No Country for Old Men

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1316 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Erak
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    It's basically Fargo in Texas, only infinately darker and containing one of the most frightening villains in film history. It's great to see the Coens back in form after years of lackluster output. Note to DWilly--though not stated in the film, the story takes place in 1980. It helps explain how Brolin and Harrelson are 'Nam vets and appear so young.
  2. nateb
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    DWilly, you are an idiot. Neither the film, nor the book on which it was based, is "contemporary." NCFOM is set in 1980. The references to Nam, along with countless other lines of dialogue and set pieces, are meant to clue you in to this. It's too bad you missed this, since it may have helped you to understand the entire fantastic film a bit better.
  3. nic-
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    best of all the coen's serious films
  4. JaredC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    No Country for Old Men is excitingly absorbing and grabs your attention with the main focus of this film played by the mysterious and frightening character being acted out by Javier Bardem as Anton Chigurh. It's also a very stunning visual with sustainable balanced violence and mild language, as well with its spine tingling paced length. Its 2 hrs of pure western-world acting, No Country for Old Men is excitingly absorbing and grabs your attention with the main focus of this film played by the mysterious and frightening character being acted out by Javier Bardem as Anton Chigurh. It's also a very stunning visual with sustainable balanced violence and mild language, as well with its spine tingling paced length. Its 2 hrs of pure western-world acting, escpecially played by Tommy Lee Jones. Although, it got kind of wonky when it shows scenes in the city but not in the wild west. The first time ever a film actually focuses on desperado crime. The Coen Brothers brings us something new to the big screen. Its something so extraordinary. Its the western masterpiece of 2007: No Country for Old Men. Hang on, its going to be an experience of your life. Just don't eat too much popcorn. It might ruin your appetite, and ruin the whole film. Expand
  5. JayK.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just saw an advance screeing last night and all I can say is...well there aren't any words to say except what an incredible piece of film making. Javier Bardem is chilling (enough said!), Josh Brolin gives a great performance as a man trying to compete with forces beyond his control and Tommy Lee Jones gives humanity to a character that tries to do what is right against a scoiety Just saw an advance screeing last night and all I can say is...well there aren't any words to say except what an incredible piece of film making. Javier Bardem is chilling (enough said!), Josh Brolin gives a great performance as a man trying to compete with forces beyond his control and Tommy Lee Jones gives humanity to a character that tries to do what is right against a scoiety that has changed significantly. This could be the Coen's finest. Expand
  6. KaseyS.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Deftly points out that death is secondary to a life lived knowing one's futility.
  7. BrendanM.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    As the comments below indicate, this movie challenges the intelligence of its audience. Gainsayers don't realize how this movie doubles as a very localized cat-n-mouse thriller and as a universalizable morality tale, straight out of a tradition that dates to Chaucer and beyond. The allegorical nature of the tale helps to explain the confusion about dating, because of course the As the comments below indicate, this movie challenges the intelligence of its audience. Gainsayers don't realize how this movie doubles as a very localized cat-n-mouse thriller and as a universalizable morality tale, straight out of a tradition that dates to Chaucer and beyond. The allegorical nature of the tale helps to explain the confusion about dating, because of course the Vietnam references are also veiled allusions to Iraq. The movie succeeds at enriching its sparsity with maximum complexity, yet also resists easy interpretation and judgment about the depravity of our society and the capacity to fight evil. With its gestures towards an older morality tale tradition, its pos-vietnam placement, and its hints of contemporary life, the film critiques both human depravity and our tendency to see our society's decline as a merely contemporary problem. Expand
  8. BabakP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    I give the first 4/5 of the movie, a big10 and the last 1/5 a big 0. Also, It would've been better if tommy Lee jones's character didn't exist at all.
  9. AramisG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    I seldomly love the Coen brothers movies. I mean, they are good, but I didn't crave seeing them again. This one is different and I'm sorry, the ending is pretty good.
  10. AndyS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    One of the Cohen bros. best yet. The pace and action in the movie keeps you on your toes and the out there visuals can make you laugh at the most graphic violence you will witness in years. The ending is a bit of a cop out.
  11. NickAnno
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Joel and Ethan Coen created one of American cinema
  12. MikeA.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    A devasting film. Taut and intense
  13. RobG
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is excellent for those who aren't retarded and are able to listen to the dialogue. It's as if the best scene of a movie is stretched out for two hours--there's not one boring moment! And uh, it's not even that violent; that is, the violence is realistic and not over the top as in a Tarantino film.
  14. LydiaF.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Confusing beginning but very suspenseful and well acted.
  15. KevinB
    Nov 24, 2007
    7
    Yeah, it's basically "Fargo 2" without the humor but MUCH MORE suspenseful. Unfortunately it falls completely apart in the last 20 minutes. At the end you sit wondering what was the point of everything before. But that's Cormac McCarthy for you: write something in a specific genre, then make it not make sense and then it's not genre, "It's art!" The shocking part is Yeah, it's basically "Fargo 2" without the humor but MUCH MORE suspenseful. Unfortunately it falls completely apart in the last 20 minutes. At the end you sit wondering what was the point of everything before. But that's Cormac McCarthy for you: write something in a specific genre, then make it not make sense and then it's not genre, "It's art!" The shocking part is that the Coens fell for it. And don't get me started on some of the unintelligible Texas accents. Some scenes were incomprehensible because the actors talked like they had marbles in their mouths. Still it was extremely suspenseful, which makes it worthwhile. Expand
  16. jasperdelarge
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    waaaah! this movie makes me think! waaahhh! this movie has no 'ending'! waaaaahhh! why do i have to draw my own conclusions! waaaahhh! why don't they spell the point out for me in the epilogue?

    this is the best ****ing movie of 2007.
    no country for old men > eastern promises > american gangster > 3:10 to yuma
  17. BenG
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    First of all, the film is set in the early 1980s. There is nothing inconsistent about Moss being a Vietnam vet and so young, and there are no cell phones in the book or movie. You people aren't paying attention. Second, the book is meant to be a sober and somewhat defeated meditation on the violence of our society. I agree the ending deflates a bit from the hectic pace of the better First of all, the film is set in the early 1980s. There is nothing inconsistent about Moss being a Vietnam vet and so young, and there are no cell phones in the book or movie. You people aren't paying attention. Second, the book is meant to be a sober and somewhat defeated meditation on the violence of our society. I agree the ending deflates a bit from the hectic pace of the better part of the movie, but I appreciate what the Coen Bros and McCarthy are trying to do with their ending, which is mountains beyond what less talented writers - and Hollywood in general - might attempt. This movie is one of the strictest adaptations of a novel I have seen, which shows the reverence the Coen Bros have for McCarthy. Expand
  18. JackR
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    If you like classic gangster movies, such as Pulp Fiction, you're home.
  19. ChrisS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in years. Unbelievably intense and violent . Also, it is sometimes funny and thoughtful. Classic scene after classic scene will stay with you long after you leave the theatre.
  20. BenJ.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is surprising is how the Coens took what could have been adapted into a mess of a cat-and-mouse serial killer chase film and make it not only one of the The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is surprising is how the Coens took what could have been adapted into a mess of a cat-and-mouse serial killer chase film and make it not only one of the best movies of the year, but one of the best in recent memory. How do they do this? Simply by treating the audience like adults. This taut, tense, genre-bending film lays out the story expertly defying as many traditional narrative structures as possible along the way. Every shot, every line of dialogue, every grunt and every sigh are packed with information. Each and every performance is wonderful, from Jones to Brolin to Bardem and everyone they encounter along the way. This is the Coen's masterpiece. Expand
  21. heflys
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    THis is an excellent fim that defies what one expects from general cinematography. Needles to say, it is a memorbable fim with excellent dialogue, detail, and general logic to the characters actions. To those calling it "A 2nd Fargo!", this movie is almost entirely based off a novel; adheres to said novel faithfuly.

    Just go see these film.
  22. Peter
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    I live in West Texas and I thought it captured the peculiar atmosphere perfect. Tommy Lee Jones was great and the movie definitely had some real humour. All in all a great film. Jill E saying she was a Cormac McCarthy fan but doesn't like violence with no point - have you ever read Blood Meridian? Which is also being filmed by Ridley Scott.
  23. C.B.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Bardem deserves the Oscar
  24. BillyS.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and go straight for the narrative jugular and made helplessness a way of life for anyone who even sees Anton Chigurh, the most ruthless cinema villian No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and go straight for the narrative jugular and made helplessness a way of life for anyone who even sees Anton Chigurh, the most ruthless cinema villian since Hannibal Lector. Javier Bardem now has his signature role. In playing evil incarnate, he will probably win an Oscar. Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are excellent but its Bardem that you can't get out of your head. No Country for Old Men is a major accomplishment for the already accomplished Coen Brothers, who both take a directors credit this time, and rightly so, they'll both deserve the Best Director Oscar for this one. Just one bit of advice- wear a warm heavy coat to see this one, it'll chill you to the bone! Expand
  25. KurtL.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Not since last years Babel and The Departed, have I been as entertained and mesmerized by film craft.
  26. SusanG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Run when you see Javier coming!!! This film had me on my seat almost the whole time. No second guessing the outcome either. Just a well developed morality and mortality tale.
  27. THATMOVIEGUY
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Great movie! I don't have anything else to say on this one.
  28. JasonM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    An absolute masterpiece. Probably both the most entertaining and the most captivating movie I've seen this year. Extremely heavy, very dramatic. There is no true score; the movie is all but bereft of music, and that serves to only further engage the audience. I had popcorn and a soda, and forgot that I even had them during the movie, so entranced was I.
  29. DanceE.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    Ignore trying to put this plot together. Let it take you to a deeper fear than any movie I can remember. Scary from the start all the way to it's unsatisfying conclusion.
  30. ToddB
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect some one in those positions. How would you deal with the events. you wouldn't have to because you'd be stupid enough to become one of For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect some one in those positions. How would you deal with the events. you wouldn't have to because you'd be stupid enough to become one of Antoine's victims. Expand
  31. GauravS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in the same vein as that of Fargo. I'm at a loss for words and a lack of vocabulary to describe how brilliant this film truly is. In its most If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in the same vein as that of Fargo. I'm at a loss for words and a lack of vocabulary to describe how brilliant this film truly is. In its most reductive form, the summary of the film is as follows: A man stumbles upon some drug money and attempts to run away with it, only to realize that he is being followed by a lunatic murder of epic proportions, all of this happening under the watchful eyes of the local sheriff who is trying to piece together the whole story. This movie is very quiet, and this adds a level of unsettling disturbance that highlights the scenes of violence that are thrown into the mix. The epic landscape of West Texas, the brilliant acting of Tommy Lee Jones, who deserves an Oscar, along with this film, if it doesn't win Best picture this year I might weep. It is the subtleties of this film, and of the Cohen Brothers style, that truly makes this film magnificent. Their philosophy, show...don't tell. If you have any respect for me, or consider me a good friend, go see this film while it's in the theatres.I just watched it this afternoon and when the credits started to roll, my friend and I sat still for a good five minutes in silence and just soaked in the beauty of this film. Expand
  32. DanielB.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a 9--because how often do you want to see something *again*? Also--who knew Texas looked so barren but beautiful? I didn't. I kind of want to drive Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a 9--because how often do you want to see something *again*? Also--who knew Texas looked so barren but beautiful? I didn't. I kind of want to drive through Texas, now. Lastly, Javier Bardem is awesome. Expand
  33. PJBos
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    How we are haunted by what think we should do and the temptations of greed and pride.
  34. GG
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This movie is going to be famous. Many posts here remind me a lot of the sorts of complaints my students have after I assign "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place." You have to think about this movie afterward, and the ride is great too. ("shall I ride [into the sunset]"?) It is the opposite of pointless. Susan said it well: it's "a well developed morality and mortality tale."
  35. MarkH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    A true classic. Best movie in years. It is true to the Cormac MacCarthy book and philosophy. It does not make compromises to the status quo. The choices that are presented are real. People need to watch this carefully and they will obtain important lessons and insight into evil and the human condition.
  36. JimE.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac McCarthy's novel), crackles with an intensity that sharpens and stimulates your senses and reminds you of how little most other films do with the Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac McCarthy's novel), crackles with an intensity that sharpens and stimulates your senses and reminds you of how little most other films do with the essential expressive properties of the medium: light, color, sound, movement, language. Movies are as much about the orchestration as the composition, and the Coens have orchestrated and composed a masterpiece -- one that embodies what most movies only describe. A Western, a crime picture, a chase thriller, a ghost story (though not in the supernatural sense), "No Country" is the story of Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin), a man chasing a dream ($2 million in drug money he's found in a satchel); Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem), a messenger of death who's tracking down Moss for the money; and Sheriff Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones), who's trailing both of them. Tension builds as the film progresses, even as the violence recedes. This isn't a movie about murder; it's about the awareness of inevitable death that stalks us all. Expand
  37. Karma
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and connects it with old information so that maybe you learn something. "Same thing should be said about movies." And to everyone who didn't like the Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and connects it with old information so that maybe you learn something. "Same thing should be said about movies." And to everyone who didn't like the ending: Maybe you would have liked it better with a lord of the rings-voice who sums up everything in the end.. And they could play the song Lonesom Cowboy in the background. A movie does not need a hero to be a movie. In real life the good side does not allways win. Great movie. Love how the humor is not dark even when it's such a dark movie. Amazing how even the greatest evil seems human. Not often one gets treaten like an adult by the industry. Thank you Coen's Expand
  38. RY
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    One word....super good..i like the no score in the movie...it sets the moods in the movie more..
  39. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    Although I have never seen any other Coen brothers movie, I found this movie to be an interesting experience. There is a lot of hidden meaning here and you can talk about the ending for weeks. The movie is a bit slow paced but well worth it if you have patience. If you are into instant gratification, stay away.
  40. GregS.
    Dec 22, 2007
    7
    javier bardem is a good actor but the entire movie lacks a certain type of karmic energy this world so often holds.
  41. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way the Coens did it was amazing and honestly, just stop bein stupid and actually pay attention and you'll figure out the ending. Much better than Fargo andThis is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way the Coens did it was amazing and honestly, just stop bein stupid and actually pay attention and you'll figure out the ending. Much better than Fargo and Blood Simple as the Coen Brothers' best film, and much better than Atonement (basically Titannic in England-stupid). Best film of the year. Expand
  42. brianbarnhart
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    To say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALL the actors (and I mean every one), and beautifully shot by the always amazing Roger Deakins and you have the recipe for a truly amazing and wonderfulTo say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALL the actors (and I mean every one), and beautifully shot by the always amazing Roger Deakins and you have the recipe for a truly amazing and wonderful film. One of the best films all year(s). Expand
  43. GetaClue
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Perfect movie!! Oh, and please ignore any comment from anyone who alludes to Josh Brolin not being old enough to be a Vietnam vet. If they missed the fact that the movie is set in the past, then they probably missed a whole lot more!
  44. JustinMc.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    ***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; Perfect Acting; Perfect Directing; Perfect Dialogue; Perfect Everything! See this movie ASAP! ======SPOILER====== I've read some reviews and the ***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; Perfect Acting; Perfect Directing; Perfect Dialogue; Perfect Everything! See this movie ASAP! ======SPOILER====== I've read some reviews and the biggest complaint seems to be the ending. But personally, I loved the ending. It's like 'Five Easy Pieces' or 'The Conversation' - in order to understand the ending, you have to understand the characters. If you pay close attention to all the "slow scenes" in the movie where nothing's happening, just a lot of talking, you'll love and respect this movie for what it is. This isn't the kind of movie you can watch while talking on the phone or eating dinner. It's a thinking movie. Expand
  45. ChrisW.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Easily surpasses the high expectations one would take away from any review. Thought provoking, haunting,unforgettable, this movie is easily the best of the year, a shoe in for an Oscar under best picture catergory, and a possible candidate for AFI's next updated 100 films list.
  46. DW
    Dec 14, 2008
    8
    A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much of the ranting is about- makes sense. I wished that one plot closure had been shown. To show the other would have been gratuitous. If it logically made sense, it was in this movie. Anything that you expect to happen because of other action movies you have seen, probably will not. The reason why this element got hype reviews is because it is something a little bit different. Not perfect, but different. Expand
  47. PeterP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    People who think this movie is bad don't know what makes a movie good. This movie might not make you go home smiling but it will make you think. It doesn't follow the usual rules, neither does it go the predictable route, personally it was the first movie in years where halfway through I couldn
  48. EricC.
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the author's overpowering horror, dread, and beauty. It works as a horror movie, an action movie, and as an artistic statement. Hell, there's a I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the author's overpowering horror, dread, and beauty. It works as a horror movie, an action movie, and as an artistic statement. Hell, there's a black comedy in there too if you look for it. But in the end, it's just a well made, well acted film. Nothing pretentious about it. Expand
  49. MattE
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive with everyone. But what's a little more unsettling, at least to me, is the perception a lot of people have that films have to have some kind of People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive with everyone. But what's a little more unsettling, at least to me, is the perception a lot of people have that films have to have some kind of inspirational message or higher purpose. This film was a treatise on the increasingly pervasive violence of modern society. It's ironic then, that so many people disliked the record for it's violence, considering that was kind of the point. Expand
  50. StevenD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Woke up two days in a row thinking about it. Really very well done. Thanks, Coens.
  51. NateG
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a depressing one, but life isn't always pretty. Expand
  52. BibliotechaS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Chigur's (my dad's best friend from the 70s was an Indian who played guitar at Panchos in the deep south and had hair just like that). My old guitar teacher, Miles Lazore, had a bowl haircut just like Chigur's also, except he was sportin that doo in the 90s still; his favorite band was Deep Purple). Anyhow, this movie seemed so true to the book, every i dotted, every t crossed. The scenery in West Texas is cool too. I wanted this movie to go on and on without stopped, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. Hopefully there will be a sequel! This should win best picture on Oscars night. If not, then it's heresy. Expand
  53. KathleenK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    7
    Worth seeing, but not award winner in my book. Vintage Cohen Bros, decent acting.
  54. MikeS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    From a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, all I really care about is that the story and acting are good, and that all the other aspects really aren't noticeable, because, to me, only badFrom a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, all I really care about is that the story and acting are good, and that all the other aspects really aren't noticeable, because, to me, only bad stuff really is noticeable. Acting was amazing, and I didn't notice the other aspects, but the story felt incomplete, and, unless there's a sequel in the works, I still won't feel like the story's complete. Good film, really good film, Javier Bardem's portrayal of Chigurh (possibly misspelled) was easily this decade's version of Hannibal Lector, but the story felt incomplete. Expand
  55. MatthewT.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    A total work of art. Amazing performances brings this masterful screenplay to life. No talking animals, sunshine, or romance. Just a swift kick to your cinematic groin.
  56. GreggH.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is almost cut-and-paste) but there were some details that were skipped over which I thought made the story even richer (in the original novel). Overall, the movie is one of the most haunting (if not the most haunting) I have ever seen. It is a nightmare put to film. But I didn't find it depressing; I found it life-affirming and exhilarating. Injustice surrounds like air; there is no escape from death like there is no escape from Chigurh; yet we live and love like the Sheriff despite the futility. Expand
  57. Anonymous
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing film. Great cinematography, acting, plot, ect. I would see it again and again. "Yes, you did. You've been putting it up your whole life you just didn't know it. You know what date is on this coin?"
  58. Tom.G.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you can't get over that fact, then dont bother watching movies. This film was very well directed. The dialouge was top notch, and it didn't Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you can't get over that fact, then dont bother watching movies. This film was very well directed. The dialouge was top notch, and it didn't bore the viewer like some movies. The acting, very good, non of the actors seemed out of place in the film. Action was great as well. The only problem i had with the movie was the ending. Although i agree with the ending, it was appropriate, i think the Coen brothers could of done better. Terrific movie. Expand
  59. MatthewTurcotte
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    The first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't get this film, you'll probably hate it. If you do get it, you'll love it. The end may leave you wanting more than a normal Hollywood film but as IThe first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't get this film, you'll probably hate it. If you do get it, you'll love it. The end may leave you wanting more than a normal Hollywood film but as I said, you'll either get why, or not.
    I got it, and I love this film.
    Expand
  60. AllieA
    Mar 15, 2008
    7
    I like this! Not much of an ending, but worth renting. It was suspenseful and great directing! Its just the ending, thats why i give it a 7. Rent it!
  61. JohnO
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    At times it's like revisiting one of those austere 60's/70's thrillers that enthralled you way past your bedtime as a kid. The kind of film you didn't completely get and forgot the name to until you saw it again years later - Like Klute , Point Blank or The Conversation. To be honest I'm still getting this one but it'll stay with me for a long time. Great film!!!
  62. KathyH.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the film; as you take this dark journey with Javier Bardem's character, you are forced to figure out what he figures out and in doing so, you gain a A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the film; as you take this dark journey with Javier Bardem's character, you are forced to figure out what he figures out and in doing so, you gain a sense of his genius as well as his madness. Did he find Tommy Lee Jones and kill him? Did Tommy Lee Jones go for a ride on his horse and find his nemesis dead? Do their paths ever cross? One thing is for sure: it is up to the viewer to decide the ending. Total thumbs up and it totally deserved the "Best Picture" Oscar. Not many do. Expand
  63. BenT.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    After seeing it twice, i think it is brilliantly clever and simplistic.
  64. A.Nonymous
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Very engaging all the way through, but disappointing at the end. I wanted to see good overcome evil. So who got away with the money???
  65. AdamA
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    This movie was so close to perfection and immortality, yet it fell somewhat short at the end. A movie should be complicated, but never leave a viewer confused. I watched the ending 3 times, and read a synopsis, and I still don't understand it. They spent all the time building it up, but never made a climax. The movie, although a beautiful piece of modern film, is broken.
  66. davidc
    Aug 23, 2008
    7
    Okay, the beginning of this film is fantastic, if your into action you'll love it, if your into drama you'll it, whatever genre your into you'll love it. the middle slows down and i thought a few explanation scenes should have been put in, but it was still acceptable. now then i accepted the middle part because i thought the end would be tremendous, but the only thing i can Okay, the beginning of this film is fantastic, if your into action you'll love it, if your into drama you'll it, whatever genre your into you'll love it. the middle slows down and i thought a few explanation scenes should have been put in, but it was still acceptable. now then i accepted the middle part because i thought the end would be tremendous, but the only thing i can compare it to is winning the lottery and then going to cash the check to find out its a joke. it really is that much of a let down (i nearly cried). all in all, the acting was very good but 60% of the film was a let down. Expand
  67. ApocalypseBrown
    May 11, 2009
    7
    Good film but can somebody explain what on earth happened at the end? It has a very poor narrative, as nobody understood the overall theme.
  68. ceejay
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    Some people say the film lacked a theme. I'd say the theme was very coherently and consistently conveyed. The theme is "It is possible to have yourself a certain set of principles that, if followed correctly, should make you will be nearly invincible to those that follow the traditional set and beyond." But the movie doesn't glorify those principles, other than to show its Some people say the film lacked a theme. I'd say the theme was very coherently and consistently conveyed. The theme is "It is possible to have yourself a certain set of principles that, if followed correctly, should make you will be nearly invincible to those that follow the traditional set and beyond." But the movie doesn't glorify those principles, other than to show its terrifying effect. Javier Bardem deserves his Oscar. Expand
  69. AndrewA
    Jul 12, 2009
    8
    Great movie but the ending...i get cliffhangers but this was ridiculous.
  70. PaulC
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    An excellent movie, Javier Bardem gives one of the creepiest performances in all the Coen brothers movies. One of the best movies of the year. Note to DWilly, the movie takes place in 1980, not in contemporary times. Both the dialogue and the environment make that pretty clear (old cars, phones, coins, etc.)
  71. ChrisR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Definitely one of the best Coen films yet. I'd say it's at least equal to Raising Arizona, Fargo, and The Big Lebowski, if not better than all of them.
  72. HunterB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever.
  73. ZacS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    7
    Flawless Direction, Flawless Cinematography, Great acting from Bardem...but the story was just lost...i was looking forward to giving this a 10 of 10 and i guess i was just disappointed. The plot ended too abruptly, and seemed overtly staggered to the point of annoyance.
  74. jaredm
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    excellent film. beautifully crafted. It was paced very well with enough subtlety and grit to keep me captivated throughout. Don't listen to the skeptics, it's a must see!
  75. Jane
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    This film succeeds in some areas (cinematography, fantastic performances) and fails in others (rambling monologues, a tacked-on ending, sudden and distracting switches from Dark Comedy to Thriller genre). It sure doesn't merit a 91 and to out-rank Hannah & Her Sisters, American Splendor and Gosford Park. Beware: A LOT of very graphic, gratuitous violence, despite what the apologists say.
  76. UG
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    So incredible that I can't do it justice here. Just see it!
  77. Dean
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I thought the movie was an almost perfectly made adaptation, and one of the best films I've ever seen. This movie, though, is not suitable to everyone's tastes, especially a casual film viewer looking to be simply enetertained. This is a dark, bleak movie that shows the fragility of life, and that chance can outweigh justice.
  78. MichaelC.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    this was the finest film i have seen all year. I will be very surprised if it is not nominated for best picture, best director, best actor and best supporting actor.
  79. Darryl
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    The best movie of this year.... I could not take my eyes off the screen, great performances throughout the movie.
  80. BertB
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The cinematography is equal to some of the great films of the past that took place in Texas (e.g., The Big Country). The story builds to such power and Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The cinematography is equal to some of the great films of the past that took place in Texas (e.g., The Big Country). The story builds to such power and implacable, almost impersonal evil, that the resolution that is not offered by the Coens is a letdown. Until that point, you are riveted to the screen and the plot. To those critics who claim there's no plot -- they haven't seen the same movie. Go see it and form your own opinion. Expand
  81. CandiceW
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through the entire film. Josh Brolin plays an awesome character- tough, dynamic and overall just fun to watch I went to see this with my boyfriend and he was Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through the entire film. Josh Brolin plays an awesome character- tough, dynamic and overall just fun to watch I went to see this with my boyfriend and he was blown away.. we're going to go see it again with some friends next week Expand
  82. SteveT.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Best yet from the Bros. Coen! A wonder of acting, pacing, editing and photography. It doesn't get much better than this.
  83. DanF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    A collaborative torrent of sensibilities, this film is a disquieting and hypnotic telling of the collapse at the heart of our time, which has been McCarthy's story all along. The Coen's have done justice to the book, the acting is remarkable, and it doesn't play like some variant of the American national anthem. Stunning.
  84. Kyle
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    "There Will Be a Sequel"

    There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly. "I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to
    "There Will Be a Sequel"

    There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly.
    "I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to get it out of my mind soon."
    -Dumb bitch

    Obviously you're not a Cormac McCarthy fan because this is perhaps the best film adaptation ever. It was faithful to the book in almost every respect. No point? Dumb bitch, THINK. Stop being a passive watcher and fucking think about the dialog. What is Ed Tom saying? What does the title of the movie mean? CONNECT THE FUCKING DOTS.

    "
    Expand
  85. DannyG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Silence of the Lambs. Also, many people think that there are holes in the plot and things wouldn't happen like they do in this film. The movie takes Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Silence of the Lambs. Also, many people think that there are holes in the plot and things wouldn't happen like they do in this film. The movie takes place almost 30 years ago in po-dunk west Texas. Now, I've never been to Texas and i wasn't even alive in 1980 so i may be wrong, but from what the film portrays, a person like anton chigurh could definitely do the things he did and get away with it. Another thing, the violence. People think this is all violence with no substance. Not True, watch the film again. I'm dumbfounded by Jill E.'s review because she is a Cormac McCarthy fan. I too read the book long before the movie and thought that the book was more violent because of McCarthy's grotesque descriptions of the violence. The book was basically a screenplay for the movie, which held true to every major detail of the book from when the money is found to when Bell is ending the movie with his dream recital. Expand
  86. RickC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted feature that they have produced. I have seen the film three times now and each viewing has been utterly fruitful in enhancing my appreciation for After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted feature that they have produced. I have seen the film three times now and each viewing has been utterly fruitful in enhancing my appreciation for this masterpiece and my understanding of the filmmakers intent. Yes, the film is a bit slow-paced and it may seem to end abruptly. Yet both of these elements seem purposefully employed. The pace of this film kept me in knots, by far one of the most visceral and tense movies I've ever experienced. As for the ending, I don't know how the Coens could have ended this film better than to be true to their source. They could've wrapped everything up in a nice little package. Instead they respect their audience and McCarthy's story. They allow us to derive our own conclusions. in other words, thank god for the slow pace and ambiguous conclusion for without either he film would be rendered completely limp and meaningless. Expand
  87. PaulB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    Exceptionally well acted, well photographed and well scripted - this is a very entertaining movie and is not as violent (or gory) as some early reviews made it out to be. Definitely one of the 2 or 3 best Coen brothers' movies!!
  88. Elmo
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    It's the Coen's best film to date, which is some sort of miracle - it's hard to top what they've done already, plus No Countrys is easily McCarthy's weakest novel (albeit a damn good one). If you don't like this film, go out and make your own damn movie, and then I might take your opinion seriously.
  89. RayF
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a psychopath but see it from his perspective, he does have his own code of 'honor' and he lives by it even though its on the other side of Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a psychopath but see it from his perspective, he does have his own code of 'honor' and he lives by it even though its on the other side of conventional moral code. the whole monologue in the beginning pretty much sums up the whole movie. the title sums it up. the ending monologue was just brilliant. the open ending was the best way to end it. in the book there was an ending, but it felt rushed like someone said "make an ending or we wont publish your book" +1 for dialogue also! Javier Bardem is my favorite actor and in this film he really really shines, esp. in the scene with the senior gas station clerk. Expand
  90. JackR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy love story or happy ending; the violence displayed in the movie is quick and unsettling. The movie clearly wants you to focus on the characters In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy love story or happy ending; the violence displayed in the movie is quick and unsettling. The movie clearly wants you to focus on the characters emotions, and reactions to certain events, particularly when watching scenes involving Anton and other individuals. In brilliant film that revels in the unexpected. Expand
  91. JohnP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL NOVELS DO.... WITH A BLANK PAGE. The reviewers or audience members that don't get it, have obviously never understood the importance of the This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL NOVELS DO.... WITH A BLANK PAGE. The reviewers or audience members that don't get it, have obviously never understood the importance of the written word or the wonder that fills the mind as you read the last few words and are left to your own thoughts. This is brilliant film making and deserving of any and all accolades (BEST PICTURE ANYONE). Collapse
  92. BrianP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are people rating it low because there is no ending and the critics love it? Or are they mad because they always want the good guy to win and the bad one to Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are people rating it low because there is no ending and the critics love it? Or are they mad because they always want the good guy to win and the bad one to get caught? Admit it , you were engrossed by it. Expand
  93. MarkA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Great dialog. Great acting. Great cinematography. The ending might bother people who like things wrapped up in a happy little parcel but guess what, sometimes life doesn't work that way so why should films?
  94. JeffS.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Genius. A brilliant dark comedy/action thriller. The heroes are as fallible and human as the arch-villain is utterly terrifying. I didn't want it to end, but the stupid credits started rolling so I figured that was it.
  95. MarilynZ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Actors. I don't think it ended without an ending...I was just disappointed that it was even over. I was so in the moment that I forgot that there Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Actors. I don't think it ended without an ending...I was just disappointed that it was even over. I was so in the moment that I forgot that there was a real world out there. It was not the way I wanted it to end. I want everyone to end up wealthy and happy, but that would be a fairy tale then. GO SEE THIS MOVIE...you will not be sorry. Be prepared for lots of violence and gore though and I don't like either one. Expand
  96. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas "Natural Born Killers" forces us to enter the confessional and admit we possess an angry dark facet of our nature, "No Country for Old Men" invites us to Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas "Natural Born Killers" forces us to enter the confessional and admit we possess an angry dark facet of our nature, "No Country for Old Men" invites us to look at the world outside the confessional and realize that violence is not only an individual monster lurking in the human heart, but is also a powerful, relevant social phenomenon Violent actions and thoughts that once shocked 20th century America have morphed into a disease altering the landscape of a new millennium. Tommy Lee Jones portrays Sheriff Bell with touching humility and humanity. He looks worn and weary, as are his words as he attempts to make sense of senseless violence that defies being locked away in a prison. It is an infectious violence that leaves its victims lifeless, cold, inhuman; they are dead while they live. Equal to the task of playing against Jone Expand
  97. JimmyS.
    Dec 21, 2008
    7
    What country is the Coen brothers, or, more accurately, Cormac McCarthy, referring to? Adapted by Joel and Ethan Coen from McCarthy
  98. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    I liked it but I thinkts its far too overrated. Javier Bardem gives an amazing, chilling performance in this film and he is really the only reason worth watching it for.
  99. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    Draws the viewer in from the get-go and never lets up. Dark, atmospheric, tense and intense its almost **** worthy.

    Central protagonist and antagonist are evenly matched, at least for the bulk of the film. Peripheral characters (Tommy Lee Jones, etc.) do a great job.

    Before you watch, shake of all predeterminations, and let this movie entertain you fully.
  100. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    While it starts off very intense with lots of cat and mouse moments, it stops roughly half way through and ends up leaving a lot of unanswered questions. While its neat that you kind of "get to make your own ending" it hurts that the latter half of the movie does not show exact details and just kinda half shows you what is going on. Overall I enjoyed it, but I felt like I only got to readWhile it starts off very intense with lots of cat and mouse moments, it stops roughly half way through and ends up leaving a lot of unanswered questions. While its neat that you kind of "get to make your own ending" it hurts that the latter half of the movie does not show exact details and just kinda half shows you what is going on. Overall I enjoyed it, but I felt like I only got to read half the book and just skimmed the latter half if you know what I mean. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.