No Country for Old Men

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The time is our own, when rustlers have given way to drug runners and small towns have become free-fire zones. The story begins when Llewelyn Moss finds a pickup truck surrounded by a sentry of dead men. A load of heroin and 2 million dollars in cash are still in the back. When Moss takesThe time is our own, when rustlers have given way to drug runners and small towns have become free-fire zones. The story begins when Llewelyn Moss finds a pickup truck surrounded by a sentry of dead men. A load of heroin and 2 million dollars in cash are still in the back. When Moss takes the money, he sets off a chain reaction of catastrophic violence that not even the law, in the person of aging, disillusioned Sheriff Bell, can contain. As Moss tries to evade his pursuers--in particular, a mysterious mastermind who flips coins for human lives--the film simultaneously strips down the American crime drama and broadens its concerns to encompass themes as ancient as the Bible and as bloodily contemporary as this morning's headline. (Miramax) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  2. If watching movie violence is cathartic, then this film amounts to heavy therapy. It's much more than that, however. This is the best film the Coen brothers have done since their glory days of "Fargo" and "The Big Lebowski," maybe the best they've done, period.
  3. 100
    No Country for Old Men is about the kind of amoral madness that can sweep across a country and redefine a landscape. It's so admirably lean and sinewy that it deserves not merely a rave review but a Johnny Cash song about matter-of-fact killings in shady hotels and sun-scoured landscapes.
  4. The movie is true to its own fierce vision and it's the better for it. I haven't seen a stronger or better American movie all year.
  5. As pure craftsmanship, No Country for Old Men is as good as we’ve ever gotten from Joel and Ethan Coen. Only “Fargo” is more satisfying (it’s also a comedy, which this one isn’t).
  6. A very well-made genre exercise, but I can’t understand why it’s been accorded so much importance, unless it’s because it strokes some ideological impulse.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. DonJ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched It's not surprising that people who complain about this movie have no idea what they're talking about. Anyone that has ever watched a Coen Bros' movie should know there's much more going on than what you see. The movie is a contemplative masterpiece about the universal good vs. evil, and how-as the title states-each generation thinks the next will bring an end to everything good they've ever known(note: the scene where Jones talks to the old sheriff in the wheelchair, and asks him about how it was when he ran things). It truly has become no country for old men... And, finally, if you've read the book, you'll realize the movie is almost identical; hence the abrupt ending. One more thing: ever notice the Coens always have a theme related to money? their characters look for the quick fix and all hell ensues...(lebowski, arizona, fargo, no country...). Expand
  2. anonymousanonymous
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This is a brilliant piece of cinematography and storytelling, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  3. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie. A misunderstood masterpiece. As complex as it is simple. As vague as it is clear. I have seen it eight times and it never gets old.
  4. AndrewA
    Jul 12, 2009
    8
    Great movie but the ending...i get cliffhangers but this was ridiculous.
  5. MattP.
    Apr 13, 2008
    6
    I may be "that guy," but I just don't get this movie. The first hour and a half are spent following what the audience suspects is the I may be "that guy," but I just don't get this movie. The first hour and a half are spent following what the audience suspects is the main character, Lewelyn Moss, until he just ups and dies at the hands of Mexican drug dealers (a scene shot in my hometown of Albuquerque by the way) at suddenly the movie just pulls the parking brake and and turns right around, focusing on Bell. Why waste the first hour and a half of the movie by shaking the left hand, saying hey look at this look at this, moving said hand to punch you the face, then kicking you in the shin and spit on you. It made me feel stupid, thinking that the movie might follow the character that had been the focus of the film: you start to build up emotions and feelings for Moss, then they are shooed away with out any thought for the audience, only to stroke the Coens ego. I'm usually a fan of the Coens, Fargo rocks, and the Big Lebowski is the funniest movie ever, but NCFOM is just cheap. It "subverts" film genres by not really following one certain one, but it cheats the audience out of any real satisfaction. I get the whole evil is coming, we are all doomed, don't even try to be a good human being because your actions will just go for naught and you will die lonely with a big Hispanic Mary Lou Renton standing over you, but god, how snooty. Expand
  6. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    4
    This was a good chase movie until a dramatic shift marred the last third or so. The "ending"--if one can even call it that--was one of the This was a good chase movie until a dramatic shift marred the last third or so. The "ending"--if one can even call it that--was one of the worst I've ever seen. The emperor's-new-clothes crowd like to mock you as a simpleton if you don't appreciate how "deep and thought-provoking" the ending is--all the while failing to say what makes it so deep or thought-provoking. Non-elitists know better. Expand
  7. JoeW.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Boo!

See all 587 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years Image
    Published: June 15, 2010
    "Jonah Hex" (opening Friday) is, among other things, a western -- a genre that seems uncommon these days. But the past 25 years have seen a number of great examples of the genre, as well as a failure or two. Find out which westerns made our list(s).
  3. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.