User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1284 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomB.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to be, but the screenplay stands by itself as a complex, absorbing, mysterious, and ultimately satisfying tale. Not satisfying in the sense that all the circles were closed, by any means, by satisfying in that it made you think and enjoy doing your thinking. The actors' performances were spot on, and everything techincal about the movie was near-perfect. Expand
  2. NebojsaN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous violence, the early demise of the protagonist and especially the ending, which they perceive as a non-ending. In my opinion, the ending was perfect and brought home the whole point of the movie. Any other "neat" ending that some folks seem to crave would have made this a completely different kind of movie - a movie of cheap, gratuitous violence - and I'm sure they would have loved it. Basically, if you need everything spelled out for you in obvious, simplistic terms - you will hate this movie. Most everyone else will love it. Expand
  3. JasonJ
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaicThe review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaic 'what is good?, what is evi? 'motif, probably thinking enough for most filmgoers. But that doesn't happen, and we are left with something much more difficult (or impossible) to digest. Jones will endure, like his father leading the way through the cold mountain pass, bearing the struggling, sputtering light into the unknown, into nothingness. And when our time comes, like Brolin's does (and Jones's will soon), none of us will see it coming. And the result? The world, with its default setting for ugliness, will continue to turn, unconcerned with us, or with our notions of good or evil and our struggles to define or contain either. And that's the message-- and it's bleak, no doubt. The film's draw for critics and other thinkers is this message, however; and it is precisely because it is far more sophisticated than a freshman philosophy resolution that would have left us questioning the nature of good and evil;or, heaven forbid, an ending that would have entailed the death of Chigurgh, the credits rolling on a final shot of a millionaire Brolin and his wife sipping Margaritas on a Mexican beach. The film's message is indeed nihilist, perhaps beyond nihilist; and it's great in the way that Macbeth is great, and for many of the same reasons. Expand
  4. TonyB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Great film. Acting was incredible the story line was superb. I hate people commenting on the ending, the ending was extremly well done, it was how the story was supposed to end.
  5. ChristosM
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences left,like Sheriff Llewelyn Moss,struggle to proove humanity's evil urges are not native and spontaneous,though facts tend to proove them wrong.Hollywood endings have no space in such films! Expand
  6. DevinN.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Isn't it great that when people complain about this movie, it usually involves disdain at how well its rated? Excellent theme, excellent execution, brilliant film.
  7. AndrewJohnmeyer
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in sound//music editing in the film. In the absence of the usual barrage of sound, every click, scuff, and shuffle take on an unrivaled immediacy. Expand
  8. CoreyH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Umm... haven't seen it. I would, however, like to point out, that your prediction was completely wrong, M G. The film did exceptionally well at the box-office. Just because you didn't like it, don't assume that other people, who actually think when they watch a movie, won't.
  9. LindaS
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying to escape the overwhelming situation that was happening and he was helpless to correct it. Expand
  10. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    The Coen Brother's second perfect film. Acting, direction, cinematography, all exact.
  11. FlorianW.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, even if most questions were answered more or less. The final 20 minutes were far from boring either, the insights into Chigurh's fatalistic mindset, establishing his role as a quasi-angel-of-vengeance as well as the role of greed in the movie thrilled me. Highly recommended, even if I can't guarantee you'll like it - but that's how it is with art, it is discourse put into form. Where entertainment tries to please the masses, art seeks to challenge the mind. Expand
  12. Jennifer
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Don't score it down because everything isn't spelled out for you. I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a while. Expand
  13. KevinL.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Best American movie of the year, no doubt. Great contribution to the Western genre. NOT a Coen "black comedy," though, so I wish some critics would start reading it for the tragic contemplation about evil that it was written and directed to be.
  14. ChrisK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Ridiculously good. 'No Country' will get under your skin and stay there; the Coen brothers' best since "Fargo."
  15. OgdenJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great filmmaking loved the philosophical musings at the end by the sheriff exceeds whatever genre expectations
  16. DK
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. One of the best films this year. Barden will lead a slew of Academy Award nominations.
  17. JackP.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    "No Country for Old Men" is a masterpiece. It is the Coen brothers' best movie, and it only gets better with repeated viewings.
  18. TaylorB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Some of the most impressive dialogue within the last couple of years. Excellent performances all around; I especially liked Tommy Lee Jones. Extremely well shot. Superb film.
  19. JL
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    I think that people need to remember a couple of things about this movie: 1. Comparisons to 'Fargo' are invalid. 'Fargo' was written for the screen by the Coen brothers. This was an adaptation of someone else's work. Also, criticizing this movie for being excessively violent in one breath and saying that 'Fargo' was great in the next seems rather I think that people need to remember a couple of things about this movie: 1. Comparisons to 'Fargo' are invalid. 'Fargo' was written for the screen by the Coen brothers. This was an adaptation of someone else's work. Also, criticizing this movie for being excessively violent in one breath and saying that 'Fargo' was great in the next seems rather incongruous. 2. If you were expecting a tidy ending to this movie,for it be wrapped up with a bow or a shootout at the OK Corral, then you went to the wrong movie in the first place. That is not the typical style of neither the Coen brothers nor McCarthy. In other words, don't criticize a movie because you had unrealistic expectations of it. On the other hand, if you are looking for a movie that tells a story exceedingly well, with all of the elements of first rate film making, then this is definitely for you. Expand
  20. DanP
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    Awesome.
  21. JeffJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    This movie was not only completely entertaining and engrossing but is what filmmaking should be - magical. Evil manifested in the character of Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem) couldn't be more chilling. The unconventional plot line was surprising and perfect for a movie like this. And for a movie about killing, it's surprisingly restrained. This could have been a graphic portrayal This movie was not only completely entertaining and engrossing but is what filmmaking should be - magical. Evil manifested in the character of Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem) couldn't be more chilling. The unconventional plot line was surprising and perfect for a movie like this. And for a movie about killing, it's surprisingly restrained. This could have been a graphic portrayal of what a man will do to get what he wants but it was far more effective to omit most of the brutal acts. I will see this again. Expand
  22. ColinC.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    A devastating film. The idea that TLJ is wasted in this movie is utterly missing the point of his casting. He brings with him your assumptions of the idealistic sheriff of movies past and the Coen Brothers dismantle it expertly. The viewer is rendered as impotent as Sheriff Bell in the face of the pure formidable evil of Anton. I'm jealous of people who were cinema goers when A devastating film. The idea that TLJ is wasted in this movie is utterly missing the point of his casting. He brings with him your assumptions of the idealistic sheriff of movies past and the Coen Brothers dismantle it expertly. The viewer is rendered as impotent as Sheriff Bell in the face of the pure formidable evil of Anton. I'm jealous of people who were cinema goers when Hitchcock was hitting his stride. Now less so. Expand
  23. TimW
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    The dialogue alone makes this movie worth watching. A very well written script.
  24. AaronC
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Best adaptation of a book to film. It manages to deliver the masterful pacing and detail of Cormac McCarthy's novel while realizing the inferred tone, color, and character. In it's own right it's an expertly crafted, acted, and directed film. Casting deserves awards. The suspense was top quality, the jumps were deserved, and not a single thing was gratuitous.

    As for the
    Best adaptation of a book to film. It manages to deliver the masterful pacing and detail of Cormac McCarthy's novel while realizing the inferred tone, color, and character. In it's own right it's an expertly crafted, acted, and directed film. Casting deserves awards. The suspense was top quality, the jumps were deserved, and not a single thing was gratuitous.

    As for the story, the plot, the bit that people seem to love or hate most, it is clearly a rarity. It never gives you what you expect, it never let's you rest and it certainly never lets you win. It's an amazing experience to read, and just as amazing on screen thanks to the Coens. It's something primal, it's something you're forced to internalize, and it's a reminder of your humanity. Writing and storytelling at it's bravest.
    I don't know what lead poor souls into the theater expecting a happy ending. I like paying admission for a new experience. Sorry, your happy ending, predictable dialogue, and hokey thrill scenes are waiting for you in the next theater down.
    Expand
  25. LukeW
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    The single greatest film I have ever seen. Anyone who does not like this film understands nothing about not only the art of film-making, but that medium's ability to mirror the most fundamental questions of humanity. This movie strikes at the very foundation of what it means to be human in ANY larger society, and questions the whole concept of "good and evil", or "right and wrong". The single greatest film I have ever seen. Anyone who does not like this film understands nothing about not only the art of film-making, but that medium's ability to mirror the most fundamental questions of humanity. This movie strikes at the very foundation of what it means to be human in ANY larger society, and questions the whole concept of "good and evil", or "right and wrong". For those who prefer more dramatic films such as "Independence Day", review THEM, and not movies that you most certainly fail to understand. Expand
  26. motive
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I find it hilarious that people question the ending of this movie when they go to see something that is set up to be a sequel for money purposes and not look at the singular movie at work here. Amazing on every front. I saw this the first screening in my city and a lot of people didn't like the ending then I hear people that read the book give it praise... to understand the premiseI find it hilarious that people question the ending of this movie when they go to see something that is set up to be a sequel for money purposes and not look at the singular movie at work here. Amazing on every front. I saw this the first screening in my city and a lot of people didn't like the ending then I hear people that read the book give it praise... to understand the premise and meaning is to understand the movie. So well done but see it twice Expand
  27. JayP.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Nihilistic, dark, unstoppable, and calculated. At the penultimate snapshot of the film, we see a subliminal glimpse of what lies at the rotten core of contemporary society: blood money, power and purposive rationality of destruction. A bold and mind bending movie.
  28. waynec.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    great, great film; some will be turned off by the violence and the lack of "closure" in the ending, but i thought the ending was perfect
  29. JonathanS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Oh please, all the people who are giving this horrible reviews are obviously not the kind of viewers who would ever be interested in this in the first place. How is it that people cannot realize that half of the movies on Metacritic with great reviews are going to be artistic or very non-mainstream. Look at chad for example: he lists alternate movies to go see, all of which are very Oh please, all the people who are giving this horrible reviews are obviously not the kind of viewers who would ever be interested in this in the first place. How is it that people cannot realize that half of the movies on Metacritic with great reviews are going to be artistic or very non-mainstream. Look at chad for example: he lists alternate movies to go see, all of which are very mainstream marketable. And he himself even states the real reason many people don't like it by referencing abstract art: some people like it, others don't. The fact that No Country is NOT a mainstream film should tell people that it will not appeal to those more linear tastes. And I am continuously wondering how can so many people not get the ending? Even I, a 16 year old, thought the ending was brilliant. And though I don't really want to type out the symbolism here, I would hope that those people who hated the ending can at least figure it out from here: Take into mind that the movie is completely allegorical-- the villain represents all of the evil in the world and it's unwavering continuity; the protagonist who finds the money is man kind, being subdued by a force they are trying to desperately understand and can never really defeat; and the sheriff is the weary old generation, trying to make sense of everything as it happens (hence the title of the movie). Now think about the second dream the sheriff had, and interpret the words' meaning. It had me floored; I couldn't move from my seat for a few minutes. This is purely a movie of taste-- people are just mad that they went to watch a movie which wasn't in their own taste. And while I want to avoid insulting anyone's intelligence level, so as not to assume, but I think that many people just couldn't understand this. But for those of you who can see deeper into such allegories and the more artistic nature of movies, this will completely hypnotize you and leave you numb by the end. At least Tricky and N K recognized the quality of the film without having to like it. Expand
  30. Chris
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I think it's quite fascinating how far the divide between those who can view cinema as an art form and those who cannot has become. A majority of the harsh critiques for this film cite how "slow" or "boring" the film is and/or how the film has no "ending." First off, I don't believe one should be able to cite their review of this film unless they know what "allegory" means.I think it's quite fascinating how far the divide between those who can view cinema as an art form and those who cannot has become. A majority of the harsh critiques for this film cite how "slow" or "boring" the film is and/or how the film has no "ending." First off, I don't believe one should be able to cite their review of this film unless they know what "allegory" means. Another point I want to make - the main character in "Psycho," widely considered a masterpiece of cinema, was killed off halfway through the film. One doesn't need to see the "main character" make it through the film. This is NOT a formula film. Those who use the word "plot" should also not be allowed to review the film. Please, people, free your minds from formulaic thinking. And what's wrong with abstract art?! Expand
  31. Marc.D.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    To cry foul at the plot...is to completely miss the point. A masterpiece. And deservedly so.
  32. norab.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    I am not one for violent movies - I get a gut-wrenching feeling that makes me tremble inside - and I trembled from the opening scene of this film. But I was mesmerized by the story line - I think Cormac McCarthy's story as the source for the this amazing movie is as sharp and brilliant as the western landscape it takes place in. The Coen Brothers have made a masterpiece.
  33. anonymousanonymous
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This is a brilliant piece of cinematography and storytelling, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  34. AlexB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    First of all this is one of the greatest movies ever made and not because of the brilliant acting, direction, perfectly adapted screenplay, brilliant cinematagraphy but the dark realism that most people don't want to accept so they shun it for being Real. I'm sick and tired of people bitching about the ending or the fact that Brolin's demise isn't shown because read First of all this is one of the greatest movies ever made and not because of the brilliant acting, direction, perfectly adapted screenplay, brilliant cinematagraphy but the dark realism that most people don't want to accept so they shun it for being Real. I'm sick and tired of people bitching about the ending or the fact that Brolin's demise isn't shown because read the damn book. There weren't many loose ends neither people just don't want to think about them and the ending is perfectly interrelated with the entire movie and he finally woke up to the fact that things don't turn out the way they are expected; Good guys lose, Bad guys win. Expand
  35. FrederickM.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    to tell you the truth i was not expecting to much heading into the theatre to see no country, but as i walked i wanted to tell everyone to go see this movie, i was not priorly influenced by the critics because my cuzzin let me see an advanced screening in his theatre about 2 weeks prior to the films release. after 2 weeks i was still lovin and saw that the critics loved, i should be one, to tell you the truth i was not expecting to much heading into the theatre to see no country, but as i walked i wanted to tell everyone to go see this movie, i was not priorly influenced by the critics because my cuzzin let me see an advanced screening in his theatre about 2 weeks prior to the films release. after 2 weeks i was still lovin and saw that the critics loved, i should be one, this is the most perfect movie i have ever seen it kept me at the edge of my seat until the very end!! thank you thank you!! Expand
  36. SebH
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    It seems that a lot of people really don't get this movie - do American audiences honestly want to turn up to a movie that's all hokey, corny action, catchphrases and OTT melodrama? the whole point of this film is that we don't have a protagonist to root for - can people not understand that it's not a totally classic storyline, or is that too much for you to handle? it It seems that a lot of people really don't get this movie - do American audiences honestly want to turn up to a movie that's all hokey, corny action, catchphrases and OTT melodrama? the whole point of this film is that we don't have a protagonist to root for - can people not understand that it's not a totally classic storyline, or is that too much for you to handle? it all makes sense if you think about it - it might be abstract in parts, such as when the sheriff sees Chigurgh in the motel room (I believe it's his mind's projection of what he believes will be behind the door), but the plot makes perfect sense and has quite a powerful message, the most potent being the fact that Chigurgh is the only one still alive and fighting by the end of the film. I think that the lack of a protagonist makes it easier to look at all the characters as mere human beings - it's total realism as there are some parts where we even see Chigurgh's vulnerability, but also the flaws of Llewellyn. It's an exercise in harsh realism, not idealism, which is a rare thing in modern films. And yes, the plot may be confusing, but a confusing film is usually far more brain-engaging and fascinating than a clear-cut, black-and-white movie that requires no insight (i.e. the crap we usually get from Hollywood these days). It might not appeal to the lowest demographics, as it does require a brain to be appreciated, but it really is a stunning movie that contrasts the gruesome and tense with the prophetic, 'dull' if you like, insightful. Excellent film, still one of my favourites. Expand
  37. NC.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Well said Seb H... I really pity the user reviews that declare that 'most people say they like it b/c they don't get it so it must be intelligent and so they pretend it's good'. LOL... Dude, grow up... read a bit. Or shut up and steer clear of art - it's clearly WELL over your head. People who are smart or who have studied and understand the language of film (much Well said Seb H... I really pity the user reviews that declare that 'most people say they like it b/c they don't get it so it must be intelligent and so they pretend it's good'. LOL... Dude, grow up... read a bit. Or shut up and steer clear of art - it's clearly WELL over your head. People who are smart or who have studied and understand the language of film (much like the language and rhythm of life), like myself, enjoy and appreciate the movie BECAUSE we are intelligent enough to get it - and love it (It is my top 2 favourite films of all time with Taxi Driver). There is no pretending going on my sad friend. That is a 'truth' that exists only in your mind (if it qualifies to be labelled as such).. The ending is indisputably one of the greatest endings in film history (I wept... but then, I got it, I listened to what he was saying, and I have lived a life both in personal experience and in worldliness, that allows me to understand precisely what is being said)...... and there is absolutely NO confusion WHATSOEVER with working out a/ what happened to Llewellyn (RIP) who Chigurh does not kill at all b/ what happens to the money (the money is a macguffin you idiots, it is NOT relevant and is taken back half way thru the film... HE HAS IT ALREADY morons (and from Woody NOT Llewellyn). His pursuit is a matter of principal, not of profit) c/ whether llewellyn's wife is or is not toast at the end?.... there is NO ambiguity... None whatsoever. The point is, she dies a hero, with courage, because she utters the most beguiling line of the movie b4 she meets her maker: "There's no coin mister - there's only you." Brilliant. Sums up so much... and is the most courageous line and act in the movie. She never calls the coin. With all the tough talk and bombast flying around, she is the toughest character in the film. No, the real problem is that originality, intelligence, poetry, thematics and the magic of life, the spaces inbetween the space between, have passed you and your lives and minds by..... so, I am afraid it's true, if you don't like this movie because you claim that it is confusiong, has a bad ending, does not make sense or is in need of concluding further..... rather than, say, criticise it for being too cynical, cathartic, scary or violent, which you COULD do..... then you are simply WRONG. This is not a matter of opinion. The average critic is smarter and more intuitive with film than the average user... Fact. That's how they became critics... get it? Hence the average review of this film, as it is so brilliant, being lower with users than with the critics. Can you work that one out chumps? Honestly, you should be embarrassed that you felt so self-consious on a sub-conscious level in not enjoying the film that you had to post a bad review to save your pride. Somewhat hilarious, but deeply embarrassing for each of you....as you ironically, in doing so, demonstrate you missed the movie's narrative, charcterisation and thematics almost entirely. "In need of a sequel"!!?? I truly, honestly pity you. Chigurh wins becasue he is not weighed down with little things like decency, compassion, empathy and so forth.... which is one of the points of the movie. If you want to benefit quickly from other's demise and troubles (get the politic allegory now), you won't get away with it and get to have your cake and eat it too and simultaneously be in the right and covered in glory. You will be pursued... and by an enemy you don't understand or relate to.... and if you stay true to being good, to yourself, if you display fanciful things like 'courage' or 'bombast' (llewellyn is tracked ONLY b/c he returns to the scene with water for someone who has already died - get it?), this enemy will mercilesly send you and everyone you love to hell. And they will not be punished by karma, they will just walk, or in this case limp, off into the sunset. There's a starting point for you... think poetically when you watch this film, not literally... and see what is on screen, not what you expect to be. Good luck. Expand
  38. LawrenceP.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    No Country For Old Men was the best picture of 2008 -- without a doubt. Criticized by some for its graphic violence, the movie in fact had a mere few moments of blood and guts. And the violence was more psychological than it was graphic. Having read the book, I was amazed at how close the script stayed to the book. With the exception of Bell's war careerm it was pretty much all No Country For Old Men was the best picture of 2008 -- without a doubt. Criticized by some for its graphic violence, the movie in fact had a mere few moments of blood and guts. And the violence was more psychological than it was graphic. Having read the book, I was amazed at how close the script stayed to the book. With the exception of Bell's war careerm it was pretty much all there. The aspect of the movie that struck me most was that in discussing it with literary people, it was discussed as if it were in fact a book, not a movie. When discussing it with those of a lesser literary bent, it was discussed simply as a drug/crime movie. As for that latter perception, it's not even close. Drugs and money were incidental -- a vehicle on which to place the themes of fate, change, acceptance, time, and place. And while some talk of good and evil in No Country For Old Men, it played no role at all. In fact Anton showed no evil in his character or actions. He lacked good and evil in equal proportions. Of all the charactors in the movie, he was perhaps the most sane in that he had his principles and beliefs and stuck by them. His integrity was intact at the end of the movie. One could go so far as to say Anton show as much compassion in the movie as did Bell. Several times he removed himself from the equation to allow the coin to decide -- it was the best he could do. My point in writing this simple review is to refute much of what I've seen concerning Anton. Much in the same way as I've written to defend Shylock as a victim in The Merchant of Venice. Expand
  39. RobbieB.
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    Breathtaking! I loved this movie, almost every single thing about it! I disliked the ending, feeling it was a bit anti-climatic, but not one preformance is bad in this film. Every now-and-then a film comes alog and changes the way we think of everything, this IS that one!
  40. JackS.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Possibly one of the best films ever made. It's rare that a picture is created with so much philosophical depth and intrigue, yet manages to be so unbelievably entertaining. The Coen Brothers continue to impress the film making industry with their bleak, ingeniously constructed tales; No Country for Old Men only boosts their repertoire. As the final shot abruptly cuts to slow credits, Possibly one of the best films ever made. It's rare that a picture is created with so much philosophical depth and intrigue, yet manages to be so unbelievably entertaining. The Coen Brothers continue to impress the film making industry with their bleak, ingeniously constructed tales; No Country for Old Men only boosts their repertoire. As the final shot abruptly cuts to slow credits, I sat, and I thought. Even when I finally left the theater, the movie just wouldn't leave my mind. It's so deep, so interesting, and so tense. It really just makes you think. How many movies do that nowadays? With all the mindless crap out there, it's refreshing to see a film that will make you really stop and wonder. As great as No Country is, one is able to see its brilliance at its pinnacle after the film is over. A true masterpiece, and completely deserving of its Oscars. Expand
  41. JamesV.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Outstanding film. Reminded me of Apocalypse Now in a broader sense that in the heart of many men lies darkness, with a key difference being that in AN we get a glimpse of Col. Kurtz's inner being while in NCFOM Chigurh's character is opaque and impenetrable. Another parallel to AN is that evil infects all of the characters to some degree -- Moss is undone by his own greed for Outstanding film. Reminded me of Apocalypse Now in a broader sense that in the heart of many men lies darkness, with a key difference being that in AN we get a glimpse of Col. Kurtz's inner being while in NCFOM Chigurh's character is opaque and impenetrable. Another parallel to AN is that evil infects all of the characters to some degree -- Moss is undone by his own greed for trying to keep the money instead of turning it in; Chigurh is a psychopath who cannot feel anyone's pain and not even his own; even the good 'ol Sheriff Bell is called out for vanity and retires just when duty calls. Many people complain about ambiguity in the plot, but that is by design; in real life, Good and Evil are rarely so black and white and at times fate and circumstance interfere with justice. The cinematography, the acting and the dialogue are all top drawer. Kept me on the edge of my seat the entire film. Expand
  42. mohammedi
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Film projection on the harsh reality faced by the world.
  43. WW
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    It's the kind of film that simultaneously entertains, then prods the viewer and pushes him until it hurts. But it is not devoid of purpose. Many will miss the expansive call of this film because they are symbolically wrapped up tightly within the film. Many will scratch their head and wish for a happy, nicely packaged ending. But this is a film for those who don't need spoon fed It's the kind of film that simultaneously entertains, then prods the viewer and pushes him until it hurts. But it is not devoid of purpose. Many will miss the expansive call of this film because they are symbolically wrapped up tightly within the film. Many will scratch their head and wish for a happy, nicely packaged ending. But this is a film for those who don't need spoon fed morals and dumbed down endings. This is a film to awaken and warn us; to encourage and yet haunt us. Expand
  44. OtmS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Gratifies expectations by defying them.
  45. Lulzy
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Chicago Reader Jonathan Rosenbaum A very well-made genre exercise, but I can
  46. RobertL.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Riveting and simply sensational. Pulls you in like a vaccuum and does not let go. Not only does Javier Bardem create the greatest screen terror since Hannibal Lecter, his performance results in the most suspenseful and electric experience I've had at the theaters in years.
  47. BibliotechaSanchez
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best movie I've seen in the 2000s. I say the ending was the way it was because, There Will Be a Sequel. Camera work perfect. I love the western Hills Have Eyes feel, and backdrop. The two old couples sitting in front of me dressed in tuxes, jumped about a mile and a half out of their seats toward the end of the movie. I've Never seen old people move so fast. I thought that they Best movie I've seen in the 2000s. I say the ending was the way it was because, There Will Be a Sequel. Camera work perfect. I love the western Hills Have Eyes feel, and backdrop. The two old couples sitting in front of me dressed in tuxes, jumped about a mile and a half out of their seats toward the end of the movie. I've Never seen old people move so fast. I thought that they would die of cardiac arrest right on the spot in front of me they were so spooked. My chair was rattled by the younguns behind me too. I'm the only one that didn't move, because, well, I've got nerves of steel, and in my job in real life I deal with extreme stress. Nothing phases me. All in all, GREAT movie! I liked the way I felt when leaving the movie. I liked the music while walking out of the theatre. I somehow felt like the murder was not all bad of a guy who lived by his principles, lived in his Own reality, and was just trying to seek the truth in others. Sure he was pure evil, but people straightened up and thought Real hard about their answers when talking to him, maybe because they sensed that he was a volatile man and dangerous. Kind of reminds me of Brad Pitt in Kalifornia. 4 out of 4. Excellent movie that puts you right in it, as if you're there. Not like Children of Men (hated it). Better. Plus that former Goonie James Brolin is a great actor. Expand
  48. ShameM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Those that give this movie a bad review should stick with the summer blockbusters. Not every movie has to follow the same tired formula to be good. This movie breaks the mold and actually makes you think, God forbid. Simply brilliant!
  49. MikeH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I see about 100 movies a year in the theater and this was my most anticipated film of 2007 since I read all the film festival praise. " No Coubtry For Old Men" is an instant classic and it works on several levels depending on how much thought one wishes to invest. The characters, dialogue, photography, mood, pacing, acting and tone are all essential ingredients in the film's abilty I see about 100 movies a year in the theater and this was my most anticipated film of 2007 since I read all the film festival praise. " No Coubtry For Old Men" is an instant classic and it works on several levels depending on how much thought one wishes to invest. The characters, dialogue, photography, mood, pacing, acting and tone are all essential ingredients in the film's abilty to entertain and enlighten. So much so that " No Country For Old Men" is likely to be the best film of the year. It must be seen as soon as possible by everyone reading these words. Expand
  50. LesleyW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    An enthralling, well-crafted, suspenseful movie. I couldn't wait to see what happened next. Javier Bardem is an imposing villain. Amazing directorial nuances. I loved it!
  51. AA
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    The best and most-superbly haunting movie I've ever seen. Brilliant for what it depicts in stark gruesome detail and equally so for what it leaves to the imagination. Brief moments of dry wit, perfectly timed. A cat and mouse game that churned my stomach so that I wanted to turn away... but couldn't.
  52. BrendanM.P-diddy
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This debate is truly fascinating, the way that the praise is clearly separated from the "criticism." On the one hand, those of us who love this movie clearly don't have a problem violence, especially violence that is so morally and thoughtfully infused. Perhaps we're sick--perhaps I'm sick (I'll entertain the notion)--but I found the amount and nature of the violence This debate is truly fascinating, the way that the praise is clearly separated from the "criticism." On the one hand, those of us who love this movie clearly don't have a problem violence, especially violence that is so morally and thoughtfully infused. Perhaps we're sick--perhaps I'm sick (I'll entertain the notion)--but I found the amount and nature of the violence powerful yet palatable. Those who condemn the movie might have accidentally missed the entrance for "Enchanted" or "Fred Claus." The other distinction to be made is that most of the praise tends to be eloquent, intelligent, and knowledgeable, whereas the so-called criticism is almost invariably shallow, vapid, and practically illiterate. I know that I sound like an elitist, but please, if you are going to condemn such well-wrought, meticulously crafted art, please check your spelling and your grammar. Expand
  53. CarldaddyC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The cinemtography in this movie was good stuff. So good I think I crapped mi pantelones...The movies symbolism was amazing..I highly recommend it. ..(pooping noises silently sounding)But if you go wear a diaper.
  54. EmmaR.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Best movie i've seen in years. if you have yet to see it, note the themes of duality, two sides of a coin, and fate. the coens are back!
  55. AaronS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The best film of 2007.
  56. ColinS
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    I guess Matt B needs to be spoon fed his explanations in a generic doses of generic, in-your-face, make-sure-everything-is-wapped-up-in-a-tightly-wound-package-because-the-audience-can-only-be-entertained-and-never-enlightened kind of conclusion, rather than being challenged by the mature ending that presents itself in No Country. For once, I had something to ponder on the ride home. I guess Matt B needs to be spoon fed his explanations in a generic doses of generic, in-your-face, make-sure-everything-is-wapped-up-in-a-tightly-wound-package-because-the-audience-can-only-be-entertained-and-never-enlightened kind of conclusion, rather than being challenged by the mature ending that presents itself in No Country. For once, I had something to ponder on the ride home. After Transformers, all I had plastered in my brain was the Chevy brand symbol. Exceptional movie, with the most involving environment I've experienced since Fargo. There's not one misstep here. Expand
  57. MaureenC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Terrific movie - found my self laughing at inappropriate moments - the dialogue is sparse, economic and right thru the heart. Bardem IS a bad-ass fab actor!!
  58. LarryS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Brilliant film. Outstanding casting, great characters. The direction is superb. A fabulous film that has something to say! NOT FOR THE AVERAGE MOVIE GOER WHO LIKES THE formula films that the studios pass off as filmaking.
  59. JohnB.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    No Country for Old Men is absolutely brilliant. All the performances were mesmerizing and had me looking at their every movement, face, gesture. This is about as flawless of an adaptation as it gets. The best part of the movie was its suspense making every scene so strong. The movie manages to draw the viewer in and keep him/her glued to their seat eyes fixated on the movie screen. This No Country for Old Men is absolutely brilliant. All the performances were mesmerizing and had me looking at their every movement, face, gesture. This is about as flawless of an adaptation as it gets. The best part of the movie was its suspense making every scene so strong. The movie manages to draw the viewer in and keep him/her glued to their seat eyes fixated on the movie screen. This is most likely the best American movie of 2007. Expand
  60. MikeS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    A near perfect movie. Do not go expecting a typically told formulaic story. This is an exploration on a theme. And it was a pleasure to go on the journey. Great performances and direction. This movie pulls you in a way none other has since American Beauty. Best film of the year - hands down.
  61. DonJ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched a Coen Bros' movie should know there's much more going on than what you see. The movie is a contemplative masterpiece about the universal good vs. evil, and how-as the title states-each generation thinks the next will bring an end to It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched a Coen Bros' movie should know there's much more going on than what you see. The movie is a contemplative masterpiece about the universal good vs. evil, and how-as the title states-each generation thinks the next will bring an end to everything good they've ever known(note: the scene where Jones talks to the old sheriff in the wheelchair, and asks him about how it was when he ran things). It truly has become no country for old men... And, finally, if you've read the book, you'll realize the movie is almost identical; hence the abrupt ending. One more thing: ever notice the Coens always have a theme related to money? their characters look for the quick fix and all hell ensues...(lebowski, arizona, fargo, no country...). Expand
  62. JaredM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    I do not give out 10's on a regular basis, so trust me when I tell you that if you want a movie that is perfectly paced, gripping, and contains the BEST dialogue in any movie this year or last, you want to see No Country for Old Men.
  63. RawlinR
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    A stunning movie that takes an in depth look at the true nature of violence. Do not go see this movie expecting to see superb fight scenes or leave the theater feeling good. In fact it is quite possible that when you leave the theater hating it, just as I did. But as one thinks about the movie and its statement about the nature of violence, one recognizes the genius of the movie and A stunning movie that takes an in depth look at the true nature of violence. Do not go see this movie expecting to see superb fight scenes or leave the theater feeling good. In fact it is quite possible that when you leave the theater hating it, just as I did. But as one thinks about the movie and its statement about the nature of violence, one recognizes the genius of the movie and realizes that the ending is not lacking but is in reality the only proper way to conclude the story. Expand
  64. WTFPancakes
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This is probably the most technically perfect exercise in filmaking since 12 Monkeys. It isn't overstating it to say that the character of Anton Chigurh is one of the most memorable ever to haunt the silver screen. He isn't "evil" in the sense that terms like "good" and "evil" don't apply to him. He embodies the Nietzschean superman and, as such, regards humanity in much This is probably the most technically perfect exercise in filmaking since 12 Monkeys. It isn't overstating it to say that the character of Anton Chigurh is one of the most memorable ever to haunt the silver screen. He isn't "evil" in the sense that terms like "good" and "evil" don't apply to him. He embodies the Nietzschean superman and, as such, regards humanity in much the same way we regard livestock. He is, at once, a magnificent symbol and a memorably drawn character, and the Coen brothers deserve enormous praise for bringing such an enormously complicated creature to the screen so brilliantly. Expand
  65. AJ
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    In response to Jonathan Rosenbaum's poor review: One star? It seems you must be grading on a rather steep curve. Jonathan, how can it be a "well-made genre exercise" with admirable "creativity and storytelling" that has the "primal impact of silent pictures" and is "gorgeously shot" and yet earn one star from the reviewer? The very fact that a film that you describe as such has In response to Jonathan Rosenbaum's poor review: One star? It seems you must be grading on a rather steep curve. Jonathan, how can it be a "well-made genre exercise" with admirable "creativity and storytelling" that has the "primal impact of silent pictures" and is "gorgeously shot" and yet earn one star from the reviewer? The very fact that a film that you describe as such has provoked you to give it one star is evidence of its peculiar power. I hadn Expand
  66. kevinO
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The Coen Brothers are what's great about America and they have hit the jackpot with this one.
  67. JohnS
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Those who are looking for the satisfaction of a normal movie are missing the point. This movie is a parable. All of its characters are symbolic. Watch it again and ask yourself what each character represents, and you will get a lot more out of it. And you will better understand how masterful it is.
  68. R.A.Lopez
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Extraordinary meditation on chance, choices, ethics and evil, that dares to play with the audiences' expectations in a way that resembles the randomness and brutality of life itself. The performances are great. Bardem and Kelly Macdonald are the standouts.
  69. MarkL.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. Up there with Fargo and Pulp Fiction.
  70. CooperH.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Stunningly good acting - flawless dialogue - hauntingly real
  71. Amber
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Fantastic. Don't read the reader reviews- there's spoilers galore, and they're all too stupid to mention it.
  72. AnthonyS
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Wonderful film. It was very dark, and I can see where some people may not be satisfied with the ending. The mistake these people make is that they confuse who the main character really is. This is a story about old men. Men who live until they are old. Get that and you'll have a different perspective of the film's ending.
  73. RobertP.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Amazing, I hope Bardem gets an Oscar, he was terribly perfect with his character. I think this film is one of the surprises of the year, perhaps one of the best in the 20's, i went out of the cinema containing my feelings, incredibly exciting!!! I think I'll get the DVD.
  74. RichRainey
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Perfectly paced, written, filmed, acted, directed and conceived. There is more emotion in one frame here than in most other entire movies. I have always loved the Coen brothers stuff, but this is the best one yet. I felt just as uncomfortable (that's a compliment, because that's how I'm supposed to feel) throughout the entire film as Woody did in his last scene. This has toPerfectly paced, written, filmed, acted, directed and conceived. There is more emotion in one frame here than in most other entire movies. I have always loved the Coen brothers stuff, but this is the best one yet. I felt just as uncomfortable (that's a compliment, because that's how I'm supposed to feel) throughout the entire film as Woody did in his last scene. This has to win the Best Picture award, hands down. Expand
  75. LeoC.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    The film is a masterpiece from the Coen Brothers.
  76. DanielJ
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I am completely surprised at how many people simply don't understand the movie and hence lambast it with tripe like "it's pointless and too violent." First of all, as if to scream at the audience that the film is not solely about violence, the Coens decide to tone down many of the book's murder scenes and don't even show (physically) the fates of Chigurh's last I am completely surprised at how many people simply don't understand the movie and hence lambast it with tripe like "it's pointless and too violent." First of all, as if to scream at the audience that the film is not solely about violence, the Coens decide to tone down many of the book's murder scenes and don't even show (physically) the fates of Chigurh's last victims. It is consistently well directed, shot, and acted throughout, resulting in a completely in-depth environment and characters. By no means is it ever boring or choppy, as long as you understand the motives and developments of the characters throughout the whole movie. Chad would have you believe that the first third is nothing but slow and boring nonsense, but it is in actuality the whole basis for the characters. The first part establishes Moss's motivation (which is not simply greed for those of you who think 300 is the best film of 2007), Bell's contempt for the modern state of man, and Chigurh's inhuman nature that propels each man to his own distinct fate. Aside from the constant intensity, I believe one of the film's greatest strengths is its dialogue. Not much is changed from the book, but some is to fit a different scene in the movie better. Each time a character speaks the viewer can see straight into his head and view his motivation, his worldview, his disillusionment, or, in Chigurh's case, his nonchalant disregard for humanity. Finally, the ending of the movie, while much reviled by incompetent viewers, is absolutely perfect. That's not just my opinion, it's a fact. (Spoilers) Yes, every good person except Bell dies and the villain gets away with the money, and the last line is a seemingly disconnected reflection on Bell's dream. However, one of the most prevalent themes of the movie is how evil has come to envelope society, harming the innocent (i.e. Carla Jean) while evil itself often gets away and further spreads its venom. Thus, the ending may be depressing, but it is necessary. With that in mind, there really weren't any loose ends that needed to be tied up, there were only certain characters' uncertain futures. As to Bell's last line, in which he describes his dream, reflects how Bell is second guessing his whole existence because he earnestly feels that it is futile to try to ward off the encompassing evil that Chigurh represents and he has wasted his whole life in a vain attempt to do so. All in all, the direction, acting, cinematography, editing, and even the sounds of the movie serve to bring McCarthy's chilling novel of profound insight into haunting reality. Don't listen to the morons who give it anything less than an 8. Anyone who is able to actually interpret and apply the film beyond its outer surface would see just how incredible a job the Coens did in writing and directing the film. It's even better than Fargo, and that's saying something. Expand
  77. SeanP
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Or they really liked the movie Mike. Movies here aren't rated on originality but enjoyment. Its okay though because dismissing other peoples opinions is a good way to get yours dismissed. It is easy to hate the movie if you go in with unreasonable expectations.
  78. benp.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Love it or hate it, cause the only way to leave the theatre feeling different is if you have vegetable brains. And anyone who hates it must have lived their whole life in colorado city or behind padded walls. It doesn't mean their crazy or stupid, just that whatever goes on in the world isn't their reality. No Country For Old Men portrays drugs, money, greed and the fate that Love it or hate it, cause the only way to leave the theatre feeling different is if you have vegetable brains. And anyone who hates it must have lived their whole life in colorado city or behind padded walls. It doesn't mean their crazy or stupid, just that whatever goes on in the world isn't their reality. No Country For Old Men portrays drugs, money, greed and the fate that comes with it in a very eery and extreme, yet completely realistic way. Any one of us could be Llewelyn and in this world we live in, his fate could be ours as well. What a raw display of how powerful and unforgiving the nature of men can be. Expand
  79. EdT
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    I wouldn't say 30+million people is nobody, would you? Is that your definition of nobody? If so, you might want to find a dictionary. Regardless, at this point, is there such a thing as an original story? No, there isn't. But what makes No Country for Old Men a great film is its terrific sense of pace, understated, powerful performances from everyone involved (especially Tommy I wouldn't say 30+million people is nobody, would you? Is that your definition of nobody? If so, you might want to find a dictionary. Regardless, at this point, is there such a thing as an original story? No, there isn't. But what makes No Country for Old Men a great film is its terrific sense of pace, understated, powerful performances from everyone involved (especially Tommy Lee Jones and Kelly MacDonald, who deserved a nomination), a script that's both darkly funny and fearsome and of course, the sure-handed direction of the Coens. As for its conclusion, it underscores the point and theme of the film perfectly: that life is ambiguous, that fate and chance both have their roles to play and that life, no matter how hard we try to impose some sort of meaning and narrative upon it, just is a series of randomly connected events. Expand
  80. LesterF.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    An understated, post-modern masterpiece. It is the way it is told that makes this film so wonderful. Yes, it disconcertingly prises your hands from their obedient grasp on reality but the payoff is worth it. The running time is a little over two hours but I challenge anyone to refute that this film did not stick with them for far longer. Love it or hate it Anton Chigurh's pageboy An understated, post-modern masterpiece. It is the way it is told that makes this film so wonderful. Yes, it disconcertingly prises your hands from their obedient grasp on reality but the payoff is worth it. The running time is a little over two hours but I challenge anyone to refute that this film did not stick with them for far longer. Love it or hate it Anton Chigurh's pageboy hair, hallow eyes and hateful tongue; and the romantic ramblings of Sherrif Ed Tom Bell were part of our conscious and subconscious thought for days after this one. Phantasmagorical. Poetic. Brilliant. Expand
  81. JRo
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Wow. The people that give low ratings on this movie seem to not be able to understand ....anything about life. Useless filler? Building suspense without using music is incredible enough in itself. You have to try to interpret what happens in the movie. Apparently, some of you are typical Americans and fail to be able to watch a movie that is not completely straightforwad. Congrats on the Wow. The people that give low ratings on this movie seem to not be able to understand ....anything about life. Useless filler? Building suspense without using music is incredible enough in itself. You have to try to interpret what happens in the movie. Apparently, some of you are typical Americans and fail to be able to watch a movie that is not completely straightforwad. Congrats on the lack of progression in being a normal functioning human adult. This movie is one of the best that you could ever hope for. Expand
  82. KenL.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Flawless!
  83. MattM.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This movie was absolutely magnificent. I loved this movie everything about it made it wonderful experience. The plot, the characters, and the dialogue was great. I'm not sure what the other people rating it 1's are talking about they obviously have no taste.
  84. Chrystal
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing movie!! Going in, I though it would be kind of boring and that maybe it was also overrated. I was definitely wrong. This movie is going on my top ten greatest movies of all time!! You have to see it!!
  85. OdhranH.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do you people really find it so insulting to be challenged a bit by filmmakers, or have we all got so boring and safe that we just want visceral thrills, we just want what we expect? we don't like being invited to think for ourselves? also all the seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do you people really find it so insulting to be challenged a bit by filmmakers, or have we all got so boring and safe that we just want visceral thrills, we just want what we expect? we don't like being invited to think for ourselves? also all the Coens really did with the structure was stay faithful to the novel, so I don't get the criticism of them as being arrogant or trying to be clever- to all who say that- go and read the book. Expand
  86. DavidShepherd
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this movie, it has some of the greatest acting I've seen, they either make you love them, or hate them, theres no in between. The intensity is so great, keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. The ending is the only part that I don't like, there are so many questions and loose end that need to answered, it makes me so mad.
  87. DarrenP.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    very very good film, best l've seen in months.on par with Shawshank Redemption.a film were you don't want to get out of your seat.
  88. Aj
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Very intense thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. BIG LEBOWSKI baby.
  89. ShortyGT500
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Never heard of Javier Bardem, but truly impressed...
  90. NikkoC.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    Slow? Confusing? Oh my.... When people rave that a film is great like, say, Schindler's List (and it is, it's a five star film, don't get me wrong), it always gets straight 9s and 10s.... No one gets thrown by it and it is well-acted and moving and y-a-w-n..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. But the real greats, the true greats, do not pander to everyone (euphemism). Great art never Slow? Confusing? Oh my.... When people rave that a film is great like, say, Schindler's List (and it is, it's a five star film, don't get me wrong), it always gets straight 9s and 10s.... No one gets thrown by it and it is well-acted and moving and y-a-w-n..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. But the real greats, the true greats, do not pander to everyone (euphemism). Great art never does. And then it consequently takes the risks that occasionally, as is so true here, make it better. Firstly, NCFOM has one of the all-time greatest bad guys in cinematic history. Complex in his simplicity, driven and scary as hell. In a metaphorical sense he has to represent a force and evil that cannot be quantified or understood and it only works because he gives the single-most scariest and most intoxicating performance I have ever seen along with Hopkins in SOTL. Like the Reaper himself, there is a lure and dread that accompany him and it is an achievement in selfless acting and craft that cannot be cheapened by words. It simply must be watched to be believed. God Bless you Javier. Secondly, it is not an oxygen tank per se, and it pains me that people do not watch movies more attentively. The devil is in the detail, as they say. The remark at the beginning is a MacGuffin, yet, instead of going on in that vein to rival Hitchcock's best films scenes and moments, this film outdoes them. Tommy says explicitly what it is, but, it's worth repeat viewings and I can't wait to see it again anyway, so, no biggie..... thirdly, the ending is so good, so perfect, that I am happy to admit that I wept for its brilliance. I said out loud, 'please end' and it cut to black and the credits began and I just dropped my head and in that moment I have to say, it was like a strong narcotic, that moment of knowing I had watched a perfect film. It was perfect folks. Perhaps better than perfect and, as Ron Burgundy would say, "That makes no sense." But then, it plays against a backlog of accepted movie 'traditions' that were always formulaic and trite, and instead the Coens, like the book (I imagine) make the brave choices true to the story, or most importantly, the ALLEGORY. See, people who are confused, or who don't spot the allegory and its bleak and moral undertones, will be 'gunning' for the hero, the old cop come good, the blah blah blah... they will be disappointed for reasons I will not go into and, well, sorry, but it's all bollocks. Grow up. It's a world of grey, not black and white. Santa's not real. Get over it. What you wanted is far less than what you got, but you can't see the wood for the trees. Please, open your eyes. It always was bollocks. The Coens knew this and they rise above over a hundred years of film-making tripe to deliver, regardless of some people's and even critics' (as indicated from the 30 - yes, 30 - above...what an idiot) inability to recognize it due to it placing an IQ-pre-requisite on the audience, the greatest and most perfectly shot and intensely-realized motion picture since the likes of Citizen Kane and The Godfather. Fargo!? Blood Simple (which I saw two weeks ago)!? You MUST be joking. Only someone who is afraid to enter the ghost world (if you will), the darkness itself and delve DEEP, as this film does, could say that those films come close to this film. This is indisputably the Coen brothers finest work and I say that as someone who LOVES them. Miller's Crossing is one of my all-time favs. But it can't match NCFOM.... Not remotely. It makes me want to reassess every perfect mark I have ever given! **SPOILERS** The Hotel Scene, the tracking device, the dog, the coin toss, the thematic and allegorical perfection...... as a film buff I recall somewhere along the way I had to pause the dvd, have a sip of tea and permit myself the audible admission that I was close to shitting myself for the amount of tension... and that I was in the midst of some bizarre cinematic orgasm (emotional/spiritual) as a result - and I say that as someone who has yawned through a thousand horror films. In fact if you are a horror fan, it is worth mentioning that this is also the best horror film I have seen in sometime. For you see, it is so thrilling and tense, it is horrific. And I loved it! Oh and the sound.... oh the sound is SOOOOOOO good. Watch this thing on 5.1, seriously. When it ended I simply was unable to move, but then, I got it. And bravo Coens, bravo.... Don't stress that some are like, "Oh, but ___," this and that.... you compromised nothing and you made my favourite film of all time. Thank you. I mean shit guys, this is easily the best film of this millenium even from an objective point of view..... Easily. Am I being a little elitist in saying this when some people clearly don't seem to 'like' (get) it? Um, I don't care. That's not how you go beyond the expected and create masterpieces. So the answer is, yes, the people who don't like it ARE wrong. Sorry, but it's that simple. They might not like NCFOM, that's fine, but it IS a great movie nonetheless. It just went over your head. You may lack a bit of dimension and/or be naive.... Don't sweat it. Even now, two days after seeing NCFOM, and just the one time, I ache. The best film I have seen this millenium. But by no means for everyone. Oh HELL NO.... if you'll excuse the pun..... And shoot me with a cattle-gun for saying it, but thank God for that. 11/10 Expand
  91. AnonNy'Mous
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Great film, in spite of what the others say. Maybe the way it breaks away from the norm after the first helps aid the point? Anyway how can a film with a villain such as that be unentertaining?
  92. DylanM
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I thought it was a great movie. Mainly due to its intelligence, if that makes sense. Its great action and story, but it could be real. Its not a movie that has dazzling special effects but really something that could have happened. Now the ending left me puzzled at first then i realized that that's just how it is in real life. Sometimes nobody wins, villains get away, and innocent I thought it was a great movie. Mainly due to its intelligence, if that makes sense. Its great action and story, but it could be real. Its not a movie that has dazzling special effects but really something that could have happened. Now the ending left me puzzled at first then i realized that that's just how it is in real life. Sometimes nobody wins, villains get away, and innocent people die. Not every movie can have a happy ending. Not every movie should. Its basically a commentary on how we as a society are today. We kill for pleasure (drugs) and those who stick to their morals often die or go crazy (pro and antagonist) Really makes you step back and look at your life and the people that surround you. Expand
  93. Kenny
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Superb film, almost flawless.
  94. DanP
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome.
  95. LeviH
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Action films are, by definition, hot medium. The design is for the audience to be given all the information they desire and to be taken on a pretty ride. No Country For Old Men defies this by answering nothing. Who is Chigurh? What kind of man is he? Is he even a man at all? The Coen Brother's seem to have a distinct interpretation of the character, yet in keeping with their style Action films are, by definition, hot medium. The design is for the audience to be given all the information they desire and to be taken on a pretty ride. No Country For Old Men defies this by answering nothing. Who is Chigurh? What kind of man is he? Is he even a man at all? The Coen Brother's seem to have a distinct interpretation of the character, yet in keeping with their style they aren't exactly going to spell it out for the audience. This film, for days afterward, will make you think. This film, during it's screen time, will engross you in top notch cinematography, acting, editing, writing, and directing. Coming from a novel I considered largely unfilmable, the Coen's have created something special and unique, as only they could. Expand
  96. RommelA
    May 9, 2009
    10
    The movie provides great thrills and awesome acting. The actors know how to play their parts and they play them really well. I really recommend this game anyone!
  97. saran
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    No country for old men is arguably one of the finest ever thriller movies made in hollywood.James Bardem is simply awesome with a stunning performance.
  98. MikeR.
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    This movie will go down as one of the top films ever. Its sad that so many people cant shut there rambling gum chewing, instant judgment, minds off and just be zen with the movie. If they did they would be amazed by the atmosphere and pathos. I loved the ending. Poetic and true to his character.God how people just piss at genius like they know what these artist.
  99. DanP
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    Awesome.
  100. MikeC
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Movies just don't get much better than this. No Country for Old Men is a thrilling tale that will constantly keep you hooked. It will blow you away; absolutely a must see.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.