Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The time is our own, when rustlers have given way to drug runners and small towns have become free-fire zones. The story begins when Llewelyn Moss finds a pickup truck surrounded by a sentry of dead men. A load of heroin and 2 million dollars in cash are still in the back. When Moss takesThe time is our own, when rustlers have given way to drug runners and small towns have become free-fire zones. The story begins when Llewelyn Moss finds a pickup truck surrounded by a sentry of dead men. A load of heroin and 2 million dollars in cash are still in the back. When Moss takes the money, he sets off a chain reaction of catastrophic violence that not even the law, in the person of aging, disillusioned Sheriff Bell, can contain. As Moss tries to evade his pursuers--in particular, a mysterious mastermind who flips coins for human lives--the film simultaneously strips down the American crime drama and broadens its concerns to encompass themes as ancient as the Bible and as bloodily contemporary as this morning's headline. (Miramax) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  2. Reviewed by: Don R. Lewis
    100
    A return to form for the Coen Brothers and, while I feel the film will annoy and frustrate the masses, it will be looked back upon as one of the truly great movies of the first part of this new decade.
  3. 100
    The ultimate vision here is of a hard world in which civilization is the aberration, and the things we fear are always waiting for an excuse to make life normal again.
  4. Feels positively Greek in its magnitude, a lament about fate, age, time and life.
  5. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.
  6. If the structure is a tad out of whack, "No Country" does not lack for action or suspense. Some of the scenes of Chigurh's stalking of Moss are nearly unbearably tense. Bring your worry beads.
  7. A very well-made genre exercise, but I can’t understand why it’s been accorded so much importance, unless it’s because it strokes some ideological impulse.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. GetaClue
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Perfect movie!! Oh, and please ignore any comment from anyone who alludes to Josh Brolin not being old enough to be a Vietnam vet. If they Perfect movie!! Oh, and please ignore any comment from anyone who alludes to Josh Brolin not being old enough to be a Vietnam vet. If they missed the fact that the movie is set in the past, then they probably missed a whole lot more! Expand
  2. OdhranH.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do seems to me every criticism of this wonderful film stems from the fact that it does not follow generic convention and structure- so what? do you people really find it so insulting to be challenged a bit by filmmakers, or have we all got so boring and safe that we just want visceral thrills, we just want what we expect? we don't like being invited to think for ourselves? also all the Coens really did with the structure was stay faithful to the novel, so I don't get the criticism of them as being arrogant or trying to be clever- to all who say that- go and read the book. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie. A misunderstood masterpiece. As complex as it is simple. As vague as it is clear. I have seen it eight times and it never gets old.
  4. DW
    Dec 14, 2008
    8
    A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in A brief review: if you want a cliched action movie look at Die Hard 4, if you want something different, try this. Not all the characters in this film get used to their full potential. You might want events to pan out differently to the way they do. These elements can be seen as either brilliant or terrible [see the other reviews here!] What do I think? Not perfect. The ending -which much of the ranting is about- makes sense. I wished that one plot closure had been shown. To show the other would have been gratuitous. If it logically made sense, it was in this movie. Anything that you expect to happen because of other action movies you have seen, probably will not. The reason why this element got hype reviews is because it is something a little bit different. Not perfect, but different. Expand
  5. GerhardL.
    Apr 2, 2008
    6
    The well matched Brolin and Bardem are great as the anti-hero and psycho killer exchanging wits and bullets. This, plus a few entertaining The well matched Brolin and Bardem are great as the anti-hero and psycho killer exchanging wits and bullets. This, plus a few entertaining set pieces make for an interesting first half and set this film well on its way to being one of the year's best. Unfortunately, this is overshadowed by the Coens' shameless bid for academy awards by attempting to turn what has been up until the last 25 minutes a fairly linear and slow moving chase thriller into something more meaningful than it really is. An attempt that falls flat on its face as the film twists and turns horribly in a pathetic undertaking of audience 'shock and awe', which promptly flings the films two most engaging characters out of the picture. While Brolin's premature death can be taken on the chin, after all we've seen this before, you can't help wondering, as Bardem's mophead f**ks off unchallenged into the suburban sunset, why Tommy Lee Jones' two-dimensional, wise-cracking sheriff has suddenly become the centre piece of a film you were just starting to like and now you're not so sure. After all, you'd thought this film was about a Vietnam vet, a psycho and a big bag of money, but you were wrong. Actually, it's about an old fart in a tool shed, a bad dream and five Oscars, stupid. It's not about failing to comprehend or appreciate what the Coens are trying to do, but instead admitting that firstly, this just doesn't work for me and secondly, the disappointing realisation that this film's ending is equivalent to shitting a nice, new pair of pants. Expand
  6. JimM.
    Apr 22, 2008
    4
    How did this win an academy award? What a horrible movie. No entertainment value whatsoever.
  7. JoeW.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Boo!

See all 578 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years Image
    Published: June 15, 2010
    "Jonah Hex" (opening Friday) is, among other things, a western -- a genre that seems uncommon these days. But the past 25 years have seen a number of great examples of the genre, as well as a failure or two. Find out which westerns made our list(s).
  3. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.