IFC Films | Release Date: February 4, 2005
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
5
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
Undeniably, one of the best Japanese films I've ever seen in years. The story was so unique that it expressed an extraordinary unwelcoming senses of sympathy along with anger. Despite of that, the movie also possessed a sense of warmth thatUndeniably, one of the best Japanese films I've ever seen in years. The story was so unique that it expressed an extraordinary unwelcoming senses of sympathy along with anger. Despite of that, the movie also possessed a sense of warmth that can make you fall into tears before you even realized. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
lubacortezFeb 20, 2013
Film Director, Hirokazu Kore-eda's take on a real life event of child abandonment in Japan. In Nobody Knows, Four children are left to fend for themselves when their mother takes off. The eldest son, Akira, is left in charge of his youngerFilm Director, Hirokazu Kore-eda's take on a real life event of child abandonment in Japan. In Nobody Knows, Four children are left to fend for themselves when their mother takes off. The eldest son, Akira, is left in charge of his younger sisters and brother. He is forced to "grow up" and take charge but can only do so much. Hirokazu Kore-eda's cinematic progression and pacing is slow but riveting. It's a quiet film, yet spilling over with emotion. It's a comment on society and family. It reflects the status and shows us a cinematic situation of child abandonment it's not just a "pointless" and "boring" film. The kids act like kids. It's moving and eye-opening. As I say about all movies: Don't go in with expectations. Be surprised, entertained, and enlightened! Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
DonaldW.Jun 23, 2006
One word can describe this movie: boring. It could also apply to the other Koreeda movies I have seen. If another word is desired, try "pointless." If Koreeda is trying to tell us that young children should not be abandoned by their parents One word can describe this movie: boring. It could also apply to the other Koreeda movies I have seen. If another word is desired, try "pointless." If Koreeda is trying to tell us that young children should not be abandoned by their parents that isa point which certainly should not take two hours and twenty minutes to make as nothing could be more obvious. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
nascentSep 20, 2012
I was quite disappointed with this movie, it was very slow, lacking in character arcs, plot or emotion. The abandonment and the 'fending for themselves' is interesting, but it's half shot like a documentary, half shot like a progressiveI was quite disappointed with this movie, it was very slow, lacking in character arcs, plot or emotion. The abandonment and the 'fending for themselves' is interesting, but it's half shot like a documentary, half shot like a progressive drama. But there's very little to take from the film. The characters are pretty shallow, despite the great acting and close-up shots. A movie this reminded me a lot of is King Of the Hill, a fantastically made movie about a boy left to fend for himself as his parents have to leave. There's adventure, a coming-of-age character arc, a plot with strong overtones. Very strongly written characters in addition to the good cast. Obviously they're not identical films, but I would recommend King Of The Hill tenfold over this. I'm a hugely into Asian cinema, but other than good camerawork, there's very little to this film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
BrentC.Jan 5, 2007
I just rented this movie. I was overwelmed with emotions. I couldnt stop crying at times. I felt like I was with them going thru the same pain. It is now one of the best films I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WooChiaoT.Oct 16, 2005
There's a thin line between whether the movie is too long or not. Initially, I felt the same way too. But as I watched the second half, i realised what the seemingly nonsensical scenes are for - for the viewers to think and reflect. For There's a thin line between whether the movie is too long or not. Initially, I felt the same way too. But as I watched the second half, i realised what the seemingly nonsensical scenes are for - for the viewers to think and reflect. For those who lament that the show has no ending, think again. Remember why akira did not want to go to the public welfare? because he didn't want to be separated from his siblings. and the movie ended timely, and unfortunately, with the departure of yuki. If they hang on the way they are, they will be separated eventually as well, perhaps in a worse manner - death. towards the end of the show, arika approached saki whom he rejected earlier for help. he did not want saki's money initially because he believed it is against his principle. but he realises in the end that when faced with the harsh reality of face, we have to compromise our beliefs. akira has learnt a lesson - he will approach the welfare public authority. at the end of the show, shigeta (i can't remember the name of arika's brother) found a coin remember? it symbolises new hope for the children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickF.Feb 2, 2006
Hollywood could never make a film this moving and real. I was totally absorbed in the kids plight and never once was aware that they were acting, as they seemed so natural. The scene with Akira and Yuki (and her squeeky shoes) returning Hollywood could never make a film this moving and real. I was totally absorbed in the kids plight and never once was aware that they were acting, as they seemed so natural. The scene with Akira and Yuki (and her squeeky shoes) returning dejectedly from the train station, after the birthday adventure outside the apartment, stays with me still. A beautiful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidDAug 4, 2006
Donald, it's not the fact that the movie is restating a commonly held notion that kids should not be abandoned.

Just because we hear about these things happening over and over and accept them as truth, rarely do we really comprehend
Donald, it's not the fact that the movie is restating a commonly held notion that kids should not be abandoned.

Just because we hear about these things happening over and over and accept them as truth, rarely do we really comprehend what it means to the children; to grasp what it would like to be in such a sad situation.

This movie took a notion and made it real. That is what is so shocking about it.

With your attitude Donald, I am sure you must be doing a lot to help such children.

Indeed, was two hours and twenty minutes and you still didn't get it's message.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichY.Mar 15, 2007
The writer/director used his creative license to embellish the actual event and made it even more tragic and heartwrenching. But the fact remains that this is a stunning piece of work that needs to be witnessed. As other reviewers noted, I The writer/director used his creative license to embellish the actual event and made it even more tragic and heartwrenching. But the fact remains that this is a stunning piece of work that needs to be witnessed. As other reviewers noted, I was completely immersed in the film I that the hours went unnoticed as well as the "acting" by these children. It was a very emotionally exhausting cinematic experience but it was also one of the most beautifully told stories I'd ever seen in my life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Jul 9, 2007
This movie is strangely mesmerizing and heartbreaking. There was no drama, no crying in the movie but I have endured one of the most intensely painful experience. Powerful movie!!! The movie is well acted and directed. There is no wasted This movie is strangely mesmerizing and heartbreaking. There was no drama, no crying in the movie but I have endured one of the most intensely painful experience. Powerful movie!!! The movie is well acted and directed. There is no wasted moment in the whole 141 minutes. Every scene is well chosen and has its own effect to the audiences. There are some silent scenes in which the camera just stays still, capturing the very normal, unnoticed things of their life; and these scenes are precious. The ones who call this movie "boring" watch too many typical, bomb-blowing, gun-firing Hollywood drama. The repetition of the film IS THE POINT!!! That's how life is. Look at your life for a second. Is that what life is, a series of repetitive thing: we get up in the morning, we eat breakfast, we go to work/ school, and then we go home, we have dinner, we sleep and then we wake up again the next morning. These children and their life is portrayed beautifully real. It is NOT BORING!!! It is mesmerizing and heartbreaking. Those who say it boring, again, watch too much cheesy Hollywood film. What do they expect? A car accident? A gun-fire? A murder? The thieves get in to their apartment? Look at your life. These things don't come around as often as they do in Hollywood films. This movie is emotionally exhausted but it is never a waste to experience something like this. POWERFUL. Oh, and to Potechi who finds it is unbelievable to have a junior high/ high school outsider join the kids, I just want to say that for me, it is totally believable. You cannot use your cynical, protective, and doubtful sense of the adult to try to make sense the kid's world. Look at the details in the movie or the children who play at any park in real life. They play together. They laugh together. Only the adults are the one who are lonely, cynical, isolated and masked. The movie is utterly real and precious. A MUST SEE. What you experience in the movie maybe is what the four kids are experiencing themselves. The movie puts you in their life and make you experience it. So if you feel mind-numbing or bored or curious (about the mother) or heartbroken or emotionally drained or repressed, I think it would probably be what the children are enduring. Hope you will appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelW.Oct 22, 2005
One of the most powerful and emotional movies I have ever been blessed enough to watch. Yuya Yagira's performance as Akira is perfect, hence why he won Best Actor. The young Akira's eyes change throughout the movie, from the One of the most powerful and emotional movies I have ever been blessed enough to watch. Yuya Yagira's performance as Akira is perfect, hence why he won Best Actor. The young Akira's eyes change throughout the movie, from the innocence at the beginning to the hard, mournful look at the end. We see the mother's (who is played by You, a Japanese Pop Star) true personality when she questions Akira why she cannot be happy. This is the final tie cut between the two, and you can see it. I honestly think the flow of this movie makes you forget that it is over 2 hours long. In the middle of the movie, we can see that Akira's frustration gets the best of him when he pushes Shigeru away for the first time. In all honesty, this movie shows the pain and hardships of life through the eyes of children. That is what makes this movie so great. It makes us re-think ourselves and our beliefs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CesarSep 17, 2005
Heart breaking, so much more because its a true story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanhN.Dec 8, 2006
I just watched this movie and man was it great... it isn't your normal movie. If you want a movie with action this isn't it. It was slow and calm all the way through the two hours and twenty-one minutes. But it showed how these I just watched this movie and man was it great... it isn't your normal movie. If you want a movie with action this isn't it. It was slow and calm all the way through the two hours and twenty-one minutes. But it showed how these kids grew up and bonded... its a must see if you like eastern style movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinifredAOct 3, 2006
I happened to catch this film on cable several nights ago. In a word, it's
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeteJ.Sep 29, 2006
A must-see for fans of Japanese movies an incredible movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PotechiJan 20, 2007
The movie was good but could've used some serious cutting. The film also lost it's realism near the end for me because of the children's unnatural, unwavering behaviour. It's pushing it already to think that the 3 The movie was good but could've used some serious cutting. The film also lost it's realism near the end for me because of the children's unnatural, unwavering behaviour. It's pushing it already to think that the 3 siblings would act in this certain manner but adding a juniorhigh/highschool outsider to the bunch makes it the more unbelievable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Nov 7, 2008
Amazing film, I'm pressed for a better way to describe it, but I'm at a loss for words. Absolutely amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcK.Nov 26, 2005
An intense and sad film that left me emotionally drained at the end, and yes, in tears. Not only is this the best U.S. release of 2005 (I know it was released in Japan in 2004), this is one of the best films I've seen in the last 10 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MirmyV.Dec 22, 2005
Completely and utterly moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimG.Sep 18, 2005
Many moments of many emotions -- joy, hatred, peace, failure, strength, fear, love, disgust, power, resignation, disillusionment, success, grief, acceptance. The more Akira and his sister assume responsiblity beyond their years, the more Many moments of many emotions -- joy, hatred, peace, failure, strength, fear, love, disgust, power, resignation, disillusionment, success, grief, acceptance. The more Akira and his sister assume responsiblity beyond their years, the more terrifying the possibility that they will fail. A bit overlong. But in two hours we view a lifetime of emotions lived for only six months within four walls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StellaI.Jan 28, 2006
Best film I have seen in years. Very emotional and takes your breath away. The increased level of depression as the film progresses is a mere look into reality that we all take granted for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanP.Oct 14, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. The kids were adorable, and the story was emotionally touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
Nobody Knows shows how no one knows how great this movie can be and this proves it just by watching it. The secrets will be revealed and nobody must know!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews