the ending was neat. I overhear people walking out of the theatre saying, "where did the oscars come from.." or "that ending was awful." Well what did you expect, for Ed Tom Bell to catch Chigurh and arrest him and happily ever after. The ending of the film After reading most of the reviews given here, people start yapping about how crappy the ending was. Well, from my opinion, I thought the ending was neat. I overhear people walking out of the theatre saying, "where did the oscars come from.." or "that ending was awful." Well what did you expect, for Ed Tom Bell to catch Chigurh and arrest him and happily ever after. The ending of the film would basically end how it would in real life because people have to realize that the bad guy doesn't always win. And it was kind of strange, but people who hated the ending won't shutup about the fact that the film didn't turn out how you expected. Well, the Coen brothers surprise us with a weird ending. Do you think that the movie should've been neatly wrapped up with an expected ending? Apparently no, the Coen brothers ended it how it would in real life which was kind of cool from my point of view. I thought No Country was a very good movie with suspenseful moments and an exciting premice. It's neat how the title fits in with the story how its no country for old men. Though in the end, you actually cared about the characters and overall, No Country for Old Men was definitely worth my day. Expand
  53. Leibniz
    Mar 30, 2008
    7
    A real thriller. The actors and the director did a great job. Why a 7? The ending was like "Let Anton Chigurh decide what happens next".
  54. OgdenJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great filmmaking loved the philosophical musings at the end by the sheriff exceeds whatever genre expectations
  55. zaja
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    It's relatively easy to see why reviewers giving scores of 0 and 1 described the film as "disappointing", since it was devoid of any sense of resolution or redemption. It was, as many critics have said, one of the more bleak, nihilistic stories in a long time. I guess some people expect certain things from a film, and when their anticipations aren't met, well, the film must be It's relatively easy to see why reviewers giving scores of 0 and 1 described the film as "disappointing", since it was devoid of any sense of resolution or redemption. It was, as many critics have said, one of the more bleak, nihilistic stories in a long time. I guess some people expect certain things from a film, and when their anticipations aren't met, well, the film must be bad. What an uninteresting moviegoing experience that must be. For me, when a film defies my expectations, I experience what's called "surprise" (ala when protagonist is killed 2/3 before end, when film stops abruptly and bad guy wins, etc), a generally positive and entertaining experience, which forces me to re-think what have seen so far and/or expect to see, and makes me wonder what the purpose of such a cinematic twist could be. I believe this is the crucial moment where audiences split: being asked to think too much. As the credits rolled at the showing I saw, a loud guy in front of me told his girlfriend, "How do you pick these movies? Jesus Christ, you pick the worst movies." It irritated me, but it didn't surprise me. It's almost seems that for a given cultural product within art or film to be outstanding, the majority of the population has to really dislike it. And that's a shame. Even if the impeccable technical merits of the film were lost on someone, and the stellar writing, direction and acting were all overlooked, one cannot deny that the ideology that the filmmakers present provides the viewer with one hell of a tough, haunting knot of questions to tease apart for hours and days later. That's what made it great for me, that the film kept going even after it ended. It wasn't neat and easy, but challenging and unsettling. If you need a film to assure you that everyone lived happily ever after, then please don't see this film. If you don't mind being entrusted with some of the moral and intellectual heft of a film to mill around on your own, and conclude on your own, like a grown-up, then you are in for a treat. Expand
  56. bill
    Mar 20, 2008
    6
    Overrated! If you can stomach the violence the first half of this movie is interesting. The second half is extremely boring. The acting is excellent throughout but the story goes nowhere. Best Picture? - give me a break.
  57. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    Don't get me wrong, I believe that NCFOM is Oscar worthy, but the movie had that kind of needless "There will be Blood" depressiveness. I'm not talking about the mood of the film. I'm referring to the fact that the only sympathetic character in the film was Tommy Lee Jones' character. I would have genuinely been upset if his character were killed. I can't really say the same thing aboutDon't get me wrong, I believe that NCFOM is Oscar worthy, but the movie had that kind of needless "There will be Blood" depressiveness. I'm not talking about the mood of the film. I'm referring to the fact that the only sympathetic character in the film was Tommy Lee Jones' character. I would have genuinely been upset if his character were killed. I can't really say the same thing about the rest of the characters. Expand
  58. DavidS.
    Mar 13, 2008
    1
    Overrated, over-hyped, couldn't wait until it was over. Enough said.
  59. JacoboN.
    Apr 20, 2008
    3
    Overrated movie, a not so good FARGO .
  60. TedT.
    Apr 13, 2008
    3
    What was all the hype about???? You must be kidding me. This was shot like something from the 70's. If thats what turned you on..then watch something from the 70's. I'm still scratching my head over why I heard so many people say "best movie I've seen" are you serious? This was nothing more than...nothing.
  61. Maggie
    Mar 15, 2008
    0
    Soooo stupid, soooo lame, soooo boring. Give me my 2 hours back. Soooo hollywood crap.
  62. SK
    Apr 20, 2008
    0
    A VERY VERY bad movie. I have no idea how this movie won an Oscar. I contemplated multiple times during the movie of walking out, but I endured till the end in the hope that the end would salvage the movie. No such thing, the end leaves you with an even worse feeling. Horrible, horrible movie.
  63. MikeC
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Movies just don't get much better than this. No Country for Old Men is a thrilling tale that will constantly keep you hooked. It will blow you away; absolutely a must see.
  64. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    A good movie but there is some parts to it that should of been thought over a bit more by the Coen brothers such as the fact we see Anton Chigurh kill a load of people, but we never see him kill Llewelyn Moss, who is one of the main characters of the film.
  65. MikeSt.
    Mar 4, 2008
    1
    Anyone who rated this movie higher than five must be unaware that it has been made dozens of times before. Guy takes drug dealers money and drug dealer chases him - the only difference is the other movies actually had an ending. The Coen brothers borrowed a tired plot and the ending of "The Sopranos" and get an academy award? No wonder nobody watches that joke of an awards ceremony anymore.
  66. ewenm.
    Mar 8, 2008
    3
    Way over-rated. pointless, characters void of any interest; been done better many times before.
  67. TonyB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Great film. Acting was incredible the story line was superb. I hate people commenting on the ending, the ending was extremly well done, it was how the story was supposed to end.
  68. Rich
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    This movie has to be the worst movie of the year and yet it gets acclaim from reviewers. When I go see a movie I want a good plot maybe a twist here and there and some action. You get all of that in this movie correction except the plot because the plot is totally dumb. Its so linear and when the main guy dies 3 quarters into the movie you stop caring bout the movie and start wonderingThis movie has to be the worst movie of the year and yet it gets acclaim from reviewers. When I go see a movie I want a good plot maybe a twist here and there and some action. You get all of that in this movie correction except the plot because the plot is totally dumb. Its so linear and when the main guy dies 3 quarters into the movie you stop caring bout the movie and start wondering why is this movie still going. It has its moments in the middle of the movie but thats bout it. Don't get me wrong the movie has some great acting but damn I don't go to the movies to be bored to death bout sumthing not relevent. Thats how I felt bout the ending like wtf!!!. Everyone in the thetear even the older folks were cursing this movie as a waste of time. And that is exactly what it was. So basically if you want to see a movie with great acting and a boring plot go see this movie. If not then see anything else but this please don't waste your hard earned cash on this crap. Expand
  69. blueenigma-blackgirl
    Feb 10, 2008
    2
    When I watch a film, I expect to experience a series of emotional pulls throughout the movie, either from the characters, the setting, the storyline, or a combination of elements. While watching this movie, I felt distinctly flat, and became increasing disenchanted as the story went on. The characters were underdeveloped, and I never cared what happened to any of them. The sparseness of When I watch a film, I expect to experience a series of emotional pulls throughout the movie, either from the characters, the setting, the storyline, or a combination of elements. While watching this movie, I felt distinctly flat, and became increasing disenchanted as the story went on. The characters were underdeveloped, and I never cared what happened to any of them. The sparseness of the set and the lack of a true score are both unique ideas, and in the right hands can be great stock for a masterful film; however, technique alone cannot carry a film, particularly if paired with ill-designed substance. For example, the movie is ridden with peculiar scenes that defy common sense and left me more distracted than engrossed. If we look at the scene where Llewelyn passed the suitcase of money through the duct to a different room, the question of purpose comes to mind. Recall, he did this prior to discovering the money was fitted with a tracking device. Thus, it wasn Expand
  70. EmmaR.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Best movie i've seen in years. if you have yet to see it, note the themes of duality, two sides of a coin, and fate. the coens are back!
  71. Doug
    Mar 14, 2008
    0
    Pointless violence strung together by a thin plot with an ending that looks like they just run out of money and stopped. Hard to fathom how it could get nominated let alone win any award.
  72. JacobE.
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    The best movie of the 2007. However, it was strange to have the main character part almost split in threes for Tommy Lee Jones, Josh Brolin, and Javier Bardem.
  73. [Anonymous]
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    I would like to point out that the reason for DWilly's confusion is probably because the book itself is confused. Moss is supposed to be 37 in the book, a Vietnam vet, yet people are described using cell phones. So something's not right.
  74. Feb 19, 2012
    5
    The Coen Brothers weakest movie, No Country for Old Men, is a suspenseful and well-done cat and mouse thriller. However, the only thing GREAT about it is Javier Bardem. Is it a good movie? Yes. Is it a Best Picture movie? No.
  75. HughB
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    The worst movie I have ever seen, this is saying a lot seeing as I am a film student, have watched Birth Of A Nation and can usually enjoy ANY type of movie for one reason or another. No character development, boring characters (No the killer is not scary), jumpy plot and useless sound track (I have heard people call the silence tense, watch The Hurt Locker for a good example of that) The worst movie I have ever seen, this is saying a lot seeing as I am a film student, have watched Birth Of A Nation and can usually enjoy ANY type of movie for one reason or another. No character development, boring characters (No the killer is not scary), jumpy plot and useless sound track (I have heard people call the silence tense, watch The Hurt Locker for a good example of that) NCFOM is just boring. If you like it and write good reviews for this film maybe you should actually watch it first. Expand
  76. DWilly
    Nov 9, 2007
    3
    This movie makes the list of all time promising films that derail into crap. I know the critical numbers are high because the filmmaking is very strong (apart from using Josh Brolin, who just isn't up to the task, nevermind being repeatedly referred to in this contemporary setting as a Viet Nam vet, which would have put him in combat at around age five), but you can't, not only This movie makes the list of all time promising films that derail into crap. I know the critical numbers are high because the filmmaking is very strong (apart from using Josh Brolin, who just isn't up to the task, nevermind being repeatedly referred to in this contemporary setting as a Viet Nam vet, which would have put him in combat at around age five), but you can't, not only jerk the rug out from underneath your audience, but then go at them with a baseball bat as the story becomes devoid of clarity, humanity or point. Expand
  77. Joel
    Jan 20, 2008
    1
    I'm with Steve and M B on this one its like the Coen bros. are paying the review crew to suck their cocks; the only reason I give this Boring ass movie a 1 is for the cool ass Air gun and thats IT.
  78. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    I think they are ill. After about an hour one no longer cares who lives or dies. My own life experience is utterly at odds with what is shown. We are told that the theme is biblical. Tosh. I repeat: I think that the Coen brothers are ill.
  79. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    This film is a steaming pile of **** and one of the worst movies I have ever scene 0 out of 10
  80. TinoR.
    May 3, 2008
    1
    Rented the video for a dollar at a vending machine in the local drug store. It wasn't even worth the dollar.
  81. Stung47000
    Jan 20, 2009
    0
    Who told Hollywood that in order to make an original movie nowadays you have to make it suck at the end? The movie was a 10 until the last act, but then it ended so god-awful it actually deserves a negative score for failing so hard!
  82. LarryT.
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    The pretentious laughter in the audience was the worst part of this film.
  83. Oct 7, 2012
    0
    This movie sucked. There's a reason why it lost money at the box office, and was winner at the least-watched Academy Awards of all time. That reason is this: it's boring, pretentious, and shoddily made.
  84. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    I thought this movie was such a waste of time that I have gone out of my way to write a review. As it is based on a fictional work (book) there seems to be no logical sence for brutal violence then for pure entertainment. I don't find brutal and senseless violence entertaining. I do not find it artistic or enriching or in any way psychologically interesting.
    The movie did not have the
    I thought this movie was such a waste of time that I have gone out of my way to write a review. As it is based on a fictional work (book) there seems to be no logical sence for brutal violence then for pure entertainment. I don't find brutal and senseless violence entertaining. I do not find it artistic or enriching or in any way psychologically interesting.
    The movie did not have the riveting plot or entertainment value of Silence of the Lambs or Pulp Fiction. It did not have strong characters such as Tommy Lee Jones in the Fugative whith it's suspence. There was no witty dialogue or great music.
    In my opinion the movie lacked everything in quality. The ending was a total letdown as if someone who was working on the ending just handed it in unfinished and left.
    72 people were murdered in Mexico last week - do people find that entertaining? I understand that art is up to interpretation but just as there are great works of art there are really poor ones. A broken lightbulb on a wet floor at the Guggenheim that is exhibited for a month draws reaction and it is weak - just because something is new and has not been done before does not mean that it is great art and good. Awarding this piece of dung with an academy award takes away from all the great productions which have been awarded in the past and cheats the public into thinking that any junk, no matter how bad it is will be great and worth enduring and spending your money on just because it was awarded and got great reviews. This movie is one of the worst ever and a disgrace to have been awarded. Javier Bardem Bardem is a good actor in many things - not an academy award winner in this one. The Coen brothers should pay me back for my time wasted watching their junk but I will know better in the future. I am watching every Best Picture Academy Award winner and about 60% of the way through, this is by far the worst movie. Had it not been on the list I would not have bothered to watch it until the end.
    Don't waste your time or money. Sensless violence can be had daily on the news.
    Expand
  85. JalexDiamond
    Mar 30, 2008
    6
    Definitely not a terrible film, but it seems like a hodgepodge of good ideas which are executed well in and of themselves. Unfortunately, it is ONLY in and of themselves that they are so well executed. The film does not connect well on any level by the final scenes. And, many things are simply not explained. Now, I don't desire to simply be spoon-fed answers by a film, but i watched Definitely not a terrible film, but it seems like a hodgepodge of good ideas which are executed well in and of themselves. Unfortunately, it is ONLY in and of themselves that they are so well executed. The film does not connect well on any level by the final scenes. And, many things are simply not explained. Now, I don't desire to simply be spoon-fed answers by a film, but i watched this film 4 times in a row and looked it up on the internet so I might understand. But, alas, the answers needed to complete this riveting-until-the-end film are simply not there. Also, something of note is Javier Bardem's performance. It has been raved about, but it is not a truly great performance. Chigurh is an interesting character, a different character, but the performance is rather simple overall. His dialogue proves that he is a madman, but not a chilling one. Just a murderer who kills people because he is a madman. His psyche seems too cyclical and bland to make this as good a performance as it should be. Overall, it's an interesting watch, but nothing close to the best film of 2007. Expand
  86. TomB.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to be, but the screenplay stands by itself as a complex, absorbing, mysterious, and ultimately satisfying tale. Not satisfying in the sense that all the circles were closed, by any means, by satisfying in that it made you think and enjoy doing your thinking. The actors' performances were spot on, and everything techincal about the movie was near-perfect. Expand
  87. Davidd
    Dec 7, 2007
    5
    I am not going to speak for the movie so much because everything good and bad that has already been said about it. I just what to just say how just ridiculous some people are to blame Metacritic for a rating a movie has. "i am not going to trust metacritic again". What?!! You dopes do realize that metacritic just basically accumulates all the scores from the real critics, don't you? I am not going to speak for the movie so much because everything good and bad that has already been said about it. I just what to just say how just ridiculous some people are to blame Metacritic for a rating a movie has. "i am not going to trust metacritic again". What?!! You dopes do realize that metacritic just basically accumulates all the scores from the real critics, don't you? They don't rate anything! hint hint, Bruce T. SIGH! Expand
  88. CoreyH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Umm... haven't seen it. I would, however, like to point out, that your prediction was completely wrong, M G. The film did exceptionally well at the box-office. Just because you didn't like it, don't assume that other people, who actually think when they watch a movie, won't.
  89. LindaS
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying to escape the overwhelming situation that was happening and he was helpless to correct it. Expand
  90. NK
    Feb 3, 2008
    6
    For me, Stephen Hunter (Washington Post) has hit the nail on the head. I appreciate what the Coen's are doing, I just don't care for it.
  91. AnonymousMC
    Feb 3, 2008
    1
    The beging was great! had all the makings of a good movie......then it just flat out sucked. All of the plot just came to a crashing end, they didnt even show how the hotel scene went down. How can the main charicter just be cut out of a movie with no explination? And, just when you think you might get some get some little closer on the film, the damn credits come on. How anyone in thereThe beging was great! had all the makings of a good movie......then it just flat out sucked. All of the plot just came to a crashing end, they didnt even show how the hotel scene went down. How can the main charicter just be cut out of a movie with no explination? And, just when you think you might get some get some little closer on the film, the damn credits come on. How anyone in there right mind would say this is the best movie of the year, I don't know. It was a horrible way to end a movie, and makes me think that I should be a director. Becasue anyone could do that and make millions of dollars. If all you have to do is make a few exciting shooting scenes and then roll the credits. Who would chose that as a job. Expand
  92. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    The Coen Brother's second perfect film. Acting, direction, cinematography, all exact.
  93. SteveS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    5
    This must be the most highly over-rated movie of 2007. Violence was just gratuitous after a while. The plot goes awry half way through: after the transponder in the money bag is discarded, how does Javier track his prey?? I just did not see that at all; it just becomes a tactic (by the directors) to kill more people. And the ending... what was that all about?? The sheriff retires, the This must be the most highly over-rated movie of 2007. Violence was just gratuitous after a while. The plot goes awry half way through: after the transponder in the money bag is discarded, how does Javier track his prey?? I just did not see that at all; it just becomes a tactic (by the directors) to kill more people. And the ending... what was that all about?? The sheriff retires, the villain walks away (without the money), so what was the point of the movie?? This was a major disappointment for me after all the hype. Expand
  94. Jennifer
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Don't score it down because everything isn't spelled out for you. I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a while. Expand
  95. JoeM.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    Lean and mean, along with The Assassination of Jesse James my favourite film of last year. Both lensed by Roger Deakins coincidentally - or not, as his lonesome vistas and cool washes of colour add terrific intensity to both stories.
  96. RoryP.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Good. Excellent production values, steeped in a style that never grates. The film produces some very tense scenes. I would NOT call it A MASTERPIECE however. Despite all the off beat flourishes, it never manages to transcend its thriller origins and become something truly moving and inspirational. It does seem to try, however, especially with the last few scenes, but can't escape the Good. Excellent production values, steeped in a style that never grates. The film produces some very tense scenes. I would NOT call it A MASTERPIECE however. Despite all the off beat flourishes, it never manages to transcend its thriller origins and become something truly moving and inspirational. It does seem to try, however, especially with the last few scenes, but can't escape the trademark 'Coen bag of tricks,' and the typically stylized reality such tricks create. The ENDING had a few interesting and brave ideas, although I wouldn't give them the credit that some die hard fans are giving them here. I do not give them the credit, mainly because, SOME of the IDEA'S simply DON'T WORK when put on the big screen. Well, in context anyway. For example ---SPOILER ALERT--- Tommy Lee Jones speech at the end is nicely written and delivered, but is simply too low key to register, given all the style and excitement that has come before it. It feels like an ending to a different film. Josh Brolin's sudden departure did not sit well with me either. If the REST of the film was a bit more daring/experimental with its conceptions of genre and representation (perhaps even deconstructing it a bit instead of piling on the homage), I could have accepted his absence. Again, unfortunately, what preceded it is not that kind of film. From the beginning its grounded in bog standard thriller elements, and to take the protagonist out of that so suddenly, after such a bond has been created with the audience, well, honestly its just plain rude to the viewer. We do not see him go, we do not get closure. Such daring ideas come too late, they leave you jarred, not moved. Expand
  97. KevinE.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    inspiring, top movie I was glued to the screen wanting the main character to survive and ride off with the $$$.
  98. LaurenceE.
    Jul 6, 2008
    4
    I saw this movie on dvd at home on a big screen projector.Maybe it was a different version to the one at the cinema.. I thought it was a predictable story with no twists of any great substance. I was not on the edge of my seat nor was it a thriller or heart stopping. Some of the acting was ok but I was disappointed overall. I would not recommend this movie to anyone.
  99. SteveD.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Great film, most enjoyable movie I've watched all year.
  100. KevinL.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Best American movie of the year, no doubt. Great contribution to the Western genre. NOT a Coen "black comedy," though, so I wish some critics would start reading it for the tragic contemplation about evil that it was written and directed to be.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.