No Country for Old Men

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1316 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayH.
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    An absolutely brilliant film. Every cast member is outstanding, especially Javier Bardem. The pace is perfect, it grabs your attention from the first frame right to the last. Outstanding cinematography and editing. Tense and suspenseful, thoroughly engrossing. The Coen Brothers have made a remarkable movie, well deserving of it's four Oscars.
  2. LeoC.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    The film is a masterpiece from the Coen Brothers.
  3. DanielJ
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I am completely surprised at how many people simply don't understand the movie and hence lambast it with tripe like "it's pointless and too violent." First of all, as if to scream at the audience that the film is not solely about violence, the Coens decide to tone down many of the book's murder scenes and don't even show (physically) the fates of Chigurh's last I am completely surprised at how many people simply don't understand the movie and hence lambast it with tripe like "it's pointless and too violent." First of all, as if to scream at the audience that the film is not solely about violence, the Coens decide to tone down many of the book's murder scenes and don't even show (physically) the fates of Chigurh's last victims. It is consistently well directed, shot, and acted throughout, resulting in a completely in-depth environment and characters. By no means is it ever boring or choppy, as long as you understand the motives and developments of the characters throughout the whole movie. Chad would have you believe that the first third is nothing but slow and boring nonsense, but it is in actuality the whole basis for the characters. The first part establishes Moss's motivation (which is not simply greed for those of you who think 300 is the best film of 2007), Bell's contempt for the modern state of man, and Chigurh's inhuman nature that propels each man to his own distinct fate. Aside from the constant intensity, I believe one of the film's greatest strengths is its dialogue. Not much is changed from the book, but some is to fit a different scene in the movie better. Each time a character speaks the viewer can see straight into his head and view his motivation, his worldview, his disillusionment, or, in Chigurh's case, his nonchalant disregard for humanity. Finally, the ending of the movie, while much reviled by incompetent viewers, is absolutely perfect. That's not just my opinion, it's a fact. (Spoilers) Yes, every good person except Bell dies and the villain gets away with the money, and the last line is a seemingly disconnected reflection on Bell's dream. However, one of the most prevalent themes of the movie is how evil has come to envelope society, harming the innocent (i.e. Carla Jean) while evil itself often gets away and further spreads its venom. Thus, the ending may be depressing, but it is necessary. With that in mind, there really weren't any loose ends that needed to be tied up, there were only certain characters' uncertain futures. As to Bell's last line, in which he describes his dream, reflects how Bell is second guessing his whole existence because he earnestly feels that it is futile to try to ward off the encompassing evil that Chigurh represents and he has wasted his whole life in a vain attempt to do so. All in all, the direction, acting, cinematography, editing, and even the sounds of the movie serve to bring McCarthy's chilling novel of profound insight into haunting reality. Don't listen to the morons who give it anything less than an 8. Anyone who is able to actually interpret and apply the film beyond its outer surface would see just how incredible a job the Coens did in writing and directing the film. It's even better than Fargo, and that's saying something. Expand
  4. DavidF.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I thought the movie was great. People complain about the ending, but I don't understand what they want. Is anything short of the bad guy dying or killing everyone else a non-ending? Great acting, interesting characters, suspenseful. Was pretty violent, but if that doesn't bother you, then I highly recommend it.
  5. halb
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    Dark and nihilistic? Yes. Not your typical feel-good, tie-everything-up-in-a-nice-ribbon, hollywood ending? Check. Not everyone's 'cup of tea'? Yes, most definitely. But to suggest that this is a bad movie, or that it didn't deserve its Oscars... Well, that's just flat out wrong-headed. This film, based on the excellent story by Cormac McCarthy, is *exceedingly* Dark and nihilistic? Yes. Not your typical feel-good, tie-everything-up-in-a-nice-ribbon, hollywood ending? Check. Not everyone's 'cup of tea'? Yes, most definitely. But to suggest that this is a bad movie, or that it didn't deserve its Oscars... Well, that's just flat out wrong-headed. This film, based on the excellent story by Cormac McCarthy, is *exceedingly* well written, well acted, well paced, beautifully photographed, well edited and well directed. The three leads - Bardem, Jones and Brolin - are outstanding. This film does not -- as some suggest -- glorify violence or nihilism. It absolutely does NOT glorify or condone the cold-blooded actions of the killer (actually, killers plural). Dig just a little deeper, all you nay-sayers, and you may understand the central point of McCarthy's book and of this excellent film. Then again, maybe this is just a bit too profound and clear-headed a morality tale (and character study) for many viewers. There are one or two scenes alone that are worth the price of admission ... e.g., the pit bull chasing Brolin's character down the turbulent river, closing on him as relentlessly as Death. Amazing stuff. Expand
  6. SeanP
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Or they really liked the movie Mike. Movies here aren't rated on originality but enjoyment. Its okay though because dismissing other peoples opinions is a good way to get yours dismissed. It is easy to hate the movie if you go in with unreasonable expectations.
  7. benp.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Love it or hate it, cause the only way to leave the theatre feeling different is if you have vegetable brains. And anyone who hates it must have lived their whole life in colorado city or behind padded walls. It doesn't mean their crazy or stupid, just that whatever goes on in the world isn't their reality. No Country For Old Men portrays drugs, money, greed and the fate that Love it or hate it, cause the only way to leave the theatre feeling different is if you have vegetable brains. And anyone who hates it must have lived their whole life in colorado city or behind padded walls. It doesn't mean their crazy or stupid, just that whatever goes on in the world isn't their reality. No Country For Old Men portrays drugs, money, greed and the fate that comes with it in a very eery and extreme, yet completely realistic way. Any one of us could be Llewelyn and in this world we live in, his fate could be ours as well. What a raw display of how powerful and unforgiving the nature of men can be. Expand
  8. EdT
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    I wouldn't say 30+million people is nobody, would you? Is that your definition of nobody? If so, you might want to find a dictionary. Regardless, at this point, is there such a thing as an original story? No, there isn't. But what makes No Country for Old Men a great film is its terrific sense of pace, understated, powerful performances from everyone involved (especially Tommy I wouldn't say 30+million people is nobody, would you? Is that your definition of nobody? If so, you might want to find a dictionary. Regardless, at this point, is there such a thing as an original story? No, there isn't. But what makes No Country for Old Men a great film is its terrific sense of pace, understated, powerful performances from everyone involved (especially Tommy Lee Jones and Kelly MacDonald, who deserved a nomination), a script that's both darkly funny and fearsome and of course, the sure-handed direction of the Coens. As for its conclusion, it underscores the point and theme of the film perfectly: that life is ambiguous, that fate and chance both have their roles to play and that life, no matter how hard we try to impose some sort of meaning and narrative upon it, just is a series of randomly connected events. Expand
  9. HaroldR.
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    It's so amusing to watch people frequently try to disparage this movie because it doesn't cater to what they perceive the average movie as being. The movie is thrilling, well written, imaginative and purposefully unique. It doesn't possess the cliched "we got the back guy!!" ending that everyone is accustomed to. No, it reflects the real world, where things cannot be It's so amusing to watch people frequently try to disparage this movie because it doesn't cater to what they perceive the average movie as being. The movie is thrilling, well written, imaginative and purposefully unique. It doesn't possess the cliched "we got the back guy!!" ending that everyone is accustomed to. No, it reflects the real world, where things cannot be anticipated. If you crave eccentric films, that follow no set path, then this movie is for you. Oh, and it deserved Best Movie of the Year, and no amount of petty 1 out of 10 ratings is going to change that. Expand
  10. LesterF.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    An understated, post-modern masterpiece. It is the way it is told that makes this film so wonderful. Yes, it disconcertingly prises your hands from their obedient grasp on reality but the payoff is worth it. The running time is a little over two hours but I challenge anyone to refute that this film did not stick with them for far longer. Love it or hate it Anton Chigurh's pageboy An understated, post-modern masterpiece. It is the way it is told that makes this film so wonderful. Yes, it disconcertingly prises your hands from their obedient grasp on reality but the payoff is worth it. The running time is a little over two hours but I challenge anyone to refute that this film did not stick with them for far longer. Love it or hate it Anton Chigurh's pageboy hair, hallow eyes and hateful tongue; and the romantic ramblings of Sherrif Ed Tom Bell were part of our conscious and subconscious thought for days after this one. Phantasmagorical. Poetic. Brilliant. Expand
  11. JRo
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Wow. The people that give low ratings on this movie seem to not be able to understand ....anything about life. Useless filler? Building suspense without using music is incredible enough in itself. You have to try to interpret what happens in the movie. Apparently, some of you are typical Americans and fail to be able to watch a movie that is not completely straightforwad. Congrats on the Wow. The people that give low ratings on this movie seem to not be able to understand ....anything about life. Useless filler? Building suspense without using music is incredible enough in itself. You have to try to interpret what happens in the movie. Apparently, some of you are typical Americans and fail to be able to watch a movie that is not completely straightforwad. Congrats on the lack of progression in being a normal functioning human adult. This movie is one of the best that you could ever hope for. Expand
  12. KenL.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Flawless!
  13. MarcB.
    Mar 26, 2008
    8
    Real life characters rather than movie characters. Real life result rather than movie result where everyone lives happily ever after. Two contemporary scenes which struck me as insightful occurred when Moss was shot and when Anton was involved in a car crash. Both situations revealed more emphasis on money than health by one of the parties. The young men on the bridge were more Real life characters rather than movie characters. Real life result rather than movie result where everyone lives happily ever after. Two contemporary scenes which struck me as insightful occurred when Moss was shot and when Anton was involved in a car crash. Both situations revealed more emphasis on money than health by one of the parties. The young men on the bridge were more inquisitive than helpful and Anton felt compelled to pay for the kid's shirt when his immediate need was healthcare . The modern priorities are held up to the light for inspection here. Tommie Lee Jones as sherrif skulks into retirement rather than confronting the criminal.Much food for thought in this movie. Those who rate it shamefully low were probably expecting a more commonly seen conclusion where the bad guys are vanquished in some way. Expand
  14. MattM.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This movie was absolutely magnificent. I loved this movie everything about it made it wonderful experience. The plot, the characters, and the dialogue was great. I'm not sure what the other people rating it 1's are talking about they obviously have no taste.
  15. klm
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    "Apart from using Josh Brolin, who just isn't up to the task, nevermind being repeatedly referred to in this contemporary setting as a Viet Nam vet, which would have put him in combat at around age five" - DWilly. Err DWilly you obviously weren't paying close attention to the funeral scene near the end! The the birth to death date clearly indicated that the year was 1980 NOT "Apart from using Josh Brolin, who just isn't up to the task, nevermind being repeatedly referred to in this contemporary setting as a Viet Nam vet, which would have put him in combat at around age five" - DWilly. Err DWilly you obviously weren't paying close attention to the funeral scene near the end! The the birth to death date clearly indicated that the year was 1980 NOT 2007/8 as you seem to have surmised! Expand
  16. Chrystal
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing movie!! Going in, I though it would be kind of boring and that maybe it was also overrated. I was definitely wrong. This movie is going on my top ten greatest movies of all time!! You have to see it!!
  17. OdhranH.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do you people really find it so insulting to be challenged a bit by filmmakers, or have we all got so boring and safe that we just want visceral thrills, we just want what we expect? we don't like being invited to think for ourselves? also all the seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do you people really find it so insulting to be challenged a bit by filmmakers, or have we all got so boring and safe that we just want visceral thrills, we just want what we expect? we don't like being invited to think for ourselves? also all the Coens really did with the structure was stay faithful to the novel, so I don't get the criticism of them as being arrogant or trying to be clever- to all who say that- go and read the book. Expand
  18. DavidShepherd
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this movie, it has some of the greatest acting I've seen, they either make you love them, or hate them, theres no in between. The intensity is so great, keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. The ending is the only part that I don't like, there are so many questions and loose end that need to answered, it makes me so mad.
  19. DarrenP.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    very very good film, best l've seen in months.on par with Shawshank Redemption.a film were you don't want to get out of your seat.
  20. Aj
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Very intense thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. BIG LEBOWSKI baby.
  21. ShortyGT500
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Never heard of Javier Bardem, but truly impressed...
  22. NikkoC.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    Slow? Confusing? Oh my.... When people rave that a film is great like, say, Schindler's List (and it is, it's a five star film, don't get me wrong), it always gets straight 9s and 10s.... No one gets thrown by it and it is well-acted and moving and y-a-w-n..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. But the real greats, the true greats, do not pander to everyone (euphemism). Great art never Slow? Confusing? Oh my.... When people rave that a film is great like, say, Schindler's List (and it is, it's a five star film, don't get me wrong), it always gets straight 9s and 10s.... No one gets thrown by it and it is well-acted and moving and y-a-w-n..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. But the real greats, the true greats, do not pander to everyone (euphemism). Great art never does. And then it consequently takes the risks that occasionally, as is so true here, make it better. Firstly, NCFOM has one of the all-time greatest bad guys in cinematic history. Complex in his simplicity, driven and scary as hell. In a metaphorical sense he has to represent a force and evil that cannot be quantified or understood and it only works because he gives the single-most scariest and most intoxicating performance I have ever seen along with Hopkins in SOTL. Like the Reaper himself, there is a lure and dread that accompany him and it is an achievement in selfless acting and craft that cannot be cheapened by words. It simply must be watched to be believed. God Bless you Javier. Secondly, it is not an oxygen tank per se, and it pains me that people do not watch movies more attentively. The devil is in the detail, as they say. The remark at the beginning is a MacGuffin, yet, instead of going on in that vein to rival Hitchcock's best films scenes and moments, this film outdoes them. Tommy says explicitly what it is, but, it's worth repeat viewings and I can't wait to see it again anyway, so, no biggie..... thirdly, the ending is so good, so perfect, that I am happy to admit that I wept for its brilliance. I said out loud, 'please end' and it cut to black and the credits began and I just dropped my head and in that moment I have to say, it was like a strong narcotic, that moment of knowing I had watched a perfect film. It was perfect folks. Perhaps better than perfect and, as Ron Burgundy would say, "That makes no sense." But then, it plays against a backlog of accepted movie 'traditions' that were always formulaic and trite, and instead the Coens, like the book (I imagine) make the brave choices true to the story, or most importantly, the ALLEGORY. See, people who are confused, or who don't spot the allegory and its bleak and moral undertones, will be 'gunning' for the hero, the old cop come good, the blah blah blah... they will be disappointed for reasons I will not go into and, well, sorry, but it's all bollocks. Grow up. It's a world of grey, not black and white. Santa's not real. Get over it. What you wanted is far less than what you got, but you can't see the wood for the trees. Please, open your eyes. It always was bollocks. The Coens knew this and they rise above over a hundred years of film-making tripe to deliver, regardless of some people's and even critics' (as indicated from the 30 - yes, 30 - above...what an idiot) inability to recognize it due to it placing an IQ-pre-requisite on the audience, the greatest and most perfectly shot and intensely-realized motion picture since the likes of Citizen Kane and The Godfather. Fargo!? Blood Simple (which I saw two weeks ago)!? You MUST be joking. Only someone who is afraid to enter the ghost world (if you will), the darkness itself and delve DEEP, as this film does, could say that those films come close to this film. This is indisputably the Coen brothers finest work and I say that as someone who LOVES them. Miller's Crossing is one of my all-time favs. But it can't match NCFOM.... Not remotely. It makes me want to reassess every perfect mark I have ever given! **SPOILERS** The Hotel Scene, the tracking device, the dog, the coin toss, the thematic and allegorical perfection...... as a film buff I recall somewhere along the way I had to pause the dvd, have a sip of tea and permit myself the audible admission that I was close to shitting myself for the amount of tension... and that I was in the midst of some bizarre cinematic orgasm (emotional/spiritual) as a result - and I say that as someone who has yawned through a thousand horror films. In fact if you are a horror fan, it is worth mentioning that this is also the best horror film I have seen in sometime. For you see, it is so thrilling and tense, it is horrific. And I loved it! Oh and the sound.... oh the sound is SOOOOOOO good. Watch this thing on 5.1, seriously. When it ended I simply was unable to move, but then, I got it. And bravo Coens, bravo.... Don't stress that some are like, "Oh, but ___," this and that.... you compromised nothing and you made my favourite film of all time. Thank you. I mean shit guys, this is easily the best film of this millenium even from an objective point of view..... Easily. Am I being a little elitist in saying this when some people clearly don't seem to 'like' (get) it? Um, I don't care. That's not how you go beyond the expected and create masterpieces. So the answer is, yes, the people who don't like it ARE wrong. Sorry, but it's that simple. They might not like NCFOM, that's fine, but it IS a great movie nonetheless. It just went over your head. You may lack a bit of dimension and/or be naive.... Don't sweat it. Even now, two days after seeing NCFOM, and just the one time, I ache. The best film I have seen this millenium. But by no means for everyone. Oh HELL NO.... if you'll excuse the pun..... And shoot me with a cattle-gun for saying it, but thank God for that. 11/10 Expand
  23. AnonNy'Mous
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Great film, in spite of what the others say. Maybe the way it breaks away from the norm after the first helps aid the point? Anyway how can a film with a villain such as that be unentertaining?
  24. DylanM
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I thought it was a great movie. Mainly due to its intelligence, if that makes sense. Its great action and story, but it could be real. Its not a movie that has dazzling special effects but really something that could have happened. Now the ending left me puzzled at first then i realized that that's just how it is in real life. Sometimes nobody wins, villains get away, and innocent I thought it was a great movie. Mainly due to its intelligence, if that makes sense. Its great action and story, but it could be real. Its not a movie that has dazzling special effects but really something that could have happened. Now the ending left me puzzled at first then i realized that that's just how it is in real life. Sometimes nobody wins, villains get away, and innocent people die. Not every movie can have a happy ending. Not every movie should. Its basically a commentary on how we as a society are today. We kill for pleasure (drugs) and those who stick to their morals often die or go crazy (pro and antagonist) Really makes you step back and look at your life and the people that surround you. Expand
  25. AdamC
    Jul 27, 2008
    9
    Wow, great movie. I can't believe so many people voted it low. To all of those who did: not everything is spoon fed to you, I realize it is kind of difficult, but use your mind. Although the background on Bell could have been better, coming from someone who hadn't read the book, just thinking about what happened in the movie, and the point the movie gets across is pretty Wow, great movie. I can't believe so many people voted it low. To all of those who did: not everything is spoon fed to you, I realize it is kind of difficult, but use your mind. Although the background on Bell could have been better, coming from someone who hadn't read the book, just thinking about what happened in the movie, and the point the movie gets across is pretty amazing. I know it won't fit everyone's viewing style, but seeing it knowing that the outcome isn't just good over evil, will make the movie so much better to you. Overall, excellent movie. Very well done. Expand
  26. JuneK.
    Jul 30, 2008
    8
    Looking forward to the sequel. Too many unanswered questions. Such as where is the money? How did the anti-hero die? Did he really die or did the sheriff let him go away with his wife?
  27. Kenny
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Superb film, almost flawless.
  28. DanP
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome.
  29. KM
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    I can watch this movie a thousand times and still not get the significance of it, but I still liked it.
  30. LeviH
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Action films are, by definition, hot medium. The design is for the audience to be given all the information they desire and to be taken on a pretty ride. No Country For Old Men defies this by answering nothing. Who is Chigurh? What kind of man is he? Is he even a man at all? The Coen Brother's seem to have a distinct interpretation of the character, yet in keeping with their style Action films are, by definition, hot medium. The design is for the audience to be given all the information they desire and to be taken on a pretty ride. No Country For Old Men defies this by answering nothing. Who is Chigurh? What kind of man is he? Is he even a man at all? The Coen Brother's seem to have a distinct interpretation of the character, yet in keeping with their style they aren't exactly going to spell it out for the audience. This film, for days afterward, will make you think. This film, during it's screen time, will engross you in top notch cinematography, acting, editing, writing, and directing. Coming from a novel I considered largely unfilmable, the Coen's have created something special and unique, as only they could. Expand
  31. RommelA
    May 9, 2009
    10
    The movie provides great thrills and awesome acting. The actors know how to play their parts and they play them really well. I really recommend this game anyone!
  32. saran
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    No country for old men is arguably one of the finest ever thriller movies made in hollywood.James Bardem is simply awesome with a stunning performance.
  33. MikeR.
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    This movie will go down as one of the top films ever. Its sad that so many people cant shut there rambling gum chewing, instant judgment, minds off and just be zen with the movie. If they did they would be amazed by the atmosphere and pathos. I loved the ending. Poetic and true to his character.God how people just piss at genius like they know what these artist.
  34. DanP
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    Awesome.
  35. MikeC
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Movies just don't get much better than this. No Country for Old Men is a thrilling tale that will constantly keep you hooked. It will blow you away; absolutely a must see.
  36. SteveH
    Nov 11, 2007
    7
    My biggest problem with this movie, is that it is not at the Fargo level. The critics are over hyping this movie. The acting is great but I got tired of Kelly Maconald's character, Your southern, naive and not too smart, ok, I get it. Where Fargo tied up most of the loose ends, this movie leaves you wondering.
  37. JonathanF.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    great, really great. tense. the ending kind of caught me off guard so i missed what was said.. it kind of had a bit of a lag before the great conclusion. other than that it was great.
  38. DMil
    Nov 11, 2007
    8
    The film making here is flawless. The performances, spot on! The locations were textured and retrospectively American. The film had a subversively liberal subtext which is a little cliche'. 2 problems for me were in it's general relevance and the (sorry) contrived story. By the end, I knew where it was headed and couldn't wait for it to be there. It will grow on me. Not the The film making here is flawless. The performances, spot on! The locations were textured and retrospectively American. The film had a subversively liberal subtext which is a little cliche'. 2 problems for me were in it's general relevance and the (sorry) contrived story. By the end, I knew where it was headed and couldn't wait for it to be there. It will grow on me. Not the subtext, but its wonderful ability to create tension through memorable images and twisted air blasts. Expand
  39. JackF.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Wow! Mesmerizing! Brilliant from the opening scene to the poignant and bleak conclusion. Unfortunately, a certain core of movie fans will stay home. This is a very violent film! There will be others that will leave the theater disappointed or bewildered with the conclusion. The Coen's were faithful to the Cormac McCarthy book. Any other ending ruins the basic premise: it's Wow! Mesmerizing! Brilliant from the opening scene to the poignant and bleak conclusion. Unfortunately, a certain core of movie fans will stay home. This is a very violent film! There will be others that will leave the theater disappointed or bewildered with the conclusion. The Coen's were faithful to the Cormac McCarthy book. Any other ending ruins the basic premise: it's about the way life was and the way life is. If I hadn't read the book I may feel like many of you. Expand
  40. NathanT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece that is every bit on the same level as the Coen Brother's "Fargo." It's a thrilling moral and ethical lesson disguised as a chase movie. Javier Berdam is mesmerizing as the villain, while Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are riveting as the good guy and the harder to define character, respectively. This is one of the few perfect movies I've ever seen and it A masterpiece that is every bit on the same level as the Coen Brother's "Fargo." It's a thrilling moral and ethical lesson disguised as a chase movie. Javier Berdam is mesmerizing as the villain, while Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are riveting as the good guy and the harder to define character, respectively. This is one of the few perfect movies I've ever seen and it already stands as one of the great theater-going experiences of my life. Expand
  41. JesseL
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    DWilly, the movie doesn't take place now, it takes place a little over twenty years ago. Pay closer attention. Awesome movie. Brilliant. People who say that the ending is unsatisfactory may have missed the point. It isn't about Moss, the money, or any of the other characters. It is about Tommy Lee Jones losing his faith in humanity and his belief in their being a point. Hence DWilly, the movie doesn't take place now, it takes place a little over twenty years ago. Pay closer attention. Awesome movie. Brilliant. People who say that the ending is unsatisfactory may have missed the point. It isn't about Moss, the money, or any of the other characters. It is about Tommy Lee Jones losing his faith in humanity and his belief in their being a point. Hence the name and the ending. Expand
  42. MarcusF.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Great movie, loved it, wonderful plot and well done story.
  43. Erak
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    It's basically Fargo in Texas, only infinately darker and containing one of the most frightening villains in film history. It's great to see the Coens back in form after years of lackluster output. Note to DWilly--though not stated in the film, the story takes place in 1980. It helps explain how Brolin and Harrelson are 'Nam vets and appear so young.
  44. nateb
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    DWilly, you are an idiot. Neither the film, nor the book on which it was based, is "contemporary." NCFOM is set in 1980. The references to Nam, along with countless other lines of dialogue and set pieces, are meant to clue you in to this. It's too bad you missed this, since it may have helped you to understand the entire fantastic film a bit better.
  45. nic-
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    best of all the coen's serious films
  46. JaredC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    No Country for Old Men is excitingly absorbing and grabs your attention with the main focus of this film played by the mysterious and frightening character being acted out by Javier Bardem as Anton Chigurh. It's also a very stunning visual with sustainable balanced violence and mild language, as well with its spine tingling paced length. Its 2 hrs of pure western-world acting, No Country for Old Men is excitingly absorbing and grabs your attention with the main focus of this film played by the mysterious and frightening character being acted out by Javier Bardem as Anton Chigurh. It's also a very stunning visual with sustainable balanced violence and mild language, as well with its spine tingling paced length. Its 2 hrs of pure western-world acting, escpecially played by Tommy Lee Jones. Although, it got kind of wonky when it shows scenes in the city but not in the wild west. The first time ever a film actually focuses on desperado crime. The Coen Brothers brings us something new to the big screen. Its something so extraordinary. Its the western masterpiece of 2007: No Country for Old Men. Hang on, its going to be an experience of your life. Just don't eat too much popcorn. It might ruin your appetite, and ruin the whole film. Expand
  47. JayK.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Just saw an advance screeing last night and all I can say is...well there aren't any words to say except what an incredible piece of film making. Javier Bardem is chilling (enough said!), Josh Brolin gives a great performance as a man trying to compete with forces beyond his control and Tommy Lee Jones gives humanity to a character that tries to do what is right against a scoiety Just saw an advance screeing last night and all I can say is...well there aren't any words to say except what an incredible piece of film making. Javier Bardem is chilling (enough said!), Josh Brolin gives a great performance as a man trying to compete with forces beyond his control and Tommy Lee Jones gives humanity to a character that tries to do what is right against a scoiety that has changed significantly. This could be the Coen's finest. Expand
  48. KaseyS.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Deftly points out that death is secondary to a life lived knowing one's futility.
  49. BrendanM.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    As the comments below indicate, this movie challenges the intelligence of its audience. Gainsayers don't realize how this movie doubles as a very localized cat-n-mouse thriller and as a universalizable morality tale, straight out of a tradition that dates to Chaucer and beyond. The allegorical nature of the tale helps to explain the confusion about dating, because of course the As the comments below indicate, this movie challenges the intelligence of its audience. Gainsayers don't realize how this movie doubles as a very localized cat-n-mouse thriller and as a universalizable morality tale, straight out of a tradition that dates to Chaucer and beyond. The allegorical nature of the tale helps to explain the confusion about dating, because of course the Vietnam references are also veiled allusions to Iraq. The movie succeeds at enriching its sparsity with maximum complexity, yet also resists easy interpretation and judgment about the depravity of our society and the capacity to fight evil. With its gestures towards an older morality tale tradition, its pos-vietnam placement, and its hints of contemporary life, the film critiques both human depravity and our tendency to see our society's decline as a merely contemporary problem. Expand
  50. BabakP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    I give the first 4/5 of the movie, a big10 and the last 1/5 a big 0. Also, It would've been better if tommy Lee jones's character didn't exist at all.
  51. AramisG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    I seldomly love the Coen brothers movies. I mean, they are good, but I didn't crave seeing them again. This one is different and I'm sorry, the ending is pretty good.
  52. AndyS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    One of the Cohen bros. best yet. The pace and action in the movie keeps you on your toes and the out there visuals can make you laugh at the most graphic violence you will witness in years. The ending is a bit of a cop out.
  53. NickAnno
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Joel and Ethan Coen created one of American cinema
  54. MikeA.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    A devasting film. Taut and intense
  55. RobG
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is excellent for those who aren't retarded and are able to listen to the dialogue. It's as if the best scene of a movie is stretched out for two hours--there's not one boring moment! And uh, it's not even that violent; that is, the violence is realistic and not over the top as in a Tarantino film.
  56. LydiaF.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Confusing beginning but very suspenseful and well acted.
  57. KevinB
    Nov 24, 2007
    7
    Yeah, it's basically "Fargo 2" without the humor but MUCH MORE suspenseful. Unfortunately it falls completely apart in the last 20 minutes. At the end you sit wondering what was the point of everything before. But that's Cormac McCarthy for you: write something in a specific genre, then make it not make sense and then it's not genre, "It's art!" The shocking part is Yeah, it's basically "Fargo 2" without the humor but MUCH MORE suspenseful. Unfortunately it falls completely apart in the last 20 minutes. At the end you sit wondering what was the point of everything before. But that's Cormac McCarthy for you: write something in a specific genre, then make it not make sense and then it's not genre, "It's art!" The shocking part is that the Coens fell for it. And don't get me started on some of the unintelligible Texas accents. Some scenes were incomprehensible because the actors talked like they had marbles in their mouths. Still it was extremely suspenseful, which makes it worthwhile. Expand
  58. jasperdelarge
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    waaaah! this movie makes me think! waaahhh! this movie has no 'ending'! waaaaahhh! why do i have to draw my own conclusions! waaaahhh! why don't they spell the point out for me in the epilogue?

    this is the best ****ing movie of 2007.
    no country for old men > eastern promises > american gangster > 3:10 to yuma
  59. BenG
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    First of all, the film is set in the early 1980s. There is nothing inconsistent about Moss being a Vietnam vet and so young, and there are no cell phones in the book or movie. You people aren't paying attention. Second, the book is meant to be a sober and somewhat defeated meditation on the violence of our society. I agree the ending deflates a bit from the hectic pace of the better First of all, the film is set in the early 1980s. There is nothing inconsistent about Moss being a Vietnam vet and so young, and there are no cell phones in the book or movie. You people aren't paying attention. Second, the book is meant to be a sober and somewhat defeated meditation on the violence of our society. I agree the ending deflates a bit from the hectic pace of the better part of the movie, but I appreciate what the Coen Bros and McCarthy are trying to do with their ending, which is mountains beyond what less talented writers - and Hollywood in general - might attempt. This movie is one of the strictest adaptations of a novel I have seen, which shows the reverence the Coen Bros have for McCarthy. Expand
  60. JackR
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    If you like classic gangster movies, such as Pulp Fiction, you're home.
  61. ChrisS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in years. Unbelievably intense and violent . Also, it is sometimes funny and thoughtful. Classic scene after classic scene will stay with you long after you leave the theatre.
  62. BenJ.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is surprising is how the Coens took what could have been adapted into a mess of a cat-and-mouse serial killer chase film and make it not only one of the The film opens with Tommy Lee Jones' been-around-the-block Sheriff Ed Tom Bell doing nothing less than explaining exactly what the film is about. Once the voice over story finishes, the movie gets going and never really lets up. What is surprising is how the Coens took what could have been adapted into a mess of a cat-and-mouse serial killer chase film and make it not only one of the best movies of the year, but one of the best in recent memory. How do they do this? Simply by treating the audience like adults. This taut, tense, genre-bending film lays out the story expertly defying as many traditional narrative structures as possible along the way. Every shot, every line of dialogue, every grunt and every sigh are packed with information. Each and every performance is wonderful, from Jones to Brolin to Bardem and everyone they encounter along the way. This is the Coen's masterpiece. Expand
  63. heflys
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    THis is an excellent fim that defies what one expects from general cinematography. Needles to say, it is a memorbable fim with excellent dialogue, detail, and general logic to the characters actions. To those calling it "A 2nd Fargo!", this movie is almost entirely based off a novel; adheres to said novel faithfuly.

    Just go see these film.
  64. Peter
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    I live in West Texas and I thought it captured the peculiar atmosphere perfect. Tommy Lee Jones was great and the movie definitely had some real humour. All in all a great film. Jill E saying she was a Cormac McCarthy fan but doesn't like violence with no point - have you ever read Blood Meridian? Which is also being filmed by Ridley Scott.
  65. C.B.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Bardem deserves the Oscar
  66. BillyS.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and go straight for the narrative jugular and made helplessness a way of life for anyone who even sees Anton Chigurh, the most ruthless cinema villian No Country For Old Men is a dark, emotionless, without-a-soul movie thats also one of the most gut-wrenching experiences I've ever had in a darkened theatre. The Coen's have cut all the quircky, funny characters and odd humor and go straight for the narrative jugular and made helplessness a way of life for anyone who even sees Anton Chigurh, the most ruthless cinema villian since Hannibal Lector. Javier Bardem now has his signature role. In playing evil incarnate, he will probably win an Oscar. Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are excellent but its Bardem that you can't get out of your head. No Country for Old Men is a major accomplishment for the already accomplished Coen Brothers, who both take a directors credit this time, and rightly so, they'll both deserve the Best Director Oscar for this one. Just one bit of advice- wear a warm heavy coat to see this one, it'll chill you to the bone! Expand
  67. KurtL.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Not since last years Babel and The Departed, have I been as entertained and mesmerized by film craft.
  68. SusanG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Run when you see Javier coming!!! This film had me on my seat almost the whole time. No second guessing the outcome either. Just a well developed morality and mortality tale.
  69. THATMOVIEGUY
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Great movie! I don't have anything else to say on this one.
  70. JasonM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    An absolute masterpiece. Probably both the most entertaining and the most captivating movie I've seen this year. Extremely heavy, very dramatic. There is no true score; the movie is all but bereft of music, and that serves to only further engage the audience. I had popcorn and a soda, and forgot that I even had them during the movie, so entranced was I.
  71. DanceE.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    Ignore trying to put this plot together. Let it take you to a deeper fear than any movie I can remember. Scary from the start all the way to it's unsatisfying conclusion.
  72. ToddB
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect some one in those positions. How would you deal with the events. you wouldn't have to because you'd be stupid enough to become one of For all you who say the the ending was a let down, you're immature and have never ,EVER had to make a real life decision and are incapable of an insightful cognitive thought process. think outside of yourself and how the events affect some one in those positions. How would you deal with the events. you wouldn't have to because you'd be stupid enough to become one of Antoine's victims. Expand
  73. GauravS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in the same vein as that of Fargo. I'm at a loss for words and a lack of vocabulary to describe how brilliant this film truly is. In its most If you are a fan of the Cohen Brothers, and you've enjoyed such films as Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, The Big Lebowski, then you're going to absolutely fall in love with this film. This is a black comedy murder mystery in the same vein as that of Fargo. I'm at a loss for words and a lack of vocabulary to describe how brilliant this film truly is. In its most reductive form, the summary of the film is as follows: A man stumbles upon some drug money and attempts to run away with it, only to realize that he is being followed by a lunatic murder of epic proportions, all of this happening under the watchful eyes of the local sheriff who is trying to piece together the whole story. This movie is very quiet, and this adds a level of unsettling disturbance that highlights the scenes of violence that are thrown into the mix. The epic landscape of West Texas, the brilliant acting of Tommy Lee Jones, who deserves an Oscar, along with this film, if it doesn't win Best picture this year I might weep. It is the subtleties of this film, and of the Cohen Brothers style, that truly makes this film magnificent. Their philosophy, show...don't tell. If you have any respect for me, or consider me a good friend, go see this film while it's in the theatres.I just watched it this afternoon and when the credits started to roll, my friend and I sat still for a good five minutes in silence and just soaked in the beauty of this film. Expand
  74. DanielB.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a 9--because how often do you want to see something *again*? Also--who knew Texas looked so barren but beautiful? I didn't. I kind of want to drive Entertained me. Was funny and horrible and I am not sure about the ending--not because I didn't like it but because it made me want to see it a second time so I can hear what is said again. Which is another reason why this gets a 9--because how often do you want to see something *again*? Also--who knew Texas looked so barren but beautiful? I didn't. I kind of want to drive through Texas, now. Lastly, Javier Bardem is awesome. Expand
  75. PJBos
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    How we are haunted by what think we should do and the temptations of greed and pride.
  76. GG
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This movie is going to be famous. Many posts here remind me a lot of the sorts of complaints my students have after I assign "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place." You have to think about this movie afterward, and the ride is great too. ("shall I ride [into the sunset]"?) It is the opposite of pointless. Susan said it well: it's "a well developed morality and mortality tale."
  77. MarkH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    A true classic. Best movie in years. It is true to the Cormac MacCarthy book and philosophy. It does not make compromises to the status quo. The choices that are presented are real. People need to watch this carefully and they will obtain important lessons and insight into evil and the human condition.
  78. JimE.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac McCarthy's novel), crackles with an intensity that sharpens and stimulates your senses and reminds you of how little most other films do with the Shot by shot, cut by cut, sequence by sequence, no movie this year (or any other year) was more grippingly, cinematically exhilarating than "No Country for Old Men." Joel and Ethan Coen's first literary adaptation (from Cormac McCarthy's novel), crackles with an intensity that sharpens and stimulates your senses and reminds you of how little most other films do with the essential expressive properties of the medium: light, color, sound, movement, language. Movies are as much about the orchestration as the composition, and the Coens have orchestrated and composed a masterpiece -- one that embodies what most movies only describe. A Western, a crime picture, a chase thriller, a ghost story (though not in the supernatural sense), "No Country" is the story of Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin), a man chasing a dream ($2 million in drug money he's found in a satchel); Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem), a messenger of death who's tracking down Moss for the money; and Sheriff Ed Tom Bell (Tommy Lee Jones), who's trailing both of them. Tension builds as the film progresses, even as the violence recedes. This isn't a movie about murder; it's about the awareness of inevitable death that stalks us all. Expand
  79. Karma
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and connects it with old information so that maybe you learn something. "Same thing should be said about movies." And to everyone who didn't like the Bozo: Your comment was the most stupid one i could find, and there were lots.. "I don't go through my day & at the end ask what was meant by that." ..That's strange. It's called dreaming, your brain sums up the day and connects it with old information so that maybe you learn something. "Same thing should be said about movies." And to everyone who didn't like the ending: Maybe you would have liked it better with a lord of the rings-voice who sums up everything in the end.. And they could play the song Lonesom Cowboy in the background. A movie does not need a hero to be a movie. In real life the good side does not allways win. Great movie. Love how the humor is not dark even when it's such a dark movie. Amazing how even the greatest evil seems human. Not often one gets treaten like an adult by the industry. Thank you Coen's Expand
  80. RY
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    One word....super good..i like the no score in the movie...it sets the moods in the movie more..
  81. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    Although I have never seen any other Coen brothers movie, I found this movie to be an interesting experience. There is a lot of hidden meaning here and you can talk about the ending for weeks. The movie is a bit slow paced but well worth it if you have patience. If you are into instant gratification, stay away.
  82. GregS.
    Dec 22, 2007
    7
    javier bardem is a good actor but the entire movie lacks a certain type of karmic energy this world so often holds.
  83. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way the Coens did it was amazing and honestly, just stop bein stupid and actually pay attention and you'll figure out the ending. Much better than Fargo andThis is the best movie I've seen all year...it is definitly the most culturally important in my mind, in analyzing the different generations. My dad read the book and said it wasn't completely faithful, but I think the way the Coens did it was amazing and honestly, just stop bein stupid and actually pay attention and you'll figure out the ending. Much better than Fargo and Blood Simple as the Coen Brothers' best film, and much better than Atonement (basically Titannic in England-stupid). Best film of the year. Expand
  84. brianbarnhart
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    To say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALL the actors (and I mean every one), and beautifully shot by the always amazing Roger Deakins and you have the recipe for a truly amazing and wonderfulTo say, as many have, that it's the Cohen's best since Fargo isn't doing it justice. It's a viscous funny thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in a crackling script, killer pace/editing, perfect performances from ALL the actors (and I mean every one), and beautifully shot by the always amazing Roger Deakins and you have the recipe for a truly amazing and wonderful film. One of the best films all year(s). Expand
  85. GetaClue
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Perfect movie!! Oh, and please ignore any comment from anyone who alludes to Josh Brolin not being old enough to be a Vietnam vet. If they missed the fact that the movie is set in the past, then they probably missed a whole lot more!
  86. JustinMc.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    ***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; Perfect Acting; Perfect Directing; Perfect Dialogue; Perfect Everything! See this movie ASAP! ======SPOILER====== I've read some reviews and the ***** - Right now, I can't say I can think of any movie I've ever seen that is definitely better than this one. This is one of those movies that stays with you for days after you see it. This is a Perfect Movie - Perfect Cast; Perfect Acting; Perfect Directing; Perfect Dialogue; Perfect Everything! See this movie ASAP! ======SPOILER====== I've read some reviews and the biggest complaint seems to be the ending. But personally, I loved the ending. It's like 'Five Easy Pieces' or 'The Conversation' - in order to understand the ending, you have to understand the characters. If you pay close attention to all the "slow scenes" in the movie where nothing's happening, just a lot of talking, you'll love and respect this movie for what it is. This isn't the kind of movie you can watch while talking on the phone or eating dinner. It's a thinking movie. Expand
  87. ChrisW.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Easily surpasses the high expectations one would take away from any review. Thought provoking, haunting,unforgettable, this movie is easily the best of the year, a shoe in for an Oscar under best picture catergory, and a possible candidate for AFI's next updated 100 films list.
  88. DW
    Dec 14, 2008
    8
    A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much of the ranting is about- makes sense. I wished that one plot closure had been shown. To show the other would have been gratuitous. If it logically made sense, it was in this movie. Anything that you expect to happen because of other action movies you have seen, probably will not. The reason why this element got hype reviews is because it is something a little bit different. Not perfect, but different. Expand
  89. PeterP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    People who think this movie is bad don't know what makes a movie good. This movie might not make you go home smiling but it will make you think. It doesn't follow the usual rules, neither does it go the predictable route, personally it was the first movie in years where halfway through I couldn
  90. EricC.
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the author's overpowering horror, dread, and beauty. It works as a horror movie, an action movie, and as an artistic statement. Hell, there's a I admit to being dissapointed when No Country won Best Picture. There Will Be Blood was easily the better film. But anyway, it's still a classic. The Coen brothers were able to adapt Cormac McCarthy to the big screen with out losing the author's overpowering horror, dread, and beauty. It works as a horror movie, an action movie, and as an artistic statement. Hell, there's a black comedy in there too if you look for it. But in the end, it's just a well made, well acted film. Nothing pretentious about it. Expand
  91. MattE
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive with everyone. But what's a little more unsettling, at least to me, is the perception a lot of people have that films have to have some kind of People who dislike this movie either seem to have tastes that haven't matured to post-modernism. I'm not saying people dislike this film, but it's very much a post-modern, anti-hero driven picture, and that doesn't jive with everyone. But what's a little more unsettling, at least to me, is the perception a lot of people have that films have to have some kind of inspirational message or higher purpose. This film was a treatise on the increasingly pervasive violence of modern society. It's ironic then, that so many people disliked the record for it's violence, considering that was kind of the point. Expand
  92. StevenD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Woke up two days in a row thinking about it. Really very well done. Thanks, Coens.
  93. NateG
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a Brilliant movie all in all for those who put in a little bit of thought. The reason this didn't appeal to the mainstream is because most people don't like having to think when they go to movies. They want to sit back and let their brain turn to mush. No Country For Old Men makes us figure it out, draw our own conclusions sometimes. This is a story about good and evil; a depressing one, but life isn't always pretty. Expand
  94. MichaelE.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    The best film of the year, much warmer and more meaningful than it's made out to be.
  95. BibliotechaS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Ok, this movie rocked. I missed the first 7 minutes of it (I came in on the aftermath of the drug-deal-gone-bad scene), but it didn't matter, because, being late to the movie made me be sucked in from the get-go, the moment I sat in my chair. This movie had all the FEEL of the 80s when the setting took place. People did wear their hair like that back then, even like Anton Chigur's (my dad's best friend from the 70s was an Indian who played guitar at Panchos in the deep south and had hair just like that). My old guitar teacher, Miles Lazore, had a bowl haircut just like Chigur's also, except he was sportin that doo in the 90s still; his favorite band was Deep Purple). Anyhow, this movie seemed so true to the book, every i dotted, every t crossed. The scenery in West Texas is cool too. I wanted this movie to go on and on without stopped, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. Hopefully there will be a sequel! This should win best picture on Oscars night. If not, then it's heresy. Expand
  96. KathleenK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    7
    Worth seeing, but not award winner in my book. Vintage Cohen Bros, decent acting.
  97. MikeS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    From a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, all I really care about is that the story and acting are good, and that all the other aspects really aren't noticeable, because, to me, only badFrom a critic's viewpoint, this is an amazing movie and worthy of best picture. From the average moviegoer's viewpoint, it wasn't really amazing. It was a really good movie, don't get me wrong. As an average moviegoer, all I really care about is that the story and acting are good, and that all the other aspects really aren't noticeable, because, to me, only bad stuff really is noticeable. Acting was amazing, and I didn't notice the other aspects, but the story felt incomplete, and, unless there's a sequel in the works, I still won't feel like the story's complete. Good film, really good film, Javier Bardem's portrayal of Chigurh (possibly misspelled) was easily this decade's version of Hannibal Lector, but the story felt incomplete. Expand
  98. MatthewT.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    A total work of art. Amazing performances brings this masterful screenplay to life. No talking animals, sunshine, or romance. Just a swift kick to your cinematic groin.
  99. GreggH.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is It's funny reading through these. Many of the comments from those who rated the film poorly demonstrate gross misunderstanding (or even gross inaccuracy) of the subtleties of the story and the film. This is a technically beautifully made film of a story for the ages. My only criticism is that the film wavered *too* far from the novel...it was quite close (and much of the dialogue is almost cut-and-paste) but there were some details that were skipped over which I thought made the story even richer (in the original novel). Overall, the movie is one of the most haunting (if not the most haunting) I have ever seen. It is a nightmare put to film. But I didn't find it depressing; I found it life-affirming and exhilarating. Injustice surrounds like air; there is no escape from death like there is no escape from Chigurh; yet we live and love like the Sheriff despite the futility. Expand
  100. Anonymous
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing film. Great cinematography, acting, plot, ect. I would see it again and again. "Yes, you did. You've been putting it up your whole life you just didn't know it. You know what date is on this coin?"
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.