Miramax Films | Release Date: November 9, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1483 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,131
Mixed:
168
Negative:
184
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MattC.Mar 16, 2008
This is a thinking man's film- the relationship between individuals in this movie and their motives are not spoon-fed to the viewer. Those willing to explore the themes and metaphors presented in No Country for Old Men will find this This is a thinking man's film- the relationship between individuals in this movie and their motives are not spoon-fed to the viewer. Those willing to explore the themes and metaphors presented in No Country for Old Men will find this film compelling. Additionally, Tommy Lee Jones' cliche role as a policeman in this movie is justified by his stellar performance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
elenakarpovaMar 18, 2008
I dont see what all these people are waving to..But we all should consider why oscar Committee gave it an oscar, which I think , Like everything in america jewish lobbie works a lot.Except its cinematic measures, the movie is a crap andI dont see what all these people are waving to..But we all should consider why oscar Committee gave it an oscar, which I think , Like everything in america jewish lobbie works a lot.Except its cinematic measures, the movie is a crap and actually does not deserve an Oscar.No one sane or non-jewish can say that it was a masterpiece. Coens in the past, did better movies to be nomited as masterpieces like Fargo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichardP.Mar 24, 2008
In Yeats' "Sailing to Byzantium" that opens with the line, "That is no country for old men," I am reminded of the fleeing antelope in one of the early scenes of the movie, and the last lines of Ed Tom Bell : "I seen he was carryin' In Yeats' "Sailing to Byzantium" that opens with the line, "That is no country for old men," I am reminded of the fleeing antelope in one of the early scenes of the movie, and the last lines of Ed Tom Bell : "I seen he was carryin' fire in a horn the way people used to do and I could see the horn from the light inside of it. 'Bout the color of the moon. And in the dream I knew that he was goin' on ahead and he was fixin' to make a fire somewhere out there in all that dark and all that cold, and I knew that whenever I got there he would be there. And then I woke up. " . . . echoing strangely in Yeats' poem: "O sages standing in God's holy fire As in the gold mosaic of a wall, Come from the holy fire, perne in a gyre, And be the singing-masters of my soul. Consume my heart away; sick with desire And fastened to a dying animal It knows not what it is; and gather me Into the artifice of eternity." . . . make of it what you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkusMar 2, 2008
I just saw the movie last night with a few friends. We got excited only to be dismayed. I don't know what the critics are raving about. Feeling sorry for the Coen Brothers is more like it perhaps??. The movie was exciting for a while I just saw the movie last night with a few friends. We got excited only to be dismayed. I don't know what the critics are raving about. Feeling sorry for the Coen Brothers is more like it perhaps??. The movie was exciting for a while albeit horrificly bloody for the masses but the ending put it in the "Crummy" category as one of the worst movies of the year. Hollywood, like our foreign policy these days, has gone blind in seeing through the muck. Save your mulla on this one. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CarolMar 28, 2008
I generally like the coen's work, try to get past the violence and nihilism. But, I just couldn't get past it on this one. The one redeeming point I took from the film is the poignancy of the overall message- along with age comes a I generally like the coen's work, try to get past the violence and nihilism. But, I just couldn't get past it on this one. The one redeeming point I took from the film is the poignancy of the overall message- along with age comes a realization and possibly acceptance of those things that you no longer understand and the liberation that comes iwth that realization. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackBMar 2, 2008
The first 90 minutes of this film had me on the edge of my seat. Then within 5 minutes and two scenes, everything that had been building up was ruined by an incredibly poor and ill constructed twist. After watching Broken Flowers, which also The first 90 minutes of this film had me on the edge of my seat. Then within 5 minutes and two scenes, everything that had been building up was ruined by an incredibly poor and ill constructed twist. After watching Broken Flowers, which also had no ending, i must say im becoming somewhat disillusioned by the film industry at this moment in time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TheBestMar 30, 2008
The movie was probably the worst i've seen, there was too little information on everything. There were times when some scenes they really didn't even need. The ending was horrible and the main guys death wasn't shown in the The movie was probably the worst i've seen, there was too little information on everything. There were times when some scenes they really didn't even need. The ending was horrible and the main guys death wasn't shown in the movie. You don't get to see what happened to the characters in the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeeC.Mar 30, 2008
This movie was one of the worst movies I have ever seen - I hated the ending and hated the multitude of "why's" left hanging at the end = why anybody would watch such abysmal drival is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AudreyC.Mar 3, 2008
When I spend my time watching cinema, I at best expect to see a complete and thought provoking piece of art. This work failed on both counts. The violence was for the most part pointless. Holes in the narrative dangled like nagging When I spend my time watching cinema, I at best expect to see a complete and thought provoking piece of art. This work failed on both counts. The violence was for the most part pointless. Holes in the narrative dangled like nagging prepositions. The nonending simply confirmed my firm conviction that I had wasted valuable time that could have been better spent EVEN IN A LAUNDROMAT!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidH.Mar 30, 2008
Disappointing. Although the movie is fast paced and beautifully filmed, it's nihilist message left me cold. I thought Kelly McDonald was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TSMar 6, 2008
I must admit I'm baffled by the critical success of this movie, and I'm generally a Coen Bros. fan. I just don't get it. I'll admit that the chase between Bardem and Brolin is exciting, but that's about it. Best I must admit I'm baffled by the critical success of this movie, and I'm generally a Coen Bros. fan. I just don't get it. I'll admit that the chase between Bardem and Brolin is exciting, but that's about it. Best Picture??! Somebody please explain the point of it all. Didn't resonate for me, and every time one of the characters (mostly Tommy Lee Jones) started off on an inteminable blah-blah-blah, I contemplated the wax in my ears and waited. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
aaronMar 7, 2008
this movie was the biggist piece of pointless dribble ive ever seen, somehow a mentaly challenged cowboy 4 no good reason returns 2 the seen of a shoot out in the middle of the night,2 give water2 a guy who was nearlydead 8 hours ealier, this movie was the biggist piece of pointless dribble ive ever seen, somehow a mentaly challenged cowboy 4 no good reason returns 2 the seen of a shoot out in the middle of the night,2 give water2 a guy who was nearlydead 8 hours ealier, gets away again then stays in town waiting 4 the killer,what the f--k. there was no real stoy and tommy lee jones seems 2 b there 2 dribble down his own shirt in some lame attempt at wisdom, myself and everyone i watched it with was just left baffeld at 2 what the piont of this film was, waist of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Marc.D.Mar 7, 2008
To cry foul at the plot...is to completely miss the point. A masterpiece. And deservedly so.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
norab.Mar 8, 2008
I am not one for violent movies - I get a gut-wrenching feeling that makes me tremble inside - and I trembled from the opening scene of this film. But I was mesmerized by the story line - I think Cormac McCarthy's story as the source I am not one for violent movies - I get a gut-wrenching feeling that makes me tremble inside - and I trembled from the opening scene of this film. But I was mesmerized by the story line - I think Cormac McCarthy's story as the source for the this amazing movie is as sharp and brilliant as the western landscape it takes place in. The Coen Brothers have made a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
TedT.Apr 13, 2008
What was all the hype about???? You must be kidding me. This was shot like something from the 70's. If thats what turned you on..then watch something from the 70's. I'm still scratching my head over why I heard so many people What was all the hype about???? You must be kidding me. This was shot like something from the 70's. If thats what turned you on..then watch something from the 70's. I'm still scratching my head over why I heard so many people say "best movie I've seen" are you serious? This was nothing more than...nothing. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
3
LeoM.Apr 13, 2008
Plodding display of meaningless violence. No redeeming qualities at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonathanK.Apr 18, 2008
This movie was terrible. It was nothing more than an anti-climatic clusterf*ck that does nothing more than waste 2 hours of your time to feed you some message that the world is a terrible place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LWeeksApr 25, 2008
I agree with Joseph S. and SK, how on earth did this movie get such rave reviews. It started out very entertaining, but by the end of the movie, I was ready to go to sleep. It seems as though they did not know how to end such a great I agree with Joseph S. and SK, how on earth did this movie get such rave reviews. It started out very entertaining, but by the end of the movie, I was ready to go to sleep. It seems as though they did not know how to end such a great beginning, so they just killed everyone off and said the heck with it. YUCK Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DevonC.Apr 26, 2008
No Country For Old Men Movie Review: In a nutshell. No Country For Old Men is definitely a hit classic, and is the Coen brother
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichelleApr 26, 2008
The movie had potential right up until you popped it into the dvd player. the story sounded good, execution sucked. You are left wondering why about too many things...Don't get me wrong I like movies that make you think and make you The movie had potential right up until you popped it into the dvd player. the story sounded good, execution sucked. You are left wondering why about too many things...Don't get me wrong I like movies that make you think and make you wonder but you need SOME details to why or else it's just pointless killing and it was so slow. I did not develop any feelings for any characters in the film so I really didn't care if they lived or died. And since when does a good movie let the bad guy get away and as much as I love Tommy Lee, I can't believe he would play a character that can be classified only as a quitter. Awful waste of 2 hours! The only reason I didn't give it a 0 is because, again, it had potential and it had Tommy Lee Jones in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LindaW.Apr 26, 2008
The ending ruined the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anonymousanonymousApr 27, 2008
This is a brilliant piece of cinematography and storytelling, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Apr 4, 2008
First of all this is one of the greatest movies ever made and not because of the brilliant acting, direction, perfectly adapted screenplay, brilliant cinematagraphy but the dark realism that most people don't want to accept so they shun First of all this is one of the greatest movies ever made and not because of the brilliant acting, direction, perfectly adapted screenplay, brilliant cinematagraphy but the dark realism that most people don't want to accept so they shun it for being Real. I'm sick and tired of people bitching about the ending or the fact that Brolin's demise isn't shown because read the damn book. There weren't many loose ends neither people just don't want to think about them and the ending is perfectly interrelated with the entire movie and he finally woke up to the fact that things don't turn out the way they are expected; Good guys lose, Bad guys win. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DavidStoneApr 6, 2008
Despite excellent cinematography and a strong cast, the film's plot meanders to a very unsatisfying end. While it's understood that Good doesn't always triumphant over Evil, the requisite show down between Llewelyn Moss (JoshDespite excellent cinematography and a strong cast, the film's plot meanders to a very unsatisfying end. While it's understood that Good doesn't always triumphant over Evil, the requisite show down between Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) and Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem) doesn't happen. Failing that, you would have expected a showdown between Chigurh and Sheriff Bell (Tommy Lee Jones). Again this doesn't happen. What about Woody Harrelson's early, pathetic exit? I guess the Coen Brothers wanted to break the Hollywood Movie stereotype. For me, this existential ending simply didn't work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrederickM.Apr 9, 2008
to tell you the truth i was not expecting to much heading into the theatre to see no country, but as i walked i wanted to tell everyone to go see this movie, i was not priorly influenced by the critics because my cuzzin let me see an to tell you the truth i was not expecting to much heading into the theatre to see no country, but as i walked i wanted to tell everyone to go see this movie, i was not priorly influenced by the critics because my cuzzin let me see an advanced screening in his theatre about 2 weeks prior to the films release. after 2 weeks i was still lovin and saw that the critics loved, i should be one, this is the most perfect movie i have ever seen it kept me at the edge of my seat until the very end!! thank you thank you!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WesM.Jun 15, 2008
Great filmmaking. Stupid message that appeals to bitter old people. The world isn't going to hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
This was a good chase movie until a dramatic shift marred the last third or so. The "ending"--if one can even call it that--was one of the worst I've ever seen. The emperor's-new-clothes crowd like to mock you as a simpleton if you This was a good chase movie until a dramatic shift marred the last third or so. The "ending"--if one can even call it that--was one of the worst I've ever seen. The emperor's-new-clothes crowd like to mock you as a simpleton if you don't appreciate how "deep and thought-provoking" the ending is--all the while failing to say what makes it so deep or thought-provoking. Non-elitists know better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulS.Jul 10, 2008
Really slow, a bit unrealistic, could have been shorter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebHSep 30, 2008
It seems that a lot of people really don't get this movie - do American audiences honestly want to turn up to a movie that's all hokey, corny action, catchphrases and OTT melodrama? the whole point of this film is that we It seems that a lot of people really don't get this movie - do American audiences honestly want to turn up to a movie that's all hokey, corny action, catchphrases and OTT melodrama? the whole point of this film is that we don't have a protagonist to root for - can people not understand that it's not a totally classic storyline, or is that too much for you to handle? it all makes sense if you think about it - it might be abstract in parts, such as when the sheriff sees Chigurgh in the motel room (I believe it's his mind's projection of what he believes will be behind the door), but the plot makes perfect sense and has quite a powerful message, the most potent being the fact that Chigurgh is the only one still alive and fighting by the end of the film. I think that the lack of a protagonist makes it easier to look at all the characters as mere human beings - it's total realism as there are some parts where we even see Chigurgh's vulnerability, but also the flaws of Llewellyn. It's an exercise in harsh realism, not idealism, which is a rare thing in modern films. And yes, the plot may be confusing, but a confusing film is usually far more brain-engaging and fascinating than a clear-cut, black-and-white movie that requires no insight (i.e. the crap we usually get from Hollywood these days). It might not appeal to the lowest demographics, as it does require a brain to be appreciated, but it really is a stunning movie that contrasts the gruesome and tense with the prophetic, 'dull' if you like, insightful. Excellent film, still one of my favourites. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NC.Sep 30, 2008
Well said Seb H... I really pity the user reviews that declare that 'most people say they like it b/c they don't get it so it must be intelligent and so they pretend it's good'. LOL... Dude, grow up... read a bit. Or shut Well said Seb H... I really pity the user reviews that declare that 'most people say they like it b/c they don't get it so it must be intelligent and so they pretend it's good'. LOL... Dude, grow up... read a bit. Or shut up and steer clear of art - it's clearly WELL over your head. People who are smart or who have studied and understand the language of film (much like the language and rhythm of life), like myself, enjoy and appreciate the movie BECAUSE we are intelligent enough to get it - and love it (It is my top 2 favourite films of all time with Taxi Driver). There is no pretending going on my sad friend. That is a 'truth' that exists only in your mind (if it qualifies to be labelled as such).. The ending is indisputably one of the greatest endings in film history (I wept... but then, I got it, I listened to what he was saying, and I have lived a life both in personal experience and in worldliness, that allows me to understand precisely what is being said)...... and there is absolutely NO confusion WHATSOEVER with working out a/ what happened to Llewellyn (RIP) who Chigurh does not kill at all b/ what happens to the money (the money is a macguffin you idiots, it is NOT relevant and is taken back half way thru the film... HE HAS IT ALREADY morons (and from Woody NOT Llewellyn). His pursuit is a matter of principal, not of profit) c/ whether llewellyn's wife is or is not toast at the end?.... there is NO ambiguity... None whatsoever. The point is, she dies a hero, with courage, because she utters the most beguiling line of the movie b4 she meets her maker: "There's no coin mister - there's only you." Brilliant. Sums up so much... and is the most courageous line and act in the movie. She never calls the coin. With all the tough talk and bombast flying around, she is the toughest character in the film. No, the real problem is that originality, intelligence, poetry, thematics and the magic of life, the spaces inbetween the space between, have passed you and your lives and minds by..... so, I am afraid it's true, if you don't like this movie because you claim that it is confusiong, has a bad ending, does not make sense or is in need of concluding further..... rather than, say, criticise it for being too cynical, cathartic, scary or violent, which you COULD do..... then you are simply WRONG. This is not a matter of opinion. The average critic is smarter and more intuitive with film than the average user... Fact. That's how they became critics... get it? Hence the average review of this film, as it is so brilliant, being lower with users than with the critics. Can you work that one out chumps? Honestly, you should be embarrassed that you felt so self-consious on a sub-conscious level in not enjoying the film that you had to post a bad review to save your pride. Somewhat hilarious, but deeply embarrassing for each of you....as you ironically, in doing so, demonstrate you missed the movie's narrative, charcterisation and thematics almost entirely. "In need of a sequel"!!?? I truly, honestly pity you. Chigurh wins becasue he is not weighed down with little things like decency, compassion, empathy and so forth.... which is one of the points of the movie. If you want to benefit quickly from other's demise and troubles (get the politic allegory now), you won't get away with it and get to have your cake and eat it too and simultaneously be in the right and covered in glory. You will be pursued... and by an enemy you don't understand or relate to.... and if you stay true to being good, to yourself, if you display fanciful things like 'courage' or 'bombast' (llewellyn is tracked ONLY b/c he returns to the scene with water for someone who has already died - get it?), this enemy will mercilesly send you and everyone you love to hell. And they will not be punished by karma, they will just walk, or in this case limp, off into the sunset. There's a starting point for you... think poetically when you watch this film, not literally... and see what is on screen, not what you expect to be. Good luck. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JoeA.Sep 5, 2008
Possibly the worst ending to a movie ever. One user compared it to winning the lottery only to find out it was a joke, a perfect analogy. I would have given this movie a 10 rating if it had an ending!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KNobSep 9, 2008
This movie started with an improbable story line that led no where. This was a total waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnW.Jan 17, 2009
It was an amazing movie. I had to watch it at least 5 times before I truly understood it, but than again I never read the book. It skews the lines that distinguish the token 'good guy' and 'bad guy,' which is my favorite It was an amazing movie. I had to watch it at least 5 times before I truly understood it, but than again I never read the book. It skews the lines that distinguish the token 'good guy' and 'bad guy,' which is my favorite part of all. And the fact that in the end, the 'protagonist' does, the 'bad guy' lives and the real 'good guy' doesn't have a clue just leaves realizing that this is quite a peice of work. I would have given it a 10, but I feel it was a little bit confusing.. But than againthat may be a good thing, causing me to watch it many times and really dissecting it. Cormack McCarthy is a literary genius. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceP.Jan 6, 2009
No Country For Old Men was the best picture of 2008 -- without a doubt. Criticized by some for its graphic violence, the movie in fact had a mere few moments of blood and guts. And the violence was more psychological than it was graphic. No Country For Old Men was the best picture of 2008 -- without a doubt. Criticized by some for its graphic violence, the movie in fact had a mere few moments of blood and guts. And the violence was more psychological than it was graphic. Having read the book, I was amazed at how close the script stayed to the book. With the exception of Bell's war careerm it was pretty much all there. The aspect of the movie that struck me most was that in discussing it with literary people, it was discussed as if it were in fact a book, not a movie. When discussing it with those of a lesser literary bent, it was discussed simply as a drug/crime movie. As for that latter perception, it's not even close. Drugs and money were incidental -- a vehicle on which to place the themes of fate, change, acceptance, time, and place. And while some talk of good and evil in No Country For Old Men, it played no role at all. In fact Anton showed no evil in his character or actions. He lacked good and evil in equal proportions. Of all the charactors in the movie, he was perhaps the most sane in that he had his principles and beliefs and stuck by them. His integrity was intact at the end of the movie. One could go so far as to say Anton show as much compassion in the movie as did Bell. Several times he removed himself from the equation to allow the coin to decide -- it was the best he could do. My point in writing this simple review is to refute much of what I've seen concerning Anton. Much in the same way as I've written to defend Shylock as a victim in The Merchant of Venice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GARYA.Feb 21, 2009
Obscure, but without depth.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobbieB.Feb 2, 2009
Breathtaking! I loved this movie, almost every single thing about it! I disliked the ending, feeling it was a bit anti-climatic, but not one preformance is bad in this film. Every now-and-then a film comes alog and changes the way we think Breathtaking! I loved this movie, almost every single thing about it! I disliked the ending, feeling it was a bit anti-climatic, but not one preformance is bad in this film. Every now-and-then a film comes alog and changes the way we think of everything, this IS that one! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AnonymousMCFeb 3, 2009
Probably the most overrated film of the year. I'm not gonna be harsh like G cash but I also won't defend the movie. I was bored for most of the film. As well, the ending left things out that needed to be resolved, questions thatProbably the most overrated film of the year. I'm not gonna be harsh like G cash but I also won't defend the movie. I was bored for most of the film. As well, the ending left things out that needed to be resolved, questions that remained unanswered. I was at no time entertained during the film, even with some fantastic acting by Javier Bardem and Tommy Lee Jones. I really wanted to like this movie...but I didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Mar 8, 2009
Possibly one of the best films ever made. It's rare that a picture is created with so much philosophical depth and intrigue, yet manages to be so unbelievably entertaining. The Coen Brothers continue to impress the film making industry Possibly one of the best films ever made. It's rare that a picture is created with so much philosophical depth and intrigue, yet manages to be so unbelievably entertaining. The Coen Brothers continue to impress the film making industry with their bleak, ingeniously constructed tales; No Country for Old Men only boosts their repertoire. As the final shot abruptly cuts to slow credits, I sat, and I thought. Even when I finally left the theater, the movie just wouldn't leave my mind. It's so deep, so interesting, and so tense. It really just makes you think. How many movies do that nowadays? With all the mindless crap out there, it's refreshing to see a film that will make you really stop and wonder. As great as No Country is, one is able to see its brilliance at its pinnacle after the film is over. A true masterpiece, and completely deserving of its Oscars. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesV.Mar 8, 2009
Outstanding film. Reminded me of Apocalypse Now in a broader sense that in the heart of many men lies darkness, with a key difference being that in AN we get a glimpse of Col. Kurtz's inner being while in NCFOM Chigurh's character Outstanding film. Reminded me of Apocalypse Now in a broader sense that in the heart of many men lies darkness, with a key difference being that in AN we get a glimpse of Col. Kurtz's inner being while in NCFOM Chigurh's character is opaque and impenetrable. Another parallel to AN is that evil infects all of the characters to some degree -- Moss is undone by his own greed for trying to keep the money instead of turning it in; Chigurh is a psychopath who cannot feel anyone's pain and not even his own; even the good 'ol Sheriff Bell is called out for vanity and retires just when duty calls. Many people complain about ambiguity in the plot, but that is by design; in real life, Good and Evil are rarely so black and white and at times fate and circumstance interfere with justice. The cinematography, the acting and the dialogue are all top drawer. Kept me on the edge of my seat the entire film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SteveJun 30, 2009
I just don't get it. Really i don't. The praise that this film got just baffles more and more i watch this film. Yes i have watched this more than once because like i said i just don't get it. I wanted to but i mean ....I just don't get it. Really i don't. The praise that this film got just baffles more and more i watch this film. Yes i have watched this more than once because like i said i just don't get it. I wanted to but i mean ....
For starters this is porbably one of the best acted and directed films in recent times. Some of the action and suspense parts are genius. But that's it, the movie is crippled with a ridiculous plot that just never goes anywhere. The main characters were completely dull and unfulfilling, as was the story, the plot progression, the ending. Some of the scenes were just completely void of sense.

The worst example was the whole motel, hiding the briefcase incident. My god what on earth was that 10 minutes all about? he messes about, hides a briefcase in an air vent adjacent to the next room, and prepares with others means for an intrusion. NOTHING happens with this, it was the most pointless and iratating scene in movie history.
Don't get me wrong i like movies with subtlety, i like movies that make you think about their meanings. Hell i mainly watch japanese movies and anime which are horrible for people that don't like figuring out things for themselves. But this movie was just complete nonsense. A well produced and atmospheric film with absolutely no substance what so ever.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DallinPJul 13, 2009
A movie with no real characters, no closure, and just a little plot. The only thing that separates this fil from other dumb action films like shoot 'em up is shoot 'em up has enough action to keep you entertained solidly for two hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MSJul 2, 2009
After what seemed to be a somewhat interesting cat and mouse movie hits a nice brick wall and I don't just mean the ending as some people did not understand. Plot: A serial killer trying to get back 2 mil in drug money. Money, killer, After what seemed to be a somewhat interesting cat and mouse movie hits a nice brick wall and I don't just mean the ending as some people did not understand. Plot: A serial killer trying to get back 2 mil in drug money. Money, killer, southwest USA - not much to understand and definitely not something you haven't seen before in a nice made for TV movie. But besides that point, to remind you that Javier Bardem who is a good actor and a decent serial killer in this movie, won best supporting actor at the Academy's for literally walking around and into different hotel rooms and killing random people who we don't care about. Oh, ok - occasionally he would give some psychotic speech that a smart serial killer should do in these kind of movies, ya know, the speeches that try to justify why he's killing people. So here's a scene about an hour and a half into the movie (spoilers): A woman is seen trying to get moss to have a couple of beers with her. 30 seconds later, Sheriff Bell finds him in a puddle of blood. Oh, that's nice, just show the killer kill all the pointless human beings in the movie, but when it comes down to one of the main characters, just show him that he's dead. Then, the remainder (15 minutes or so) of the movie is of this Tommy Lee Jones cop character who all we know is a cop up to this point. This guy was only seen in about 3 or 4 scenes prior to this point and we are supposed to care about the fact that he cannot go out and catch this killer because he is to old. Oh he had 2 dreams that basically told him his "reality." Give me a break. Oh wait - we have to like this movie because there's symbolism because if movies have symbolism we have to love them and give them awards. "It's free will and chance that the killer goes around and kills people. It's morality, it's deep, it's dark, it's meaningful." Really? So in every other movie that you see that a guy kills somebody, you can't apply THESE SAME THEMES of free will and chance? Take some advice here, if you want symbolism, read a John Steinbeck book. If you want symbolism and murder, read Watchmen. At least it has a point and more than enough symbolism. I really do not like much of the Coen Brothers' movies, especially Fargo. Watching No Country for Old Men makes me even hate Fargo even more. The Coen Brothers want to portray how Tommy Lee Jones is too old to go out and catch this killer but in Fargo, a 7 month pregnant woman can shoot down a psycopath in a snowy day in North Dakota. Go figure out that logic. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
mohammediAug 10, 2009
Film projection on the harsh reality faced by the world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
VerminDSep 5, 2009
If you think reality TV is cool (every emotion vocalised, contrived confrontation in everything, no use for self respect/restraint), then this movie probably isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
denimbJun 18, 2010
90% of the movie was fantastic, but the end is so bad(it has no happy end).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexP.Nov 11, 2007
This movie is in huge danger of being over-praised. It is an expertly made crime-gone-wrong western, but it is not a masterpiece and I'm not sure it's even great. The movie (and this probably issues from the book) seeks to be more This movie is in huge danger of being over-praised. It is an expertly made crime-gone-wrong western, but it is not a masterpiece and I'm not sure it's even great. The movie (and this probably issues from the book) seeks to be more than a genre story. About 70 minutes in, it starts to become an existential fable about how Death waits on the other side of the door for us all. And though it starts with thrilling efficiency, it finishes with needless scenes and dubious monologues about dreams, fathers, and the hazards of police work. Josh Brolin is tremendous but when he disappears, the momentum peters out. Great movies have great endings. This movie does not finish so wonderfullyl. Critics will admire it; audiences will be puzzled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WWNov 12, 2007
It's the kind of film that simultaneously entertains, then prods the viewer and pushes him until it hurts. But it is not devoid of purpose. Many will miss the expansive call of this film because they are symbolically wrapped up tightly It's the kind of film that simultaneously entertains, then prods the viewer and pushes him until it hurts. But it is not devoid of purpose. Many will miss the expansive call of this film because they are symbolically wrapped up tightly within the film. Many will scratch their head and wish for a happy, nicely packaged ending. But this is a film for those who don't need spoon fed morals and dumbed down endings. This is a film to awaken and warn us; to encourage and yet haunt us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeK.Nov 12, 2007
The Coens are back in top form with this one, their best since Fargo, if not their best ever. Brilliant dialogue and excellent performances throughout (especially Bardem's villain, who's incredibly creepy). And to DWilly, who said The Coens are back in top form with this one, their best since Fargo, if not their best ever. Brilliant dialogue and excellent performances throughout (especially Bardem's villain, who's incredibly creepy). And to DWilly, who said Josh Brolin's character would have been in combat at age five: the movie is set in 1980 (watch the scene with the coin-flip in the gas station again), so assuming Brolin's character is around 40 years old, he would have been around 25 in 1965, more than old enough to serve in Vietnam. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NormD.Nov 14, 2007
More proof of the cluelessness of critics. Film takes one idea and beats it to death- sorry for the pun. Audience with me was sorely disaappointed-- booing at end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OtmS.Nov 15, 2007
Gratifies expectations by defying them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LulzyNov 16, 2007
Chicago Reader Jonathan Rosenbaum A very well-made genre exercise, but I can
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobertI.Nov 17, 2007
Highly overrated. Substitutes smartass wisecracks for dialogue that might cause authentic frisson. Tommy Lee Jones cracks his role open like a golden egg, with hard-bitten stoicism as wizened as his face. Otherwise, what a disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerK.Nov 18, 2007
Excellent thriller. Very stripped-down, not sensationalized or predictable. One of the best villains to hit the big screen since Hannibal Lecter
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FilmfanNov 18, 2007
The film is absorbing, well paced and well acted. The hip ironic dialogue is entertaining, but the film is propped up too much by Tarantino type blood humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertL.Nov 18, 2007
Riveting and simply sensational. Pulls you in like a vaccuum and does not let go. Not only does Javier Bardem create the greatest screen terror since Hannibal Lecter, his performance results in the most suspenseful and electric experience Riveting and simply sensational. Pulls you in like a vaccuum and does not let go. Not only does Javier Bardem create the greatest screen terror since Hannibal Lecter, his performance results in the most suspenseful and electric experience I've had at the theaters in years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DougR.Nov 19, 2007
would have scored it much higher, but for the ending... i won't spoil it here, but thought it was ridiculous in the extreme... a really terrific movie, right up to the point where it chooses to become a truly lousy one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JillE.Nov 22, 2007
I hated this movie and I am a Cormac McCarthy fan! A better title would have been Two Weeks in the Life of a Psychopath. Great cast but extremely violent with no point that I could see. Hope to get it out of my mind soon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillCNov 22, 2007
With all the great reviews this film has gotten I was anxious to see it. While watching it I couldn't get the thought out of my mind that this film was a lot like FARGO. Change the location from Minnesota to Texas and presto. It's With all the great reviews this film has gotten I was anxious to see it. While watching it I couldn't get the thought out of my mind that this film was a lot like FARGO. Change the location from Minnesota to Texas and presto. It's paced well and filmed beautifully. Fargo is the better picture IMO , but this film was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaSanchezNov 22, 2007
Best movie I've seen in the 2000s. I say the ending was the way it was because, There Will Be a Sequel. Camera work perfect. I love the western Hills Have Eyes feel, and backdrop. The two old couples sitting in front of me dressed in Best movie I've seen in the 2000s. I say the ending was the way it was because, There Will Be a Sequel. Camera work perfect. I love the western Hills Have Eyes feel, and backdrop. The two old couples sitting in front of me dressed in tuxes, jumped about a mile and a half out of their seats toward the end of the movie. I've Never seen old people move so fast. I thought that they would die of cardiac arrest right on the spot in front of me they were so spooked. My chair was rattled by the younguns behind me too. I'm the only one that didn't move, because, well, I've got nerves of steel, and in my job in real life I deal with extreme stress. Nothing phases me. All in all, GREAT movie! I liked the way I felt when leaving the movie. I liked the music while walking out of the theatre. I somehow felt like the murder was not all bad of a guy who lived by his principles, lived in his Own reality, and was just trying to seek the truth in others. Sure he was pure evil, but people straightened up and thought Real hard about their answers when talking to him, maybe because they sensed that he was a volatile man and dangerous. Kind of reminds me of Brad Pitt in Kalifornia. 4 out of 4. Excellent movie that puts you right in it, as if you're there. Not like Children of Men (hated it). Better. Plus that former Goonie James Brolin is a great actor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MicheleC.Nov 22, 2007
This was the most boring movie I have ever viewed -- a total waste of money -- which is saying a lot, because I have seen some really bad flicks. I started to walk out -- I noticed four people did just that -- but felt I should give the film This was the most boring movie I have ever viewed -- a total waste of money -- which is saying a lot, because I have seen some really bad flicks. I started to walk out -- I noticed four people did just that -- but felt I should give the film a chance. It started flat; it ended flat. I couldn't wait to get home and express my disappointment here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShameM.Nov 22, 2007
Those that give this movie a bad review should stick with the summer blockbusters. Not every movie has to follow the same tired formula to be good. This movie breaks the mold and actually makes you think, God forbid. Simply brilliant!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobertH.Nov 22, 2007
A well-made but essentially boring movie. i wasted my time. The Coen brothers still can't top Fargo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MG.Nov 24, 2007
Do yourself a favor and don't trust the hype. While some of the scenes are great and oddly humorous, the movie is horrendously long and unsatisfying and in the end. In fact, it doesn't "end", it just stops, and most frustratingly Do yourself a favor and don't trust the hype. While some of the scenes are great and oddly humorous, the movie is horrendously long and unsatisfying and in the end. In fact, it doesn't "end", it just stops, and most frustratingly so. None of the storylines are concluded, none of the issues resolved. The main character is killed OFF CAMERA about 20 minutes before the movie's over, which turns that time into a meandering, unfocused and pointless mess. And let's not forget the scene before the credits roll, which is just about as necessary as herpes... or ebola. Those are two hours and 27 minutes I won't ever get back, in addition to the $8.75 I spent on it. I want my money, and more importantly, my time back. I feel robbed. And cheated. I fail to see the genius in it. It was just a self-congratulatory and massively dissatisfying movie experience, which doesn't have much to do with genius and a lot to do with hackness. My prediction: it'll tank at the box office, and for good reason. It's long, it's pointless, and it's poorly executed. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Nov 24, 2007
I see about 100 movies a year in the theater and this was my most anticipated film of 2007 since I read all the film festival praise. " No Coubtry For Old Men" is an instant classic and it works on several levels depending on how much I see about 100 movies a year in the theater and this was my most anticipated film of 2007 since I read all the film festival praise. " No Coubtry For Old Men" is an instant classic and it works on several levels depending on how much thought one wishes to invest. The characters, dialogue, photography, mood, pacing, acting and tone are all essential ingredients in the film's abilty to entertain and enlighten. So much so that " No Country For Old Men" is likely to be the best film of the year. It must be seen as soon as possible by everyone reading these words. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherW.Nov 24, 2007
Excellent cast, sharp dialogue, deadly good cinematic touches, and fascinatingly morose murders and near murders by a villian as evil as they come...undone a bit by a rather languid pace, some undercooked character motivations, and an Excellent cast, sharp dialogue, deadly good cinematic touches, and fascinatingly morose murders and near murders by a villian as evil as they come...undone a bit by a rather languid pace, some undercooked character motivations, and an instantly controversial ending that just sort of arrives without a truly cohesive resolution. It's unconventional to be sure, but the Coen Brothers live for this kind of stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisP.Nov 25, 2007
empty. an empty movie. not a single note of score throughout the entire movie, which I guess is an artsy way for the Coen bro to portray the stark emptiness and violence of a disillusioned American landscape. the point of the whole movie as empty. an empty movie. not a single note of score throughout the entire movie, which I guess is an artsy way for the Coen bro to portray the stark emptiness and violence of a disillusioned American landscape. the point of the whole movie as i took it is that we are a violent nation, we were founded in violence, and always will be violent. it isn't any better or worse off than it was in the good ole days, the days that many pine for as being a better time to live....no so, says the coens. we've always been homicidal maniacs. so if thats the lesson you want driven home, go see this movie. great villain, no question, but overall i was just expecting the movie to pick-up or GO somewhere...which it never does. (spoiler alert) and how the hell can you as directors let the audience miss out on a scene where your main character gets offed?! you can't cheat us out like that. no conclusion in the end, the movie just ended in a frustrating fade to black alla sopranos. i realize this is a movie for a more intuned thinking audience but i got just as much thought provoked out of beowulf, and THAT was immensely more entertaining! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LesleyW.Nov 25, 2007
An enthralling, well-crafted, suspenseful movie. I couldn't wait to see what happened next. Javier Bardem is an imposing villain. Amazing directorial nuances. I loved it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AANov 25, 2007
The best and most-superbly haunting movie I've ever seen. Brilliant for what it depicts in stark gruesome detail and equally so for what it leaves to the imagination. Brief moments of dry wit, perfectly timed. A cat and mouse game that The best and most-superbly haunting movie I've ever seen. Brilliant for what it depicts in stark gruesome detail and equally so for what it leaves to the imagination. Brief moments of dry wit, perfectly timed. A cat and mouse game that churned my stomach so that I wanted to turn away... but couldn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HerbertN.Nov 27, 2007
maybe i'm becoming a softy in my old age, but there was just something so unrelentingly nihilistic about this film that kept me from giving it a higher score. that said, this may be one of the most brilliantly realized and deftly maybe i'm becoming a softy in my old age, but there was just something so unrelentingly nihilistic about this film that kept me from giving it a higher score. that said, this may be one of the most brilliantly realized and deftly crafted films from the coen brothers (and that's no small feat). worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanM.P-diddyNov 28, 2007
This debate is truly fascinating, the way that the praise is clearly separated from the "criticism." On the one hand, those of us who love this movie clearly don't have a problem violence, especially violence that is so morally and This debate is truly fascinating, the way that the praise is clearly separated from the "criticism." On the one hand, those of us who love this movie clearly don't have a problem violence, especially violence that is so morally and thoughtfully infused. Perhaps we're sick--perhaps I'm sick (I'll entertain the notion)--but I found the amount and nature of the violence powerful yet palatable. Those who condemn the movie might have accidentally missed the entrance for "Enchanted" or "Fred Claus." The other distinction to be made is that most of the praise tends to be eloquent, intelligent, and knowledgeable, whereas the so-called criticism is almost invariably shallow, vapid, and practically illiterate. I know that I sound like an elitist, but please, if you are going to condemn such well-wrought, meticulously crafted art, please check your spelling and your grammar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesC.Nov 20, 2007
Somebody has on no clothes and it ain't me. A groan inducing film that has lines only a writer who has not left his house in 20 years could write. Cliche after cliche are hurled at us expecting us to think it's brilliant writing . Somebody has on no clothes and it ain't me. A groan inducing film that has lines only a writer who has not left his house in 20 years could write. Cliche after cliche are hurled at us expecting us to think it's brilliant writing . Don't be fooled by the critical repsonse. Ask yourself when you leave the theater, "Would I tell someone to go see this?" The answer should be no , and don't be afraid that people may think you don't know a good film from a bad one. This is what they call a bad one. The 2 stars are for the worst haircut ever in a film worn by Bardeem. Gobble Gobble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarldaddyC.Nov 30, 2007
The cinemtography in this movie was good stuff. So good I think I crapped mi pantelones...The movies symbolism was amazing..I highly recommend it. ..(pooping noises silently sounding)But if you go wear a diaper.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BenBNov 30, 2007
Not a bad movie by any standards, but one of the worst movie disappointments that I have ever seen. A fairly taut, well-written thriller, the movie is a little too ponderous at times, stretching for a greatness that is not quite there. The Not a bad movie by any standards, but one of the worst movie disappointments that I have ever seen. A fairly taut, well-written thriller, the movie is a little too ponderous at times, stretching for a greatness that is not quite there. The Coens made the most ambitious movie possible with this story, that generally comes off well. However, this moves a bit too slow, and the plot is a little too unoriginal. I think the reason this movie deserves a 7 is Cormac McCarthy's source novel, which simply doesn't deserve any hype, and having the Coen brothers adapt a movie from this script is like asking a 4-star restaturant to do the best they can with a McDonald's recipe. Watchable, but nothing that special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaR.Nov 30, 2007
Best movie i've seen in years. if you have yet to see it, note the themes of duality, two sides of a coin, and fate. the coens are back!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Nov 7, 2007
The best film of 2007.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMNov 9, 2007
Brilliant film with an abrupt, unsatisfactory conclusion. Outstanding performances for all involved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ProgGrrlNov 9, 2007
A fantastic film. See it twice. Incredible artistry at work on all levels.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewT.Dec 1, 2007
Entertaining with intense characters and scenes. However, I found the ending emotionally unsatisfying. And a movie like this has to work on an emotional level to be truly great. So only a 8, despite the critic's raves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinSDec 16, 2007
I guess Matt B needs to be spoon fed his explanations in a generic doses of generic, in-your-face, make-sure-everything-is-wapped-up-in-a-tightly-wound-package-because-the-audience-can-only-be-entertained-and-never-enlightened kind of I guess Matt B needs to be spoon fed his explanations in a generic doses of generic, in-your-face, make-sure-everything-is-wapped-up-in-a-tightly-wound-package-because-the-audience-can-only-be-entertained-and-never-enlightened kind of conclusion, rather than being challenged by the mature ending that presents itself in No Country. For once, I had something to ponder on the ride home. After Transformers, all I had plastered in my brain was the Chevy brand symbol. Exceptional movie, with the most involving environment I've experienced since Fargo. There's not one misstep here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NancyO.Dec 17, 2007
Enthralling film by the Coen Brothers. Their incredible taste in storytelling is amazing. Loved the performances by all three principals. Their best work since the incredible Fargo, in my opinion.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaureenC.Dec 18, 2007
Terrific movie - found my self laughing at inappropriate moments - the dialogue is sparse, economic and right thru the heart. Bardem IS a bad-ass fab actor!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LarryS.Dec 2, 2007
Brilliant film. Outstanding casting, great characters. The direction is superb. A fabulous film that has something to say! NOT FOR THE AVERAGE MOVIE GOER WHO LIKES THE formula films that the studios pass off as filmaking.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Dec 20, 2007
No Country for Old Men is absolutely brilliant. All the performances were mesmerizing and had me looking at their every movement, face, gesture. This is about as flawless of an adaptation as it gets. The best part of the movie was its No Country for Old Men is absolutely brilliant. All the performances were mesmerizing and had me looking at their every movement, face, gesture. This is about as flawless of an adaptation as it gets. The best part of the movie was its suspense making every scene so strong. The movie manages to draw the viewer in and keep him/her glued to their seat eyes fixated on the movie screen. This is most likely the best American movie of 2007. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
toosinbeymenDec 26, 2007
The film "No country for Old Men" was recommended by the metacritic as a great movie. I'm sorry but it was a completely gratuitous blood porn giving a pass to gross police incompetence of the "lone wolf" sheriff and his "country wisdom".The film "No country for Old Men" was recommended by the metacritic as a great movie. I'm sorry but it was a completely gratuitous blood porn giving a pass to gross police incompetence of the "lone wolf" sheriff and his "country wisdom". The affect of this genre on our society is to view this casual brutality as the norm and sensible.
With all respect, your judgement is flawed. Please, I encourage you to come back to earth, read some real literature, listen to Bach, pay attention to a string of good films to get your judgement back. But it's not just you.

Obviously the US film industry has sunk to this very low standard and is blindly stoking anxiety so high that we can barely recognize it for what it is; it's become so integral to our society.

Rolling Stone, Variety, Village Voice, Roger Ebert, Christian Science Monitor, the Onion, Premiere, USA Today, SF Chronicle, Boston Globe, LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Time, Miami Herald, Baltimore Sun, Seattle Post-Intelligencer all gave it a maximum rating of 100 in metacritic.com like it was Shakespeare or Tolstoy. This is how warped we are as a society. This is how deep our numbness to wholesale death goes.

What should be called a low budget horror film is called "the most ambitious and impressive ... in at least a decade" by Salon and "for formalists ... it's pure heaven" NY Times. "I haven't seen a stronger or better American movie all year" Christian Science Monitor. "An indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best" Rolling Stone.

When we use these words for this kind of film, small wonder the world thinks we're killers without remorse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ArielGDec 29, 2007
I'll admit I got suckered into this movie because of all the positive critic reviews. After watching the movie, I was left feeling disappointed and felt that the movie was highly over-rated. The acting was solid, especially from JavierI'll admit I got suckered into this movie because of all the positive critic reviews. After watching the movie, I was left feeling disappointed and felt that the movie was highly over-rated. The acting was solid, especially from Javier Bardem and Josh Brolin. I was literally scared of Bardem's portrayal of the Anton character. The dialogue and the characters were quite good. However the pacing was very uneven though, tense and suspenseful one moment followed by long drawn out scenes which added nothing to the main storyline. For most of it, the movie just dragged on and on. Running at more than 2 hours, I felt that the script could've bit tightened up a bit more, which would've made it more watchable. Also the abruptly ending, the disjointed storylines, and the suspense that resulted in no pay off, left me and a few others in the theatre disappointed. The Coen bros have made classic movies that have reached cult status, like Fargo, Miller's Crossing and Big Lebowski. Then there are the movies they've made which aren't so great, like as Intolerable Cruelty and The Ladykillers. I'm afraid No Country For Old Men fits into the latter category. It's not that bad, but it's certainly not as good as critics have made it out to be, definitely not the best of 2007, not by a long shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.Dec 3, 2007
A near perfect movie. Do not go expecting a typically told formulaic story. This is an exploration on a theme. And it was a pleasure to go on the journey. Great performances and direction. This movie pulls you in a way none other has since A near perfect movie. Do not go expecting a typically told formulaic story. This is an exploration on a theme. And it was a pleasure to go on the journey. Great performances and direction. This movie pulls you in a way none other has since American Beauty. Best film of the year - hands down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StevenMDec 31, 2007
Every great piece of art has its detractors, hence the few downer votes here. The Coen brothers serve up their most serious film in a decade -- a slow burn look at violence in America. Bardem is a psycho who is violence; Brolin is a guy whoEvery great piece of art has its detractors, hence the few downer votes here. The Coen brothers serve up their most serious film in a decade -- a slow burn look at violence in America. Bardem is a psycho who is violence; Brolin is a guy who thinks he can only play with violence; Jones is the veteran of violence, submitted by its power. Don't go in expecting a Leathal Weapon film or Fargo; this is a slow methodical character study. The last scene is a stunner, and demands that Jones win a second Oscar. Not the best of the year, but close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonJ.Dec 3, 2007
I've never seen a movie come so close to being a 9 or 10 when, in the last 20 minutes, loses the audience on a dime. What an exciting premise. The beginning is spectacular and it just gets more dramatic from there. But, the movie takes I've never seen a movie come so close to being a 9 or 10 when, in the last 20 minutes, loses the audience on a dime. What an exciting premise. The beginning is spectacular and it just gets more dramatic from there. But, the movie takes a nose-dive when the principal character is nonchalantly killed (they don't even show the scene) and we are left with a cast of actors that were more or less very minor to the interesting part of the plot. It was great entertainment and it certainly holds up to almost anything made lately, but it was butchered at the end needlessly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeF.Dec 4, 2007
I love the Coen Brothers and looked forward to this movie, especially because of the trailers and the critics' reviews. I had faith that all of the stuff that I was watching throughout the movie would turn into a spectacular ending. It I love the Coen Brothers and looked forward to this movie, especially because of the trailers and the critics' reviews. I had faith that all of the stuff that I was watching throughout the movie would turn into a spectacular ending. It did not. I cannot believe that anyone would give this movie anything more than a 7. It had its witty moments, but the ending ruined it for me. I haved watched O Brother Where Art Thou, Millers Crossing, Fargo, and Raising Arizona many times. When I see one of them on as I'm channel surfing, I almost always stop. I will never watch a single scene of No Country again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeH.Dec 4, 2007
The Coens love movies, love to recreate them and making loving homages to them, but it's always been American films and now they have decided to take an "art" novel and give it their best Bergman take. Note the suddenly still camera, The Coens love movies, love to recreate them and making loving homages to them, but it's always been American films and now they have decided to take an "art" novel and give it their best Bergman take. Note the suddenly still camera, the spectre of Death, ala Seventh Seal, the final "dream" ripped right out of that film. This movie is about a "plague" and it fits in perfectly with the boys deciding to focus on Bergman for their story telling inspiration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonJ.Dec 4, 2007
It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched a Coen Bros' movie should know there's much more going on than what you see. The movie is It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched a Coen Bros' movie should know there's much more going on than what you see. The movie is a contemplative masterpiece about the universal good vs. evil, and how-as the title states-each generation thinks the next will bring an end to everything good they've ever known(note: the scene where Jones talks to the old sheriff in the wheelchair, and asks him about how it was when he ran things). It truly has become no country for old men... And, finally, if you've read the book, you'll realize the movie is almost identical; hence the abrupt ending. One more thing: ever notice the Coens always have a theme related to money? their characters look for the quick fix and all hell ensues...(lebowski, arizona, fargo, no country...). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JwhDec 4, 2007
Tense and taut. But with plot holes you could drive a truck through. Everyone in the movie (especially bad guys) has sonar/radar and are bloodhounds. The first half of the movie, it makes sense and is explained... the second half, everyone Tense and taut. But with plot holes you could drive a truck through. Everyone in the movie (especially bad guys) has sonar/radar and are bloodhounds. The first half of the movie, it makes sense and is explained... the second half, everyone mystically can track everyone else and it is crap. The ending is so-so trying to make a simple point about Tommy Lee Jone's character and pretending it is "artistic." Over-rated. Hyped. Pretentious. I can see why a lot of the critics liked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BruceT.Dec 5, 2007
The most violent, pointless movie I have ever suffered through. I guess they must pay you for the rating? I'll never trust meta-critic by itself again. I've liked other Coen Bros. movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimH.Dec 5, 2007
This movie represents nothing more that gratuitous violence and nihilistic nonsense masquerading as high art. I can't believe the critics were so taken in. This doesn't come even close to Fargo which was fantastic. It's only This movie represents nothing more that gratuitous violence and nihilistic nonsense masquerading as high art. I can't believe the critics were so taken in. This doesn't come even close to Fargo which was fantastic. It's only the Coen brothers superstar status that allows them to market this crap. It's like Picasso doodling on a napkin and calling it art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DenisM.Dec 7, 2007
Inspired acting and cinematography, but in the end, I felt as simply a voyeur in a West Texas drug culture slaughterhouse. Not up to Fargo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobertC.Dec 7, 2007
Based on all the glowing reviews of this film I was a bit disappointed with it. There are some great performances, the story is engaging and very thought provoking but the ending is a BIG letdown. This would have been a much better film for Based on all the glowing reviews of this film I was a bit disappointed with it. There are some great performances, the story is engaging and very thought provoking but the ending is a BIG letdown. This would have been a much better film for me had the ending been better. So, do not expect a satisfying ending. I realize the movie is based on a novel and the ending may be faithful to the book but it doesn't work for me. You have been fore warned! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeirB.Dec 7, 2007
Very well acted and written, with great Cinematography. My only problem with the film, is that I feel that it glorifies violence. It is a good film, by all standards. I do hope that "Atonement" beats this for Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredM.Dec 7, 2007
I do not give out 10's on a regular basis, so trust me when I tell you that if you want a movie that is perfectly paced, gripping, and contains the BEST dialogue in any movie this year or last, you want to see No Country for Old Men.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RawlinRDec 8, 2007
A stunning movie that takes an in depth look at the true nature of violence. Do not go see this movie expecting to see superb fight scenes or leave the theater feeling good. In fact it is quite possible that when you leave the theater hating A stunning movie that takes an in depth look at the true nature of violence. Do not go see this movie expecting to see superb fight scenes or leave the theater feeling good. In fact it is quite possible that when you leave the theater hating it, just as I did. But as one thinks about the movie and its statement about the nature of violence, one recognizes the genius of the movie and realizes that the ending is not lacking but is in reality the only proper way to conclude the story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BillW.Dec 9, 2007
Magnificently executed and imagined with humor and brilliant pacing. Performances were terrific. I hated it. At least they didn't kill and children or animals. But the blood and violence were depressing and disgusting. At the end, the Magnificently executed and imagined with humor and brilliant pacing. Performances were terrific. I hated it. At least they didn't kill and children or animals. But the blood and violence were depressing and disgusting. At the end, the only catharsis for me was a glorious re-acquaintance with the fact that even the worst experiences are finite. I left the theatre angry and needing both a shower and a keyboard with which to warn others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful