Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    38
    This is a slick con, all flash and no substance. Now You See Me seems awfully sure of itself, with self-important, intrusive music, sweeping tracking shots and actors chewing up the scenery.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 158
  2. Negative: 30 out of 158
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough to keep you watching for the next trick. I do not like either Harrelson or Freeman since both seem so arrogant, but the cast just *worked* together. Certainly a far better movie than a lot I have seen lately, but I go to be lost in the magic of movies, not for any deep psychological studies or great social commentary. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Go see this movie! You will not be disappointed. I found it to be very clever and it has many twists and turns you will not see coming. I compare it to "Oceans 11" and the "Sting". Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    8
    You can get some "wow" moments from Now You See Me but limited amount. It's not Ocean's Eleven or Tower Heist. It's a heist movie with wow moments and magicians. Now You See Me was directed by Louis Leterrier, the filmmaker responsible for the European pop-art hit The Transporter as well as The Incredible Hulk and the Clash of the Titans remake. The film’s magician caper/heist storyline which was engineered by Boaz Yakin (Prince of Persia) and relative newcomer Edward Ricourt works in unison with Leterrier’s fine knowledge of cinematic technique. This gives rise to an interesting subtext about the enduring “magic” of movies, the purpose of art as entertainment, and the heightened importance of creative integrity in an age where cynical skepticism sells. Because of that, Now You See Me isn’t so much a character study one set in the world of magicians as Christopher Nolan’s The Prestige; instead, it approaches related subject matter from a very different angle and proves equally successful in certain regards. Leterrier’s film trades in the nihilism of The Prestige in favor of hopefulness and shows how referencing “movie magic” can be captivating; that is, without either coming off as self-congratulatory or waxing nostalgic about film artistry in an on-the-nose manner.
    That’s to say: if you’re interested in a suave demonstration of cinematic showmanship (no more, but no less) via a thrill-ride movie featuring devious (yet charming) magic performers, then you might want to consider giving this one a look.
    Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    As the films mantra goes, the closer you look the less you see, but if you are going to enjoy this film it is a wise decision to do exactly the opposite. There is no need to investigate or inspect each and every twist and turn this film throws at you because there are bound to be holes. No, in fact what is best to do in order to enjoy Now You See Me is to simply sit back and take it in for what it is: pure, escapist cinema that delivers a relentlessly fun and entertaining ride that speeds by and leaves you satisfied when the credits begin to roll. Kudos to this movie for being able to stand on its own two feet in a season where every Friday is dominated by a sequel or spin off or re-make or something that is a familiar product that is sure to find an audience somewhere. Now You See Me is a completely original film in the midst of big studio fare that has the star power, the concept, and the appeal to win over those movie-goers who aren't just looking for an escape from the real world, but from the saturated sci-fi superhero adventure genres that are playing on every other screen. That is not to say I don't enjoy those kinds of movies as well and this year has been particularly good so far in terms of summer popcorn entertainment, but simply knowing going into this film that we are up for a fun ride that takes a subject that's commonly considered nerdy, such as magic, and combines it with the formula of a heist film to create something imaginative and fresh is indeed refreshing. Though there are certainly plot holes to be picked apart once people have the ability to re-watch the film several times, upon first viewing this is nothing more than a caper of a good time that has an incredibly strong cast each member of which is doing what they do best, churning out some solid and genuine laughs while balancing the never-serious tone with a fair amount of action and mystery that is compelling and keeps you guessing until the very end.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Now You See Me is at times an enjoyable film. The best scenes are the magic ones, which are very well done and the acting is good. But the story is subpar especially the ending. I don't think the movie is worth the charge for seeing it in theatres. I would recommend waiting till it's on demand or at redbox. Collapse
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    4
    "Now You See Me" is a decent summer blockbuster until the final act which is just so plainly stupid I don't think I could ever describe it and stay polite at the same time. And also: bad CGI during the magic trick sequences? I'm speechless. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh how convenient, the "inside guy" was running the whole investigation the entire time. Yeah you really tricked the audience there, haha that was a great trick. And Morgan Freeman finally gets stumped by the tricky plot, so no freckle this time. Expand

See all 158 User Reviews

Trailers