Miramax Films | Release Date: November 9, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1494 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,141
Mixed:
168
Negative:
185
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MichaelC.Nov 23, 2007
this was the finest film i have seen all year. I will be very surprised if it is not nominated for best picture, best director, best actor and best supporting actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrylNov 23, 2007
The best movie of this year.... I could not take my eyes off the screen, great performances throughout the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BertBNov 23, 2007
Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The Powerful, but almost un-watchable for its tension and violence (my wife could not look at the bloody scenes), with acting perfect, directing and writing perfect, but the ending is almost greek in its bleak outlook and "soft" ending. The cinematography is equal to some of the great films of the past that took place in Texas (e.g., The Big Country). The story builds to such power and implacable, almost impersonal evil, that the resolution that is not offered by the Coens is a letdown. Until that point, you are riveted to the screen and the plot. To those critics who claim there's no plot -- they haven't seen the same movie. Go see it and form your own opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandiceWNov 24, 2007
Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through Another amazing Cohen brothers movie Don't expect the same black humour from Fargo but do expect some amazing acting talent and some well crafted violent scenes that rocked my socks Javier Bardem is brilliant, cool and collected through the entire film. Josh Brolin plays an awesome character- tough, dynamic and overall just fun to watch I went to see this with my boyfriend and he was blown away.. we're going to go see it again with some friends next week Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveT.Nov 24, 2007
Best yet from the Bros. Coen! A wonder of acting, pacing, editing and photography. It doesn't get much better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanF.Nov 24, 2007
A collaborative torrent of sensibilities, this film is a disquieting and hypnotic telling of the collapse at the heart of our time, which has been McCarthy's story all along. The Coen's have done justice to the book, the acting is A collaborative torrent of sensibilities, this film is a disquieting and hypnotic telling of the collapse at the heart of our time, which has been McCarthy's story all along. The Coen's have done justice to the book, the acting is remarkable, and it doesn't play like some variant of the American national anthem. Stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleNov 24, 2007
"There Will Be a Sequel"

There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly. "I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy
"There Will Be a Sequel"

There won't be a sequel. It's based off a book you clueless fucktard. This doesn't need a sequel either, it delivers the point across perfectly.
"I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to get it out of my mind soon."
-Dumb bitch

Obviously you're not a Cormac McCarthy fan because this is perhaps the best film adaptation ever. It was faithful to the book in almost every respect. No point? Dumb bitch, THINK. Stop being a passive watcher and fucking think about the dialog. What is Ed Tom saying? What does the title of the movie mean? CONNECT THE FUCKING DOTS.

"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BradNov 26, 2007
Sure, the Coen brothers did a skillful job conveying Cormac McCarthy's message. Hooray for them. Boo on McCarthy, though. I don't see any value in a story as hopeless and bleak as this one, a story that goes as far as making the Sure, the Coen brothers did a skillful job conveying Cormac McCarthy's message. Hooray for them. Boo on McCarthy, though. I don't see any value in a story as hopeless and bleak as this one, a story that goes as far as making the most talented, intelligent, and charming character -- the only character without a "fatal" flaw -- a sadistic psychopath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyG.Nov 26, 2007
Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Great movie. I feel the impulse to defend this movie from its harshest critics. First of all Rosenbaum from Chicago Reader is not a fan of thriller/psychopathic films. He even confesses this in his review by stating he was unimpressed by Silence of the Lambs. Also, many people think that there are holes in the plot and things wouldn't happen like they do in this film. The movie takes place almost 30 years ago in po-dunk west Texas. Now, I've never been to Texas and i wasn't even alive in 1980 so i may be wrong, but from what the film portrays, a person like anton chigurh could definitely do the things he did and get away with it. Another thing, the violence. People think this is all violence with no substance. Not True, watch the film again. I'm dumbfounded by Jill E.'s review because she is a Cormac McCarthy fan. I too read the book long before the movie and thought that the book was more violent because of McCarthy's grotesque descriptions of the violence. The book was basically a screenplay for the movie, which held true to every major detail of the book from when the money is found to when Bell is ending the movie with his dream recital. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickC.Nov 27, 2007
After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted After reading the negative comments in the user review section I feel compelled to offer my own opinion. I believe that the Coen Brothers are the most adept filmmakers currently working. With that said this is the most dense and well-crafted feature that they have produced. I have seen the film three times now and each viewing has been utterly fruitful in enhancing my appreciation for this masterpiece and my understanding of the filmmakers intent. Yes, the film is a bit slow-paced and it may seem to end abruptly. Yet both of these elements seem purposefully employed. The pace of this film kept me in knots, by far one of the most visceral and tense movies I've ever experienced. As for the ending, I don't know how the Coens could have ended this film better than to be true to their source. They could've wrapped everything up in a nice little package. Instead they respect their audience and McCarthy's story. They allow us to derive our own conclusions. in other words, thank god for the slow pace and ambiguous conclusion for without either he film would be rendered completely limp and meaningless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulB.Nov 29, 2007
Exceptionally well acted, well photographed and well scripted - this is a very entertaining movie and is not as violent (or gory) as some early reviews made it out to be. Definitely one of the 2 or 3 best Coen brothers' movies!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElmoNov 29, 2007
It's the Coen's best film to date, which is some sort of miracle - it's hard to top what they've done already, plus No Countrys is easily McCarthy's weakest novel (albeit a damn good one). If you don't like this It's the Coen's best film to date, which is some sort of miracle - it's hard to top what they've done already, plus No Countrys is easily McCarthy's weakest novel (albeit a damn good one). If you don't like this film, go out and make your own damn movie, and then I might take your opinion seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayFDec 11, 2007
Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a Great film. for others saying "A cacophony of horrible violence for no apparent reason.... he's just a psychopath." thats exactly what the film is about, how seemingly random violence CAN be and most of the time IS. he's is a psychopath but see it from his perspective, he does have his own code of 'honor' and he lives by it even though its on the other side of conventional moral code. the whole monologue in the beginning pretty much sums up the whole movie. the title sums it up. the ending monologue was just brilliant. the open ending was the best way to end it. in the book there was an ending, but it felt rushed like someone said "make an ending or we wont publish your book" +1 for dialogue also! Javier Bardem is my favorite actor and in this film he really really shines, esp. in the scene with the senior gas station clerk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScotS.Dec 14, 2007
If you're trying to decide whether to see this movie, I recommend reading all the reader feedback below, good and bad: they are all correct. This is the kind of movie that different people will appreciate (or not) completely If you're trying to decide whether to see this movie, I recommend reading all the reader feedback below, good and bad: they are all correct. This is the kind of movie that different people will appreciate (or not) completely differently, so find a reviewer you identify with, and trust their rating. Depending on who you are, missing this movie might be a huge mistake, or seeing this movie might be a huge mistake (the latter is not easily reversible, sadly for me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackR.Dec 14, 2007
In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy In contrast to some of the more, albeit few, disparaging reviews. I fount the movie to be highly engaging, with a cast of unorthodox characters (a la Anton) weaved into an unpredictable plot that defies standard cliches. There is no sappy love story or happy ending; the violence displayed in the movie is quick and unsettling. The movie clearly wants you to focus on the characters emotions, and reactions to certain events, particularly when watching scenes involving Anton and other individuals. In brilliant film that revels in the unexpected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Dec 15, 2007
This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL This was the most insightful movie I have seen in a long time. It ignores convention, it ignores the needs of a mass audience approval and it ends with a climax that is more becoming than any special effect driven blockbuster. IT ENDS AS ALL NOVELS DO.... WITH A BLANK PAGE. The reviewers or audience members that don't get it, have obviously never understood the importance of the written word or the wonder that fills the mind as you read the last few words and are left to your own thoughts. This is brilliant film making and deserving of any and all accolades (BEST PICTURE ANYONE). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianP.Dec 15, 2007
Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are Why do American moviegoers always have to have a spoon fed ending to a film? It's a mesmerizing, violent, well acted piece of coen brothers art that I wasn't sure if I would like but fell in love with after I walked out. So are people rating it low because there is no ending and the critics love it? Or are they mad because they always want the good guy to win and the bad one to get caught? Admit it , you were engrossed by it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkA.Dec 16, 2007
Great dialog. Great acting. Great cinematography. The ending might bother people who like things wrapped up in a happy little parcel but guess what, sometimes life doesn't work that way so why should films?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Dec 17, 2007
Genius. A brilliant dark comedy/action thriller. The heroes are as fallible and human as the arch-villain is utterly terrifying. I didn't want it to end, but the stupid credits started rolling so I figured that was it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ManuN.Dec 18, 2007
I thought the acting was great. The pace of the movie was inconsistent, and the ending was very unsatisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarilynZ.Dec 19, 2007
Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Entertaining, captivating, terrifying, and I look forward to buying this one on DVD. Great acting. Tommy Lee Jones is always terrific, but Josh Brolan and Javier Badass (can't remember his last name) should be nominated for Supporting Actors. I don't think it ended without an ending...I was just disappointed that it was even over. I was so in the moment that I forgot that there was a real world out there. It was not the way I wanted it to end. I want everyone to end up wealthy and happy, but that would be a fairy tale then. GO SEE THIS MOVIE...you will not be sorry. Be prepared for lots of violence and gore though and I don't like either one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Rev.RikardDec 21, 2007
Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas Initially it appears the Coens are engaged in an attempt to recreate "Natural Born Killers." However, the viewer is quickly awakened to the refreshing truth that "No Country for Old Men" offers a multi-layered look at violence. Whereas "Natural Born Killers" forces us to enter the confessional and admit we possess an angry dark facet of our nature, "No Country for Old Men" invites us to look at the world outside the confessional and realize that violence is not only an individual monster lurking in the human heart, but is also a powerful, relevant social phenomenon Violent actions and thoughts that once shocked 20th century America have morphed into a disease altering the landscape of a new millennium. Tommy Lee Jones portrays Sheriff Bell with touching humility and humanity. He looks worn and weary, as are his words as he attempts to make sense of senseless violence that defies being locked away in a prison. It is an infectious violence that leaves its victims lifeless, cold, inhuman; they are dead while they live. Equal to the task of playing against Jone Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnHoltDec 22, 2007
Left me feeling like feeling like "what's the point?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AnonymousMCDec 22, 2007
This movie felt like it was striving to be realistic and artistic but for me it ultimately failed. Good amount of suspense building but you kinda grow tired and annoyed that a writer would put so much senseless violence into a film. I couldThis movie felt like it was striving to be realistic and artistic but for me it ultimately failed. Good amount of suspense building but you kinda grow tired and annoyed that a writer would put so much senseless violence into a film. I could see this movie being better if it made the point of senseless violence a climax or part of a large plot, but it felt like a writer tool pulled out and rolled in the mud the whole movie.
And don't get me started with the cliche'd car crash, I saw it happening immediately when he was driving towards the green light (that they show multiple times). Why else would you show that unless he was going to get into a spontaneous "realistic" car crash. It felt like the writer didn't know how to end this otherwise dull movie, so why not end it with a dull ending?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AMovieCriticDec 29, 2007
Once again I have to wonder why, despite my huge interest in film-making and movies in general, I leave a movie theater for a supposed "masterpiece" being completely unmoved by it. It happened with Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and itOnce again I have to wonder why, despite my huge interest in film-making and movies in general, I leave a movie theater for a supposed "masterpiece" being completely unmoved by it. It happened with Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and it happened once again here. There was a great 30 minutes or so in here, as the main character travels from hotel to hotel with stolen drug money, attempting desperately to outwit a killer whose after him and the cash. This leads to a very intense shootout in a hotel room and a street. Before and after this great 30 minutes, though, there's really nothing entertaining about the movie. Characters go on and on and don't feel realistic at all. The entire movie lacks a soundtrack, which, rather than adding to the atmosphere, subtracts from it. The final act of the movie, (leading to easily one of the most anti-climactic and unsatisfying endings in recent memory,) turns into a string of long, boring conversations between Tommy Lee Jones's sheriff and a bunch of characters we don't know. This is where the movie tries to be meaningful and important, but I really just didn't get it. It felt aimless and tedious. The whole movie was a "statement" with no realism. A cop is choked to death in his prison, and the prisoner who committed the murder then escapes, traveling through the country killing people one after another. In the real world, we would have had an FBI manhunt for this guy, but in this movie's world, nobody seems to be after him except this one sheriff, who "urgently" chases him (he spends almost all his scenes having breakfast and "discussing life,") and at the end of the movie a character refuses to make a choice, ... for reason that just doesn't happen in anything other than movies that are going for that Oscar. The end of the movie completely lost me; I didn't get the point of the crash, I could have sworn I saw that guy in that hotel room and his reflection in the lock, guess not (?), and I didn't understand the apparently important conversation that took place before the credits rolled. I don't know...just didn't get much enjoyment out of this one. If the whole movie played like that great 30 minutes, THEN we would have had an entertaining movie. But then we wouldn't have an Oscar contender, I guess... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimmyS.Dec 21, 2008
What country is the Coen brothers, or, more accurately, Cormac McCarthy, referring to? Adapted by Joel and Ethan Coen from McCarthy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SylviaCDec 25, 2009
Pointless! Jones character superfulous to whatever little story line there was. No, there doesn't need to be a happy ending, evil can truimph over good and the downtrodden, but there was so much pointlessness! Why should anyone care Pointless! Jones character superfulous to whatever little story line there was. No, there doesn't need to be a happy ending, evil can truimph over good and the downtrodden, but there was so much pointlessness! Why should anyone care about Jones' dilemma? He couldn't protect or stop the evil, and so what? What was the point of the Woody Harrelson character? The Coen Brothers pulled a fast one. I can't believe that this picture was the best picture as designated by the Academy. Because I thought I was missing something, I read the professional reviews. No additional insight to the so-called genius was given. Just a lot of mumbo-jumbo, because these critics don't want to be considered "uncool". And then these same critics make fun of Ron Howard's movie, "Angels & Demons". I don't think they "got " that one. After watching NCFOM, I'll not be taking much advice from critics or the Academy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
I liked it but I thinkts its far too overrated. Javier Bardem gives an amazing, chilling performance in this film and he is really the only reason worth watching it for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jediboyOct 30, 2010
Draws the viewer in from the get-go and never lets up. Dark, atmospheric, tense and intense its almost **** worthy.

Central protagonist and antagonist are evenly matched, at least for the bulk of the film. Peripheral characters (Tommy
Draws the viewer in from the get-go and never lets up. Dark, atmospheric, tense and intense its almost **** worthy.

Central protagonist and antagonist are evenly matched, at least for the bulk of the film. Peripheral characters (Tommy Lee Jones, etc.) do a great job.

Before you watch, shake of all predeterminations, and let this movie entertain you fully.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PerubiFeb 1, 2011
A great Coen movie. There's been a long time since I saw such an entertaining and at the same time, such a complex movie. Excellent direction work, insuperable interpretations and a superb script make this film a masterpiece; all on thisA great Coen movie. There's been a long time since I saw such an entertaining and at the same time, such a complex movie. Excellent direction work, insuperable interpretations and a superb script make this film a masterpiece; all on this movie is near to be perfect and it keeps you watching until it ends. Highly recommended to anybody. 9.0 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aryanruleFeb 3, 2011
A bit slow, but one of the best movies of 2007. Javier Bardem is absolutely great, and I can say with much confidence that this is role of his life. His accent is perfect, if u dont know him from previous movies, u would think he is bornA bit slow, but one of the best movies of 2007. Javier Bardem is absolutely great, and I can say with much confidence that this is role of his life. His accent is perfect, if u dont know him from previous movies, u would think he is born american. He plays psychopath with no sense of humanity or regret, and he does it so good. 4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
VNVreviewerNov 30, 2014
An excellent movie until the expected showdown is denied to the viewer. I know a big, action packed finale is a cliche but we should get something as an alternative that's equally as satisfying. Instead, the viewer gets nothing. We turn upAn excellent movie until the expected showdown is denied to the viewer. I know a big, action packed finale is a cliche but we should get something as an alternative that's equally as satisfying. Instead, the viewer gets nothing. We turn up after it's all happened, Tommy Lee Jones sits down and morosely, whitters on for what seems like an eternity. Bardem gets a mildly interesting scene at the end but it's little compensation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Commanderkeen42Aug 13, 2011
This is easily one of my favorite films of all time. It's acting is superb, the cinematography the best I've ever seen, and deep. For those of you who don't care for the ending, it's never meant to have closure. This film is mysterious andThis is easily one of my favorite films of all time. It's acting is superb, the cinematography the best I've ever seen, and deep. For those of you who don't care for the ending, it's never meant to have closure. This film is mysterious and very open to interpretation. I saw this one day and watched it again the next day just to ponder its messages. I highly recommend this, but it's not a "sit-down-and-zone-out" movie. You need to keep a sharp eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonAug 12, 2013
Llewelyn Moss stumbles upon the remains of a drug deal gone bad in the Texas desert including a case containing two million dollars. He decides the keep the money for himself but soon finds he has a dangerous man on his trail.

Part crime
Llewelyn Moss stumbles upon the remains of a drug deal gone bad in the Texas desert including a case containing two million dollars. He decides the keep the money for himself but soon finds he has a dangerous man on his trail.

Part crime drama, part western No Country for Old Men is undoubtedly the Coen brothers best movie since Fargo. Telling a cracking story and featuring a number of truly memorable performances this is one movie that truly deserves the critical acclaim it has received.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaApr 3, 2012
No country for old men is a thrilling film with an ending that will either disapoint or complete this masterfully made film. I am in the middle on the end but i cannot dismiss it because all the things that came previous in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WatsonDrNov 15, 2011
I loved this movie, I thought it was fantastic. I didn't understand the ending at first, it felt like a non-conclusion I agree, yet I can appreciate what it is. In my honest opinion, this tale has suspense and action that many movies try toI loved this movie, I thought it was fantastic. I didn't understand the ending at first, it felt like a non-conclusion I agree, yet I can appreciate what it is. In my honest opinion, this tale has suspense and action that many movies try to achieve but fail to realize. It is a must see, even if the end starts to lag off a bit. The thrill is not in the finale for this film, yet in the adventure of the main event. It's superbly acted to boot, with some quirky scenes and nice dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
It is a very good movie. It's well acted and written and it keeps you interested through out. Bardem gives an amazing performance as the film's villain. However, The whole Tommy Lee Jones sub-plot sort of ruined the pace of the movie,It is a very good movie. It's well acted and written and it keeps you interested through out. Bardem gives an amazing performance as the film's villain. However, The whole Tommy Lee Jones sub-plot sort of ruined the pace of the movie, Especially the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
The Coen Brothers at the very top of their game. No Country for Old Men is a well-executed modern western which bites hard. Javier Bardem is impressive as the assassin Anton Chigurh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Mar 31, 2012
No country for old man is the Cohen brothers weakest film. You see i need a score in a movie to help it move along, when this movie did not incorporate music it made it very boring in a lot of parts. pretty good acting with a few a goodNo country for old man is the Cohen brothers weakest film. You see i need a score in a movie to help it move along, when this movie did not incorporate music it made it very boring in a lot of parts. pretty good acting with a few a good scenes though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
The first time I saw this movie I thought it was great. I was cringing to see what will happen next, but the second time I saw it...I lost all the feeling. I know that happens after the first time, but everything just seemed sucked out of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
aduneyeDec 29, 2015
This film was very boring, and with such a common and tired storyline. The whole movie things just happened without any rhyme or reason, all the characters were static, and the plot had no development. However, it was done pretty well, so itThis film was very boring, and with such a common and tired storyline. The whole movie things just happened without any rhyme or reason, all the characters were static, and the plot had no development. However, it was done pretty well, so it is not completely insufferable. It just works better as a novel, because much of what makes the novel great cannot be carried over onto the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EmptyFilmStockMay 25, 2012
"No Country for Old Men" is a close to perfect film and one of the Coens' best films in a while. They can be darkly funny at times, laugh out loud hilarious other times, and SRS BSNS other times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TeddyDSep 30, 2012
A near perfection. The Cohen Brothers clearly up'd their game before/whilst and after shooting this film. Superb cinematography, well adapted from the novel, and above all else, an incredible choice of cast. Javier Bardem's performance wasA near perfection. The Cohen Brothers clearly up'd their game before/whilst and after shooting this film. Superb cinematography, well adapted from the novel, and above all else, an incredible choice of cast. Javier Bardem's performance was perfectly terrifying and the use of unprecedented anti-climax's left me on the edge of my seat throughout. One of the best films to come out of 2007, if not, the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonsieurEamesJan 7, 2013
A chilling, unforgettable experience propelled by a mesmerizing performance from Javier Bardem. The ending was rather unrewarding, though, although it adds to the film's uniqueness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochJan 5, 2013
This is actually one of the best book adaptions ever. It's almost impossible to tell a story accurately with such little dialogues and without a narrator voice, but the Coen brothers accomplished it fantastically. A perfect cast till minorThis is actually one of the best book adaptions ever. It's almost impossible to tell a story accurately with such little dialogues and without a narrator voice, but the Coen brothers accomplished it fantastically. A perfect cast till minor roles and Javier Bardem makes one of the best film villains of all time! The style of the film is absolutely unique and the mixture of western, thriller and satire is excellent. The ending is realistic and leaves a couple of questions open, which makes you think a lot about the film afterwards. Everything seems sophisticated, even how scenes succeed on one another and that's what is so fantastic about this movie. Everything that happens in No Country For Old Men keeps your eyes peeled on the TV screen, even if it's just normal dialogue. I.e. the showdown between Chigurh and Moss, which is one of the most thrilling scenes I've seen lately or the Chigurh's conversation with the gas station proprietor which is absolutely awesome. The screenplay, the direction and Javier Bardem totally deserved the Oscar. There were better movies in 2006 but this flick is a very favorable tale about bad people that is both confusing and stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NatarajaAug 17, 2016
Gripping and intense from the opening moments to the end of the film. A masterpiece and perhaps the Coen Brothers best film ever. If you have an aversion to violence, this film is not for you. If you can see past it, then the movie becomesGripping and intense from the opening moments to the end of the film. A masterpiece and perhaps the Coen Brothers best film ever. If you have an aversion to violence, this film is not for you. If you can see past it, then the movie becomes unnerving and surreal. An amazing story with amazing acting and a superb script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineJun 11, 2014
A bit strange movie, especially the ending, but it keeps you attracted to the screen and feel the growing tension. The filming is great. The actors and the characters are superb! Should be definitely seen by anyone who loves good movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FolgerscoffeeNov 19, 2014
A terrific movie, but at the same time, disappointing and leaves a lot of business unfinished, while finishing some business that didn't need finishing. A weird experience...I'd watch it again just for how pyscho the main killer was,A terrific movie, but at the same time, disappointing and leaves a lot of business unfinished, while finishing some business that didn't need finishing. A weird experience...I'd watch it again just for how pyscho the main killer was, but...coulda been more satisfying, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
If you don't like the ending you didn't understand the plot...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rastapastaOct 10, 2012
The finest work by the Cohen Brothers, No Country for Old Men is brutal, violent, truthful, and one hell of a ride. The acting is beyond superb, the editing and cinematography are some of the best I have ever seen, and Javier Bardem is theThe finest work by the Cohen Brothers, No Country for Old Men is brutal, violent, truthful, and one hell of a ride. The acting is beyond superb, the editing and cinematography are some of the best I have ever seen, and Javier Bardem is the new Hannibal Lector as the film's nightmarish villain, Anton Chigurh. For those negative reviews you see (notice only on the user column, mind you), they are all from people that are looking for something directed by Michael Bay and require no thought process whatsoever. Even if the ending requires some out-of-theatre interpretation, see this movie. It's one that going down with some of the best in film history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scartezzAug 12, 2013
It' s a very nice but also difficult film.
I watched it twice and I don't still understand everything.
The figure of Anton Chigurh is surely the most impressive. The crazy/foolish killer Chigurgh is in my opinion, the real protagonist of
It' s a very nice but also difficult film.
I watched it twice and I don't still understand everything.
The figure of Anton Chigurh is surely the most impressive. The crazy/foolish killer Chigurgh is in my opinion, the real protagonist of the film.

Everythig so rude and foolish, but PERFECT
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JamesCannonNov 10, 2012
Cohen movies have been misunderstood for years..some people find them to boring or to hard to follow (millers crossing). I think they are marvelous and extremely witty, filled with some the most realistic characters you could want in aCohen movies have been misunderstood for years..some people find them to boring or to hard to follow (millers crossing). I think they are marvelous and extremely witty, filled with some the most realistic characters you could want in a movie. They also do not end in happy cheery ways or tight hollywood endings that may hint at sequel. This one of my favorites right behind millers crossing..which is i believe one the best movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 11, 2012
The beauty of this movie is the simplicity. One guy has the suitcase full of money, other guy wants the suitcase full of money and so begins a chase interwoven with a hurricane of tension. Just watching the creativity with which these twoThe beauty of this movie is the simplicity. One guy has the suitcase full of money, other guy wants the suitcase full of money and so begins a chase interwoven with a hurricane of tension. Just watching the creativity with which these two characters try to best one another is enthralling in itself. The entire movie is slow, quiet and irresistible. Great acting and brilliant directing. Overall, I would describe No Country for Old Men as a dark and sinister pleasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 30, 2016
While not necessarily an overt crowd-pleaser of a film, "No Country For Old Men" is definitely more of a healthy, stick-to-your-ribs dose of auteuristic filmmaking at its finest. It almost seems like the eponymous Cormac McCarthy novel wasWhile not necessarily an overt crowd-pleaser of a film, "No Country For Old Men" is definitely more of a healthy, stick-to-your-ribs dose of auteuristic filmmaking at its finest. It almost seems like the eponymous Cormac McCarthy novel was tailor-made for the Coen Brothers' hands to latch onto. With the pointed nihilism, blistering moral commentary, and occasional kernels of pitch black humor already so intrinsic to McCarthy's story, the Coens' involvement was almost inarguably meant to be. Top them off with some of Roger Deakins' finest camerawork, excellent sound design, and Javier Bardem's legendary turn as "Anton Chigurh," and you have the makings of a truly memorable cinematic experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiJan 25, 2014
In this film we get to see the Coen brothers' version of a true psychopath. We follow two story lines until they converge and become one. Chigurh (Javier Bardem) is a lunatic who has no conscience whatsoever. Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) isIn this film we get to see the Coen brothers' version of a true psychopath. We follow two story lines until they converge and become one. Chigurh (Javier Bardem) is a lunatic who has no conscience whatsoever. Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) is the man who we root for, even though he is far from being a saint. But the fact that he doesn't kill people over nothing certainly gives him an edge over his opponents in gaining our sympathy.

Moss finds a ridiculous amount of money in the desert and decides to keep it. Two sets of sides then follow him around the country as he outwits them at every step. Chigurh is called in and joins the chase, but he has his own agenda, which is to say none that can be understood by a sane man. Needless to say, we get to see a whole lot of shootouts and deaths and close calls.

Chigurh was the most enduring character from the bunch. He has two weapons he puts to deadly use at every occasion. A psychopath in every sense of the word, he looks for quarrels in nothing that would suggest to offend a normal person.

Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones) is an aging sheriff. He quips and jokes with a poker face. I thoroughly enjoyed his peculiar sense of humour. Always trying to do the right thing, he feels that he isn't upto the task of apprehending these criminals who have suddenly decided to make the territory under his jurisdiction their battlefield. The title of the movie is probably about him.

There were more than a few memorable scenes of violence and gore. The art direction depicted the time splendidly with the costume and cars and cafes. The cinematography captured the beautiful bleak landscape of the southern wilderness with finesse. The open plains and deserts certainly felt like a character unto itself.

The first hour and a half nailed the action, suspense and dialogue with a craftsman's precision, and had not one scene that threatened to slow the pace. Despite the entertaining pace, every one of the main characters was well developed and distinct. The gunfights seemed realistic. People actually got injured and had no ability to dodge the bullets. There were a few scenes with conversations reflecting upon the changing times in terms of the violence being perpetrated. Some of the older audience may have felt nostalgic for a bit around this time. The film had the quality that takes the viewers imperceptibly from scene to scene.

I've always wondered how action sequences would feel like without supporting score to pump our adrenaline, and relying solely on content. They felt raw and genuine. Coen brothers showed us how they should be done. But if I made a film, I would have some music in the scenes about reflection and resolution.

Unlike the other great films in the genre of crime/thriller, this one chose to show what was happening only during the present. There was literally no transtion of time. In that it was like Raiders of the Lost Ark. But that movie had an extended cop-out ending.

The minute the main story ends abruptly, we move into a five minute interlude which felt forced and left me restless. There were no visible stakes and instead there were some conversations that were kind of conclusory remarks about what had taken place before. Everything before this had me absorbed in the narrative and that scene had nothing to do with anything that we were already shown. As the pacing was breakneck before this, some of the audience may have felt it to be more dragging even when the film returns to the main story. The extraction of a message or theme should be left entirely to the audience. I would have respected the Coens a lot more if they had the sense to know what should be left out. But since that scene wasn't long, I won't be harsh. But this blunder in editing took away from the strengths of the movie and thus the film failed to leave a lasting impression. The last scene was retainable but forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersMay 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing but a total disappointment. 2007 was a strong year for movies, so when this film won many Oscars I had very high expectations. This film failed to even somewhat meet them. This is a completely boring, pointless, unentertaining, waste of time. It started out pretty good, but with the exception of a few shootouts and great cinematography, this film is not good. The acting is good. However, Javier Bardem winning the Academy Award? Chigurh is one heck a villain, but I don't feel like any of the intensity of the character came from the acting. I feel like the character was written as a creepy guy, regardless of the performance. As for Josh Brolin's character, he had so little dialogue, it's nearly impossible to feel any interest in him whatsoever, then he dies. I did enjoy Tommy Lee Jones and Kelly Macdonald's performances though. The thing that is so unsettling about this film is the plot. It makes no sense. I get the beginning part with the money and I understand who's chasing who, but why? The plot just kind of starts without any information as to who the characters are and what their motives are for doing what they do. I'm all for movies that make you pay attention, but when it comes to the relevance of characters, it's important to back up with details. Woody Harrelson and Javier Bardem's characters almost seem irrelevant to the plot because so little is known about them. I'm sure it was done this way to create an element of surprise for intensity, but all it did was make this film make no sense. With all this being said, I feel this is a brilliantly made film. The cinematography is great. Certain scenes and the way they were shot really stand out. But, I strongly dislike this film! It did win Best Picture so you should see it for that, I guess. But for a true brilliant film of 2007, check out There Will Be Blood or Juno instead. Don't waste your time on this overrated mess! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 10, 2013
The Coen brothers provide one of the most strongest films ever. It provides awesome performances and extremely thrilling murderous suspense that makes the film suceed on all levels. Its by far the best direction that the Coen brothers haveThe Coen brothers provide one of the most strongest films ever. It provides awesome performances and extremely thrilling murderous suspense that makes the film suceed on all levels. Its by far the best direction that the Coen brothers have ever done in their spectacular career. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 17, 2013
One of the best movie ever made. Very nice story with some of the best actors. Amazing movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
InsanityOnABunDec 21, 2012
The complexity appears in simple tension, but is crafted so well and delivered so uniquely that the result is unusually amazing. In major plot points, this film is completely unpredictable, and its final statement pins on the title.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kevinhooksJan 20, 2013
"No Country for Old Men" is so well crafted in the way of a dark crime film, and the actors deserve plenty of merit on their parts, especially from the antagonist played by Javier Bardem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithNov 9, 2014
At the risk of sounding unprofessional, (and I guess I'm not since no one pays me for this), this movie is awesome. It's tense, eerie, violent, bloody, action packed.... I could go on forever. This is probably my favorite Cohen brothersAt the risk of sounding unprofessional, (and I guess I'm not since no one pays me for this), this movie is awesome. It's tense, eerie, violent, bloody, action packed.... I could go on forever. This is probably my favorite Cohen brothers movie. They direct it with such obsessive detail in every little action that it's impossible not to be impressed with their work here. I like a lot of their movies, but none of them can match this one's sublime mix of violence, story, and character. Anton Chigur has to be one of the top five screen villains of all time. He really does come close to Hannibal Lecter status, and how often can you say that? The only real flaw here is an unsatisfying ending, but I've seen plenty of movies that have ended a lot worse. Probably one of the best Best Picture winners ever, and perhaps my favorite crime thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
falsifypopperJan 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a problem with almost all of the reviews on the site from critics to users. This movie is a philosophical exercise and like most philosophy needs to be critically evaluated multiple times before an adequate understanding can be achieved. The movie is about the conflict between natural uncertainty and the human desire for certainty. The villain (Bardem) uses his knowledge of these facts to his advantage throughout the movie, i.e. flipping coins to determine outcomes with the intention of making his actions seem random, and at a meta level ends up falling into the the human fallacy of certainty. Once the viewer realizes this it is obvious the Cohen brothers tailor the final 30 minutes of the movie to reinforce the fact that no one has full control. The conversation with Moss's wife illustrates his situation perfectly. He does not need to kill her. He feels compelled by his method to carry out the process to his predetermined end. She refuses to play into his false belief that he is the master of this anarchy and points out the fact that he is there by his own choice. After the house he gets injured in a car accident reinforcing his lack of control. This ties in perfectly with the final scenes with Jones from the conversation with the old deputy to the final scene with his wife. In his dream he feels comfortable on his own because he knows his father will be there when needed. Then he woke up. Watch the movie a few more times and you will realize a multitude of interactions and conversations that are there to enrich this message. I love movies like this because the replay value is endless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LaGuertaApr 29, 2014
Sinister, brutal and in possession of an abundance of lines to read between, 'No Country for Old Men' is a modern day masterpiece from the boots of it's cinematography right up to the Stetson of typically multi dimensional, CoenSinister, brutal and in possession of an abundance of lines to read between, 'No Country for Old Men' is a modern day masterpiece from the boots of it's cinematography right up to the Stetson of typically multi dimensional, Coen characterisation. I will no longer feel safe behind a locked door having witnessed the now, iconic realisation of Anton Chigurh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ksatchMar 5, 2013
Uma das melhores cenas de perseguição da história do cinema moderno, javier bardem está simplesmente assustador e sensacional. Brilhante história e atuações, filme para se ter em casa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
marcolevoJun 29, 2015
Terrible movie! It's boring, empty, pretentious, too long and full of stupid characters. The plot is ridiculous, there is no progression and no ending. Movie that hasn't nothing to say, only a huge waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScreenagerApr 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite an abrupt ending, this movie is a fantastic masterpiece from the Coen Brothers. Beautifully shot, superb acting (particularly from Javier Bardem in an Academy Award winning role), and a fast, suspenseful pace, this is story telling at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionNov 25, 2013
The America was marked by bloodshed, was sometimes accurate and sometimes totally useless form, were always involved power and money somehow, the book by Cormac M. portrays it interesting and visceral way, the same can be said of the CohenThe America was marked by bloodshed, was sometimes accurate and sometimes totally useless form, were always involved power and money somehow, the book by Cormac M. portrays it interesting and visceral way, the same can be said of the Cohen brothers movie that captures the competitive spirit of Americans and brutal when it puts money in the game, but the most interesting are the performances of Javier B. and Tommy L. Jones that capture impressively (especially Bardem) the state of its characters, which explains all the euphoria that critics have with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JmsbppJul 2, 2013
Los hermanos Coen lograron conseguir esta película fantásticamente hecha...............................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jpwelsh101Dec 9, 2013
A flawless intense thriller that puts you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole darn film! The cinematography in this film is simply fantastic... the coens out did them self and in my opinion it is right up there w fargo maybe even better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SirOnion32May 28, 2013
Favorite movie of all time. Coen brothers are spot-on with suspenseful pacing, beautiful cinematography, and a simple story that gets its point across.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamerStreamMar 28, 2014
The movies was awesome with, Anton Chigurh (Bardem) and his awesome coin-tosser and, BANGG!!! I'm still wonder if other film/movies can be like this. I'm honestly wasn't expected to see the novels could be brought to the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LaMagiadeVirueAug 13, 2013
No es lo mejor de los hermanos, y esperaba mucho de esta película. Tampoco es mala, pero un 6 es la nota justa. Siempre están bien dirigidas, pero con esta en particular no me paso lo mismo que con otras de los hermanos. Me aburrí porNo es lo mejor de los hermanos, y esperaba mucho de esta película. Tampoco es mala, pero un 6 es la nota justa. Siempre están bien dirigidas, pero con esta en particular no me paso lo mismo que con otras de los hermanos. Me aburrí por momentos, pero rescato la magnífica actuación de Lee Jones y Bardem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WymasterAug 17, 2013
In my mind, the greatest movie of all time (Better than Godfather, Pulp Fiction, Raging Bull, all of them). NCFOM explores humans in a way that no other film can. It shows us why people do what they do. It addresses how fate, and how thingsIn my mind, the greatest movie of all time (Better than Godfather, Pulp Fiction, Raging Bull, all of them). NCFOM explores humans in a way that no other film can. It shows us why people do what they do. It addresses how fate, and how things out of our control, can affect our lives. It comes the closest that any movie has come to showing us the true meaning of life. There is no definite meaning of life: We are all here, doing things, talking to people, participating in activities; we are all simply living. And this film comes the closest to showing us why. As a film itself, it has terrific acting, especially from Javier Bardem, a terrific script, and dark, suspenseful tone that keeps you on edge the entire time. As a piece of art, it is inferior to none. The greatest movie ever made, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJan 16, 2014
A blunt, almost blatant tale of why you should never run from those chasing you. A gritty and oddly pragmatic tale that slowly drifts (which many consider the film's taciturn banality) into an aberration of the era and the situation. ActedA blunt, almost blatant tale of why you should never run from those chasing you. A gritty and oddly pragmatic tale that slowly drifts (which many consider the film's taciturn banality) into an aberration of the era and the situation. Acted out beautifully, mostly by the man of many roles, and hairstyles, Javier Bardem. With the amount of graphic violence that is ultimately timed right, the Coen brothers have once made a film that, for me personally, cannot be banal or dreary in the slightest, but the absolute opposite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrightDarknessAug 28, 2013
A masterpiece. The quality of the acting, as well as the outstanding directing by the Coen brothers, propel the film from initially being a mere adaptation of a successful novel to becoming an absolute classic, that garnered the approval ofA masterpiece. The quality of the acting, as well as the outstanding directing by the Coen brothers, propel the film from initially being a mere adaptation of a successful novel to becoming an absolute classic, that garnered the approval of most viewers and was met with universal critical acclaim. Besides, the well-deserved Oscar win properly rewards the brilliant overall directing career of the Coens. Eventually, one cannot watch the movie without being fascinated by the stately performance of Javier Bardem, who perfectly embodies a ruthless lunatic bounty hunter, to such an extent that every viewer will ultimately reminisce the disqueting character of Anton Chigurh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysJan 16, 2014
No Country For Old Men is exhilaratingly brilliant, with raw and to-the-point dialogue that makes the transitions of scenes smooth. The cinematography is excellent, and the plot is exciting. Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones, and and Javier BodemNo Country For Old Men is exhilaratingly brilliant, with raw and to-the-point dialogue that makes the transitions of scenes smooth. The cinematography is excellent, and the plot is exciting. Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones, and and Javier Bodem are excellent in this film, and captivate you with their performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoseinOct 4, 2013
I think this movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. directors of this movie are my favorite directors.this movie has directed, written and acted very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchizophreniacFeb 10, 2014
the film has an original story. brilliant film. javier bardem's performance is perfect, I was scared from Javier on this film, this is very important for this film's reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TkimGUYOct 19, 2013
One of my favorite movies. Excellent casting may have been the biggest pluses for it. Some are dissatisfied with the final 20 minutes or so of the movie, but it worked for me after giving it time to settle for lack of a better phrase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreeReviewerJan 5, 2014
No Country For Old Men is Coen Brothers' brilliant film adaptation of Cormac MacCarthy novel of the same name. It focuses on the three stories of Sheriff Ed Bell, played by Tommy Lee Jones, Anton Chigurh a psychopathic murderer, played byNo Country For Old Men is Coen Brothers' brilliant film adaptation of Cormac MacCarthy novel of the same name. It focuses on the three stories of Sheriff Ed Bell, played by Tommy Lee Jones, Anton Chigurh a psychopathic murderer, played by Javier Bardem, and Llewelyn Moss, a welder who had stumbled upon 2 million dollars worth of drug money, played by Josh Brolin.

The backbone of the plot itself has been used before but the slow pacing of the film allows the viewer to submerge themselves in the struggle of Jones and Brolin as they are hunted by and pursue Bardem's character. Bardem fabulously portrays Chigurh as an almost unpredictable yet rational killer intent on collecting the 2 million dollars collected by Brolin and killing anyone in his way. In one of his last scenes the viewer is allowed however to see a small amount of uncertain reasoning in how he kills.

The pacing, as well as excellent camerawork and sets creates a wonderful atmosphere in which the viewer can allow themselves to comfortably be submerged into while they enjoy this cinematic masterpiece.

In the end, this film can be enjoyed by all as long as they are patient enough to let a story be told.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaesaroctopusMay 2, 2015
No Country for Old Men is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It manages to portray complex emotional themes while maintaining one of the most entertaining story-lines of any neo-Western (or any movie, for that matter) to date. ThisNo Country for Old Men is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It manages to portray complex emotional themes while maintaining one of the most entertaining story-lines of any neo-Western (or any movie, for that matter) to date. This is the Coen Brothers at the top of their craft. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 9, 2016
With excellent performances, an interesting and entertaining story and great characters, No Country for Old Men definitely is a must see and, without a doubt, a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
Bold, gothic, commanding and visceral. No Country for Old Men is as brilliant a movie you'll see from the past decade. The visual beauty and lack of score pulls us into a tense, anxious and deeply disturbed atmosphere, dragging us throughBold, gothic, commanding and visceral. No Country for Old Men is as brilliant a movie you'll see from the past decade. The visual beauty and lack of score pulls us into a tense, anxious and deeply disturbed atmosphere, dragging us through sunny landscapes so bleak that just by watching the film, you'll put your soul at hazard. Tommy Lee Jones opens the film with a monologue where he talks about how criminals have changed (or dare I say evolved) to a point where he no longer understands them. The film draws attention to this idea through the character Anton Chigurh. He's a criminal who'll outrightly kill anyone who brings him inconvenience. But Chigurh's a much more complex character. Although it's never quite revealed why he wants the satchel of money, one can reasonably argue that he wants it because it would aid his survival (same can be said for Josh Brolin's Lewellyn). But what makes Chigurh different is that he believes following the rules and morals set by society don't really help you survive. Rather they're shackles. Chigurh's morals are decided by the toss of a coin. He'll kill an innocent person who's brought him no inconvenience only if the coin permits. In other words, Chigurh believes in a random and chaotic world and for the most part it seems as though he's the person who decides others' destiny through chance. But the Coens make it clear that Chigurh is no divine/ supernatural figure. He too is subject to random events (as witnessed when he crashes his car). But how do you categorise a person like that? A person who is so dispassionate and mechanical but still believes in an ideology (or a lack of ideology). He's not a nihilist. Tommy Lee Jones' Sheriff doesn't get it. He doesn't want to chase a killer he doesn't understand. He doesn't want to be some hero, he just wants to retire before something hazardous happens to him. The genius of No Country for Old Men lies in the way it escapes banality and tightens its grip as it progresses. By the time its over, you'll be all out breath feeling as though you've just spiralled into the seventh circle of hell. It pulls you out not by heroism but by capitulation.
At the beginning, Tommy Lee Jones is askes himself - how do I make sense of a crazy, violent and unstable world that has lost all its bearings? Ultimately the film's bleak and melancholy answer is - You can't.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Raven25Sep 20, 2014
Javier Bardem is terrifying, the plot is thrilling, the directing is engaging and the themese are thought provoking. I can't ask for more from a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BenHazeldenJan 23, 2015
This film is brilliant mainly because of the incredible character of Anton - the scariest maniac you could possibly meet. The acting is superb - this is one of those films that will leave you thinking in a daze. It will also give youThis film is brilliant mainly because of the incredible character of Anton - the scariest maniac you could possibly meet. The acting is superb - this is one of those films that will leave you thinking in a daze. It will also give you nightmares about cattle spikes.
10/10 - Ben Hazelden
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TovenaarDec 9, 2014
Truly awful - unwatchable wooden acting and a mindless script only for kiddiwinkles without a brain.
It's amazing that funding can be found for trash like this when so many deserving scripts go wanting...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DokaluJun 24, 2015
I'm sorry, I'm not a genius, a philosopher, a professional critic, or anything like that. I'm just an average person, who likes average movies. I simply don't get the good thing in this film. Yes, it most surely has things to be appreciated,I'm sorry, I'm not a genius, a philosopher, a professional critic, or anything like that. I'm just an average person, who likes average movies. I simply don't get the good thing in this film. Yes, it most surely has things to be appreciated, things that are going to make a lot of people remember it, and things that are going to leave you thinking a lot; but I'm not that kind of person. And for a common movies watcher, this film is just slow and boring, It has beautiful acting, a flawless script, and it's certainly original, but I simply didn't enjoy the story it tells, even when it can get you really engrossed in the plot. Watch it if you are fairly smart and want to see what some can certainly consider a piece of art (and I don't disagree with them). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123May 13, 2015
even though there is no OST in the film the Coen brother's nightmarish masterpiece of the hellish underworld in the country seems so vividly real you can't run away from your seats even if you want to.
marking 2007 a great year for darker movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hanneguacamoleDec 21, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No Country for Old Men was violent. I cringed several times. Usually that genre is not my cup of tea, yet here it managed to convey the sense of urgency, the psychopathic nature lying inside Anton. How far is too far for 2 million dollars?

The moment Llewelyn gets caught up in this mess of a crime, he is never getting out alive. His hands have soiled the crime scene and that is enough cuase for death – by a cattle stungun of all weapons. No Country for Old Men is a thriller and a crime, but the overlying idea seems to be introspection into these characters involved in a convoluted circle of violence.

Whatever you do, don't get caught in Anton's path – he will stop at nothing, despite his "principles." Killing may be his sport, but everyone has got to have rules. Another standout by the Coen brothers, a pair who have produced higher quality than probable by a coin toss.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Scout523Jun 20, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of those movies where you really have to pay attention to what's going on in order to understand why the characters are doing what they are doing. Otherwise, you are going to be very confused. I was, too. Though, once I realized what was happening, the movie instantly got better. Javier Bardem, Tommy lee Jones and Josh Brolin are excellent in their roles. Bardem steals the show, Brolin is the hero, but Jones should have gotten more screen time. He was just simply that cop that's in a few scenes who's going after the bad guy, whereas the entire rest of the film is just the villain chasing the hero, plotting the hero's death (Brolin does die in this movie). Even though the ending is disappointing, the rest of the film is excellent. As can be expected with a movie with a psychopathic main villain, a lot of innocent people are killed in order for Bardem to get to Brolin, but it's kind of the point. Overall, despite a disappointing ending and some unnecessary deaths, this movie deserved to be the Oscar winner it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Nicholash6321Jul 10, 2015
Brilliant acting and dialogue. It maintained a tense atmosphere throughout without mindless meandering violence but provided short bursts of ultra violence that moved the story along. It also presented one of the most chilling victims toBrilliant acting and dialogue. It maintained a tense atmosphere throughout without mindless meandering violence but provided short bursts of ultra violence that moved the story along. It also presented one of the most chilling victims to grace the silver screen. A great movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Giorgi751Aug 15, 2015
I think this movie is a test for sense of greatness. If you want to find out whether your mind is mature enough to see greatness or not, see this movie. And if you still rate it any below than 10... well, wait a couple of years and see itI think this movie is a test for sense of greatness. If you want to find out whether your mind is mature enough to see greatness or not, see this movie. And if you still rate it any below than 10... well, wait a couple of years and see it again. What if you grow... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanielwWhiteDec 21, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No Country for Old Men is a very interesting movie. The plot to the movie is very interesting and keep viewers entertained. The best part of this movie is the antagonist, which is unlike any other character. Biggest problem was that the ending kinda sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
YorkManFeb 4, 2016
No Country For Old Men is the Coen Brother's homage to Peckinpah, featuring a muted and somewhat distorted historical piece of storytelling.
The main crux of the movie is the cat and mouse engagement of a Vietnam veteran (Josh Brolin), who
No Country For Old Men is the Coen Brother's homage to Peckinpah, featuring a muted and somewhat distorted historical piece of storytelling.
The main crux of the movie is the cat and mouse engagement of a Vietnam veteran (Josh Brolin), who stumbles across a drug deal gone awry..... And a Mafia hitman (Javier Bardem) who is unleashed upon him in order to recover the $2 million that Brolin finds at the scene.
On both their heels is a soon to retire county Sheriff (Tommy Lee Jones) who suspects there is more going on than what those around him suspect.

From a film-making perspective this is the Coen's at their best. Every aspect of the production is impeccable, and the lack of a musical score heightens the suspense when other directors would have imposed some kind of background music to 'tell' the audience something suspenseful is happening.
The acting across the board is fantastic. Tommy Lee Jones is as gravelly as always, Josh Brolin delivers the best performance of his career up to that point, but it's Javier Bardem who steals the film in terms of acting. His portrayal of the seemingly invincible hitman whose own motives are clouded and contradictory is a real revelation. Unfortunately his position as THE go to foreign star/co-star has been usurped by Christoph Waltz, and it's likely he'll simply fade back into the smaller films he starred in before.

But, for all the positives, there are some big negatives. The main issue I had with the film is that it feels like a collection of set pieces joined together, and it's been noted that the narrative of the book on which the film is based does flesh out some of the character development the film completely omits. It's like the screenplay was written to include title cards along the way, announcing each 'chapter' so as to let the audience understand that there are intended gaps in the narrative which the director is highlighting. Without that highlighting, things happen and you're not sure how or why the film leaps from character to character, because they're not interlinked.
The other big problem is that there is very little exposition, meaning the viewer has little comprehension of where people are going, or how certain characters figure certain things out. For a film in which the tension is defined by the actions of the main characters, it created questions in my mind surrounding people's actions, when it would have made a lot more sense to do something else.

Overall though, this is a great film. Switch off your deep-thinking sensibilities, and roll along with three completely different men, each trying to figure out what they need to do next, whilst marveling at the imagery and depth of what is captured on the film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nahtan1244Mar 23, 2016
wow this movie swept me off my feet. What we have here is a superbly acted written and plotted cat and mouse game between a hitman and a cowboy. Everyone here does a great job but hats off to Javier bardem as an original villain with awow this movie swept me off my feet. What we have here is a superbly acted written and plotted cat and mouse game between a hitman and a cowboy. Everyone here does a great job but hats off to Javier bardem as an original villain with a purpose not to just kill but kill with a purpose. Nothing goes right for any one in this film. All the character meet there fate in some form or another. There is an underlying theme about how nowadays the sheriff ed tom bell the villain and Llewellyn moss might not have a place and have dreams of something different. The ending may leave one frustrated upon fist viewing but once you do your research you will find yourself appreciate it a little more. This film has violence and it is gritty but the coen brothers have decided to favor heavy though provoking themes over the violence which results in a deeply magnificent intelligent cat and mouse thriller across west Texas. Hats off to the coen brothers for making such a great film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mwil236Aug 27, 2016
Unquestionable 10/10. The Coen Brothers fail to disappoint as usual. From Bardem's chilling portrayal of an uninhibited murderer down to the details even of the set, the characters work together perfectly. This is an amazing example ofUnquestionable 10/10. The Coen Brothers fail to disappoint as usual. From Bardem's chilling portrayal of an uninhibited murderer down to the details even of the set, the characters work together perfectly. This is an amazing example of what could almost be considered an anti-film: no substantial resolution, no resolution at all for some characters, just the viewer left with their perception of what might have been. Not for the faint of heart; a challenging movie because it refuses to spoon-feed you a classic hero-gets-the-girl or bad-guy-gets-caught stereotype. A film to be remembered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
smuroseSep 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ending of the movie was disappointing and abrupt. The murder of Llewelyn was anti-climatic and odd since he is the main character in this movie. The movie has many scenes of cat and mouse situations that definitely builds a lot of suspense and intensity. Unfortunately, there is no momentum carried over to other scenes and main characters die unexpectedly. If the last 30 minutes provided closure, I would have given an 8 score instead. I probably wouldn't watch this movie again if I knew about the ending and the slow plot build-up and even slower problem resolution or lack thereof. I did think the authenticity with the Texan accent was there; however, I had to use subtitles to follow all the dialogue as there is a lot of slang and I just couldn't follow the accent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
henryesparzaSep 5, 2016
In order to truly be able to understand this film, you need to rewatch it one more time. Except this time, don't focus on Moss so much, you did so the first time. This time you need to focus on the Sheriff, Tommy Lee Jones' character. TheIn order to truly be able to understand this film, you need to rewatch it one more time. Except this time, don't focus on Moss so much, you did so the first time. This time you need to focus on the Sheriff, Tommy Lee Jones' character. The film revolves much around what Sheriff Ed Tom does and how he faces his demons, from the first narration of the movie to the last scene where he explains his dream. The villain portrayed by Bardem can never be matched, and the portrayal of the villain is what makes this movie as good as it is. Solid 9/10 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been a lot more good but the plot wasnt executed by good standard. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews