Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Mar 21, 2014
    88
    The best part of Lars von Trier's fascinating, engaging and often didactic Nymphomaniac is that, despite the sometimes-grim tone and bleak color palate, it's an extremely funny film, playful, even.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Feb 18, 2014
    80
    With explicit sex and penetrating philosophy, this erotic odyssey requires close attention and an open mind.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Mar 20, 2014
    80
    It provides, perhaps like the experiences of love and sex, a shifting variety of insights, emotions, unexpected lightness and moments of visceral shock.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    I refuse to render a final verdict on the latest cinematic outrage from Danish provocateur Lars Von Trier until Volume Two drops its undies on April 18th. But I will say this for Volume One: It's a mesmerizing mind game.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 20, 2014
    70
    You’re unlikely to turn away. The problem with aesthetic shocks is that their power can drain off and their original effects become harder to replicate, so we’ll just have to see what happens next.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 4, 2014
    60
    Vol. 1 functions reasonably well as a standalone film in its own right, playing out like a dose of mass therapy, an interesting, Von Trier-led sexploration of humankind's conflicted approach to sex: We love it, but we also fear it and are often thoroughly ashamed of it.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 20, 2014
    0
    Danish director Lars von Trier makes this tale of one woman’s banal sexual adventures into inadvertent comedy. The film makes an analogy between sex and fly-fishing — and fly-fishing comes off as more intriguing.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    sex epic... erotic dreamscape... this movie is alive! the preview intrigued me... Nymphomaniac has one great message; love. truly gripping story-telling. brilliant writing from Lars von Trier! crazy good cast every actor played their part well, top notch drama! A++ Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Nymphomaniac is more than "sex epic"; it is an intelligent, gripping and a rather intense masterpiece made brilliant by great writing and fantastic acting - blending humour and shocking moments in equal measure, but also being a smart and engaging experience as well. It does have its flaws, albeit minor; Shia LaBeouf's strange "British" accent and some odd casting changes in Volume II. This film is definitely NOT for everyone due to its incredibly raunchily and controversial nature and some jaw-droppingly shocking moments and also its length which some may consider to be overlong. But the film is definitely worth a watch, and is worth to be analysed as well. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    "Nymphomaniac: Volume 1" is filmmaking on a different level. Lars Von Trier is know for his controversial films, where is this film is one of the most disturbing films I have ever seen. The characters are really deep, it is genuinely acted, the way of story telling is different, the director has his own way of making you remember, it is one of the best films I've seen this year so far, I highly suggested to anyone who can handle subjects such as sex addiction, which in this film isn't erotic, but disturbing. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    A 4-hour binge watching of provocateur Lars von Trier’s latest feminist saga (divided into two volumes) is a candid confession of a middle-age nymphomaniac Joe (Gainsbourg, doughtily consummates her enthralling rendering in von Trier’s Trilogy of Depression, after ANTICHRIST 2009 and MELANCHOLIA 2011, 8/10), out of self-hatred, she chronicles her deviant life from childhood to present, to an elder Jewish polymath Seligman (Skarsgård), who brings her home after finding her lying on the street afflicted from a savage assault.

    read the rest of my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore, thanks!
    Collapse
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    A solid effort from Lars Von Trier. Far from his best work, but still a compelling,intimate look at sex addiction. I like it, but not as much as his previous effort Melancholia. Expand
  6. May 29, 2014
    7
    Lars Von Trier, who’s no stranger to controversy, paints his final portrait (well the first part of it) in his “Depression Trilogy”. “Nymphomaniac” as the name “suggests” follows a proudly self diagnose nymphomaniac named Joe and her defining erotic experiences while growing up. These experiences are recounted by an Older Joe (played by Charlotte Gainsbourg), who tell her tale to an old, seemingly saintly man, played by Stellan Skarsgard, who sees her raunchy sex stories as a metaphor for the peaceful act of fishing. The episodes are told in typically artsy fashion, as that’s the only way Von Trier seems to know how to tell a story; but who can bark insults when the story is being well told. What’s particularly Interesting was how the film manages to maintain an unusually sharp sense of humor, despite the dark setting and subject matter which it delves in. That confrontation with Uma Thurman’s distressed wife of a cheating family man was particularly delightful… in a weird way. Anyway, I will keep this review short and spicy, as there’s more to discuss in part 2. As it stands, I quite liked this film, and was probably most impressed with Stacy Martin’s brave performance as Young Joe. With all that was built up in this film, I am actually eager to see part two. Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Un simple film pornographique du style Emmanuelle dont le but est de provoqué/déranger comme tout les film de ce réalisateur .
    Les "vrai"
    acteurs étant doublé par des acteurs pornographique pour les tres nombreuses scenes de sexes , autant allé voir directement un vrai film pornographique .
    Notons au passage , que les enfants de Charlotte Gainsbourg on été insulté/chahuté par leur camarade d'école et traumatisé à la sortie de ce film ....
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  2. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.