Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Mar 21, 2014
    88
    The best part of Lars von Trier's fascinating, engaging and often didactic Nymphomaniac is that, despite the sometimes-grim tone and bleak color palate, it's an extremely funny film, playful, even.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Feb 18, 2014
    80
    With explicit sex and penetrating philosophy, this erotic odyssey requires close attention and an open mind.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Mar 20, 2014
    80
    It provides, perhaps like the experiences of love and sex, a shifting variety of insights, emotions, unexpected lightness and moments of visceral shock.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    I refuse to render a final verdict on the latest cinematic outrage from Danish provocateur Lars Von Trier until Volume Two drops its undies on April 18th. But I will say this for Volume One: It's a mesmerizing mind game.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 20, 2014
    70
    You’re unlikely to turn away. The problem with aesthetic shocks is that their power can drain off and their original effects become harder to replicate, so we’ll just have to see what happens next.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 4, 2014
    60
    Vol. 1 functions reasonably well as a standalone film in its own right, playing out like a dose of mass therapy, an interesting, Von Trier-led sexploration of humankind's conflicted approach to sex: We love it, but we also fear it and are often thoroughly ashamed of it.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 20, 2014
    0
    Danish director Lars von Trier makes this tale of one woman’s banal sexual adventures into inadvertent comedy. The film makes an analogy between sex and fly-fishing — and fly-fishing comes off as more intriguing.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Nymphomaniac is a erotic drama that not only sticks with you throughout- it makes you keep your eyes open for the disturbing climax behind it. A very deep and engaging sex drama. Gettinsburg is excellent- one of the best female actresses of the year. And Wilem Dafoe is good as well. A must watch. Expand
  2. May 7, 2014
    8
    The Danish director Lars Von Trier is one of the rarest among who rapidly changes theme, plot and genre in his each movie. I love his filmography and been watching those for some time now. I am not a great fan of musical themes, but his movie 'Dancer in the Dark' is one of my all time favourites. These all led me here to take a quick glance on his latest two installment movie series.

    This movie tells a story of a woman called Joe, who suffers from being a nymphomaniac. Especially this first movie briefs her life as a youngster who seeks a different class of men to fulfill her sexual thirst. This story was told in a series of flashbacks when middle aged Joe recalls her earlier story in the presence of an old man. The stories she told was presented in chapters like a book and each chapter contains different characters in different phases of her life. She spits all her secrets that were preserved so far which stuns the old man.

    ‘‘The secret ingredient to sex...
    is love’’

    In between the breaks of the chapters the old man brings up some comparison of book, history and art to her story. I don't know, Von Trier might thought to convince the audience by saying it is not just a fiction, but the reappearance of history in the modern world. Well, he succeeds, but some people won't agree for not shown in a decent manner. I mean everything in the movie was raw. It makes me think the world (filmmaking) is not anymore the same.

    The commitment given by the actors were exceptional. The kind of shock that Von Trier gives through this movie will remain with me for a long time. He approached with this to the different class of audience where the majority will remain silent and away from it. This part was so much better as it stands true to its title where part 2 a bit reorders everything and travels in an alternate direction. Especially the end was so sudden and makes us to feel an incomplete. It is better to watch one after another without giving much space and that is how it works most probably.
    Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    "Nymphomaniac: Volume 1" is filmmaking on a different level. Lars Von Trier is know for his controversial films, where is this film is one of the most disturbing films I have ever seen. The characters are really deep, it is genuinely acted, the way of story telling is different, the director has his own way of making you remember, it is one of the best films I've seen this year so far, I highly suggested to anyone who can handle subjects such as sex addiction, which in this film isn't erotic, but disturbing. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    Novo projeto de Lars Von Trier, diretor de “Dogville”, Ninfomaníaca é um filme de mais de 5 horas que comercialmente foi dividido em duas partes, eis que o primeiro volume chegou aos cinemas brasileiros. Seligman, um grisalho senhor encontra uma mulher ferida em um beco, Joe( interpretada por Charlotte Gainsbourg, atriz que também foi protagonista de “Anticristo”) e a leva para sua casa, onde depois de descansar ela começa a contar sua insólita história de compulsão sexual desde a tenra infância

    O filme, que chegou a ser anunciado como escrachada pornografia não tem nada de excitante. Von Trier não tem intenção alguma de virar o novo Buttman (legendário diretor pornô) mas sim de explorar os horizontes da sexualidade humana com a frieza de um profissional de mecatrônica. Números e gráficos invadem a tela em vários momentos, seja durante a perda da virgindade de Joe, seja no simples ato da baliza pra estacionar um carro. O sexo é visto como um ato mecânico, frio e racional ara a obtenção do prazer e ponto final. Em determinado momento Joe e suas amigas adolescentes criam uma “guerrilha contra o amor romântico” com hinos blasfemos e compromisso do sexo pelo sexo

    Joe cresce e vê seu hedonismo sexual enfrentando as primeiras rusgas com o mundo ao seu redor, seja no momento em que sua sexualidade colide com a instituição do casamento de uma rival, seja quando se vê confrontada com emoções humanas intimidadoras como o sofrimento pela perda iminente de um parente doente; sua resposta para qualquer sofrimento advindo desses dissabores é apenas mais sexo ainda, numa longa compensação que aparentemente resulta num longo arrependimento e auto-expiação na qual somos frustrados de descortinar, precisando aguardar até a segunda parte da história

    Von Trier é macaco velho, sabe como filmar bem sua história, extrair dos atores boas atuações e pontuar o enredo com diversas citações eruditas e imagens diversas na exposição de suas metáforas. Ainda que tais imagens ilustrativas “encham um pouco a linguiça” elas não chegam a comprometer o filme. O que incomoda um pouco é o ritmo claudicante e a contribuição discutível que algumas passagens dão à compreensão da personalidade de Joe, mas em meio a costumeira pasmaceira dos lançamentos pasteurizados do cinema americano esse filme do diretor dinamarquês vale uma boa conferida
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    A solid effort from Lars Von Trier. Far from his best work, but still a compelling,intimate look at sex addiction. I like it, but not as much as his previous effort Melancholia. Expand
  6. May 29, 2014
    7
    Lars Von Trier, who’s no stranger to controversy, paints his final portrait (well the first part of it) in his “Depression Trilogy”. “Nymphomaniac” as the name “suggests” follows a proudly self diagnose nymphomaniac named Joe and her defining erotic experiences while growing up. These experiences are recounted by an Older Joe (played by Charlotte Gainsbourg), who tell her tale to an old, seemingly saintly man, played by Stellan Skarsgard, who sees her raunchy sex stories as a metaphor for the peaceful act of fishing. The episodes are told in typically artsy fashion, as that’s the only way Von Trier seems to know how to tell a story; but who can bark insults when the story is being well told. What’s particularly Interesting was how the film manages to maintain an unusually sharp sense of humor, despite the dark setting and subject matter which it delves in. That confrontation with Uma Thurman’s distressed wife of a cheating family man was particularly delightful… in a weird way. Anyway, I will keep this review short and spicy, as there’s more to discuss in part 2. As it stands, I quite liked this film, and was probably most impressed with Stacy Martin’s brave performance as Young Joe. With all that was built up in this film, I am actually eager to see part two. Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Un simple film pornographique du style Emmanuelle dont le but est de provoqué/déranger comme tout les film de ce réalisateur .
    Les "vrai"
    acteurs étant doublé par des acteurs pornographique pour les tres nombreuses scenes de sexes , autant allé voir directement un vrai film pornographique .
    Notons au passage , que les enfants de Charlotte Gainsbourg on été insulté/chahuté par leur camarade d'école et traumatisé à la sortie de ce film ....
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  2. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.