User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1284 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NateG
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a depressing one, but life isn't always pretty. Expand
  2. BibliotechaS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Chigur's (my dad's best friend from the 70s was an Indian who played guitar at Panchos in the deep south and had hair just like that). My old guitar teacher, Miles Lazore, had a bowl haircut just like Chigur's also, except he was sportin that doo in the 90s still; his favorite band was Deep Purple). Anyhow, this movie seemed so true to the book, every i dotted, every t crossed. The scenery in West Texas is cool too. I wanted this movie to go on and on without stopped, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. Hopefully there will be a sequel! This should win best picture on Oscars night. If not, then it's heresy. Expand
  3. MatthewT.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    A total work of art. Amazing performances brings this masterful screenplay to life. No talking animals, sunshine, or romance. Just a swift kick to your cinematic groin.
  4. GreggH.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is almost cut-and-paste) but there were some details that were skipped over which I thought made the story even richer (in the original novel). Overall, the movie is one of the most haunting (if not the most haunting) I have ever seen. It is a nightmare put to film. But I didn't find it depressing; I found it life-affirming and exhilarating. Injustice surrounds like air; there is no escape from death like there is no escape from Chigurh; yet we live and love like the Sheriff despite the futility. Expand
  5. Anonymous
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing film. Great cinematography, acting, plot, ect. I would see it again and again. "Yes, you did. You've been putting it up your whole life you just didn't know it. You know what date is on this coin?"
  6. Tom.G.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you can't get over that fact, then dont bother watching movies. This film was very well directed. The dialouge was top notch, and it didn't Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you can't get over that fact, then dont bother watching movies. This film was very well directed. The dialouge was top notch, and it didn't bore the viewer like some movies. The acting, very good, non of the actors seemed out of place in the film. Action was great as well. The only problem i had with the movie was the ending. Although i agree with the ending, it was appropriate, i think the Coen brothers could of done better. Terrific movie. Expand
  7. MatthewTurcotte
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    The first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't get this film, you'll probably hate it. If you do get it, you'll love it. The end may leave you wanting more than a normal Hollywood film but as IThe first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't get this film, you'll probably hate it. If you do get it, you'll love it. The end may leave you wanting more than a normal Hollywood film but as I said, you'll either get why, or not.
    I got it, and I love this film.
    Expand
  8. JohnO
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    At times it's like revisiting one of those austere 60's/70's thrillers that enthralled you way past your bedtime as a kid. The kind of film you didn't completely get and forgot the name to until you saw it again years later - Like Klute , Point Blank or The Conversation. To be honest I'm still getting this one but it'll stay with me for a long time. Great film!!!
  9. KathyH.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the film; as you take this dark journey with Javier Bardem's character, you are forced to figure out what he figures out and in doing so, you gain a A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the film; as you take this dark journey with Javier Bardem's character, you are forced to figure out what he figures out and in doing so, you gain a sense of his genius as well as his madness. Did he find Tommy Lee Jones and kill him? Did Tommy Lee Jones go for a ride on his horse and find his nemesis dead? Do their paths ever cross? One thing is for sure: it is up to the viewer to decide the ending. Total thumbs up and it totally deserved the "Best Picture" Oscar. Not many do. Expand
  10. BenT.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    After seeing it twice, i think it is brilliantly clever and simplistic.
  11. PaulC
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    An excellent movie, Javier Bardem gives one of the creepiest performances in all the Coen brothers movies. One of the best movies of the year. Note to DWilly, the movie takes place in 1980, not in contemporary times. Both the dialogue and the environment make that pretty clear (old cars, phones, coins, etc.)
  12. ChrisR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Definitely one of the best Coen films yet. I'd say it's at least equal to Raising Arizona, Fargo, and The Big Lebowski, if not better than all of them.
  13. HunterB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever.
  14. jaredm
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    excellent film. beautifully crafted. It was paced very well with enough subtlety and grit to keep me captivated throughout. Don't listen to the skeptics, it's a must see!
  15. UG
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    So incredible that I can't do it justice here. Just see it!
  16. Dean
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I thought the movie was an almost perfectly made adaptation, and one of the best films I've ever seen. This movie, though, is not suitable to everyone's tastes, especially a casual film viewer looking to be simply enetertained. This is a dark, bleak movie that shows the fragility of life, and that chance can outweigh justice.
  17. MichaelC.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    this was the finest film i have seen all year. I will be very surprised if it is not nominated for best picture, best director, best actor and best supporting actor.
  18. Darryl
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    The best movie of this year.... I could not take my eyes off the screen, great performances throughout the movie.
  19. BertB
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The cinematography is equal to some of the great films of the past that took place in Texas (e.g., The Big Country). The story builds to such power and Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The cinematography is equal to some of the great films of the past that took place in Texas (e.g., The Big Country). The story builds to such power and implacable, almost impersonal evil, that the resolution that is not offered by the Coens is a letdown. Until that point, you are riveted to the screen and the plot. To those critics who claim there's no plot -- they haven't seen the same movie. Go see it and form your own opinion. Expand
  20. CandiceW
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through the entire film. Josh Brolin plays an awesome character- tough, dynamic and overall just fun to watch I went to see this with my boyfriend and he was Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through the entire film. Josh Brolin plays an awesome character- tough, dynamic and overall just fun to watch I went to see this with my boyfriend and he was blown away.. we're going to go see it again with some friends next week Expand
  21. SteveT.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Best yet from the Bros. Coen! A wonder of acting, pacing, editing and photography. It doesn't get much better than this.
  22. DanF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    A collaborative torrent of sensibilities, this film is a disquieting and hypnotic telling of the collapse at the heart of our time, which has been McCarthy's story all along. The Coen's have done justice to the book, the acting is remarkable, and it doesn't play like some variant of the American national anthem. Stunning.
  23. Kyle
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    "There Will Be a Sequel"

    There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly. "I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to
    "There Will Be a Sequel"

    There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly.
    "I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to get it out of my mind soon."
    -Dumb bitch

    Obviously you're not a Cormac McCarthy fan because this is perhaps the best film adaptation ever. It was faithful to the book in almost every respect. No point? Dumb bitch, THINK. Stop being a passive watcher and fucking think about the dialog. What is Ed Tom saying? What does the title of the movie mean? CONNECT THE FUCKING DOTS.

    "
    Expand
  24. DannyG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Silence of the Lambs. Also, many people think that there are holes in the plot and things wouldn't happen like they do in this film. The movie takes Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Silence of the Lambs. Also, many people think that there are holes in the plot and things wouldn't happen like they do in this film. The movie takes place almost 30 years ago in po-dunk west Texas. Now, I've never been to Texas and i wasn't even alive in 1980 so i may be wrong, but from what the film portrays, a person like anton chigurh could definitely do the things he did and get away with it. Another thing, the violence. People think this is all violence with no substance. Not True, watch the film again. I'm dumbfounded by Jill E.'s review because she is a Cormac McCarthy fan. I too read the book long before the movie and thought that the book was more violent because of McCarthy's grotesque descriptions of the violence. The book was basically a screenplay for the movie, which held true to every major detail of the book from when the money is found to when Bell is ending the movie with his dream recital. Expand
  25. RickC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted feature that they have produced. I have seen the film three times now and each viewing has been utterly fruitful in enhancing my appreciation for After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted feature that they have produced. I have seen the film three times now and each viewing has been utterly fruitful in enhancing my appreciation for this masterpiece and my understanding of the filmmakers intent. Yes, the film is a bit slow-paced and it may seem to end abruptly. Yet both of these elements seem purposefully employed. The pace of this film kept me in knots, by far one of the most visceral and tense movies I've ever experienced. As for the ending, I don't know how the Coens could have ended this film better than to be true to their source. They could've wrapped everything up in a nice little package. Instead they respect their audience and McCarthy's story. They allow us to derive our own conclusions. in other words, thank god for the slow pace and ambiguous conclusion for without either he film would be rendered completely limp and meaningless. Expand
  26. PaulB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    Exceptionally well acted, well photographed and well scripted - this is a very entertaining movie and is not as violent (or gory) as some early reviews made it out to be. Definitely one of the 2 or 3 best Coen brothers' movies!!
  27. Elmo
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    It's the Coen's best film to date, which is some sort of miracle - it's hard to top what they've done already, plus No Countrys is easily McCarthy's weakest novel (albeit a damn good one). If you don't like this film, go out and make your own damn movie, and then I might take your opinion seriously.
  28. RayF
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a psychopath but see it from his perspective, he does have his own code of 'honor' and he lives by it even though its on the other side of Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a psychopath but see it from his perspective, he does have his own code of 'honor' and he lives by it even though its on the other side of conventional moral code. the whole monologue in the beginning pretty much sums up the whole movie. the title sums it up. the ending monologue was just brilliant. the open ending was the best way to end it. in the book there was an ending, but it felt rushed like someone said "make an ending or we wont publish your book" +1 for dialogue also! Javier Bardem is my favorite actor and in this film he really really shines, esp. in the scene with the senior gas station clerk. Expand
  29. JackR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy love story or happy ending; the violence displayed in the movie is quick and unsettling. The movie clearly wants you to focus on the characters In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy love story or happy ending; the violence displayed in the movie is quick and unsettling. The movie clearly wants you to focus on the characters emotions, and reactions to certain events, particularly when watching scenes involving Anton and other individuals. In brilliant film that revels in the unexpected. Expand
  30. JohnP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL NOVELS DO.... WITH A BLANK PAGE. The reviewers or audience members that don't get it, have obviously never understood the importance of the This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL NOVELS DO.... WITH A BLANK PAGE. The reviewers or audience members that don't get it, have obviously never understood the importance of the written word or the wonder that fills the mind as you read the last few words and are left to your own thoughts. This is brilliant film making and deserving of any and all accolades (BEST PICTURE ANYONE). Collapse
  31. BrianP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are people rating it low because there is no ending and the critics love it? Or are they mad because they always want the good guy to win and the bad one to Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are people rating it low because there is no ending and the critics love it? Or are they mad because they always want the good guy to win and the bad one to get caught? Admit it , you were engrossed by it. Expand
  32. MarkA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Great dialog. Great acting. Great cinematography. The ending might bother people who like things wrapped up in a happy little parcel but guess what, sometimes life doesn't work that way so why should films?
  33. JeffS.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Genius. A brilliant dark comedy/action thriller. The heroes are as fallible and human as the arch-villain is utterly terrifying. I didn't want it to end, but the stupid credits started rolling so I figured that was it.
  34. MarilynZ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Actors. I don't think it ended without an ending...I was just disappointed that it was even over. I was so in the moment that I forgot that there Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Actors. I don't think it ended without an ending...I was just disappointed that it was even over. I was so in the moment that I forgot that there was a real world out there. It was not the way I wanted it to end. I want everyone to end up wealthy and happy, but that would be a fairy tale then. GO SEE THIS MOVIE...you will not be sorry. Be prepared for lots of violence and gore though and I don't like either one. Expand
  35. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas "Natural Born Killers" forces us to enter the confessional and admit we possess an angry dark facet of our nature, "No Country for Old Men" invites us to Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas "Natural Born Killers" forces us to enter the confessional and admit we possess an angry dark facet of our nature, "No Country for Old Men" invites us to look at the world outside the confessional and realize that violence is not only an individual monster lurking in the human heart, but is also a powerful, relevant social phenomenon Violent actions and thoughts that once shocked 20th century America have morphed into a disease altering the landscape of a new millennium. Tommy Lee Jones portrays Sheriff Bell with touching humility and humanity. He looks worn and weary, as are his words as he attempts to make sense of senseless violence that defies being locked away in a prison. It is an infectious violence that leaves its victims lifeless, cold, inhuman; they are dead while they live. Equal to the task of playing against Jone Expand
  36. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    Draws the viewer in from the get-go and never lets up. Dark, atmospheric, tense and intense its almost **** worthy.

    Central protagonist and antagonist are evenly matched, at least for the bulk of the film. Peripheral characters (Tommy Lee Jones, etc.) do a great job.

    Before you watch, shake of all predeterminations, and let this movie entertain you fully.
  37. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    A great Coen movie. There's been a long time since I saw such an entertaining and at the same time, such a complex movie. Excellent direction work, insuperable interpretations and a superb script make this film a masterpiece; all on this movie is near to be perfect and it keeps you watching until it ends. Highly recommended to anybody. 9.0
  38. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite films of all time. It's acting is superb, the cinematography the best I've ever seen, and deep. For those of you who don't care for the ending, it's never meant to have closure. This film is mysterious and very open to interpretation. I saw this one day and watched it again the next day just to ponder its messages. I highly recommend this, but it's not aThis is easily one of my favorite films of all time. It's acting is superb, the cinematography the best I've ever seen, and deep. For those of you who don't care for the ending, it's never meant to have closure. This film is mysterious and very open to interpretation. I saw this one day and watched it again the next day just to ponder its messages. I highly recommend this, but it's not a "sit-down-and-zone-out" movie. You need to keep a sharp eye. Expand
  39. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    No country for old men is a thrilling film with an ending that will either disapoint or complete this masterfully made film. I am in the middle on the end but i cannot dismiss it because all the things that came previous in the film.
  40. May 25, 2012
    9
    "No Country for Old Men" is a close to perfect film and one of the Coens' best films in a while. They can be darkly funny at times, laugh out loud hilarious other times, and SRS BSNS other times.
  41. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This is actually one of the best book adaptions ever. It's almost impossible to tell a story accurately with such little dialogues and without a narrator voice, but the Coen brothers accomplished it fantastically. A perfect cast till minor roles and Javier Bardem makes one of the best film villains of all time! The style of the film is absolutely unique and the mixture of western, thrillerThis is actually one of the best book adaptions ever. It's almost impossible to tell a story accurately with such little dialogues and without a narrator voice, but the Coen brothers accomplished it fantastically. A perfect cast till minor roles and Javier Bardem makes one of the best film villains of all time! The style of the film is absolutely unique and the mixture of western, thriller and satire is excellent. The ending is realistic and leaves a couple of questions open, which makes you think a lot about the film afterwards. Everything seems sophisticated, even how scenes succeed on one another and that's what is so fantastic about this movie. Everything that happens in No Country For Old Men keeps your eyes peeled on the TV screen, even if it's just normal dialogue. I.e. the showdown between Chigurh and Moss, which is one of the most thrilling scenes I've seen lately or the Chigurh's conversation with the gas station proprietor which is absolutely awesome. The screenplay, the direction and Javier Bardem totally deserved the Oscar. There were better movies in 2006 but this flick is a very favorable tale about bad people that is both confusing and stunning. Expand
  42. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    If you don't like the ending you didn't understand the plot...
  43. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    The finest work by the Cohen Brothers, No Country for Old Men is brutal, violent, truthful, and one hell of a ride. The acting is beyond superb, the editing and cinematography are some of the best I have ever seen, and Javier Bardem is the new Hannibal Lector as the film's nightmarish villain, Anton Chigurh. For those negative reviews you see (notice only on the user column, mind you),The finest work by the Cohen Brothers, No Country for Old Men is brutal, violent, truthful, and one hell of a ride. The acting is beyond superb, the editing and cinematography are some of the best I have ever seen, and Javier Bardem is the new Hannibal Lector as the film's nightmarish villain, Anton Chigurh. For those negative reviews you see (notice only on the user column, mind you), they are all from people that are looking for something directed by Michael Bay and require no thought process whatsoever. Even if the ending requires some out-of-theatre interpretation, see this movie. It's one that going down with some of the best in film history. Expand
  44. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    It' s a very nice but also difficult film.
    I watched it twice and I don't still understand everything.
    The figure of Anton Chigurh is surely the most impressive. The crazy/foolish killer Chigurgh is in my opinion, the real protagonist of the film.

    Everythig so rude and foolish, but PERFECT
  45. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Cohen movies have been misunderstood for years..some people find them to boring or to hard to follow (millers crossing). I think they are marvelous and extremely witty, filled with some the most realistic characters you could want in a movie. They also do not end in happy cheery ways or tight hollywood endings that may hint at sequel. This one of my favorites right behind millersCohen movies have been misunderstood for years..some people find them to boring or to hard to follow (millers crossing). I think they are marvelous and extremely witty, filled with some the most realistic characters you could want in a movie. They also do not end in happy cheery ways or tight hollywood endings that may hint at sequel. This one of my favorites right behind millers crossing..which is i believe one the best movies ever made. Expand
  46. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    The beauty of this movie is the simplicity. One guy has the suitcase full of money, other guy wants the suitcase full of money and so begins a chase interwoven with a hurricane of tension. Just watching the creativity with which these two characters try to best one another is enthralling in itself. The entire movie is slow, quiet and irresistible. Great acting and brilliant directing.The beauty of this movie is the simplicity. One guy has the suitcase full of money, other guy wants the suitcase full of money and so begins a chase interwoven with a hurricane of tension. Just watching the creativity with which these two characters try to best one another is enthralling in itself. The entire movie is slow, quiet and irresistible. Great acting and brilliant directing. Overall, I would describe No Country for Old Men as a dark and sinister pleasure. Expand
  47. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    In this film we get to see the Coen brothers' version of a true psychopath. We follow two story lines until they converge and become one. Chigurh (Javier Bardem) is a lunatic who has no conscience whatsoever. Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) is the man who we root for, even though he is far from being a saint. But the fact that he doesn't kill people over nothing certainly gives him an edgeIn this film we get to see the Coen brothers' version of a true psychopath. We follow two story lines until they converge and become one. Chigurh (Javier Bardem) is a lunatic who has no conscience whatsoever. Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) is the man who we root for, even though he is far from being a saint. But the fact that he doesn't kill people over nothing certainly gives him an edge over his opponents in gaining our sympathy.

    Moss finds a ridiculous amount of money in the desert and decides to keep it. Two sets of sides then follow him around the country as he outwits them at every step. Chigurh is called in and joins the chase, but he has his own agenda, which is to say none that can be understood by a sane man. Needless to say, we get to see a whole lot of shootouts and deaths and close calls.

    Chigurh was the most enduring character from the bunch. He has two weapons he puts to deadly use at every occasion. A psychopath in every sense of the word, he looks for quarrels in nothing that would suggest to offend a normal person.

    Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones) is an aging sheriff. He quips and jokes with a poker face. I thoroughly enjoyed his peculiar sense of humour. Always trying to do the right thing, he feels that he isn't upto the task of apprehending these criminals who have suddenly decided to make the territory under his jurisdiction their battlefield. The title of the movie is probably about him.

    There were more than a few memorable scenes of violence and gore. The art direction depicted the time splendidly with the costume and cars and cafes. The cinematography captured the beautiful bleak landscape of the southern wilderness with finesse. The open plains and deserts certainly felt like a character unto itself.

    The first hour and a half nailed the action, suspense and dialogue with a craftsman's precision, and had not one scene that threatened to slow the pace. Despite the entertaining pace, every one of the main characters was well developed and distinct. The gunfights seemed realistic. People actually got injured and had no ability to dodge the bullets. There were a few scenes with conversations reflecting upon the changing times in terms of the violence being perpetrated. Some of the older audience may have felt nostalgic for a bit around this time. The film had the quality that takes the viewers imperceptibly from scene to scene.

    I've always wondered how action sequences would feel like without supporting score to pump our adrenaline, and relying solely on content. They felt raw and genuine. Coen brothers showed us how they should be done. But if I made a film, I would have some music in the scenes about reflection and resolution.

    Unlike the other great films in the genre of crime/thriller, this one chose to show what was happening only during the present. There was literally no transtion of time. In that it was like Raiders of the Lost Ark. But that movie had an extended cop-out ending.

    The minute the main story ends abruptly, we move into a five minute interlude which felt forced and left me restless. There were no visible stakes and instead there were some conversations that were kind of conclusory remarks about what had taken place before. Everything before this had me absorbed in the narrative and that scene had nothing to do with anything that we were already shown. As the pacing was breakneck before this, some of the audience may have felt it to be more dragging even when the film returns to the main story. The extraction of a message or theme should be left entirely to the audience. I would have respected the Coens a lot more if they had the sense to know what should be left out. But since that scene wasn't long, I won't be harsh. But this blunder in editing took away from the strengths of the movie and thus the film failed to leave a lasting impression. The last scene was retainable but forgettable.
    Expand
  48. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    The Coen brothers provide one of the most strongest films ever. It provides awesome performances and extremely thrilling murderous suspense that makes the film suceed on all levels. Its by far the best direction that the Coen brothers have ever done in their spectacular career.
  49. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best movie ever made. Very nice story with some of the best actors. Amazing movie!
  50. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    The complexity appears in simple tension, but is crafted so well and delivered so uniquely that the result is unusually amazing. In major plot points, this film is completely unpredictable, and its final statement pins on the title.
  51. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    "No Country for Old Men" is so well crafted in the way of a dark crime film, and the actors deserve plenty of merit on their parts, especially from the antagonist played by Javier Bardem.
  52. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    At the risk of sounding unprofessional, (and I guess I'm not since no one pays me for this), this movie is awesome. It's tense, eerie, violent, bloody, action packed.... I could go on forever. This is probably my favorite Cohen brothers movie. They direct it with such obsessive detail in every little action that it's impossible not to be impressed with their work here. I like a lot ofAt the risk of sounding unprofessional, (and I guess I'm not since no one pays me for this), this movie is awesome. It's tense, eerie, violent, bloody, action packed.... I could go on forever. This is probably my favorite Cohen brothers movie. They direct it with such obsessive detail in every little action that it's impossible not to be impressed with their work here. I like a lot of their movies, but none of them can match this one's sublime mix of violence, story, and character. Anton Chigur has to be one of the top five screen villains of all time. He really does come close to Hannibal Lecter status, and how often can you say that? The only real flaw here is an unsatisfying ending, but I've seen plenty of movies that have ended a lot worse. Probably one of the best Best Picture winners ever, and perhaps my favorite crime thriller. Expand
  53. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a problem with almost all of the reviews on the site from critics to users. This movie is a philosophical exercise and like most philosophy needs to be critically evaluated multiple times before an adequate understanding can be achieved. The movie is about the conflict between natural uncertainty and the human desire for certainty. The villain (Bardem) uses his knowledge of these facts to his advantage throughout the movie, i.e. flipping coins to determine outcomes with the intention of making his actions seem random, and at a meta level ends up falling into the the human fallacy of certainty. Once the viewer realizes this it is obvious the Cohen brothers tailor the final 30 minutes of the movie to reinforce the fact that no one has full control. The conversation with Moss's wife illustrates his situation perfectly. He does not need to kill her. He feels compelled by his method to carry out the process to his predetermined end. She refuses to play into his false belief that he is the master of this anarchy and points out the fact that he is there by his own choice. After the house he gets injured in a car accident reinforcing his lack of control. This ties in perfectly with the final scenes with Jones from the conversation with the old deputy to the final scene with his wife. In his dream he feels comfortable on his own because he knows his father will be there when needed. Then he woke up. Watch the movie a few more times and you will realize a multitude of interactions and conversations that are there to enrich this message. I love movies like this because the replay value is endless. Expand
  54. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Sinister, brutal and in possession of an abundance of lines to read between, 'No Country for Old Men' is a modern day masterpiece from the boots of it's cinematography right up to the Stetson of typically multi dimensional, Coen characterisation. I will no longer feel safe behind a locked door having witnessed the now, iconic realisation of Anton Chigurh.
  55. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Uma das melhores cenas de perseguição da história do cinema moderno, javier bardem está simplesmente assustador e sensacional. Brilhante história e atuações, filme para se ter em casa.
  56. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite an abrupt ending, this movie is a fantastic masterpiece from the Coen Brothers. Beautifully shot, superb acting (particularly from Javier Bardem in an Academy Award winning role), and a fast, suspenseful pace, this is story telling at its best. Expand
  57. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    The America was marked by bloodshed, was sometimes accurate and sometimes totally useless form, were always involved power and money somehow, the book by Cormac M. portrays it interesting and visceral way, the same can be said of the Cohen brothers movie that captures the competitive spirit of Americans and brutal when it puts money in the game, but the most interesting are theThe America was marked by bloodshed, was sometimes accurate and sometimes totally useless form, were always involved power and money somehow, the book by Cormac M. portrays it interesting and visceral way, the same can be said of the Cohen brothers movie that captures the competitive spirit of Americans and brutal when it puts money in the game, but the most interesting are the performances of Javier B. and Tommy L. Jones that capture impressively (especially Bardem) the state of its characters, which explains all the euphoria that critics have with this film. Expand
  58. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Los hermanos Coen lograron conseguir esta película fantásticamente hecha...............................................................................
  59. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    A flawless intense thriller that puts you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole darn film! The cinematography in this film is simply fantastic... the coens out did them self and in my opinion it is right up there w fargo maybe even better
  60. May 28, 2013
    10
    Favorite movie of all time. Coen brothers are spot-on with suspenseful pacing, beautiful cinematography, and a simple story that gets its point across.
  61. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    The movies was awesome with, Anton Chigurh (Bardem) and his awesome coin-tosser and, BANGG!!! I'm still wonder if other film/movies can be like this. I'm honestly wasn't expected to see the novels could be brought to the big screen.
  62. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    In my mind, the greatest movie of all time (Better than Godfather, Pulp Fiction, Raging Bull, all of them). NCFOM explores humans in a way that no other film can. It shows us why people do what they do. It addresses how fate, and how things out of our control, can affect our lives. It comes the closest that any movie has come to showing us the true meaning of life. There is no definiteIn my mind, the greatest movie of all time (Better than Godfather, Pulp Fiction, Raging Bull, all of them). NCFOM explores humans in a way that no other film can. It shows us why people do what they do. It addresses how fate, and how things out of our control, can affect our lives. It comes the closest that any movie has come to showing us the true meaning of life. There is no definite meaning of life: We are all here, doing things, talking to people, participating in activities; we are all simply living. And this film comes the closest to showing us why. As a film itself, it has terrific acting, especially from Javier Bardem, a terrific script, and dark, suspenseful tone that keeps you on edge the entire time. As a piece of art, it is inferior to none. The greatest movie ever made, in my opinion. Expand
  63. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    A blunt, almost blatant tale of why you should never run from those chasing you. A gritty and oddly pragmatic tale that slowly drifts (which many consider the film's taciturn banality) into an aberration of the era and the situation. Acted out beautifully, mostly by the man of many roles, and hairstyles, Javier Bardem. With the amount of graphic violence that is ultimately timed right, theA blunt, almost blatant tale of why you should never run from those chasing you. A gritty and oddly pragmatic tale that slowly drifts (which many consider the film's taciturn banality) into an aberration of the era and the situation. Acted out beautifully, mostly by the man of many roles, and hairstyles, Javier Bardem. With the amount of graphic violence that is ultimately timed right, the Coen brothers have once made a film that, for me personally, cannot be banal or dreary in the slightest, but the absolute opposite. Expand
  64. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. The quality of the acting, as well as the outstanding directing by the Coen brothers, propel the film from initially being a mere adaptation of a successful novel to becoming an absolute classic, that garnered the approval of most viewers and was met with universal critical acclaim. Besides, the well-deserved Oscar win properly rewards the brilliant overall directing careerA masterpiece. The quality of the acting, as well as the outstanding directing by the Coen brothers, propel the film from initially being a mere adaptation of a successful novel to becoming an absolute classic, that garnered the approval of most viewers and was met with universal critical acclaim. Besides, the well-deserved Oscar win properly rewards the brilliant overall directing career of the Coens. Eventually, one cannot watch the movie without being fascinated by the stately performance of Javier Bardem, who perfectly embodies a ruthless lunatic bounty hunter, to such an extent that every viewer will ultimately reminisce the disqueting character of Anton Chigurh. Expand
  65. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    No Country For Old Men is exhilaratingly brilliant, with raw and to-the-point dialogue that makes the transitions of scenes smooth. The cinematography is excellent, and the plot is exciting. Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones, and and Javier Bodem are excellent in this film, and captivate you with their performances.
  66. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    I think this movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. directors of this movie are my favorite directors.this movie has directed, written and acted very well.
  67. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite movies. Excellent casting may have been the biggest pluses for it. Some are dissatisfied with the final 20 minutes or so of the movie, but it worked for me after giving it time to settle for lack of a better phrase.
  68. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    No Country For Old Men is Coen Brothers' brilliant film adaptation of Cormac MacCarthy novel of the same name. It focuses on the three stories of Sheriff Ed Bell, played by Tommy Lee Jones, Anton Chigurh a psychopathic murderer, played by Javier Bardem, and Llewelyn Moss, a welder who had stumbled upon 2 million dollars worth of drug money, played by Josh Brolin.

    The backbone of the
    No Country For Old Men is Coen Brothers' brilliant film adaptation of Cormac MacCarthy novel of the same name. It focuses on the three stories of Sheriff Ed Bell, played by Tommy Lee Jones, Anton Chigurh a psychopathic murderer, played by Javier Bardem, and Llewelyn Moss, a welder who had stumbled upon 2 million dollars worth of drug money, played by Josh Brolin.

    The backbone of the plot itself has been used before but the slow pacing of the film allows the viewer to submerge themselves in the struggle of Jones and Brolin as they are hunted by and pursue Bardem's character. Bardem fabulously portrays Chigurh as an almost unpredictable yet rational killer intent on collecting the 2 million dollars collected by Brolin and killing anyone in his way. In one of his last scenes the viewer is allowed however to see a small amount of uncertain reasoning in how he kills.

    The pacing, as well as excellent camerawork and sets creates a wonderful atmosphere in which the viewer can allow themselves to comfortably be submerged into while they enjoy this cinematic masterpiece.

    In the end, this film can be enjoyed by all as long as they are patient enough to let a story be told.
    Expand
  69. May 2, 2015
    10
    No Country for Old Men is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It manages to portray complex emotional themes while maintaining one of the most entertaining story-lines of any neo-Western (or any movie, for that matter) to date. This is the Coen Brothers at the top of their craft.
  70. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    I love this movie, with a cat-and-mouse theme, and some violance concept of Anton Chigurh. Some movies can't be better with the effect of the surprise elements, but this, this is some awesome 5H1+ to watched!
  71. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Bold, gothic, commanding and visceral. No Country for Old Men is as brilliant a movie you'll see from the past decade. The visual beauty and lack of score pulls us into a tense, anxious and deeply disturbed atmosphere, dragging us through sunny landscapes so bleak that just by watching the film, you'll put your soul at hazard. Tommy Lee Jones opens the film with a monologue where he talksBold, gothic, commanding and visceral. No Country for Old Men is as brilliant a movie you'll see from the past decade. The visual beauty and lack of score pulls us into a tense, anxious and deeply disturbed atmosphere, dragging us through sunny landscapes so bleak that just by watching the film, you'll put your soul at hazard. Tommy Lee Jones opens the film with a monologue where he talks about how criminals have changed (or dare I say evolved) to a point where he no longer understands them. The film draws attention to this idea through the character Anton Chigurh. He's a criminal who'll outrightly kill anyone who brings him inconvenience. But Chigurh's a much more complex character. Although it's never quite revealed why he wants the satchel of money, one can reasonably argue that he wants it because it would aid his survival (same can be said for Josh Brolin's Lewellyn). But what makes Chigurh different is that he believes following the rules and morals set by society don't really help you survive. Rather they're shackles. Chigurh's morals are decided by the toss of a coin. He'll kill an innocent person who's brought him no inconvenience only if the coin permits. In other words, Chigurh believes in a random and chaotic world and for the most part it seems as though he's the person who decides others' destiny through chance. But the Coens make it clear that Chigurh is no divine/ supernatural figure. He too is subject to random events (as witnessed when he crashes his car). But how do you categorise a person like that? A person who is so dispassionate and mechanical but still believes in an ideology (or a lack of ideology). He's not a nihilist. Tommy Lee Jones' Sheriff doesn't get it. He doesn't want to chase a killer he doesn't understand. He doesn't want to be some hero, he just wants to retire before something hazardous happens to him. The genius of No Country for Old Men lies in the way it escapes banality and tightens its grip as it progresses. By the time its over, you'll be all out breath feeling as though you've just spiralled into the seventh circle of hell. It pulls you out not by heroism but by capitulation.
    At the beginning, Tommy Lee Jones is askes himself - how do I make sense of a crazy, violent and unstable world that has lost all its bearings? Ultimately the film's bleak and melancholy answer is - You can't.
    Expand
  72. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    Javier Bardem is terrifying, the plot is thrilling, the directing is engaging and the themese are thought provoking. I can't ask for more from a movie.
  73. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    This film is brilliant mainly because of the incredible character of Anton - the scariest maniac you could possibly meet. The acting is superb - this is one of those films that will leave you thinking in a daze. It will also give you nightmares about cattle spikes.
    10/10 - Ben Hazelden
  74. May 13, 2015
    10
    even though there is no OST in the film the Coen brother's nightmarish masterpiece of the hellish underworld in the country seems so vividly real you can't run away from your seats even if you want to.
    marking 2007 a great year for darker movies
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.