Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 553 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 28, 2014
    91
    Despite wild deviations in spiritual themes and execution, nothing in Noah approaches sacrilege or surrender, making this an acutely sensible biblical epic. It may simply be too strange for the masses to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    Overall, Noah represents a respectful take on an old story by filmmakers who pose a pertinent question. The Creator promises never again to wipe humanity off the face of the Earth, signing that covenant with the cheering image of a rainbow. Does that mean he won’t let us wipe ourselves out millennia later, if we’re hell-bent on doing so?
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 27, 2014
    80
    Noah can be silly or sublime, but it's never less than fascinating. I was on board from start to finish.
  4. 75
    It isn’t “The Ten Commandments” and Crowe is no Charlton Heston. But Noah makes Biblical myth grand in scope and intimate in appeal. The purists can always go argue over “God Isn’t Dead.” The rest of creation can appreciate this rousing good yarn, told with blood and guts and brawn and beauty, with just a hint of madness to the whole enterprise.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 2, 2014
    67
    Aronofsky’s story of Noah and his ark is far-removed from our collective recollections of Sunday school pageants and Cecil B. DeMille extravaganzas. Instead, this film opts for the sort of human-scaled realism that almost allows us to smell the dank stench of a menagerie cooped up for 40 days and nights on a water-swept barge.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 27, 2014
    63
    Neither fish nor fowl, neither foul nor inspiring, director and co-writer Darren Aronofsky's strange and often rich new movie Noah has enough actual filmmaking to its name to deserve better handling than a plainly nervous Paramount Pictures has given it.
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    What could have made Noah work is the same sense of urgency – of fateful craziness – that made "Pi" so memorable, and which also factored into the fatal obsessions of "The Wrestler" and "Black Swan" (two very flawed movies that admittedly benefited from stronger lead performances than the one here).

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 216
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    An incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a bad thing. No, on the contrary I think it is a really good thing - if I want to read the actual story, I'll read the Bible. The Noah is not a retelling, but rather an attempt to understand the values and to make the short tale something bigger and more complex. And they did it right - drama made me weep, action made me thrilled, conclusion gave me feeling of hope and happiness Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    No one should see Noah without knowing who Darren Aronofsky is. No one should see Noah expecting a Mel Gibson movie about Bible stories. People should expect to see pain and evil manifest on screen. That's what makes Noah great.

    As with any Aronofsky film a single viewing is hardly enough to get his message. That said, I don't think this is his best movie. It does hold up to his other work which says a lot considering the company. Some scenes early on are so intense and jarring they assure you this is classic Aronofsky brilliance. These short lived moments aren't to say the rest of the movie is bad, and it's not as though the intensity decreases later on, but if you lose sight of these moments you're likely going to miss the message.
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    The movie is about the fanatic Noah trying to fulfill the will of God (as he sees it) at any cost, even if it hurts his own family. The visuals are breathtaking. Crowe, Jennifer Connelly and Anthony Hopkins were great, Emma Watson's character was pretty bland. I felt the length of the movie was too much. Overall I liked it. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    5
    It would be hard to predict who might like this show, and who might not.

    If you had never heard the story of Noah, and had no religious
    interest in the film, you might think it was a decent, not great, epic movie. Some things were over the top, but some things were really pretty cool. I enjoyed it for what it was.

    If you expect this to be a religious exposition of the Bible in detail, with a Christian message underneath, don't even think about seeing it. The creators of this movie took the simple basics of the Noah story and then turned it into a modern fantasy tale.
    Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    3
    They ignored every little bit pof personality the original bible lore had and turned into an action oriented bull **** This movie could of gone much better had they stuck with the spiritual interpretation of the original.

    But then again what could you expect knowing this was directed by an Atheist, those who take anything about the bible LITTERALY, when it should actualy be interpreted. But at least he tried.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    1
    first of all they get almost everything wrong. If you are going to do a historic piece, you should at least try to keep the story correct. only the names re the same and there is an arc full of animals and birds, etc. that is where it ends being the story of noah. Cain kills Able and starts an industrial society, according to the narrator, but since when did people in an industrialized society still run around in ragged clothes and animal skins and use clubs and swords? And then fallen angels come down to help mankind and are crusted with volcanic rock as punishment from God. That's so wrong, I'm not even going there. And it just gets worse. Noah is supposedly given the decision to save or destroy all of mankind, by God, and he chooses to destroy all. so this is offensive not only Christians, but to anyone who ever saw a great story come to screen, and it was all screwed up by Hollywood. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    As a filmmaker, I would simply be ashamed to present this garbage to an audience. Sub par CGI, horrible acting, dialogue that makes you cringe. The costume department must have had an off day as well. Just awful. Expand

See all 216 User Reviews

Trailers