Noah

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 28, 2014
    91
    Despite wild deviations in spiritual themes and execution, nothing in Noah approaches sacrilege or surrender, making this an acutely sensible biblical epic. It may simply be too strange for the masses to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    Overall, Noah represents a respectful take on an old story by filmmakers who pose a pertinent question. The Creator promises never again to wipe humanity off the face of the Earth, signing that covenant with the cheering image of a rainbow. Does that mean he won’t let us wipe ourselves out millennia later, if we’re hell-bent on doing so?
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 27, 2014
    80
    Noah can be silly or sublime, but it's never less than fascinating. I was on board from start to finish.
  4. 75
    It isn’t “The Ten Commandments” and Crowe is no Charlton Heston. But Noah makes Biblical myth grand in scope and intimate in appeal. The purists can always go argue over “God Isn’t Dead.” The rest of creation can appreciate this rousing good yarn, told with blood and guts and brawn and beauty, with just a hint of madness to the whole enterprise.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 2, 2014
    67
    Aronofsky’s story of Noah and his ark is far-removed from our collective recollections of Sunday school pageants and Cecil B. DeMille extravaganzas. Instead, this film opts for the sort of human-scaled realism that almost allows us to smell the dank stench of a menagerie cooped up for 40 days and nights on a water-swept barge.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 27, 2014
    63
    Neither fish nor fowl, neither foul nor inspiring, director and co-writer Darren Aronofsky's strange and often rich new movie Noah has enough actual filmmaking to its name to deserve better handling than a plainly nervous Paramount Pictures has given it.
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    What could have made Noah work is the same sense of urgency – of fateful craziness – that made "Pi" so memorable, and which also factored into the fatal obsessions of "The Wrestler" and "Black Swan" (two very flawed movies that admittedly benefited from stronger lead performances than the one here).

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 249
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    An incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a badAn incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a bad thing. No, on the contrary I think it is a really good thing - if I want to read the actual story, I'll read the Bible. The Noah is not a retelling, but rather an attempt to understand the values and to make the short tale something bigger and more complex. And they did it right - drama made me weep, action made me thrilled, conclusion gave me feeling of hope and happiness Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    Let’s begin where the Book does…

    5 And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the
    Let’s begin where the Book does…

    5 And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. 6 And it repented the LORD that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart. 7 And the LORD said, I will destroy man whom I have created from the face of the earth; both man, and beast, and the creeping thing, and the fowls of the air; for it repenteth me that I have made them. Genesis 6:5-7 KJV

    Let’s allow the movie to begin where it desires to as well (these are the first words at the top of the movie’s website)…

    The film is inspired by the story of Noah. While artistic license has been taken, we believe that this film is true to the essence, values and integrity of a story that is a cornerstone of faith for millions of people worldwide. The biblical story of Noah can be found in the book of Genesis.

    Since its March 28th release (and before, really) I have had the advantage (and in some cases, disadvantage) of reading many passionate reviews… all before I had seen the movie. I was reminded that some of us actually read reviews to decide whether or not we will go to the theater to see a movie. So reviews have their place. As usual, I come to this evaluation process from a bit of a different angle. For the last 20+ yrs. I have been a professional storyteller. You may look at my resume and wonder why a pastor would call himself that, but that’s exactly what we who deliver sermons are doing… we are telling and retelling the stories found in the Scriptures.

    If you were/are looking to the Noah movie to retell the story word-for-word as the Scripture does, I nearly certain that you will walk away as many have… disappointed. However, most of us who attend Christian churches would be equally disappointed if we showed up to a worship service and the sermon for the day was solely the reading of Scripture. We want to know some perspective. How does that text apply to my life? What am I supposed to do or be because of what the Scripture teaches? I think this movie does both masterfully. Here a few of the high points that stood out to me:

    - total ownership of why God was destroying the earth… the wickedness of man… sin
    - acknowledging God as Creator
    - even enumerating the very acts of creation day by day
    - showing Noah as the righteous yet fallen human that he was
    - even the weird stuff (you already have your list) does not diminish the power of the story

    So even if you don’t end up liking the movie, let’s be the ones that are known what we’re for instead of what we’re against. May this retelling of the story of Noah cause audiences to consider the greatness and grace of our God.
    Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    One of the most controversial film of the year. Aronofsky's version of NOAH is a mix up between his usual eccentric approach, and aOne of the most controversial film of the year. Aronofsky's version of NOAH is a mix up between his usual eccentric approach, and a blockbuster film. Its interpretation of Biblical 'hero' Noah seems to either piss of religious people or acclaimed by critics everywhere. Sure he took great liberties, but the end result is a riveting and unusual 'bible' film that pull no punches in humanizing its hero, a man considered a great prophets by many Religions. Well acted by Crowe in his best performance in years, highly recommended if you are a bit open minded about it. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Noah" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: The cast was outstanding, especially Russell Crowe as Noah. The film goes through
    "Noah" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: The cast was outstanding, especially Russell Crowe as Noah. The film goes through several stages of Noah's life and his personality changes throughout. Crowe was more than capable of making that seem realistic and believable. The film's base premise is a man balancing what he believes is right with what is best for humanity. That aspect was interesting and comes to a head late in the final act. Portions of the last 30 minutes are amazing. At it's core, it's also an interesting take on a tale that we all know by heart.

    The Bad: It's too long and isn't quite interesting enough to fill the time. The first hour or so is difficult to get through and the last 10 minutes drag on way too long. Some aspects are sort of silly as the film blends historical fiction with sword and sorcery. It doesn't mesh well.
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2014
    3
    Aronofsky's film has the same flaw as the Biblical Noah story. At the end, Noah is still hearing voices from on high and believing that,Aronofsky's film has the same flaw as the Biblical Noah story. At the end, Noah is still hearing voices from on high and believing that, because of that, he is right, infallible, and righteous. The history of humanity has been haunted by these voices from on high resulting in most of the wars, killing, and general misery. Despite the "killing" part of his philosophy, the Cainanite (sic.) King was right in his comments about free will. Noah was a truly evil man. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    There's a well worn phrase "if it ain't broke don't fix it". Why Aronofsky felt the need to tamper with an epic story that would/could haveThere's a well worn phrase "if it ain't broke don't fix it". Why Aronofsky felt the need to tamper with an epic story that would/could have been thrilling and thought provoking in it's unadulterated form baffles me.

    What we've been given instead is a crude lecture on environmentalism fused with an utterly corrupted Bible account and a large dose of misanthrope thrown in for good measure.

    I hope this bombs at the box office and forces everyone involved with this rubbish to give pause for thought.
    Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2014
    0
    I love movies very much and I respect the imagination and time and effort afforded to them. The story of Noah and the ark is a very old, wellI love movies very much and I respect the imagination and time and effort afforded to them. The story of Noah and the ark is a very old, well respected, and loved story, many people believe those events really occurred. When you get the chance to make a movie that stems directly from The Holy Bible, you would think it would stay knit at the waist with it as far as accuracy and tone. Aronofsky is obviously not a religious man, otherwise he would have had much more respect for the story of Noah and the nature of the characters involved. Portraying Noah, who has been said to have been directly guided by God to save the human race and its righteous moral ideals, as a crazed lunatic who spends most of the movie dazed and confused about his purpose who needs help from giant rock people and who eventually is convinced he needs to kill his family, is quite a slippery direction to take. it doesn't seem to paint a pretty picture of God or his followers. Though I will note that that the title "God" was not even used once in the entire film. From the artsy perspective, this was a well done unique piece of movie making. That explains why a simple bible story made it to such a large scale movie in this day and age. It was warped. Severely. The graphics were impressive and dazzling, the acting performances were polished and sharp, it was coordinated well. But the point of telling the story of Noah and his trials with the flood and the rest of a wicked world and a wicked people, and his dealings with God, got completely lost. Way to go. I cannot support this movie. Expand

See all 249 User Reviews

Trailers