Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 9, 2007
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
24
Negative:
58
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
SEROJDec 22, 2015
I can't believe that almost 9 years passed since the premiere of "Norbit"! Eddie Murphy is one of the funniest comedians of all-time! The story is very decent, but overall the fun is guaranteed!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxDec 12, 2011
Was an ok comedy. It was funny at times but too similar to Eddie Murphy's other films and it didnt do enough to seperate itself. Worth the watch imo but thats about it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MetalMan95Oct 6, 2010
Not the greatest Comedy out there, but I did laugh. It doesnt deserve all the hate it's getting. And I am not a fan of the fact it was trying to be serious, but that didnt ruin it for me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TBDOPEY22Feb 22, 2011
No a bad movie. It's a very silly movie and for the most part good. There were some slow/boring parts in the movie but over all a good movie. If you need a good laugh, this will gave you one. You won't be crying from laughter but you willNo a bad movie. It's a very silly movie and for the most part good. There were some slow/boring parts in the movie but over all a good movie. If you need a good laugh, this will gave you one. You won't be crying from laughter but you will walk away with a nice smile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SteveA.Feb 18, 2007
This movie was exactly what I thought it would be. It was mostly funny, sluggish in the middle, and overdone at the end. I found Eddie Murphy's asian character hilarious. I also loved the wife's character, although there were a few This movie was exactly what I thought it would be. It was mostly funny, sluggish in the middle, and overdone at the end. I found Eddie Murphy's asian character hilarious. I also loved the wife's character, although there were a few missed opportunities with her. The only thing that bothered me was the scene when the little, overweight girl was riding the pony, and Norbit says, "I know how you feel, pony." And then the camera shows the pony crying. I just found that to be very cruel towards overweight people. In fact, the whole movie was cruel to overweight people. I just felt they should have toned it down some, or balanced it out by adding another overweight but positive character. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CarthatheM.Feb 13, 2007
This movie was hilarious but at some points boring. It would flash to the fat girl, and then to the loser guy. The fat women was hilarious but everything else brought the movie down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Apr 11, 2007
This cheerfully overinflated, cheekily offensive comedy will retain a permanent footnote in movie history as The Movie That Cost Eddie Murphy An Oscar (for his spectacular supporting turn in Dreamgirls). It shouldn't have. Say what you This cheerfully overinflated, cheekily offensive comedy will retain a permanent footnote in movie history as The Movie That Cost Eddie Murphy An Oscar (for his spectacular supporting turn in Dreamgirls). It shouldn't have. Say what you will about the movie itself, but you can't deny Murphy's astounding comedic skill in his multiple roles as the nerdy title character, the grotesquely huge woman he marries, and an elderly Asian man who runs the orphanage/ restaurant that Norbit spends his formative years in. (It's even more of a compliment to Murphy's prowess that it took me a solid ten minutes to realize that he was playing this role, too.) Of course, Murphy is aided immeasurably by the phenomenal makeup work of Rick Baker, who performed the same services for Murphy when he played the Klump family in the Nutty Professor pictures...and on a less flashy but equally enjoyable technical level, Clay Griffith's and Richard Greenfield's slightly romanticized small-town sets are a joy to look at. There are several good one-liners; the scene in which gargantuan Rasputia boards a water slide is an effective comic set piece, and the running gag involving her and a car horn killed me. Quite frankly, if you were bothered by the preview, then nothing short of a gun to your head or the kidnapping of your children should've gotten you into the theater, so you really have nothing to complain about. This doesn't mean, however, that Norbit DOESN'T have some substantial problems on a very basic thematic and storytelling level. The Nutty Professor's Sherman Klump, who was almost as exaggeratedly proportioned as Rasputia, was also an extremely kind and decent soul who was thoroughly deserving of a rewarding romantic relationship, and it's clear very early on that Norbit ISN'T going to take that route. (Sherman's closest female counterpart was Gwyneth Paltrow's sweet Rosemary in the Farrelly brothers' best film to date, the endearing Shallow Hal.) In order to sell Norbit's emotional affair with childhood friend Kate (Thandie Newton) the moviemakers have to give Rasputia a thoroughly repellent personality, and they do: she's repulsively bossy, dictatorial, hypocritical and unfaithful to her husband. That's not the problem, but the casting of the other woman is; I can't knock Newton's performance because she's perfectly charming in this role (and does a lot to counteract her unplayable shrew in The Pursuit of Happyness), but consciously or not, Norbit's makers hired an actress who's far skinnier than the norm, and in doing so propounded the thinking that fat women--who, along with blondes, are the last feasible targets of derisive jokes in these politically correct times--are unworthy of being loved. Hiring an actress with curves, such as Queen Latifah, Oprah Winfrey or even Murphy's Dreamgirls costar Jennifer Hudson as the romantic interest would have done a lot to erase this caveat, but the moviemakers' failure to do so indicates that Norbit's central flaw isn't its silliness or its grossness but its inability to think outside the box. Moviegoers who are legitimately bothered by this can at least take comfort in knowing that TV's Ugly Betty (both the character and the actress, America Ferrera) has rapidly become not only a national heroine but a role model...and can count down the time before the show's first-season DVD set comes out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrendanApr 16, 2007
The film is fairly funny with some good lines and a notable performance by Eddie Murphy but for the most part it was more dumb-witted than it should have been. Some jokes were kind of sketchy and other hardly made sense. By the end it was The film is fairly funny with some good lines and a notable performance by Eddie Murphy but for the most part it was more dumb-witted than it should have been. Some jokes were kind of sketchy and other hardly made sense. By the end it was like the writers ran out of ideas and expected the audience to continue laughing about Eddie Murphy in a obese female suit an hour in. All in all it's good for a laugh but not for the kids or a first choice movie pick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickM.Jun 19, 2007
A comedy with stupid fun humor. It was a slapstick comedy, but it gets you to laugh a lot! I'm surprised at that I went to see it, because I'm a big movie critic sort of guy, but I don't regret it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful