Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    38
    This is a slick con, all flash and no substance. Now You See Me seems awfully sure of itself, with self-important, intrusive music, sweeping tracking shots and actors chewing up the scenery.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 163
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough toWe thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough to keep you watching for the next trick. I do not like either Harrelson or Freeman since both seem so arrogant, but the cast just *worked* together. Certainly a far better movie than a lot I have seen lately, but I go to be lost in the magic of movies, not for any deep psychological studies or great social commentary. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I was really enjoying the movie at the beginning but then it sort of went downhill and they didn't pull off the final performance as well asI was really enjoying the movie at the beginning but then it sort of went downhill and they didn't pull off the final performance as well as the first one; I was starting to change my mind about this movie until the most mind-blowing, unexpected, and gut-wrenching ending came up that made me recap the whole movie and actually think it was one of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    How refreshing it is to see a film where the child in you is brought out and bewildered. I found myself smiling from start to finish in awe ofHow refreshing it is to see a film where the child in you is brought out and bewildered. I found myself smiling from start to finish in awe of the magic and suspense.

    Perhaps it is the magic or rather trickery that had me smiling; you don't know how they do it and a part of you thinks it is magic. But of course you know it isn't there must be a trick. Either way you have a good time regardless. I found myself agasp much in the same way someone would be if they were personally tricked by a magician.

    It is cleverly written, humorous, and has action. What more could you ask from such a fun movie?
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    Now You See Me's convoluted third act and one dimensional characters robs the magic it weaves throughout the remainder of the movie and all ofNow You See Me's convoluted third act and one dimensional characters robs the magic it weaves throughout the remainder of the movie and all of its visual splendour. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2014
    5
    Now You See Me - You're Better Off With Penn & Teller (Part 1)

    It's to be expected that a film about magicians, directed by the man
    Now You See Me - You're Better Off With Penn & Teller (Part 1)

    It's to be expected that a film about magicians, directed by the man responsible for Transporter 2, Clash of the Titans and The Incredible Hulk, would require suspension of disbelief, but "Now You See Me" defies basic logic so brazenly and steps wrong so relentlessly, it's hard to imagine how anyone with a shred of intelligence would buy the nonsensical plot.
    Mind you, the beginning is promising: the so-called protagonists are introduced one by one, as a hooded figure recruits them for a mysterious, epic task. We meet Jesse Eisenberg's J. Daniel Atlas, a young entrepreneur magician on the rise, staging a very elaborate card trick that involves an entire skyscraper to impress a girl into sleeping with him. There's Woody Harrelson's Merrit McKinney, a sardonic mentalist who dupes folks out of cash by utilizing hypnosis in a highly unethical fashion. Isla Fisher plays Henley Reeves, an ex-magician's assistant who now has her own show, escaping from a piranha-filled water tank. Last - and unfortunately least - Dave Franco's Jack Wilder barely gets any screen time as a thieving street trickster/escape artist/locksmith.
    Though Eisenberg is particularly hard to believe as a smooth womanizer who has a history with Henley (his gawky physique and awkward intonations, suggesting both vulnerability and intelligence, felt much more natural in "The Social Network"), and Dave Franco's character is a blank slate (I can't get over how much he resembles his older brother, damn those Francos!), the set-up is compelling, and Woody steals the show with juicy one-liners. Then they are assembled, Avengers-style, in a seemingly abandoned apartment - and the ludicrousness factor skyrockets through the stratosphere.
    To avoid revealing too much, I'll just list the highlights of what happens next. The magicians are given a task by the aforementioned mysterious recruiter that involves holographic blueprints (!), but the screen fades out before we find out what that task is. Fade in: now known as The Four Horsemen, J. Daniel, Henley, Merrit and Jack are putting on a grandiose Las Vegas performance, during which they allegedly rob a Swiss bank, then shower the audience with Euro bills.
    Enter Mark Ruffalo's scruffy FBI agent Dylan Rhodes. "Now You See Me" reinforces the Century-old cinematic cliche of partnering an agent with a sidekick who's also a potential suspect, by having him partner with Mélanie Laurent's somewhat dubious - and bland - Interpol agent Alma Dray. You may recall that I referred to the protagonists as "so-called", and it's because at this point the film jarringly switches perspective and follows Rhodes' attempts to decipher the enigma behind The Four Horsemen, as they elude the law (the rationale behind it - that the FBI cannot arrest magicians because it would make it seem like the government believes in magic - is hysterical) and stage more outrageous magical heists. By the time the film's obligatory car chase sequence - filmed uber-conventionally - kicks in, any sense of realism has dissipated entirely.
    Did I mention that Morgan Freeman pops up as magic debunker Thaddeus Bradley (credit to screenwriter Ed Solomon for the ostentatious character names) who may or may not be involved with The Four Horsemen, and who seems stoned and bemused throughout, as if he just stepped off the set of his own trippy TV series "Through the Wormhole"? Or that Michael Caine barely makes an impression as billionaire Arthur Tressler, who gets chained down on stage and assaulted by a ravenous crowd? Or that rapper Common plays a character called simply Evans, whose sole purpose is to be the center of a silly visual gag towards the end of the film? In my preview I mentioned that the main reason for my excitement was the stellar cast, one of the best assembled in a film so far this year, but Louis Leterrier manages to mishandle it with such aplomb, his film almost deserves attention solely for that reason.
    Amongst the fundamental mistakes that the filmmakers have made, and there are many, a few are worth pointing out specifically. The first was to introduce us to interesting characters, then keep us out of the loop for the rest of the film, putting the focus instead on Rhodes' investigation. I'm a Ruffalo fan, especially in earlier films like "You Can Count On Me", but he's played his share of scruffy investigators ("Shutter Island", "Zodiac", "In the Cut"), and despite hamming it up intermittently, the actor turns in the blandest performance of his career so far. The second mistake was to structure the film as all build-up with no pay-off; Thaddeus constantly promises something in the vein of, "You ain't seen nothing yet!" - and then nothing spectacular happens! More money is rained on people, more fireworks, more outlandish heists with even more outlandish explanations…
    Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    4
    "Now You See Me" is a decent summer blockbuster until the final act which is just so plainly stupid I don't think I could ever describe it and"Now You See Me" is a decent summer blockbuster until the final act which is just so plainly stupid I don't think I could ever describe it and stay polite at the same time. And also: bad CGI during the magic trick sequences? I'm speechless. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh how convenient, the "inside guy" was running the whole investigation the entire time. Yeah you really tricked the audience there, haha that was a great trick. And Morgan Freeman finally gets stumped by the tricky plot, so no freckle this time. Expand

See all 163 User Reviews

Trailers