Miramax Films | Release Date: November 9, 2007
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1582 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,223
Mixed:
173
Negative:
186
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JackRNov 25, 2007
If you like classic gangster movies, such as Pulp Fiction, you're home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Nov 26, 2007
One of the best movies I have seen in years. Unbelievably intense and violent . Also, it is sometimes funny and thoughtful. Classic scene after classic scene will stay with you long after you leave the theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RJM.Nov 26, 2007
It's really quite incredible the nut-busting the critics did over this one. it's just a silly movie. I agree with the guys before me who call it a really bad version of Fargo. the movie is entertaining, but really only in the sense It's really quite incredible the nut-busting the critics did over this one. it's just a silly movie. I agree with the guys before me who call it a really bad version of Fargo. the movie is entertaining, but really only in the sense that you're waiting for something entertaining to happen. even the would-be entertaining moments, like the dude's escape from his motel room onto the street, are just drug out and emasculated of all their intensity. that's what this movie is, come to think of it: a limp penis. a limp penis trying pathetically to get hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenJ.Nov 26, 2007
The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is surprising is how the Coens took what could have been adapted into a mess of a cat-and-mouse serial killer chase film and make it not only one of the best movies of the year, but one of the best in recent memory. How do they do this? Simply by treating the audience like adults. This taut, tense, genre-bending film lays out the story expertly defying as many traditional narrative structures as possible along the way. Every shot, every line of dialogue, every grunt and every sigh are packed with information. Each and every performance is wonderful, from Jones to Brolin to Bardem and everyone they encounter along the way. This is the Coen's masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
heflysNov 26, 2007
THis is an excellent fim that defies what one expects from general cinematography. Needles to say, it is a memorbable fim with excellent dialogue, detail, and general logic to the characters actions. To those calling it "A 2nd Fargo!", thisTHis is an excellent fim that defies what one expects from general cinematography. Needles to say, it is a memorbable fim with excellent dialogue, detail, and general logic to the characters actions. To those calling it "A 2nd Fargo!", this movie is almost entirely based off a novel; adheres to said novel faithfuly.

Just go see these film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterNov 26, 2007
I live in West Texas and I thought it captured the peculiar atmosphere perfect. Tommy Lee Jones was great and the movie definitely had some real humour. All in all a great film. Jill E saying she was a Cormac McCarthy fan but doesn't I live in West Texas and I thought it captured the peculiar atmosphere perfect. Tommy Lee Jones was great and the movie definitely had some real humour. All in all a great film. Jill E saying she was a Cormac McCarthy fan but doesn't like violence with no point - have you ever read Blood Meridian? Which is also being filmed by Ridley Scott. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KellerD.Nov 27, 2007
I live out in that part of the world, Far West Texas they call it. I love BLOOD SIMPLE (to me one of the finest movies ever made). I went to see it with great excitement and anticipation and . . . I have to agree with Stephen Hunter of the I live out in that part of the world, Far West Texas they call it. I love BLOOD SIMPLE (to me one of the finest movies ever made). I went to see it with great excitement and anticipation and . . . I have to agree with Stephen Hunter of the Washington Post, I just didn't like it very much. But I'm going back tomorrow for another try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
C.B.Nov 27, 2007
Bardem deserves the Oscar
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Nov 27, 2007
No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and go straight for the narrative jugular and made helplessness a way of life for anyone who even sees Anton Chigurh, the most ruthless cinema villian since Hannibal Lector. Javier Bardem now has his signature role. In playing evil incarnate, he will probably win an Oscar. Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are excellent but its Bardem that you can't get out of your head. No Country for Old Men is a major accomplishment for the already accomplished Coen Brothers, who both take a directors credit this time, and rightly so, they'll both deserve the Best Director Oscar for this one. Just one bit of advice- wear a warm heavy coat to see this one, it'll chill you to the bone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtL.Nov 28, 2007
Not since last years Babel and The Departed, have I been as entertained and mesmerized by film craft.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
batasablindNov 29, 2007
... All style and no substance.
A rather overrated film ... sure the technique is good ... but the story is absolutely idiotic. It is a western adapted for the 21st century ... horses have been replaced by trucks and cars ... otherwise
... All style and no substance.
A rather overrated film ... sure the technique is good ... but the story is absolutely idiotic. It is a western adapted for the 21st century ... horses have been replaced by trucks and cars ... otherwise everything is same ... sharp shooters who never miss ... big hats ... smart one liners ... same unintelligible dialogue.

A guy who goes around with big guns and air cylinders ... and no one seems to notice him ... in and out without any problem ... knows where everyone is going to be ... kills and leaves and comes and kills ... and no one can catch him ... even though this guy can barely walk ... only in Texas.

... well if you have not seen a western in a long time then may be you should see it ... but leave your brain at home.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanG.Nov 7, 2007
Run when you see Javier coming!!! This film had me on my seat almost the whole time. No second guessing the outcome either. Just a well developed morality and mortality tale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
THATMOVIEGUYNov 9, 2007
Great movie! I don't have anything else to say on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ColeMDec 1, 2007
I have no idea what sort of hallucinogenic drugs the critics were using when they viewed this movie, but after this, I really have to rethink the merit of such reviews when deciding on a movie see and pay a large sum of money to do so. I I have no idea what sort of hallucinogenic drugs the critics were using when they viewed this movie, but after this, I really have to rethink the merit of such reviews when deciding on a movie see and pay a large sum of money to do so. I expected a masterpiece of visual/auditory storytelling, but what I got was a mediocore movie at best. Sure it was suspensful, sure it got a reaction out of me, but the movie was so full of holes, so full of pointless scenes that did nothing to advance the plot, so full of issues left unresolved, I was angry with the abrupt cut to the credits. A absolutely pathetic disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BozoR.Dec 1, 2007
I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that. Same thing should be said about movies. I want a movie to entertain me, not confuse me. Was the hero a man portrayed as almost the devil himself who walks away at he I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that. Same thing should be said about movies. I want a movie to entertain me, not confuse me. Was the hero a man portrayed as almost the devil himself who walks away at he end. Up until the end of the movie I was totally into the story and wanting it to continue, then off a cliff it went, I've got a bald spot from scratching my head. That was 'No way to end a movie'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonM.Dec 10, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Probably both the most entertaining and the most captivating movie I've seen this year. Extremely heavy, very dramatic. There is no true score; the movie is all but bereft of music, and that serves to only An absolute masterpiece. Probably both the most entertaining and the most captivating movie I've seen this year. Extremely heavy, very dramatic. There is no true score; the movie is all but bereft of music, and that serves to only further engage the audience. I had popcorn and a soda, and forgot that I even had them during the movie, so entranced was I. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanceE.Dec 10, 2007
Ignore trying to put this plot together. Let it take you to a deeper fear than any movie I can remember. Scary from the start all the way to it's unsatisfying conclusion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ToddBDec 11, 2007
For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect some one in those positions. How would you deal with the events. you wouldn't have to because you'd be stupid enough to become one of Antoine's victims. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GauravS.Dec 1, 2007
If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in the same vein as that of Fargo. I'm at a loss for words and a lack of vocabulary to describe how brilliant this film truly is. In its most reductive form, the summary of the film is as follows: A man stumbles upon some drug money and attempts to run away with it, only to realize that he is being followed by a lunatic murder of epic proportions, all of this happening under the watchful eyes of the local sheriff who is trying to piece together the whole story. This movie is very quiet, and this adds a level of unsettling disturbance that highlights the scenes of violence that are thrown into the mix. The epic landscape of West Texas, the brilliant acting of Tommy Lee Jones, who deserves an Oscar, along with this film, if it doesn't win Best picture this year I might weep. It is the subtleties of this film, and of the Cohen Brothers style, that truly makes this film magnificent. Their philosophy, show...don't tell. If you have any respect for me, or consider me a good friend, go see this film while it's in the theatres.I just watched it this afternoon and when the credits started to roll, my friend and I sat still for a good five minutes in silence and just soaked in the beauty of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielWDec 12, 2007
Can't understand the critical consensus here. Where is the unbridled fun of Lebowski or the brilliant character portrayals of Fargo? I found Miller's Crossing and Blood Simple much more menacing than this. The violence proceeded in Can't understand the critical consensus here. Where is the unbridled fun of Lebowski or the brilliant character portrayals of Fargo? I found Miller's Crossing and Blood Simple much more menacing than this. The violence proceeded in this movie with a leaden inevitability and predictability that made me want to flee the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielB.Dec 15, 2007
Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a 9--because how often do you want to see something *again*? Also--who knew Texas looked so barren but beautiful? I didn't. I kind of want to drive through Texas, now. Lastly, Javier Bardem is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesChirayathDec 15, 2007
Like most people, I go to the movies to be entertained. This means that no matter how good a movie is it must have an ending! This movie does not have one (Ala Matrix II). Everyone in the movie theater was disappointed with the ending.Like most people, I go to the movies to be entertained. This means that no matter how good a movie is it must have an ending! This movie does not have one (Ala Matrix II). Everyone in the movie theater was disappointed with the ending. Don't waste your money on this one. Thanks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PJBosDec 15, 2007
How we are haunted by what think we should do and the temptations of greed and pride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GGDec 16, 2007
This movie is going to be famous. Many posts here remind me a lot of the sorts of complaints my students have after I assign "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place." You have to think about this movie afterward, and the ride is great too. ("shall I This movie is going to be famous. Many posts here remind me a lot of the sorts of complaints my students have after I assign "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place." You have to think about this movie afterward, and the ride is great too. ("shall I ride [into the sunset]"?) It is the opposite of pointless. Susan said it well: it's "a well developed morality and mortality tale." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkH.Dec 17, 2007
A true classic. Best movie in years. It is true to the Cormac MacCarthy book and philosophy. It does not make compromises to the status quo. The choices that are presented are real. People need to watch this carefully and they will obtain A true classic. Best movie in years. It is true to the Cormac MacCarthy book and philosophy. It does not make compromises to the status quo. The choices that are presented are real. People need to watch this carefully and they will obtain important lessons and insight into evil and the human condition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimE.Dec 19, 2007
Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac McCarthy's novel), crackles with an intensity that sharpens and stimulates your senses and reminds you of how little most other films do with the essential expressive properties of the medium: light, color, sound, movement, language. Movies are as much about the orchestration as the composition, and the Coens have orchestrated and composed a masterpiece -- one that embodies what most movies only describe. A Western, a crime picture, a chase thriller, a ghost story (though not in the supernatural sense), "No Country" is the story of Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin), a man chasing a dream ($2 million in drug money he's found in a satchel); Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem), a messenger of death who's tracking down Moss for the money; and Sheriff Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones), who's trailing both of them. Tension builds as the film progresses, even as the violence recedes. This isn't a movie about murder; it's about the awareness of inevitable death that stalks us all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DDDec 2, 2007
A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason. It's simply a poor cross b/t Fargo and the bounty hunting element of Raising Arizona. The main killer is not sympathetic, he's just a psychopath. I love Fargo, Raising A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason. It's simply a poor cross b/t Fargo and the bounty hunting element of Raising Arizona. The main killer is not sympathetic, he's just a psychopath. I love Fargo, Raising Arizona, and Miller's Crossing. I dislike this film. Please see another one. It's dull. It doesn't have a climax. People are killed needlessly. I feel like i need a shower to wash off the blood from the movie. The only redeeming quality is how it teaches one how to survive multiple injuries. It's a bit of a survivalist video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarmaDec 20, 2007
Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and connects it with old information so that maybe you learn something. "Same thing should be said about movies." And to everyone who didn't like the ending: Maybe you would have liked it better with a lord of the rings-voice who sums up everything in the end.. And they could play the song Lonesom Cowboy in the background. A movie does not need a hero to be a movie. In real life the good side does not allways win. Great movie. Love how the humor is not dark even when it's such a dark movie. Amazing how even the greatest evil seems human. Not often one gets treaten like an adult by the industry. Thank you Coen's Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RYDec 20, 2007
One word....super good..i like the no score in the movie...it sets the moods in the movie more..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCDec 22, 2007
Although I have never seen any other Coen brothers movie, I found this movie to be an interesting experience. There is a lot of hidden meaning here and you can talk about the ending for weeks. The movie is a bit slow paced but well worth itAlthough I have never seen any other Coen brothers movie, I found this movie to be an interesting experience. There is a lot of hidden meaning here and you can talk about the ending for weeks. The movie is a bit slow paced but well worth it if you have patience. If you are into instant gratification, stay away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregS.Dec 22, 2007
javier bardem is a good actor but the entire movie lacks a certain type of karmic energy this world so often holds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCDec 22, 2007
This is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way theThis is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way the Coens did it was amazing and honestly, just stop bein stupid and actually pay attention and you'll figure out the ending. Much better than Fargo and Blood Simple as the Coen Brothers' best film, and much better than Atonement (basically Titannic in England-stupid). Best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brianbarnhartDec 27, 2007
To say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALLTo say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALL the actors (and I mean every one), and beautifully shot by the always amazing Roger Deakins and you have the recipe for a truly amazing and wonderful film. One of the best films all year(s). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TeresaTuttleDec 27, 2007
Just because something is different does not mean it's good. In the beginning I thought I would enjoy this movie, but by the end I realized this was 2.5 hours of my life I will never get back. The plot had moments of completeJust because something is different does not mean it's good. In the beginning I thought I would enjoy this movie, but by the end I realized this was 2.5 hours of my life I will never get back. The plot had moments of complete derailment and it had no end. Sorry, but I hated it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GetaClueDec 3, 2007
Perfect movie!! Oh, and please ignore any comment from anyone who alludes to Josh Brolin not being old enough to be a Vietnam vet. If they missed the fact that the movie is set in the past, then they probably missed a whole lot more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffreyAnonquerinDec 30, 2007
If this movie had been entitled "This Movie Is A Metaphor For The Presidency Of George W. Bush" I might have forced myself to sign on. Indeed, if there had been any point ot the movie at all. It is, undoubtedly, very preciseIf this movie had been entitled "This Movie Is A Metaphor For The Presidency Of George W. Bush" I might have forced myself to sign on. Indeed, if there had been any point ot the movie at all. It is, undoubtedly, very precise edge-of-your-seat filmmaking. But to what end? Do we simply glorify violence? Is relentless amoral violence the essence of our civilization? Or even if it is, is it enough to simply SHOW it without comment, smirking on the sidelines? This film is over-rated by sycophantic critics who need to have above-it-all heroes of cynicism to fill in the empty foreground of their own nihilistic lives. Unfortunately, maybe they themselves are more like the dregs of society portrayed than they realize. Being so jaded is how they accomplish such a pompous feat. Films like Juno or The Great Debaters deserve much more attention than this empty intensity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KeithHildebrandDec 31, 2007
Very disipointing esspecially the ending. Started out very good with stong characters until all were killed off with sensless violence. Ending with evil winning and a stupid ending which left you empty. It has been a long time sense I haveVery disipointing esspecially the ending. Started out very good with stong characters until all were killed off with sensless violence. Ending with evil winning and a stupid ending which left you empty. It has been a long time sense I have been in the theator where the patrons showed there dissapointment at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SusanDec 3, 2007
I can't believe I wasted 2 plus hours on this movie. It was pointless violence and there was no ending whatsoever. I could not believe my eyes when the opening credits rolled. I wish I could have my time and money back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WillT.Dec 5, 2007
A sadistic, ridiculously violent and pretentious waste of time. It has no relationship to real life and no meaning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshSDec 6, 2007
This is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. It started out with good promise, but got worse and worse as time went on. There is no story development and no ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LeonGDec 7, 2007
I have one thing to say about this movie, "The Emperor's New Clothes." True, the acting was good, the dialog was real but the substance wasn't there. Listening to someone drone on about nothing does not make a good movie. Honest I have one thing to say about this movie, "The Emperor's New Clothes." True, the acting was good, the dialog was real but the substance wasn't there. Listening to someone drone on about nothing does not make a good movie. Honest people, not trying to feel superior to us less insightful and intellectual people, will freely admit that the Emperor is not wearing clothes. This movie is not worth the time or the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinMc.Dec 7, 2007
***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; ***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; Perfect Acting; Perfect Directing; Perfect Dialogue; Perfect Everything! See this movie ASAP! ======SPOILER====== I've read some reviews and the biggest complaint seems to be the ending. But personally, I loved the ending. It's like 'Five Easy Pieces' or 'The Conversation' - in order to understand the ending, you have to understand the characters. If you pay close attention to all the "slow scenes" in the movie where nothing's happening, just a lot of talking, you'll love and respect this movie for what it is. This isn't the kind of movie you can watch while talking on the phone or eating dinner. It's a thinking movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcK.Dec 8, 2007
Well-crafted, and Bardem deserves the Oscar. But the pace was often excruciatingly slow, and the film just didn't have any soul. At this point in their career, it seems that every film made by the Coen brothers gets high ratings. So for Well-crafted, and Bardem deserves the Oscar. But the pace was often excruciatingly slow, and the film just didn't have any soul. At this point in their career, it seems that every film made by the Coen brothers gets high ratings. So for me, it's just a question of seeing it, and going from there. I think I tend to like most, but not all of their films that use humor. Fargo and Raisin' Arizona are my favorites, but I hated O Brother Where Art Thou, and didn't care for Barton Fink. Go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymousMCJan 11, 2008
I'm honestly really surprised at the overwhelming critical acclaim this film has garnered. No Country for Old Men tried so hard to be deeply meaningful that it ended up coming across as completely disingenous. Going into this film withI'm honestly really surprised at the overwhelming critical acclaim this film has garnered. No Country for Old Men tried so hard to be deeply meaningful that it ended up coming across as completely disingenous. Going into this film with such high expectations, I left feeling like I'd just endured a deliberately plodding, brooding world absent of any of the poignance that people had promised I would see. The Coens are incredibly talented filmmakers and there's plenty of composition here to be had, but ultimately I found little more than a beautiful, flimsy facade. I guess No Country for Old Men was no country for old me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jan 11, 2008
Easily surpasses the high expectations one would take away from any review. Thought provoking, haunting,unforgettable, this movie is easily the best of the year, a shoe in for an Oscar under best picture catergory, and a possible candidate Easily surpasses the high expectations one would take away from any review. Thought provoking, haunting,unforgettable, this movie is easily the best of the year, a shoe in for an Oscar under best picture catergory, and a possible candidate for AFI's next updated 100 films list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ButteredPopcornNov 28, 2008
Nice acting that was unfortunately wasted on this film that seemed to say nothing. Agree with all the others who said this was a waste of time, and the ending could of only have been worse if i cared enough to want to figure it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DWDec 14, 2008
A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much of the ranting is about- makes sense. I wished that one plot closure had been shown. To show the other would have been gratuitous. If it logically made sense, it was in this movie. Anything that you expect to happen because of other action movies you have seen, probably will not. The reason why this element got hype reviews is because it is something a little bit different. Not perfect, but different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterP.Jan 22, 2008
People who think this movie is bad don't know what makes a movie good. This movie might not make you go home smiling but it will make you think. It doesn't follow the usual rules, neither does it go the predictable route, People who think this movie is bad don't know what makes a movie good. This movie might not make you go home smiling but it will make you think. It doesn't follow the usual rules, neither does it go the predictable route, personally it was the first movie in years where halfway through I couldn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RonaldG.Jan 22, 2008
A psychopath who eventually kills nearly everyone in the movie doesn't do much for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricC.Dec 28, 2008
I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the author's overpowering horror, dread, and beauty. It works as a horror movie, an action movie, and as an artistic statement. Hell, there's a black comedy in there too if you look for it. But in the end, it's just a well made, well acted film. Nothing pretentious about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomDec 28, 2008
Imagine an episode of "Popeye the Sailor Man" but with real actors and barrelfuls of tomato ketchup. That's "No Country for Old Men". Pathetic and shallow despite excellent photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattEJan 23, 2008
People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive with everyone. But what's a little more unsettling, at least to me, is the perception a lot of people have that films have to have some kind of inspirational message or higher purpose. This film was a treatise on the increasingly pervasive violence of modern society. It's ironic then, that so many people disliked the record for it's violence, considering that was kind of the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JGHJan 26, 2008
Those who rate this movie in the 7-10 category have either got to be KIDDING! ... paid critics --- or people who spend time analyzing the deeper meaning of an abstract painting --- only to discover it was created by dipping a dog's tail Those who rate this movie in the 7-10 category have either got to be KIDDING! ... paid critics --- or people who spend time analyzing the deeper meaning of an abstract painting --- only to discover it was created by dipping a dog's tail in paint and allowing him to wave it against a canvas --- This middle of the movie has some good suspense held together by good actors --- but, overall, the plot and story meander pointlessly through gratuitously violence until abruptly slamming to a finish that leaves viewers wondering if the editors broke the film three-fourths of the way through ... and never bothered to splice the ending back on! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenD.Jan 26, 2008
Woke up two days in a row thinking about it. Really very well done. Thanks, Coens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateGFeb 12, 2008
Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a depressing one, but life isn't always pretty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaS.Feb 15, 2008
Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Chigur's (my dad's best friend from the 70s was an Indian who played guitar at Panchos in the deep south and had hair just like that). My old guitar teacher, Miles Lazore, had a bowl haircut just like Chigur's also, except he was sportin that doo in the 90s still; his favorite band was Deep Purple). Anyhow, this movie seemed so true to the book, every i dotted, every t crossed. The scenery in West Texas is cool too. I wanted this movie to go on and on without stopped, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. Hopefully there will be a sequel! This should win best picture on Oscars night. If not, then it's heresy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Feb 21, 2008
A Quentin Tarantino wannabe. It's an ok film but if it's a Oscar contender, its been a bad year for movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KathleenK.Feb 24, 2008
Worth seeing, but not award winner in my book. Vintage Cohen Bros, decent acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LV.Feb 24, 2008
This movie and every thing around it, is a very good example of how the American film industries has been in decay for the last few years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
christianFeb 24, 2008
Complete pile of dookie.. The writers strike started 2/3 of the way in. Typical elitist Hollywood garbage. Just because you give this movie a 10 doesn't make you better than me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeS.Feb 25, 2008
From a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, allFrom a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, all I really care about is that the story and acting are good, and that all the other aspects really aren't noticeable, because, to me, only bad stuff really is noticeable. Acting was amazing, and I didn't notice the other aspects, but the story felt incomplete, and, unless there's a sequel in the works, I still won't feel like the story's complete. Good film, really good film, Javier Bardem's portrayal of Chigurh (possibly misspelled) was easily this decade's version of Hannibal Lector, but the story felt incomplete. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewT.Feb 25, 2008
A total work of art. Amazing performances brings this masterful screenplay to life. No talking animals, sunshine, or romance. Just a swift kick to your cinematic groin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElaineN.Feb 26, 2008
The only movie that I have seen that was WORST than this one was BELOVED!! You couldn't pay me to sit thru it again!! Are the Acadamy voters HIGH??????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GreggH.Feb 29, 2008
It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is almost cut-and-paste) but there were some details that were skipped over which I thought made the story even richer (in the original novel). Overall, the movie is one of the most haunting (if not the most haunting) I have ever seen. It is a nightmare put to film. But I didn't find it depressing; I found it life-affirming and exhilarating. Injustice surrounds like air; there is no escape from death like there is no escape from Chigurh; yet we live and love like the Sheriff despite the futility. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousFeb 29, 2008
Amazing film. Great cinematography, acting, plot, ect. I would see it again and again. "Yes, you did. You've been putting it up your whole life you just didn't know it. You know what date is on this coin?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Tom.G.Mar 11, 2008
Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you Okay Mike S. If you look at any of the greatest movies of all time, you will notice that their plot has been used before. Godfather, there were movies about the mob life before then. Superman, a superhero saves the world, done before. If you can't get over that fact, then dont bother watching movies. This film was very well directed. The dialouge was top notch, and it didn't bore the viewer like some movies. The acting, very good, non of the actors seemed out of place in the film. Action was great as well. The only problem i had with the movie was the ending. Although i agree with the ending, it was appropriate, i think the Coen brothers could of done better. Terrific movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewTurcotteMar 13, 2008
The first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't getThe first thing I can say about this film is that you'll either get it, or you won't. The Coen's have always and will always stand outside the norm when it comes to film making and this is no exception. If you don't get this film, you'll probably hate it. If you do get it, you'll love it. The end may leave you wanting more than a normal Hollywood film but as I said, you'll either get why, or not.
I got it, and I love this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JanN.Mar 14, 2008
I didn't dislike this film I didn't like it either... It starts very good, and feels alright, until about 1 1/2 hours when the "hero" dies and nothing interesting happens for the next 30 mins, and at the end you feel like the movie I didn't dislike this film I didn't like it either... It starts very good, and feels alright, until about 1 1/2 hours when the "hero" dies and nothing interesting happens for the next 30 mins, and at the end you feel like the movie should have been an hour longer. You sit there with a large mouth just wondering what the hell happened! The best in this film is the comments from that crazy killer Anton was it? It just makes me laugh. And the shooting scenes is realistic not like any "Hollywood" action movie. Overall this film is for killing time not spending... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ZeynepsenelMar 15, 2008
Well, I spent 4 years to gradutae on a sinema school and I dont believe those who gave this movie 10, they must be Jewish like oscar nominee comitee or they must not have a movie taste like "Nebojsa".. I cant believe that the critics say itWell, I spent 4 years to gradutae on a sinema school and I dont believe those who gave this movie 10, they must be Jewish like oscar nominee comitee or they must not have a movie taste like "Nebojsa".. I cant believe that the critics say it is western Noir.what is western? what is Film noir? Do they know these terms really? I think those critics dont know what they say.. They can not nobody can say it is a noir by only depending a few lightning preferences.Do they try to create a crossbred"genre" except the remaining 11? What they cannot define is in this movie coens used Self-consiousness which is very popular for 50 years in new cinema approach. It is not NOIR.. The self consiousness..do they know what is it? I think they dont.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
zeynopsenolMar 15, 2008
Well, I spent 4 years to gradutae on a sinema school and I dont believe those who gave this movie 10, they must be Jewish like oscar nominee comitee or they must not have a movie taste like "Nebojsa".. I cant believe that the critics say itWell, I spent 4 years to gradutae on a sinema school and I dont believe those who gave this movie 10, they must be Jewish like oscar nominee comitee or they must not have a movie taste like "Nebojsa".. I cant believe that the critics say it is western Noir.what is western? what is Film noir? Do they know these terms really? I think those critics dont know what they say.. They can not nobody can say it is a noir by only depending a few lightning preferences.Do they try to create a crossbred"genre" except the remaining 11? What they cannot define is in this movie coens used Self-consiousness which is very popular for 50 years in new cinema approach. It is not NOIR.. The self consiousness..do they know what is it? I think they dont.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AllieAMar 15, 2008
I like this! Not much of an ending, but worth renting. It was suspenseful and great directing! Its just the ending, thats why i give it a 7. Rent it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnOMar 17, 2008
At times it's like revisiting one of those austere 60's/70's thrillers that enthralled you way past your bedtime as a kid. The kind of film you didn't completely get and forgot the name to until you saw it again years At times it's like revisiting one of those austere 60's/70's thrillers that enthralled you way past your bedtime as a kid. The kind of film you didn't completely get and forgot the name to until you saw it again years later - Like Klute , Point Blank or The Conversation. To be honest I'm still getting this one but it'll stay with me for a long time. Great film!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GraMar 18, 2008
All I saw was a film filled with unintentionally hilarious moments and awkward, confused symbolism. It seems to me like people have had the wool pulled over their eyes with this one. It's all very well to say 'you just don't All I saw was a film filled with unintentionally hilarious moments and awkward, confused symbolism. It seems to me like people have had the wool pulled over their eyes with this one. It's all very well to say 'you just don't get it', but i am yet to read anything describing exactly what there was 'to get'. Don't get me wrong, I like films with a message, but there's a difference between ambiguity and nonsense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveK.Mar 25, 2008
I fancy myself a half-way intelligent person and I have to say. I just didn't get it. The first hour and 40 minutes or so was brilliant story-telling and great character development. I loved the dialogue and the creepiness of Javier I fancy myself a half-way intelligent person and I have to say. I just didn't get it. The first hour and 40 minutes or so was brilliant story-telling and great character development. I loved the dialogue and the creepiness of Javier Bardem's character. The last 20 minutes devolve incoherently into literally nothing. I've never seen anything like it in a movie. I literally felt cheated. Maybe it's profound and deep. and maybe the point is there was no point. But maybe the point is that the Coen Brothers were trying too hard, and this movie is a tad overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeI.Apr 14, 2008
This movie is so overrated it's not even funny. The first hour was phenomenal, but the ending was so disappointing, I can hardly express it in words. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO PAYOFF IN THIS MOVIE!!! I've decided that this movie is This movie is so overrated it's not even funny. The first hour was phenomenal, but the ending was so disappointing, I can hardly express it in words. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO PAYOFF IN THIS MOVIE!!! I've decided that this movie is for the depressed, passive aggressive people in life. You know...the type that always has to talk about how terrible and depressing life is, and that no matter how hard they try, something terrible will happen to them in the end. I, for one, prefer the traditional "terrible things happen, but the human spirit will always find a way to triumph" model. Here's my gripe: The movie didn't take me anywhere! At the end, I did not feel like I had gone for an interesting journey. All I was left with were profound metaphors and boring monologues. "The Departed", which I did not find to be all that profound, TOOK ME FOR A RIDE!!! "Crash" was both profound and it took you for a ride. I'd rather be taken for a ride and feel something at the end of the movie. The credits rolled on NCFOM and I seriously said "That's it! What the f--- was that?!" I can imagine the "high brow" avant garde independent film crowd reading my review and thinking this movie "went over my head", but I will leave you with a quote from the review of Stephen Hunter of The Washington Post: "People don't go to the movies for the irony. They go for the satisfaction." That quote sums this movie up. The craft is amazing, the acting superb, the cinematography beautiful, the editing stylish, but I FELT EMPTY AND UNSATISFIED AT THE END!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnC.Apr 15, 2008
One of the worst movies we've seen. It was terrible. How the heck it was nominated for anything is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CathiM.Apr 19, 2008
Woody Harrelson was the best thing in the movie and that says it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimM.Apr 22, 2008
How did this win an academy award? What a horrible movie. No entertainment value whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyH.May 28, 2008
A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the A brilliant piece of filmmaking from the Coen Brothers once again. Rivaling "Fargo" in intensity and morality, I found the script. the casting, the direction and the editing almost flawless. This movie compels the viewer to be a part of the film; as you take this dark journey with Javier Bardem's character, you are forced to figure out what he figures out and in doing so, you gain a sense of his genius as well as his madness. Did he find Tommy Lee Jones and kill him? Did Tommy Lee Jones go for a ride on his horse and find his nemesis dead? Do their paths ever cross? One thing is for sure: it is up to the viewer to decide the ending. Total thumbs up and it totally deserved the "Best Picture" Oscar. Not many do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenT.Jun 22, 2008
After seeing it twice, i think it is brilliantly clever and simplistic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
A.NonymousJun 27, 2008
Very engaging all the way through, but disappointing at the end. I wanted to see good overcome evil. So who got away with the money???
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Jul 27, 2008
For all of its brilliant individual scenes, superb acting, cinematography, editing, production design and sound recording, this is one of the more overrated films of recent memory. The ending, far too abrupt for its own good, makes littleFor all of its brilliant individual scenes, superb acting, cinematography, editing, production design and sound recording, this is one of the more overrated films of recent memory. The ending, far too abrupt for its own good, makes little sense. Did any of the critics who were so ecstatic about it, and often so pretentious in their praise, realize that for the plot to work, we have to assume that most of the population of southwestern Texas is deaf, blind or both? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamAAug 14, 2008
This movie was so close to perfection and immortality, yet it fell somewhat short at the end. A movie should be complicated, but never leave a viewer confused. I watched the ending 3 times, and read a synopsis, and I still don't This movie was so close to perfection and immortality, yet it fell somewhat short at the end. A movie should be complicated, but never leave a viewer confused. I watched the ending 3 times, and read a synopsis, and I still don't understand it. They spent all the time building it up, but never made a climax. The movie, although a beautiful piece of modern film, is broken. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
davidcAug 23, 2008
Okay, the beginning of this film is fantastic, if your into action you'll love it, if your into drama you'll it, whatever genre your into you'll love it. the middle slows down and i thought a few explanation scenes should have Okay, the beginning of this film is fantastic, if your into action you'll love it, if your into drama you'll it, whatever genre your into you'll love it. the middle slows down and i thought a few explanation scenes should have been put in, but it was still acceptable. now then i accepted the middle part because i thought the end would be tremendous, but the only thing i can compare it to is winning the lottery and then going to cash the check to find out its a joke. it really is that much of a let down (i nearly cried). all in all, the acting was very good but 60% of the film was a let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DenizY.Sep 13, 2008
I'm not stupid, but this is just 120 minutes of some guy going around killing people with a bolt gun. It was boring, had the worst and most awkward ending in recent memory. Seriously, why do people like this movie? I don't think I'm not stupid, but this is just 120 minutes of some guy going around killing people with a bolt gun. It was boring, had the worst and most awkward ending in recent memory. Seriously, why do people like this movie? I don't think they get it either, they just believe it looks intelligent and so they play along. Retards, the lot of you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ErickSep 13, 2008
The only reason I'm giving this a 5 is because I watched it after "There Will Be Blood", which was even worse.. If there isn't a sequel to this then it is pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ThomasWNov 6, 2009
Sick, sad, and funny that nearly all critics are raving about this awkward, hurriedly composed, and absurd celebration of an evil guy who is never hampered by realism. e.g. no handcuffs behind back; able to reach top of office building Sick, sad, and funny that nearly all critics are raving about this awkward, hurriedly composed, and absurd celebration of an evil guy who is never hampered by realism. e.g. no handcuffs behind back; able to reach top of office building carrying a long shotgun; not stopped by severe car wreck; plus Josh Brolen snuffed out - blink and you'll miss it. Riduculous script. Move overrated film I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ApocalypseBrownMay 11, 2009
Good film but can somebody explain what on earth happened at the end? It has a very poor narrative, as nobody understood the overall theme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ceejayJun 16, 2009
Some people say the film lacked a theme. I'd say the theme was very coherently and consistently conveyed. The theme is "It is possible to have yourself a certain set of principles that, if followed correctly, should make you will be Some people say the film lacked a theme. I'd say the theme was very coherently and consistently conveyed. The theme is "It is possible to have yourself a certain set of principles that, if followed correctly, should make you will be nearly invincible to those that follow the traditional set and beyond." But the movie doesn't glorify those principles, other than to show its terrifying effect. Javier Bardem deserves his Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewAJul 12, 2009
Great movie but the ending...i get cliffhangers but this was ridiculous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HerbB.wSep 29, 2009
If the ability to create intense feelings makes a movie great then this is a great movie. However, the feelings created are that human life has no value and the world is incredibly bleak. Chills one to the bone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulCNov 12, 2007
An excellent movie, Javier Bardem gives one of the creepiest performances in all the Coen brothers movies. One of the best movies of the year. Note to DWilly, the movie takes place in 1980, not in contemporary times. Both the dialogue and An excellent movie, Javier Bardem gives one of the creepiest performances in all the Coen brothers movies. One of the best movies of the year. Note to DWilly, the movie takes place in 1980, not in contemporary times. Both the dialogue and the environment make that pretty clear (old cars, phones, coins, etc.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Nov 12, 2007
Definitely one of the best Coen films yet. I'd say it's at least equal to Raising Arizona, Fargo, and The Big Lebowski, if not better than all of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ETayNov 13, 2007
I really don't see what all the hype is about? There is very little story arc and zero character development. The movie is nothing more than schlock horror dressed up as a cult film because of great casting and beautiful cinematography. I really don't see what all the hype is about? There is very little story arc and zero character development. The movie is nothing more than schlock horror dressed up as a cult film because of great casting and beautiful cinematography. Note to female viewers all but 2 of the great reviews are by men; it is hugely violent and when the movie obscurely ends you are left feeling Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Nov 16, 2007
Best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZacS.Nov 16, 2007
Flawless Direction, Flawless Cinematography, Great acting from Bardem...but the story was just lost...i was looking forward to giving this a 10 of 10 and i guess i was just disappointed. The plot ended too abruptly, and seemed overtly Flawless Direction, Flawless Cinematography, Great acting from Bardem...but the story was just lost...i was looking forward to giving this a 10 of 10 and i guess i was just disappointed. The plot ended too abruptly, and seemed overtly staggered to the point of annoyance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jaredmNov 17, 2007
excellent film. beautifully crafted. It was paced very well with enough subtlety and grit to keep me captivated throughout. Don't listen to the skeptics, it's a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JaneNov 17, 2007
This film succeeds in some areas (cinematography, fantastic performances) and fails in others (rambling monologues, a tacked-on ending, sudden and distracting switches from Dark Comedy to Thriller genre). It sure doesn't merit a 91 and This film succeeds in some areas (cinematography, fantastic performances) and fails in others (rambling monologues, a tacked-on ending, sudden and distracting switches from Dark Comedy to Thriller genre). It sure doesn't merit a 91 and to out-rank Hannah & Her Sisters, American Splendor and Gosford Park. Beware: A LOT of very graphic, gratuitous violence, despite what the apologists say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ToddG.Nov 19, 2007
The first 2/3 of the movie are tight and very well done. The story just dies, and falls flat by the end. Such a shame. I don't understand why the critics fell all over themselves to give the "No Country" such good ratings. It is one of The first 2/3 of the movie are tight and very well done. The story just dies, and falls flat by the end. Such a shame. I don't understand why the critics fell all over themselves to give the "No Country" such good ratings. It is one of those things where they assume that because the Coen brothers have made good movies in the past, that they must be doing something right. NOT THE CASE here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UGNov 21, 2007
So incredible that I can't do it justice here. Just see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful