Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 581 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 28, 2014
    91
    Despite wild deviations in spiritual themes and execution, nothing in Noah approaches sacrilege or surrender, making this an acutely sensible biblical epic. It may simply be too strange for the masses to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    Overall, Noah represents a respectful take on an old story by filmmakers who pose a pertinent question. The Creator promises never again to wipe humanity off the face of the Earth, signing that covenant with the cheering image of a rainbow. Does that mean he won’t let us wipe ourselves out millennia later, if we’re hell-bent on doing so?
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 27, 2014
    80
    Noah can be silly or sublime, but it's never less than fascinating. I was on board from start to finish.
  4. 75
    It isn’t “The Ten Commandments” and Crowe is no Charlton Heston. But Noah makes Biblical myth grand in scope and intimate in appeal. The purists can always go argue over “God Isn’t Dead.” The rest of creation can appreciate this rousing good yarn, told with blood and guts and brawn and beauty, with just a hint of madness to the whole enterprise.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 2, 2014
    67
    Aronofsky’s story of Noah and his ark is far-removed from our collective recollections of Sunday school pageants and Cecil B. DeMille extravaganzas. Instead, this film opts for the sort of human-scaled realism that almost allows us to smell the dank stench of a menagerie cooped up for 40 days and nights on a water-swept barge.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 27, 2014
    63
    Neither fish nor fowl, neither foul nor inspiring, director and co-writer Darren Aronofsky's strange and often rich new movie Noah has enough actual filmmaking to its name to deserve better handling than a plainly nervous Paramount Pictures has given it.
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    What could have made Noah work is the same sense of urgency – of fateful craziness – that made "Pi" so memorable, and which also factored into the fatal obsessions of "The Wrestler" and "Black Swan" (two very flawed movies that admittedly benefited from stronger lead performances than the one here).

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 226
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    An incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a bad thing. No, on the contrary I think it is a really good thing - if I want to read the actual story, I'll read the Bible. The Noah is not a retelling, but rather an attempt to understand the values and to make the short tale something bigger and more complex. And they did it right - drama made me weep, action made me thrilled, conclusion gave me feeling of hope and happiness Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    Personally I enjoyed this movie as a fiction film, though if you are looking for an accurate biblical tale it might not satisfy your expectations. I feel the people giving this bad reviews are only doing so because it does not fit "their" view of the biblical story.

    This is Russel Crows best film in many years, his acting was solid considering some of his previous poor performances. The movie has an obvious agenda that man should appreciate the earth and not destroy it and makes you think about becoming a vegetarian. I really enjoyed the movie and it's worth watching as a "movie" but again don't expect it to be a film based on a tale from the bible, enjoy it for what it is and try to judge it as that.

    People will love this, or hate it. Most that hate it will be people upset it was not an accurate biblical adaptation, but then again no one knows what is true/false or exaggerated in the bible so it's hard to judge a fiction movie which is based on a bible story. Judge it as a movie, nothing more.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    Aronofsky has drawn from a number of canonical and apocryphal texts, as well as more modern post-apocalyptic and environmentalist themes, to craft an antediluvian world which feels part Biblical, part mystical, and part Mad Max. That might sound like the makings of a hot mess, but it all somehow works, thanks to a strong script and even stronger casting. "Noah" is definitely not the story you learned in Sunday School, but it is a great movie, taken on it's own merits, as well as managing to inject some emotional impact back into a story we've become numbed to, having heard it so many times. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    5
    It would be hard to predict who might like this show, and who might not.

    If you had never heard the story of Noah, and had no religious
    interest in the film, you might think it was a decent, not great, epic movie. Some things were over the top, but some things were really pretty cool. I enjoyed it for what it was.

    If you expect this to be a religious exposition of the Bible in detail, with a Christian message underneath, don't even think about seeing it. The creators of this movie took the simple basics of the Noah story and then turned it into a modern fantasy tale.
    Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    3
    Film felt confused; it just added content inconsistent with original Biblical teaching, but then tried to approach evolution, and even mix in the story of Abraham instead of just telling the story.

    Cinematography was quite well--honestly one of the better approaches to use of imagery and special effects which is why I give it a 3. But the film is probably best watched on mute.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    Are you kidding me? What, they ran out of comic book super-heroes to make blockbusters out of so Hollywood is resorting to Bible characters?
    And even a bible-based movie has to have talking sci-fi monsters to sell tickets to the masses these days?
    I predict in 20 years people then will be laughing at just how cheezy movies today were - like people laugh today at Godzilla movies from the 60s.

    Besides that, it basically was horrible in most every other way. Bad acting, fight scene after fight scene, boring CGI scenery. God help us!
    Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    I'm going to step away from all religious interpretations and regard this simply on its merits as a film, not as a traditional biblical story. The problem is, it doesn't really have many merits. This film was simply two hours and fifteen minutes of tedium. The special effects are barely worthy of a SyFy Channel original film. The acting is overly hammy and in some cases mind-numbingly wooden, part of which I feel is the part of the script, which eschews actually writing good dialogue for what seems to be just spewing out statements at random. The editing ranges in style from choppy to lingering overly long on mundane, uninteresting scenes. Everything is just...off. As bad as everything else felt, the score was possibly worse. I've never had issue with the work of Clint Mansell before, but for Noah he's opted for a blaring two note score that just keeps screaming the same two flipping horn blasts in your face over and over again. This is also the first time I would ever describe Aronofsky's directing as "ham-fisted". Everything feels overdone, self-indulgent and overproduced. I usually walk out of a Darren Aronofsky film contemplating the themes and mulling it over in my head to uncover deeper meanings. This one only stayed with me as a bad memory. Expand

See all 226 User Reviews

Trailers