Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: July 27, 2007
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
47
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
drdeliriumAug 31, 2010
Finally got around to see this film three years after its release and I wish I had seen it earlier. Very relevant, even today and very much worth a viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JayH.Jul 1, 2008
Very thought provoking, most always maddening, and the staggering cost of the war makes me sick, considering the current economic state. It they divided up the money spent in the war between all us citizens, we would all be millionaires. Very thought provoking, most always maddening, and the staggering cost of the war makes me sick, considering the current economic state. It they divided up the money spent in the war between all us citizens, we would all be millionaires. Bush and his cronies are incompetent disasters. What a mess they created. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NigelM.Jun 14, 2008
Frightening, fascinating and vital, this should be seen by as many people as possible, whatever your political persuasion. Lessons have to be learnt from the mess that Iraq has become and this film asks all the right questions, even if it Frightening, fascinating and vital, this should be seen by as many people as possible, whatever your political persuasion. Lessons have to be learnt from the mess that Iraq has become and this film asks all the right questions, even if it doesn't have all the answers. The Bush administration have fueled terrorism beyond anything Bin Laden could ever have done, through ineptitude, carelessness and pure ignorance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hollycMar 28, 2008
As others have said, this is the best documentary dealing with the Iraq War--and I would argue the best doc of 2007. Not since "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room" have I seen such a well done, level headed piece of documentary film As others have said, this is the best documentary dealing with the Iraq War--and I would argue the best doc of 2007. Not since "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room" have I seen such a well done, level headed piece of documentary film making. Bravo to Charles Ferguson. What a stellar debut film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArthurC.Nov 25, 2007
89!!! Well, I must have been watching the wrong movie, because the one I saw sucked. It was so boring, not during but overall, what is the point to this?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnC.Nov 16, 2007
Incredibly biased. Dishonest and highly selective in what it shows. Movie is red meat for Bush haters. I walked out half way through the movie because I was so disgusted by its lack of objectivity and its more than obvious political agenda. Incredibly biased. Dishonest and highly selective in what it shows. Movie is red meat for Bush haters. I walked out half way through the movie because I was so disgusted by its lack of objectivity and its more than obvious political agenda. The positive critics' reviews reflect their prejudices and are hopeless to use for anyone to objectively evaluate this truly awful move. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichD.Nov 15, 2007
Very detailed and even though I agree with the director's point of view, I do believe he should have found some less negative commentators. I suppose he could have gotten some people from Fox News.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArgexNov 14, 2007
One of the best doc I have seen recently. Scary, and depressing but enlightening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamD.Oct 30, 2007
The most telling data: 25% of Americans STILL support "President" Bush and his corrupt AND inept administration. This film should be required viewing for ALL Americans who actually care about America. IMPEACH CHENEY and his stooge, BUSH. The most telling data: 25% of Americans STILL support "President" Bush and his corrupt AND inept administration. This film should be required viewing for ALL Americans who actually care about America. IMPEACH CHENEY and his stooge, BUSH. Convict them and Send them to prison! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveTaylorOct 16, 2007
The best documentary yet on the Iraq War, and the best doc I've seen so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
steveOct 11, 2007
Wow, Josh, way to copy the NY Post review. That's about the intellectual level of the true-believer right these days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Sep 15, 2007
Honest and shocking. The truth is depressing but the people who tell it in "No End in Sight" are the unsung heroes of this failed occupation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 8, 2007
I went to this film with a couple of friends who always voted strictly republican. They were absolutely disgusted with the now presented actions by the current administration that lead to this quagmire were are now in. I'm glad this I went to this film with a couple of friends who always voted strictly republican. They were absolutely disgusted with the now presented actions by the current administration that lead to this quagmire were are now in. I'm glad this film got through to them... I was absolutely angry and regretful that the Iraqi people had lost everything, including their history and heritage, because our troops were instructed to guard the oil facilities during the looting and chaos. Add that to the fact that their entire infrastructure is none existent/destroyed and it's quite easy to see where the hatred for America comes from. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoeSep 6, 2007
Josh you are the worst person in the world. Form your own opinions and write your own reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevynK.Sep 1, 2007
Although there probably are not many who do not already know the facts here, unless they have been living beneath a rock for ten years now, but still the power of this film's message - that Bush and his cohorts messed up and messed up Although there probably are not many who do not already know the facts here, unless they have been living beneath a rock for ten years now, but still the power of this film's message - that Bush and his cohorts messed up and messed up bad - is quite strong a statement. Another user (Josh) just copied and pasted the NY Post review as his comment, and I wonder if he and his ilk have even seen the film, or are they just loyal Bush supporters who do not want the truth to be heard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterL.Sep 1, 2007
Great documentary, something every American should see to understand why we are there , and why we can't get out. Also Josh the first reviewer plagiarized a review from the New York Post. His rating of the movie should be removed. My Great documentary, something every American should see to understand why we are there , and why we can't get out. Also Josh the first reviewer plagiarized a review from the New York Post. His rating of the movie should be removed. My guess is he is an uninformed Hawk, who never saw the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimS.Aug 27, 2007
Josh is a Thief: I just read 2 reviews - one was original, the other (identical) plagiarized by Josh, who cut and pasted Kyle Smith's New York Post review into his own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GLAug 17, 2007
Must viewing for all Americans, especially those who initially supported the invasion and PARTICULARLY those who STILL support it. This spells out quite succinctly and authoritatively why ideas such as the "troop surge" are doomed to Must viewing for all Americans, especially those who initially supported the invasion and PARTICULARLY those who STILL support it. This spells out quite succinctly and authoritatively why ideas such as the "troop surge" are doomed to failure. The cat was let out of the bag during the first two months of the occupation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelD.Aug 12, 2007
If you want to understand why we are in a fiasco in Iraq, go see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.R.Aug 11, 2007
This movie should be required viewing for every member of Congress. It is a powerful, saddening, and enraging documentation of the worst foreign policy disaster in American history. Little or none of its information is new, but the telling This movie should be required viewing for every member of Congress. It is a powerful, saddening, and enraging documentation of the worst foreign policy disaster in American history. Little or none of its information is new, but the telling of it is so persuasive that it amounts to a formidable political force. Would that a majority of Americans could gain exposure to this searingly extraordinary film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CydneyB.Aug 11, 2007
I knew that Iraq had gone to hell in a handbasket, but I never really understood the progression of the insanity until I saw this movie. For anyone who wants to understand the overall picture, but who doesn't have time to read the 600 I knew that Iraq had gone to hell in a handbasket, but I never really understood the progression of the insanity until I saw this movie. For anyone who wants to understand the overall picture, but who doesn't have time to read the 600 page books that have come out trying to explain.. go see this movie. It puts all the sordid, stupid pieces together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJN.Aug 10, 2007
Must see this film - it explains what has been behind this nightmare. Can't help but notice that Josh's rating of 2 is followed by a commentary he cut and pasted out of the New York Post review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattTaylorAug 10, 2007
This movie is a must see for anyone who wants to see all of the ugly-ducklings lined up in a row. Yes, you may have seen some of this information before, but it is presented here in a way that is much more coherent and reveleaing then everThis movie is a must see for anyone who wants to see all of the ugly-ducklings lined up in a row. Yes, you may have seen some of this information before, but it is presented here in a way that is much more coherent and reveleaing then ever before.

By the way, the comment from 'Josh' was taken word for word from the New York Post's review which can be found here:

http://www.nypost.com/seven/07272007/entertainment/movies/end_cant_justify_scenes_movies_kyle_smith.htm

I quess when a republican can't think of something bad to say, they just copy the talking points of another republican.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshAug 3, 2007
The movie is at times incoherent; it sneers at U.S. forces for doing nothing to stop looting in 2003, but later in the film, it makes the troops look like storm troopers for arresting suspects. Throughout, the audience gets only one side of The movie is at times incoherent; it sneers at U.S. forces for doing nothing to stop looting in 2003, but later in the film, it makes the troops look like storm troopers for arresting suspects. Throughout, the audience gets only one side of an argument, plus scary music, so it can congratulate itself for being so much smarter than these guys. But there was no simple answer to anything in Iraq. Donald Rumsfeld invaded with a smallish force because he wanted to tread lightly in a region where Americans are viewed with suspicion, not because he was a fool. De-Baathification of Iraq is presented as a disaster, and perhaps it was. But that wasn't obvious at the time. Picture the alternative: a rebuilt military packed with our sworn enemies and headlines reading "Saddam's forces still in power in U.S.-backed government." There is nothing cinematic about the project - these suits and analysts belong on TV - but it is a useful summary of what happened in the early days after the taking of Baghdad. The star emerging from the mess is Col. Paul Hughes, director of strategic policy for the occupation in 2003, who comes across as an invaluable adviser whose warnings went ignored. Somebody give him another job in Iraq. Hughes' boss back in D.C., Walter Slocombe, is hung by his own words and seems incompetent at best. Some details caught on the fly are vivid and shocking: A professor says he came across a freshly minted Georgetown graduate with no experience in anything who was put in charge of all Baghdad traffic. Most of the film, though, rehashes information you already knew and tries to inflate trivia into scandal. The American head of the provisional government, Paul Bremer, didn't speak Arabic? So what? Douglas MacArthur didn't speak Japanese. OK, President Bush had no combat experience. Neither did FDR. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MM.Jul 31, 2007
What many of us hoped Farenheit 911 would be -- there is minimal editorializing. The film soberly documents layer upon layer of incompetence, showing us how the U.S. got to this point in Iraq. A must see for anyone that wants to understand What many of us hoped Farenheit 911 would be -- there is minimal editorializing. The film soberly documents layer upon layer of incompetence, showing us how the U.S. got to this point in Iraq. A must see for anyone that wants to understand the history of this war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogerC.Jul 26, 2007
Mr. Ferguson thoroughly documents his proposition that the occupation of Iraq was incompetently managed. I would award the film a "10" if I were not worried that some officials may merely have concluded that we should be more competent next Mr. Ferguson thoroughly documents his proposition that the occupation of Iraq was incompetently managed. I would award the film a "10" if I were not worried that some officials may merely have concluded that we should be more competent next time we undertake a military intervention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful