User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This is possibly my favorite movie ever. It's not for everyone, but if you like unique, intelligent, creative, engaging films you better not pass up on this one. Don't go into it with expectations of some Hollywood-esqe experience, this is a very different creature. I almost never watch movies more than once, but I have a desire to watch this movie pretty much annually. If you like thisThis is possibly my favorite movie ever. It's not for everyone, but if you like unique, intelligent, creative, engaging films you better not pass up on this one. Don't go into it with expectations of some Hollywood-esqe experience, this is a very different creature. I almost never watch movies more than once, but I have a desire to watch this movie pretty much annually. If you like this movie, check out other films by Hal Hartley (Henry Fool, Book of Life, etc). I've never seen one I haven't been impressed with. Expand
  2. JacobG.
    May 30, 2005
    9
    Like Henry Fool, I hated this film when I first saw it - I felt confused, bored, unanimated. Unlike Henry Fool, which I got later when thinking about it on the car ride home, No Such Thing didn't hit me until I watched it a second time. MGM could not have done a worse job of marketing or describing this movie. It is an excellent representation of what types of sceranios we face in a Like Henry Fool, I hated this film when I first saw it - I felt confused, bored, unanimated. Unlike Henry Fool, which I got later when thinking about it on the car ride home, No Such Thing didn't hit me until I watched it a second time. MGM could not have done a worse job of marketing or describing this movie. It is an excellent representation of what types of sceranios we face in a society where belief in monsters has faded and actions are stripped of their natural consequences. When we have no monsters or illnesses to fight against or to brace us and make us vigilant, we become the monsters we thought we had destroyed - after seeing this film, I had a greater respect for the monsters that are part of the human myth and the positive influence they have on making us responsible, cooperative and caring human beings. Expand
  3. DaveG.
    Mar 28, 2005
    1
    This movie could have actually been good if it actually concentrated on a specific plot/storyline. The relationship between the reporter and the monster could have been concentrated on more. It did remind me of Cocteau's "Beauty and the Beast" as Roger Ebert's review points out, but it did not ever go anywhere. Very dissappointing.
  4. RobR
    Mar 28, 2005
    3
    Wow, this movie was bad. As for the comment that "anyone who gives this movie a bad review is too stupid..." I must be too stupid along with every other movie critic (which was just about all of them) for major publications. The movie had several interesting thought's/topics, but no definitive answers. As for the interpretations by other viewers, they are just loosely based off what Wow, this movie was bad. As for the comment that "anyone who gives this movie a bad review is too stupid..." I must be too stupid along with every other movie critic (which was just about all of them) for major publications. The movie had several interesting thought's/topics, but no definitive answers. As for the interpretations by other viewers, they are just loosely based off what is in the movie and seem to be stretched much further by the viewer. The movie itself never seemed generate any specific meaning. Expand
  5. FateEdify
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    Anyone giving this movie a bad review is simply too stupid to understand it and, the fact is, all the diabolical controversy substantiates how stupid our society is and, why the monster desires to kill and, will continue to kill [wars etc.] truth is not easy to see at first glance [not in life and not in this movie either] communication is the answer to all evil and, this movie is so hardAnyone giving this movie a bad review is simply too stupid to understand it and, the fact is, all the diabolical controversy substantiates how stupid our society is and, why the monster desires to kill and, will continue to kill [wars etc.] truth is not easy to see at first glance [not in life and not in this movie either] communication is the answer to all evil and, this movie is so hard to communicate that it makes you discuss and/or think about it for hours afterwards [unless of course you chalk it up to bad film making which, in my opinion is "taking the easy way out" or "playing idiot role" which, even egotistical critics can do from time to time] notice that not one critic has the guts to discuss the ending and, I for one would like to hear the answer to that [whether or not it is just meant to be a modern day fable - I don't think so...] sure the monster is one giant symbol for how ugly humans have become but, there is far more to the movie than just that for example, the title itself is not the title you might discover ["there is no such thing..."] - as what? "monsters"? but, superimposing the theme of the movie - how about "there is no such thing as fear" then watch the movie again it plays with your emotions almost as much as life itself; inconsistencies abound albeit [perhaps as I am only guessing] on purpose but, isn't that life? Quirkiness, isolationism [Iceland was a good choice], cold & creepy, humor, inacceptance, fear, manipulation, lack of emotion, sensory overload, guilt, indulgence the movie rocks your emotions one way or another so the bottom line is you will get something out of it 100% unless you are a complete moron the movie is intended to NOT GIVE what the audience would want and, that I believe to be the sub intention of the director/writer because life is simply like that people are inconsistant so, why not enjoy how there are sudden changes of pace & character, scenes that are crazy and not without irritating noise give it a few years and it will be a cult classic if not already is... jeez. Expand
  6. SteveF.
    Mar 28, 2005
    0
    I just wasted one hour and forty three minutes of my life. Please avoid the same mistake I made and spend no more time reading about or watching this movie.
  7. terio
    Mar 28, 2005
    1
    How did people rate this movie high? It is terrible!
  8. AndrewW.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    SO GOOD! It reminded me of beauty and the beast, except this movie should be called Beauty and the Best!!! HEHEHEHEHEHEHE!!! Its so action packed.
  9. ChadS.
    Apr 12, 2007
    5
    When Beatrice(Sarah Polley) encounters The Monster(Robert John Burke), "No Such Thing" starts to bear a faint resemblance to "King Kong"(maybe this is a retelling from the avant-garde perspective). If the ape was in a play, he'd be mumbling solioquies, too. As The Monster expresses his loneliness and despair to Beatrice(who is there to search for her fiance), it occured to me that When Beatrice(Sarah Polley) encounters The Monster(Robert John Burke), "No Such Thing" starts to bear a faint resemblance to "King Kong"(maybe this is a retelling from the avant-garde perspective). If the ape was in a play, he'd be mumbling solioquies, too. As The Monster expresses his loneliness and despair to Beatrice(who is there to search for her fiance), it occured to me that this might be a literal translation of Kong's roaring(maybe Kong was in anguish about being the last of his kind, too). Like the RKO film, a woman is delivered to the beast as a peace offering by the natives(and also, the woman reaches her destination by boat, albeit by a more convoluted manner). For most viewers, "No Such Thing" goes off the rails when Beatrice returns home with The Monster; the change in tone(from sobering to bubbly) is abrupt and jarring to even the most adventurous cineaste. Inexplicably, Beatrice undergoes a personality change; she wears provocative clothing and jumps into bed too easily with strange men, which is a drastic change from the nice girl(bookish, chaste) image we previously had of her. This is a stretch, but let's consider that in "King Kong", the giant ape was the spectacle(he was put on exhibition by his captors); in "No Such Thing", the girl is put on display(Polley wears a push-up bra and dominatrix clothing). When the monster gets loose in the city, it's the people who do the pummeling. In the final scene of "No Such Thing"(the monster's death), there's another inversion of a "Kong" plotpoint; the giant ape who climbs the building and stands at the apex of New York City with Fay Wray(or Jessica Lange, or Naomi Watts) in his hand. This filmmaker made me realize for the first time that the giant ape was probably trying to commit suicide. Was this obvious to everybody but me? Kong wanted to die with his beloved prize, but he changed his mind and set the girl down. "No Such Thing" fails as an entertainment(and fails as art), but if you consider the filmmaker's oeuvre, attention must be paid to the madness(too much time is spent on Beatrice's rehab) because there just might be a method(or not). Expand
  10. EverflowStudios
    Nov 29, 2003
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] Don't read if you haven't seen the film. My main comment is basically a different take on the movie. I feel that perhaps the entire episode with the beast; the escapade in the city was all a dream, induced by the pain of the operation. During the operation, she is in a machine strangely similar to the apparatus used in the end to 'kill' the beast.[***SPOILERS***] Don't read if you haven't seen the film. My main comment is basically a different take on the movie. I feel that perhaps the entire episode with the beast; the escapade in the city was all a dream, induced by the pain of the operation. During the operation, she is in a machine strangely similar to the apparatus used in the end to 'kill' the beast. Perhaps the entire episode afterwards was an inner search, dealing with the pain, or perhaps the road to the next plane of existence. She is crying during the painful operation, and upright in the operating table. At the end, the beast is upright, and the film ends with her face, a tear flows from her smiling eyes. Death? Understandably, the idea of being the sole survivor of a plane crash into the ocean is a bit far fetched, but my take on the film stands. : ) Bruce http://everflow.com Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. 50
    Hartley's most ambitious film, but it's also among his most uneven, shifting away at moments when its characters should be allowed to connect, underemphasizing some themes, overemphasizing others, and letting a general clash of ideas stand in for momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    10
    Deadly dull in stretches, and just plain embarrassing in others.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    50
    The film is little more than a stylish exercise in revisionism whose point -- we create, then destroy our own monsters in order to assure ourselves we're human -- is no doubt true, but serves as a rather thin moral to such a knowing fable.