User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 319
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    8
    A lot better than I thought it would be. I was not in the mood for this kind of movie. I just knew it was going to be a Taken 3 type. Well it kinda is, but there is much more thinking and suspense than there is bullets flying. I will catch this one again as it gets onto cable tv where this movie is on a non stop path to. ;)
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    I went to this movie with very low expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. It is ridiculous, ludicrous, stupid, and the ending is very poor. However, it is damn entertaining! If you want to kill a couple hours, you could do worse. Perhaps wait to watch it on DVD (or on a plane).
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    I have seen all of Liam Neeson's movies, and this one is as good as the others. This was so cleverly made and I couldn't take my eyes from the screen. I would recommend this to anyone that likes working out puzzles or thrillers.
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this film. The premise of the film might put you off, as it is the typical one man rescues a lot of people cliché, but you should give the film a chance. Neeson plays the character brilliantly and had a great supporting cast. Sure the story could have been a bit tighter but it still offers an exciting, tense and interesting film that kept the audience guessing. I mean atI really enjoyed this film. The premise of the film might put you off, as it is the typical one man rescues a lot of people cliché, but you should give the film a chance. Neeson plays the character brilliantly and had a great supporting cast. Sure the story could have been a bit tighter but it still offers an exciting, tense and interesting film that kept the audience guessing. I mean at one point I was even suspecting an old lady! If you get the chance go see the film, it's worth a watch. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    Great escape for these awful winter months in the East. Neeson's acting skills keep things believable, and the intricacy of the plot helps too. The supporting cast is very strong, so you can easily believe one minute that they are in on the plot and the next minute that they are innocent. Occasionally a little too schmaltzy, but only occasionally. Basically everything moves along at a fastGreat escape for these awful winter months in the East. Neeson's acting skills keep things believable, and the intricacy of the plot helps too. The supporting cast is very strong, so you can easily believe one minute that they are in on the plot and the next minute that they are innocent. Occasionally a little too schmaltzy, but only occasionally. Basically everything moves along at a fast pace and keeps your attention, and the movie gets better as it goes on and gets more hectic. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    non stop is worth seeing . it has everything someone wants in a movie. liam neeson is great so is julliane moore . and the others . take your family to see it
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    I was surprised how this movie got me. When you hear that its another story about a one-man army that stops innocent people from dying you think this movie is going to be really bad.Only few movies have something interesting in every minute from begining. There is no space for boring conversations just pure airplane thriller. And even with some cliche moments that appear in every movieI was surprised how this movie got me. When you hear that its another story about a one-man army that stops innocent people from dying you think this movie is going to be really bad.Only few movies have something interesting in every minute from begining. There is no space for boring conversations just pure airplane thriller. And even with some cliche moments that appear in every movie like this it's good to see that somebody older than 40 can also play a real badass. You won't regret watching it ! Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    An amazing popcorn movie. The mystery correctly overpowers the "action" elements and makes this a very enjoyable guessing game. It's fun to again try to figure out what is going to happen next and to try to guess the identity of the bad guy or guys -- or gals! Best fight in a moving toilet since FROM RUSSIAN WITH LOVE.
  9. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    I love Jaume Collet-Serra's films, they are interesting and they are always apart of being mediocre, I loved "Unknown" which also stars Liam Neeson. "Orphan" which is one of my all time favorites. Despite I knew little to nothing about this film, when the credits showed up I recognized it is a Jaume Collet-Serra film. As for Non-Stop it is a rapid intense ride, filled with coolI love Jaume Collet-Serra's films, they are interesting and they are always apart of being mediocre, I loved "Unknown" which also stars Liam Neeson. "Orphan" which is one of my all time favorites. Despite I knew little to nothing about this film, when the credits showed up I recognized it is a Jaume Collet-Serra film. As for Non-Stop it is a rapid intense ride, filled with cool cinematography and executions. If you are able to buy the characters you will enjoy every frame despite the lack of perfection. Expand
  10. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    Despite some plot inconsistencies and conveniences the movie succeeds thanks to some actual tension and the always enjoyable Liam Neeson. Watching him trying to piece together exactly what is going on is quite entertaining thanks to some novel ideas and the fact that it leaves you constantly guessing at what's going on. It's one heck of a flight and Neeson and the rest of the cast keepDespite some plot inconsistencies and conveniences the movie succeeds thanks to some actual tension and the always enjoyable Liam Neeson. Watching him trying to piece together exactly what is going on is quite entertaining thanks to some novel ideas and the fact that it leaves you constantly guessing at what's going on. It's one heck of a flight and Neeson and the rest of the cast keep things tight. Overall I give it an 8.8/10 and recommend you check this one out. Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    Even though there are sometimes illogical aspects to this film (like an air marshal trying to keep everyone with exception of a few in the dark about what is going on yet he talks full voice in the middle of where everyone is sitting to a character about what is going on but the situation is treated like no one can hear what he is saying) it still works in a really odd way. I'll be honestEven though there are sometimes illogical aspects to this film (like an air marshal trying to keep everyone with exception of a few in the dark about what is going on yet he talks full voice in the middle of where everyone is sitting to a character about what is going on but the situation is treated like no one can hear what he is saying) it still works in a really odd way. I'll be honest I was made to see this, and I didn't really care to, but I enjoyed myself. Liam does flesh out his character enough that it works with the plot. It's not something you need to see in the theater but check this out you will be entertained. Expand
  12. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    Easily the most intense film I've experienced so far this year! Liam Neeson finds himself in yet another great badass role. Aside from him, the action is high octane and very entertaining. The highly involving plot will keep you guessing (and is likely to surprise you several times as well.) I won't say much else other than the final act of the film is completely insane and intense. All ofEasily the most intense film I've experienced so far this year! Liam Neeson finds himself in yet another great badass role. Aside from him, the action is high octane and very entertaining. The highly involving plot will keep you guessing (and is likely to surprise you several times as well.) I won't say much else other than the final act of the film is completely insane and intense. All of these things put together easily makes this the most fun and gripping action movie thus far this year! Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best films to come out this year, I really enjoyed this film and I don't think the critics know what is good these days by the low scores a lot of them are giving this film, everyone should watch this film it is great and you will not be disappointed
  14. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    When I saw the trailer I thought this movie will suck. But I was wrong. It don´t have a lot of action, but it still being great. I really recommend it.

    .
  15. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Non Stop was an excellent film, the premise would take some unexpected turns, that would work, but only some of them wouldn't. The Characters were fantastic Neeson played an excellent role of the flight attendant. The suspense will leave the audience shocked. Overall I really enjoyed non stop.
  16. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    Liam Neeson reunites with Unknown director Jaume Collet-Serra for this high-flying whodunit Non-Stop that requires Neeson's alcoholic air marshal to crack heads to stop a murder plot. The film works for the most part until it's final act. The didactic tone of Non-Stop's final third serves to amplify its passable hokeyness. Does Marks really need to be an alcoholic and a grieving father andLiam Neeson reunites with Unknown director Jaume Collet-Serra for this high-flying whodunit Non-Stop that requires Neeson's alcoholic air marshal to crack heads to stop a murder plot. The film works for the most part until it's final act. The didactic tone of Non-Stop's final third serves to amplify its passable hokeyness. Does Marks really need to be an alcoholic and a grieving father and the victim of conspiracy? Does he really have to be the protector of a plane-load of innocents and the father figure to a little girl flying alone for the first time? As Non-Stop answers its narrative questions, it cranks up the action dial to preposterous proportions. It resists its natural tendency to be slick, simple, and tense. But when Collet-Serra hands it off to the talent, Non-Stop is a gripping battle of banter. Agatha would approve. Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    As Matthew McConaughey turns from a nude bongo romantic comedy lead into a very respected Oscar nominated 'serious' actor Liam Neeson has gone from a serious actor to an action star and he continues in that mode with "Non-Stop". With his hang dog, sad sack face you know within minutes of the film starting this man has had a rough time and along with fighting possible alcoholism he isAs Matthew McConaughey turns from a nude bongo romantic comedy lead into a very respected Oscar nominated 'serious' actor Liam Neeson has gone from a serious actor to an action star and he continues in that mode with "Non-Stop". With his hang dog, sad sack face you know within minutes of the film starting this man has had a rough time and along with fighting possible alcoholism he is fighting past demons.

    Bill Marks (Neeson) is a Federal Air Marshall who within minutes of the plane he is on he gets a call on his cellphone demanding millions of dollars or every 20 minutes someone on the plane will be killed. Bill is being set up as the hijacker of the plane and the money and his boss, along with others in the government, suspect it is true.

    The Marshall suspects everyone on the plane except an eight year old girl. Becca. (Quinn McColgan) that gives him a chance to show his tender side. We meet his seatmate Jan (Julianne Moore), flight attendants Nancy (Michelle Dockery) and Gwen (Lupita Nyong'o) along with a teacher, doctor, pilot and co-pilot, a New York policeman and as varied a crowd as you would find on any plane and Bill, along with the audience, try to figure out who is behind it all. You know a film is working when you suspect the child could be behind it all, if only for a minute.

    As an action film "Non-Stop" fits all the requirements including a few, well many, illogical monents, fights, guilty party going from one suspect to another, fights, manufactured but effective suspense, fights, a possible past and future love story and, oh yes, did I mention fights?

    Neeson does everything the questionable hero is expected to do and all the cast support him though the women are more or less wasted, especially Moore and Nyong'o, the latter given very little to say but shows off that Grace Jones hair style with class.

    As Allen said while walking out "I'm exhausted," being pulled into the film as most of the audience was. Many people stayed for the ending credits to see who played what role as many faces were familiar but not quite a name!

    Director Jaume Collet-Serra keeps the action moving including a very believable 2 man fight in the plane's restroom. The screenwriters John W. Richardson, Chris Roach and Ryan Engle keep the story going maintaining suspense, if not always logical, while the score by John Ottman almost unnoticeable adds to the tension.

    For those who like action films this is a good one and even those who don't (me) will enjoy it.
    Expand
  18. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    Entertaining movie, keeps the audience thinking and guessing. The high pace of the movie hides scenario bugs, unclear causes and events, for instance how the killings happened, is it possible for an airplane to survive an explosion, how the guns passed the checks before boarding, how did Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) accidentally discover a hidden window in the restroom? Some story lines areEntertaining movie, keeps the audience thinking and guessing. The high pace of the movie hides scenario bugs, unclear causes and events, for instance how the killings happened, is it possible for an airplane to survive an explosion, how the guns passed the checks before boarding, how did Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) accidentally discover a hidden window in the restroom? Some story lines are fictitious, such as the inclusion of a little frightened girl, and the story of Jen Summers (Julianne Moore). Nonetheless, the movie didn't pretend much but absorbing the audience, which really happened. It is a kind of puzzling game to unfold the sender of the SMSs to Bill Marks, it is not clear how they were sent. The characters are meant to distract
    him and the audience as well, typical of suspense movies. But it is entertaining and worth watching.
    Expand
  19. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Gets a bit tiresome after a while and would have been better if it were a bit shorter but overall, It was pretty good. The plot was solid, The plot twists added some excitement to the film, and the action, even though there isn't much of it, is good as well. Overall, If you liked Taken then you will certainly like Non-Stop. It's a pretty solid movie overall.
  20. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Good mystery thriller- really fun time- liam neeson gives a good energetic performance -and also good supporting cast- simple plot presented in a very interesting way- suspense make us excited- over all really good mystery suspense film,go and watch it
  21. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    It may not be high art but it's so refreshing to see a film like NON-STOP that knows what it wants to be and delivers on every promise. NON-STOP is a solid B-movie filled with A-list talent that elevate the proceedings while keeping it all firmly in B=movieland. I was on the edge of my seat throughout wondering who was the "terrorist." A fun cat and mouse film anchored by the oh so manlyIt may not be high art but it's so refreshing to see a film like NON-STOP that knows what it wants to be and delivers on every promise. NON-STOP is a solid B-movie filled with A-list talent that elevate the proceedings while keeping it all firmly in B=movieland. I was on the edge of my seat throughout wondering who was the "terrorist." A fun cat and mouse film anchored by the oh so manly Liam Neeson who has become our Charles Bronson but with a heart so big, it can climb the moon. Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2014
    7
    This is a good solid popcorn film. The premise is totally unbelievable but it is frantically paced and fun. These two guys are the fastest "texters" on the planet, nobody can text that fast, and when the bad guy tells him someone will be killed every 20 minutes the hero touches one button on his watch and it is automatically in timer mode set to 20 minutes! There are many otherThis is a good solid popcorn film. The premise is totally unbelievable but it is frantically paced and fun. These two guys are the fastest "texters" on the planet, nobody can text that fast, and when the bad guy tells him someone will be killed every 20 minutes the hero touches one button on his watch and it is automatically in timer mode set to 20 minutes! There are many other absurdities, especially the reason that the bad guys are doing this, but I still enjoyed the film because of its action and fast pacing. Liam Neeson is always fun in this type of role. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    Non-Stop is a 2014 mystery suspense action thriller set aboard a flight from New York to London, starring none other than Liam Neeson. It’s fortunately not in the style of Taken, whereby almost everything is offset by enjoyable, brainless action and a completely illogical plot, but this being from this specific genre with Liam Neeson it’s often hard to let off so easily. Sure, we gain aNon-Stop is a 2014 mystery suspense action thriller set aboard a flight from New York to London, starring none other than Liam Neeson. It’s fortunately not in the style of Taken, whereby almost everything is offset by enjoyable, brainless action and a completely illogical plot, but this being from this specific genre with Liam Neeson it’s often hard to let off so easily. Sure, we gain a sympathetic situation from an air marshal with horrific problems to deal with (I couldn’t help it when it was announced his daughter had died from acute leukaemia at the age of 8, mirrored with the conversation with Jennifer about the blue ribbon that his 17 year old daughter had given him because despite being who he is, he’s still pretty much a damaged person), the film itself doesn’t often follow through with the morality themes it has given itself. To an extent, it is entertaining in a better way that you have to use your brain (for the most part), but has an ancient habit of not in the least well done plot devices.

    Liam Neeson is Bill Marks, an air marshal, who discovers the flight he is on has someone threatening to kill a passenger on board every 20 minutes if $150 million is not wired to a given account number. The set-up is simple and solid and we come to an understanding of a thrilling suspense ride that combines both intelligence and action. The hype is definitely not surprising.

    We gain much of this from the acknowledgement of the question many people would be asking: “How do you kill someone on a passenger plane without anyone noticing?” I mean, with the limited space 40,000 ft. above the ground, it would be too easy. That film wouldn’t exactly be the most popular.

    It helps that we are given a conventional beginning to lead us through, with the usual action of boarding the plane (his alcoholism is prominent right from the start) and interacting with crew members and passengers. In particular he takes a shine to Jennifer Summers (played by Julianne Moore) and manages to find trust in Steward Nancy Hoffman (played by Michelle Dockery).

    This is significant to the plot strength, because if he is to discover how someone kills someone aboard a passenger plane discreetly, he needs to know about the other passengers and that includes asking for help. Although, there’s a weakness here – of course it’s meant to be difficult considering the circumstances and what better way than to throw a plot twist in there? However, it does stretch out coherently enough, really only until the final act where a plot device manages to make its way in.

    What doesn’t make sense is that Bill gains and regains people’s trust too quickly in spite of the revelations. Perhaps the sympathy card was played for that reason – they can’t trust him enough as an air marshal but after airing his problems people have no other idea but to. I suppose it wouldn’t work if he didn’t have the jaded persona, but at the same time it doesn’t come naturally. If they had only one reason to trust him it would be because what he was doing was trying to save their lives and that they had to. The media is a volatile outlet and to retract the statement of being the FBI’s (we’re talking high class investigation here) prime suspect in a hijacking wouldn’t be that easy to do.

    The film sometimes forgets that it aims to bring its own morality to the table due to its own idea of logic.
    The distrust is too often forgotten, the theme of futility and hope getting more intermittent as the film progresses and whether the physics of being able to muffle a bomb blast in an airplane while managing to land it and have the present passengers all survive still sounds questionable. But a specific saving grace happens to be a young girl named Becca, travelling alone to meet her father, a walking symbol of a fragment of Bill’s life that he can finally share an experience with that he was never able to last with his own daughter. The blue ribbon being quite obvious.

    To an extent, this film is an enjoyable ride that sets up on a take-off with a solid, excusable premise that misses points and jumps too quickly. It is refreshing to see a wide range of people represented, showing a distinctive power of a lack of discrimination. When Bill doesn’t know who to trust, it’s simple to know he’s doing it out of a genuine lack of knowledge and that he addresses those he needs to in order to know what’s really going on. What doesn’t work though, is that what ends up as a possible development ends up being squandered for the usual kind of ending – Julianne Moore and Liam Neeson looking at each other in the style of a happy ending of a romantic comedy. Being a mystery suspense action thriller, that’s definitely not what I was expecting (for a Liam Neeson film, I was hoping he didn’t have to do this).
    Expand
  24. May 28, 2014
    8
    Thrilling, old fashioned thriller, buoyed by great performance by the ever dependable Neeson. Better than you expect, and more of a mystery thriller than an action flick.
  25. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    With Liam Neeson soaring high as a legitimate action hero and gradually intense plot, Non-Stop could have been great, but the asinine final act undermines its thrilling build up. The movie boasts many talented cast, its cinematography dances around in such tight space, and it produces a sense of inescapable situation well. For most part, the story holds together, weaving seeminglyWith Liam Neeson soaring high as a legitimate action hero and gradually intense plot, Non-Stop could have been great, but the asinine final act undermines its thrilling build up. The movie boasts many talented cast, its cinematography dances around in such tight space, and it produces a sense of inescapable situation well. For most part, the story holds together, weaving seemingly impossible feats of crime above the sky, only to falls later with far-fetch conclusion, perhaps inspired by older Samuel L. Jackson's movie of the same premise.

    Concept of being trapped and threatened mid-flight is used in an intriguing fashion. Tension escalates nicely and in familiar small inescapable space, the struggle will be relatable to the audience. Characters are introduced swiftly with skillful editing, its cast does good job on keeping the exhilaration going. At most times, the movie ventures into psychological thriller realm, connecting riddle after riddle. In contrast of more action heavy movies Liam Neeson has done in recent years or what the poster may suggest, the action takes a backseat in exchange of more intellectual coping of the characters in the predicament.

    Liam Neeson as Bill Marks, moves and acts with necessary vigor, he's a good action hero with reliance on mental fortitude instead of muscle strength alone. Julianne Moore does well as Jen Summers, an unlucky passenger who's caught up in Bill's unyielding search of the culprit. She looks very natural, quite a charming innocent bystander, yet peculiarly frantic enough at some times to arouse suspicion. The rest is decent, including rising star Lupita Nyong'o, they ensure a colorful personalities among the characters as they portray quite believable reactions, up to a point.

    The director gives good perspective in confined rooms. Camera angle shows restriction, but still enough for the scenes to be enjoyable without feeling too clustered. At more ardent sequences the camera even makes continuous shot of the event, which is pretty impressive considering things can get hectic. Little details, such as floating HUD of cellphones or display of the surveillance cameras provide easy viewing for the audience, without having a protagonist narrates everything clumsily.

    Its main problem is its ending. As the movie progresses with elaborate schemes, you'd be most likely invested in the story, thus hoping for a clever fascinating conclusion. Sadly, it is not so. The movies somewhat loses fuel in the end, even resorting to absurd plot twist as fume. This is a very hackneyed solution, one which decreases the excitement from the build up significantly. Non-Stop could have been a great movie, if not for its rather disappointing end.
    Expand
  26. May 26, 2014
    7
    A great fast paced thriller that kept your interest for most of the way through but the ending could have been a little more creative. Absurd but fun to watch.
  27. May 27, 2014
    8
    A good set up played with interesting characters.There was a nice blend of thrills, drama, suspense, and moments of comedic relief to keep my attention all the way through. With a movie like this, it was everything you would hope it would be.
  28. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    It was an entertaining thriller set in a small surrounded area. I mean the whole movie takes place on a plane while it was flying above the ocean between two continents. As we know it was shot in a studio as much possible limited budget. Very well made movie with good support from the cast. Earlier I believed it was like the British movie 'Panic Button', except the limited passengers. IfIt was an entertaining thriller set in a small surrounded area. I mean the whole movie takes place on a plane while it was flying above the ocean between two continents. As we know it was shot in a studio as much possible limited budget. Very well made movie with good support from the cast. Earlier I believed it was like the British movie 'Panic Button', except the limited passengers. If you had seen that, you would thought similar way. Anyway, it was lots better than that, except the pace.

    Since the movie 'Taken' most of the Liam Neeson movie's were similar type. At least all his characters were portrayed close to each others and in this movie it was not spared. Of course, there have been lots of changes made. He played as an alcoholic air marshal in this. On his duty while his plane carrying hundreds of passengers to London from New York, he gets hinted that a man on board trying to threaten the safe journey. On the midway, over Atlantic ocean he's clueless, but must find him before everything he said turn into reality. So the game begins between the good and bad. Whether the plane safely lands its destination is the movie's finale.

    ‘‘I always kind of liked flying,
    six hours in one seat and nobody can get to you.’’

    The suspense was better than I expected. It puts the viewers to engage in solving the puzzle. So the entertainment was promised till the twist come into play. Once the it explains its mystery that was carried all the way, at that moment I felt it was not cleverly done. Slightly not a satisfied solution for curiosity it created. Because it was simple and predictable once you come to know the truth. Especially the bad guys were weak in strength to handle the good guy. Julianne Moore role was looked kind of comedy to me. I would have not agreed to do that if I was her. Anyway the story asked for pawns to draw a confusion graph while narrating the main plot. A nice mystery movie, starts well, developed well in the middle, but did not end in similar fashion. To me the conclusion could have been a better, otherwise it would have not been an acceptable action-thriller.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  29. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    Liam Neeson continues to impress as an action star. I was very tuned into what was going on in the movie and constantly trying to figure out who the culprit could possibly be. Things could have very easily been Liam Neeson punching people on a plane, but it turned out to be smarting than that, wrapping you up in the mystery.
  30. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    This movie is enjoyable and the acting is very good. The plot is decent and only has a few small holes in it, three that we could find. The story is believable and sucks you in momentarily, but is not ground-breaking and will be forgotten in a few years.
  31. Jun 14, 2014
    7
    Just a flat out fun movie that lacks all plausibility but in the end who cares. The film is well acted and even with the ridiculousness it's never boring. B+
  32. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    What makes this movie so enjoyable is that it resembles old-fashioned Liam Neeson action flicks like "Taken", "Unknown", and "The Grey". "Non-Stop" is an interesting thriller that while cliched still engages you as an audience member and keeps you guessing. Liam Neeson once again commands the role but as an alcoholic down on his luck. I really like that this was a different type of actionWhat makes this movie so enjoyable is that it resembles old-fashioned Liam Neeson action flicks like "Taken", "Unknown", and "The Grey". "Non-Stop" is an interesting thriller that while cliched still engages you as an audience member and keeps you guessing. Liam Neeson once again commands the role but as an alcoholic down on his luck. I really like that this was a different type of action hero for Liam to play. Unlike being a perfect bad-a** from "Taken", "Unknown", etc, he was shaping and molding into a bad-a** even though his character was completely damaged. While some characters are heard more than others, the ones who stick out are the ones that make the movie engaging. Overall, it's a thriller with some thrills even through its cliches. I give it a B+! Plus, I give the movie more of a 7.5 rather than a 7. Just F.W.I! Expand
  33. Aug 3, 2014
    9
    An amazing thriller, that takes full advantage of actress roles and expansion of character development. Which is the key to, feeling attached to character. Non-stop has achieve this, while keeping the audiences on the edge of their sets watching the turn of events unfold. Its almost impossible to pull yourself away from the movie and i believe that calls for a awesomeness! Non-stop isAn amazing thriller, that takes full advantage of actress roles and expansion of character development. Which is the key to, feeling attached to character. Non-stop has achieve this, while keeping the audiences on the edge of their sets watching the turn of events unfold. Its almost impossible to pull yourself away from the movie and i believe that calls for a awesomeness! Non-stop is definitely worth a blu-ray purchase! Expand
  34. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    This was a very engaging thriller that keeps you on your toes. Surprised it was not hyped more for the theater audience. Not a blockbuster, but a fairly solid, enjoyable popcorn movie.
  35. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    This movie is great non-stop action movie. Just another classic from the great liam. You will not be disappointed. I could not guess who the bad guys was till the end of the movie, that is the first time that has happened. Go see it.
  36. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    A Thrilling and enjoyable film with Liam Neeson!

    Non-Stop is a mysterious and entertaining movie that keeps you searching for the answer in the film. The actors in Non-Stop are wonderful, and I never got bored because the story is magnificent. The bad thing about this film is that both the plot and the end was slow and boring, and the CGI wasn't the best I’ve seen. The movie overall
    A Thrilling and enjoyable film with Liam Neeson!

    Non-Stop is a mysterious and entertaining movie that keeps you searching for the answer in the film. The actors in Non-Stop are wonderful, and I never got bored because the story is magnificent. The bad thing about this film is that both the plot and the end was slow and boring, and the CGI wasn't the best I’ve seen. The movie overall isn’t as unique what I thought it would be, and the music could have been more touching.

    It’s both a mysterious, and thrilling film.

    Non-Stop gets a 7.5/10
    Expand
  37. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    Very well done shows how a movie should be done. Just two major film stars and a slew of great minor characters roles and actors of quality . Edited precise and quick paced makes a claustrophobic whodunit more intense . On the same level as Unknown in plot and movement .
  38. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    Going into Non-Stop i knew this movie was going to be unbelievable with a simple plot but to my surprise the movie was actually pretty good. The movie is a thrill ride no doubt about that and it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time, its also really intense, fast paced, and well acted. I guess some people say the scenarios that take place in the film are unrealistic but honestly itsGoing into Non-Stop i knew this movie was going to be unbelievable with a simple plot but to my surprise the movie was actually pretty good. The movie is a thrill ride no doubt about that and it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time, its also really intense, fast paced, and well acted. I guess some people say the scenarios that take place in the film are unrealistic but honestly its nothing out of the ordinary for this genre. It seems like some people don't care if a movie is unrealistic mainly superhero movies but then with movies like this they expect realism. This is my second viewing of the movie first time was at the theaters and honestly it really did't catch my attention so that's why my first rating for it was average and i left a lazy review here but after just watching it i have to say i really enjoyed it more this time around.

    The film follows Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) a United States Air Marshal with a bit of a drinking problem and while on a flight from New York to London he receives a text message on his secure cell phone stating that if they do not get $150 million dollars transferred into an account they are going to kill someone on the plane every 20 minutes. Now we have our movie and which for the most part it consist of Marks, a few crew members, and Mark's side passenger Jen Summers (Julianne Moore) who he trust because she was sleeping next to him when he started to receive the messages. After trying a few ways to figure out the person and after a couple people die Marks starts to trust no one but that's not his only problem is seems the account that the money was supposed to be wired to was in his name so now the government thinks he is the one trying to hijack the plane. Things even become worse when Marks finds a bomb on the plane and realizes that who ever is doing this never really cared about the money.

    Now i really really enjoyed the whole movie but i felt like the last 15-20 minutes of the movie seemed to have some lazy writing. Now my biggest problem with the movie was the reason behind why the plane was hijacked it was just rather unsatisfying from a viewer perspective. Ill also give the movie credit for not trying to pull the typical twist cliche ending with who might be involved with the hijacking. The acting was great all around Liam Neeson playing bad ass never gets old it seems, also Julianne Moore was a delight to watch even though she does a basic performance. Director Jaume Collet-Serra and Lian Neeson have done two movies together both being good action thrillers i wouldn't mind them hooking up again to make another one.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 Give it a chance people its better then what you'd expect
    Expand
  39. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    Non-Stop, the latest Neeson action thriller, isn't as "non-stop" as the title suggests. The beginning does drag a bit, and the movie is implausible. But, the movie is very enjoyable and exciting throughout the middle parts, and will keep you thoroughly entertained.
  40. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    Whilst Liam Neeson does deliver his usual magnetic performance, Non-Stop is smart and intriguing, yet succumbs to a typically ridiculous Neeson-style ending.
  41. May 25, 2014
    8
    Non-Stop just as the title advocates is strictly an around-the-clock action packed thriller movie.

    Liam Neeson crews up with the Unknown director, Jaume Collet Serra. I am a huge fan of his action thrillers like Taken series, Unknown, The Grey, The A-team etc. He is in his sixties now but he looks great as always. The movie is set on a plane from New York City to London, when the
    Non-Stop just as the title advocates is strictly an around-the-clock action packed thriller movie.

    Liam Neeson crews up with the Unknown director, Jaume Collet Serra. I am a huge fan of his action thrillers like Taken series, Unknown, The Grey, The A-team etc. He is in his sixties now but he looks great as always.

    The movie is set on a plane from New York City to London, when the protagonist being a former NPYD and a current Air Marshall gets coercions on his secured line about transferring $150 million in a bank account or a person deceases every 20 minutes. As time goes by, we get to more about his life and chain of increasingly improbable plot twists.

    It’s truly a rock-hard plot as it is purely innovative and I haven’t seen a story in the recent whiles. The opening minutes are firm as the director introduces us to the main characters that we will be spending the majority of our period with including Julianne Moore who was keen and a hostile traveler. The show goes pretty fine as it keeps the audience guessing till the pre-climax where we have some unforeseen twists and turns which was fairly bare. Though I enjoyed the climax but could have been more exciting like the total plot. The action is really incredible especially the climax gun shot.

    Acting – Neeson as Bill Marks is one of the greatest reasons for such a great victory of the film. He plays a role of bothered man who gets himself in such a situation. He verifies that he is indeed a great performer and an excellent action hero. Moore is more or less okay in her own way. The backup cast has done a pleasant job.

    Director – He has done a terrific job by generating a silence, nervous atmosphere throughout the whole flick. He preserved the movie’s pace; leaving no room with needless plasters that tends to slog the story. There are a few plot holes here and there, but the stout performances relief a lot to keep the movie intense and attractive.

    Music – Marvelous Exertion! Flawless Soundtrack for such a movie!

    Largely a great 1 hour 46 mins journey filled with great suspense, thrill, action, tragedy and few gags. It was overall a fascinating experience with the strong acts creating it a must watch for all action-thriller lovers
    :)

    Would be a pleasure if you check my former noobish criticisms here - http://iamalekhya.blogspot.in/
    Expand
  42. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Non-Stop is your every day action movie. It was very predictable but I enjoyed Liam Neeson's performance and Juliana Moore's performance as well. Non-Stop is a dumb but fun as hell action flick. I would say it would be worth buying on Blu-Ray.
  43. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    A gripping, unforgettable experience. Although acting is average and the plot is rather original, this film raises the tension to almost unbearable levels. I was on the edge of my seat several times, guessing until the end.
  44. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    Hercule Poirot at 37,000 ft...if Poirot was a Belgian air marshal who could snap bad guy's necks over his knee.

    Taut, effective thriller where for once the cabin interiors actually look like a fuselage as opposed to a movie set. The camera moves with the characters in these confines in a way that actually manages to convey that mile high claustrophobia. Since "Taken", Liam Neeson
    Hercule Poirot at 37,000 ft...if Poirot was a Belgian air marshal who could snap bad guy's necks over his knee.

    Taut, effective thriller where for once the cabin interiors actually look like a fuselage as opposed to a movie set. The camera moves with the characters in these confines in a way that actually manages to convey that mile high claustrophobia. Since "Taken", Liam Neeson inhabits these gruff, slightly out-of-control characters with the right amount of gravitas to propel the plot along nicely. And this who-doing-it plot actually does work well enough that you really are guessing as to the identity of the villain and their motive deep into the 3rd act.
    Expand
  45. May 26, 2014
    7
    This was one of those movies for me that was a must see for me because of liam nesson ..anything with liam nesson is sure a great thrill ride and indeed this is what this movie delivers from start to finish ... A sleek airplane mysterious thrill movie that keeps you guessing on the edge of your seat as well liam nesson kicking butt but what makes this movie is the epic ending it delivers
  46. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Afraid of flying? Don't worry Federal Air Marshal Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) will keep you safe.
    This film is a great action and suspense filled movie, which makes you realize that at 20, 000 feet everyone is a suspect, even Bill Marks' partner!
    The film focuses on Bill Marks who is flying back to London and is feeling quite relaxed until he gets a text message from a passenger saying that
    Afraid of flying? Don't worry Federal Air Marshal Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) will keep you safe.
    This film is a great action and suspense filled movie, which makes you realize that at 20, 000 feet everyone is a suspect, even Bill Marks' partner!
    The film focuses on Bill Marks who is flying back to London and is feeling quite relaxed until he gets a text message from a passenger saying that if he doesn't transfer 150 million dollars into a bank account, then somebody will die every twenty minutes. And the plot thickens when the passengers soon find out that the bank account is in Bill Marks' name.
    The thing that I really enjoyed about the film is how it ropes you in at the start with the threat to kill someone every twenty minutes. And the film also ropes you in when Bill starts to suspect that even his partner Rick Hammond (Anson Mount) might be involved in the threat. This then leads up to a punch pounding fight scene between Bill and Rick in the aeroplane bathroom. And the thing that makes this fight scene really good
    is the fact that its in an original place and also the fact that its in a small space which makes it very hard for Bill to dodge a punch.
    I also liked the ingenius plot twists which keep you guessing and keep you right on the edge of your seat. Especially at the end were I was glued to the film.
    But even though there are some plot twists the film is a bit predictable at the beginning. And I don't think the film would be quite as good second time round, because when you watch it tge second time you know what the twists, you know who is behind it and the suspense filled scenes don't have the same gripping effect.
    But overall this film is great and I would give it an 8
    Expand
  47. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    O filme é bom,tem uma história mais ou menos mas que te prende e lhe faz olhar entre todos os personagens e tentar descobrir quem está por trás de tudo que está acontecendo.O final era de se esperar,nada de mais,um filme bom para quem curte ação e um pouco de suspense,mas para quem quer ver uma grande produção e um história mega complexa não é o mais filme recomendado.
  48. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While Non-Stop doesn't break any boundaries when concerning originality, it does make up for it by taking its namesake as literally as possible. The film (which sees air marshall Bill Marks attempting to stop a killer on board a trans Atlantic flight) manages to dabble in a lot of different areas, ranging from action and suspense to comedic one liners, and does so mainly successfully. While i wasn't gripping the arms of my seat as much as last year's Captain Phillips, most of the film's success comes from the tension created when Marks (Neeson) desperately tries to uncover the murderer whilst simultaneously attempts to keep the crowd in check. The acting is grounded throughout, with Neeson taking the fore as a unkempt man simply trying to stop what appears to be an impossible scenario from unfolding along with some impressive dramatic moments between the marshall and his increasingly worried passengers. While I won't name characters, I personally feel that the inclusion of a love interest (which felt luke warm and unnecessary) was jarring and superficial and this was one of the aspects of the film that resonated with me the least. However, there were more than a few moments that made the film stand out, particularly a climactic gun fight which sees Neeson fly down a plane aisle in zero g firing a hand gun. Overall Non-Stop is highly entertaining thriller that will certainly keep audience members guessing and one that I highly recommend and while it may not be nominated for any Oscars, it certainly has proven to be one of the more enjoyable films of this year so far. Expand
  49. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    I like the beginning of the movie which creates lots of mystery and thrilling scene. However, as it approaches the end of movie, revealing who the antagonists are, I found it too straight forward and plain. I was looking for something more surprising and a similar ending to Inception where it gives audience space to think what actually happened. Overall, the whole idea of the movie isI like the beginning of the movie which creates lots of mystery and thrilling scene. However, as it approaches the end of movie, revealing who the antagonists are, I found it too straight forward and plain. I was looking for something more surprising and a similar ending to Inception where it gives audience space to think what actually happened. Overall, the whole idea of the movie is great but not enough to become an Oscars candidate. Expand
  50. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Non-Stop es una película de acción que logra mantener al público con una buena dosis de suspenso, tensión y acción. Mientras avanza el film, llega un momento en que la película te hace sentir una sensación cruda, pero eso no quiere decir que le quite un poco el atractivo del film, al contrario, le ayuda un poco. La trama de la película ocurre de una forma eficaz y variada, sabiendo que alNon-Stop es una película de acción que logra mantener al público con una buena dosis de suspenso, tensión y acción. Mientras avanza el film, llega un momento en que la película te hace sentir una sensación cruda, pero eso no quiere decir que le quite un poco el atractivo del film, al contrario, le ayuda un poco. La trama de la película ocurre de una forma eficaz y variada, sabiendo que al menos el 98% del film ocurre en el avión, por lo tanto se desarrolla de una manera inteligente y compleja, y eso le da un cierto atractivo. Expand
  51. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    First of all I'd like to say that I do not agree with the very mixed critics saying the movie is boring or brainless. I, for one, liked the movie a lot. I'm a huge sucker for plane movies for some reason and this hit the nail on the head for me. The cast is obviously top notch and they really make the characters shine in this movie. Throughout the movie I was met by convincing screen playFirst of all I'd like to say that I do not agree with the very mixed critics saying the movie is boring or brainless. I, for one, liked the movie a lot. I'm a huge sucker for plane movies for some reason and this hit the nail on the head for me. The cast is obviously top notch and they really make the characters shine in this movie. Throughout the movie I was met by convincing screen play and enormous suspense, which kept my heart racing at times. This movie is really worth checking out. Expand
  52. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    I watched The Grand Budapest Hotel the day before and it was so bad that it could be affecting the ratings on this movie. The writing was not great, the Liam Neeson character making stupid mistakes, but I have to say that as far as an action movie, it was pretty good. Kept me guessing till the end.
  53. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    This is a great movie. Liam Neeson is brilliant and all of the cast do an excellent job. it is very suspenseful and will keep you guessing until the end. Directed very well and quite gripping. Whoever gave this a negative rating is completely out of their mind. Do yourself a favor and hurry to the nearest theater to watch this movie. You won't regret it.
  54. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    very good movie, so good that made me write this, first time on this site...i suspected from everyone and only on the end i knew the answer and my brain was melting...altough i took 1 point for some crazyness
  55. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Suspenseful Liam Neeson Mystery film is action packed and the acting makes you think anyone did it. It is a must-see action thriller. One of the best films this year
  56. Sep 23, 2014
    7
    A smart action flick, which will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Liam Neeson leads a surprisingly developed and interesting cast of characters. Unlike other films, Non-Stop establishes its tone and stays true to it till the very end. This film is for both action buffs and mystery lovers. If you can overlook the conveniance of how the plot unfolds, then I guarantee anA smart action flick, which will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Liam Neeson leads a surprisingly developed and interesting cast of characters. Unlike other films, Non-Stop establishes its tone and stays true to it till the very end. This film is for both action buffs and mystery lovers. If you can overlook the conveniance of how the plot unfolds, then I guarantee an entertaining time. Expand
  57. Nov 2, 2014
    7
    Non-Stop is not the typical Liam Neeson action film we have grown accustom to. It is a high-intensity and clever mystery thriller that benefits from its isolated and close-quartered setting. Liam Neeson is fantastic as a federal air marshal fighting against the clock in a film that makes everyone suspicious. However the story is shaky at times and the supporting cast is merely used asNon-Stop is not the typical Liam Neeson action film we have grown accustom to. It is a high-intensity and clever mystery thriller that benefits from its isolated and close-quartered setting. Liam Neeson is fantastic as a federal air marshal fighting against the clock in a film that makes everyone suspicious. However the story is shaky at times and the supporting cast is merely used as objects, a waste of their talent. Nonetheless this film is worth a watch for its action, interesting premise, direction and of course Liam Neeson. Expand
  58. Nov 27, 2014
    8
    Liam Neeson is in full badass mode in this highly entertaining action flick. This remains to be one of my favorite action thrillers of the year, despite a near impossible finagle the first two acts had me thinking which is rare in action movies today.
  59. Dec 8, 2014
    7
    Aside from it's incoherent last 20 minutes, Non-Stop is actually a well made thriller. It was very well directed and I never felt bored watching it. My only problem with this film was it's script. Sometimes, it felt like it was trying too hard to outsmart us and it was just silly sometimes. The actors all played their part well and were all enjoyable too watch. In conclusion, it's a goodAside from it's incoherent last 20 minutes, Non-Stop is actually a well made thriller. It was very well directed and I never felt bored watching it. My only problem with this film was it's script. Sometimes, it felt like it was trying too hard to outsmart us and it was just silly sometimes. The actors all played their part well and were all enjoyable too watch. In conclusion, it's a good thriller film that's well directed but it's mediocre script might pull you off of the film. Expand
  60. May 23, 2015
    9
    Non-Stop isn't perfect but it is very very close. The acting was great, and it was very thrilling. This is a worth seeing Liam Neeson action film that you will enjoy if you like Taken.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    50
    It's a completely average film that makes a few terrible choices.
  2. 60
    The key to a good B-mystery is that all the actors should be a little stilted. You should never know the difference between an actor acting badly and an actor doing a masterful acting job of someone acting badly. In Non-Stop, there is much excellent bad acting.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 28, 2014
    50
    Shot in grainy, unflattering closeups occasionally alleviated by flashily edited fight scenes, Non-Stop is no more or less than what it intends to be: the kind of midlevel brainless entertainment you might watch, between meals and naps, on an international flight. Try to enjoy the ride — and no texting, please.