Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 30, 2013
    83
    This movie has everything up its sleeve and presto chango at its core, ending in defiance to the plot's established logic before viewers realize they've been had.
  3. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 6, 2013
    75
    Much of what makes Now You See Me so entertaining — in a gaudy, disposable, Vegas act sort of way — is its ever-escalating ridiculousness.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 30, 2013
    75
    It's a little along the same lines as "Ocean's 11" in what it achieves and, like that film, there's plenty of Oscar power among the actors - a combined 15 nominations, to be precise.
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 29, 2013
    75
    Now You See Me, which is essentially an "Ocean’s" movie recast with illusionists, demands a kind of childlike fascination with swindles, and a willingness to be hoodwinked along with the characters. Walk in with those expectations and it won’t be hard to see the appeal of this ludicrous but spirited caper, which has nearly as many rug-pulls as game movie stars.
  7. Reviewed by: William Goss
    May 30, 2013
    72
    The film itself is sly and smug in kind, fleetingly enjoyable for all of its old-school showmanship and high-tech hokiness.
  8. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    May 30, 2013
    67
    Leterrier's film is a reminder that sometimes a good yarn can do enough heavy lifting on its own to provide thrills. Whether or not the illusion pays off will be up to you, but the trick itself may be intriguing enough.
  9. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  10. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 30, 2013
    63
    There's a great movie out now about magicians, sleight-of-hand maestros, illusionists, card and coin tricksters. Now You See Me is not that movie.
  11. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Jul 5, 2013
    60
    Ocean’s Eleven meets The Prestige? Not quite. Starts well, ends in a heap, but in between there’s just enough splash and flash to distract from the lack of substance
  12. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    May 31, 2013
    60
    Thanks to some accomplished hocus pocus and an appealing cast, this would-be “Ocean’s Eleven” of the magic world remains watchable throughout, even as it plods along without ever quite fulfilling its potential.
  13. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 31, 2013
    60
    A sleight-of-hand heist film that feels like a cross between David Blaine and "Ocean's Eleven," with a little Robin Hood thrown in, it's a ripping bit of fun. If, that is, you let it be.
  14. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    May 30, 2013
    60
    When functioning like a magic trick, this breathlessly entertaining picture delights in its showmanship, but the more entertaining the trickery, the tougher the explanation, and when the truth is revealed the answer can't help but fail to satisfy.
  15. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    May 30, 2013
    58
    Although the filmmakers reportedly worked with David Copperfield and other renowned real-life illusionists and tried to minimize the use of CGI, you're still left wondering how much of the magic is merely the kind Hollywood spits out by the terabyte.
  16. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 3, 2013
    50
    Leterrier’s film is the kind that doesn’t stand up well to scrutiny: The more you know about it, the more befuddled you’ll be.
  17. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    May 31, 2013
    50
    It's mostly smoke and mirrors. After Freeman's snooze became a YouTube fixture, the actor jokingly dismissed the nap, saying he was using "Google eyelids" to check his Facebook account. You may find yourself attempting the same feat, because Now has little up its sleeve.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  19. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There's nothing behind all this sturm und drang but a lineup of insubstantial ciphers, all false fronts and empty words in a pretend world not quite conducive to emotional investment.
  20. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    May 30, 2013
    50
    There’s a fine line sometimes, as "This is Spinal Tap" reminded us, between stupid and clever. Now You See Me wobbles along that tightrope for much of its running time.
  21. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    May 30, 2013
    50
    The editing of the action sequences is an insult to the idea of narrative clarity.
  22. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  23. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 30, 2013
    50
    Now You See Me is a movie about magic, but its most astonishing trick is how little mileage it gets out of a stellar cast.
  24. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 30, 2013
    50
    For all its showmanship, Now You See Me has a lot less up its sleeve than it lets on.
  25. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 5, 2013
    40
    Overcooked, overcomplicated and underinteresting, this heist caper turns into a mess.
  26. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  27. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 5, 2013
    40
    Director Leterrier keeps the camera moving and swooping throughout the film as if the Steadicam were another device in the magicians’ tool belt. A clear sense of space and sleight-of-hand is rarely achieved.
  28. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 31, 2013
    40
    When Mark Ruffalo shows up as a crumpled detective, you expect a dose of reality, yet on his heels come twin hams Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman, whose solemn presences (as Christopher Nolan knows well) prove wonderful distractions from silliness.
  29. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    May 31, 2013
    40
    It's all a little dumb, but the movie boasts several non-CG tricks and a few genuinely mesmerizing set pieces including a hand-to-hand-to-magic combat scene between Ruffalo and the spry Franco.
  30. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 30, 2013
    40
    For all the talent up on the screen — and one can't fault the performances — the movie just doesn't deliver.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 146
  2. Negative: 27 out of 146
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    2
    This was one of my worst movie experiences in the past ten years: terribly derivative, intellectually insulting, and a complete waste of time. The sequence of events are too convenient for a heist movie, so the magic element had to be thrown in. However, the magic show scenes are too boring, and the interplay between the characters is too dull to be a magic movie...so some heist element had to be thrown in. This was my general take it is neither one nor the other, nor good enough to be either.

    The bright spots in the movie are Dave Franco and Mélanie Laurent (Shosanna from Inglourious Basterds), the only two actors given real characters and a chance to turn in decent performances. Everyone else plays a smug version of themselves.

    Any specific complaint about the movie would include spoilers, so here are some surface-level observations:
    Acting mediocre, with hints of terrible by Mark Ruffalo.
    Plot much more convenient than clever, with "magic" used to explain away impossible plot points.
    Dialog snarky and witty (excluding Ruffalo's character), but so much so that there are no real characters, just one-liner automatons.
    Plot twists there are no real plot twists...if you think "what is the most ridiculous thing that can happen in this situation," that is exactly what will happen.
    The ending I almost threw up in my empty pop-corn box. Saccharine doesn't come close to describing it.
    Overall philosophy Magic exists? Insurance companies are evil? Revenge is sweet? Love pops up in the strangest places?
    Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2013
    0
    this the worst movies I have seen so far this year, you would think with a cast like this. it would be good, but it wasn't. this was two hour of my life that I will never get back The entire cast should find new agents. They are all talented enough not to waste their time on stuff like this A bank getting robbed in this movie, I got robbed. The thing you don't see coming sitting through and getting nothing in return. I would rather sit through a boring Las Vegas magic show. No you me telling every disappear yourselves from this one. If it on for the bad movies like this, you could not appreciate the good one. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    "Now You See Me" was itself a type of magic trick. Louis Leterrier uses a great cast with the premise of magic and bank robbery to draw us in. Unfortunately it doesn't take long to realize that instead of character development we get Morgan Freeman explaining the plot after the fact. At no point did I find myself wondering "how is this going to turn out?" The magic has little excitement because we know that using CGI, anything is possible. Add that to the fact that the "big reveal" is exactly what you would expect and you end up with the feeling that the trick was on you. Full Review »