Nymphomaniac: Volume II Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 1, 2014
    90
    Nymphomaniac is a jigsaw opus, an extended and generally exquisitely crafted riff. Story, theme, and character (despite Gainsbourg's captivations) bow to von Trier's gamesmanship, which makes his own promiscuities the film's true subject.
  2. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    It is so laden with highly charged set pieces, so dappled with haunting ideas and bold flights of fancy that it finally achieves a kind of slow-burn transcendence.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 20, 2014
    80
    The point is that you could watch these films for four hours, then spend 14 arguing about them – about whether sex, for vor Trier, is an eternal human mystery, or a cosmic joke at our expense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Brock
    Mar 20, 2014
    67
    If you thought Vol. I was a brilliant piece of provocation, then Vol. II might disappoint you with its detour into (relative) conventionality, its attacks on arthouse artificiality, and its apparently very different politics. But if you found Vol. I to be as silly as some did, then Vol. II suggests something interesting: Lars von Trier might agree.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 4, 2014
    60
    It all adds up to weave an engaging story, and not just for its wealth of titillations. Many of the sex scenes, in fact, feel more clinical than anything else.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 3, 2014
    50
    Even at its most depraved, Joe’s journey, and her confession to Seligman, are still compelling enough to propel Volume II until the story becomes hopelessly over-plotted.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 3, 2014
    0
    Here we go again. Danish director Lars von Trier has pumped out Nymphomaniac: Vol II just a few weeks after “Vol. I” came out. And the results are the same: zero stars.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Lars Von Trier's particular, fantastical, and existential depiction of human nature- the relentless betrayal, humanity's seemingly divinelyLars Von Trier's particular, fantastical, and existential depiction of human nature- the relentless betrayal, humanity's seemingly divinely fated inability to avoid suffering, and our infinitely unique interpretation of that suffering -is vividly and beautifully shown. I'm not saying you have to agree with his interpretation, but you will not find a more completely rendered and thought provoking execution of it in all of film. Many have tried, but Lars Von Trier holds this mocking throne highest. He screws you over (especially and most necessarily at the very end) with no less drama, irony, and poetic injustice than Brutus did Julius Cesear or Judas did Jesus Christ. Nymphomania (volumes I & II) is his magnificently harmonized opus to this terrifying but undeniable expression of humanity. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    Leaving us on the cusp of coming…to any real closure with our young protagonist Joe (Stacy Martin), von Trier throws quite the curve ball withLeaving us on the cusp of coming…to any real closure with our young protagonist Joe (Stacy Martin), von Trier throws quite the curve ball with his character and the overall story, allowing the narrative to take an unexpected turn. After five chapters in the life of Joe’s deranged and numb life, we continue into her sexual escapades as she becomes a woman, played by Charlotte Gainsbourg. Nymphomaniac: Volume II picks up exactly where Volume I left off, and doesn’t leave any sex or shock behind. Instead, Volume II is the overly stimulated, ultra aroused, and intellectually charged sexual explicit drama that Volume I never was.

    Although the film was never meant to be split into two parts, and von Trier intended the film to be his original five and a half hour long cut, Volume II is the complex and deep answer to a conventionally linear sexually charged character piece that was Volume I. Think of Nymphomaniac in the same way as you would Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill saga. Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is soaked with violence and bloodshed, making great use of the magic of movie spectacle and serving as a valiant homage to so many of the films Tarantino grew up with and loved.Kill Bill: Vol. 2, a film that infuses so many of the complex philosophies Tarantino has cherished, as well as surely inducting many of his own radical and absurd justifications without much violence, spectacle or gore, the film becomes a philosophical, witty and complex story with an understanding of his protagonist’s psyche and the reason behind her vengeance. Now picture Nymphomaniac: Volume II in the same way as Kill Bill: Vol. 2, but instead of violence, substitute it for graphic nudity and sexual acts (although it is not nearly as subtracted as the violence in Vol.2 of Kill Bill). So basically, the second film in von Trier’s carnal opus is a long-winded, understanding of Joe’s addiction and the ways in which she tries to subdue it, or if anything, control it.

    Volume II descends to the deep and dark corners of a woman who no longer finds simple penetrative intercourse pleasurable. When sex is not enough, what happens? If Joe is any indication of real world nymphomaniacs and the paths they follow in order to find pleasure, von Trier never prepares us for the unexpected directions Joe goes, desperately to find pleasure, at any cost.

    There is no doubting that Joe finds erotic pleasure in the most taboo places and scenarios. She purposely pulls the wires from her car to attract a large crowd of men, who she presumably goes back to have sex with as the camera pans out. She finds strangers on the street, specifically two black men, who so happen to be brothers, to penetrate her at the same time. The scene, which is a big production still that was used towards the marketing of the film, is less graphic and erotic than what you would imagine, and instead more hysterical as it unfolds, especially with the quarrels of the two men. In Joe’s last attempt to find pleasure with a **** that has failed her, Joe finds a man by the name of K (Jamie Bell), an expert in the brutal art of bondage/BDSM whom she finds stimulating through violence and pain. Her relationship is one that she sacrifices the most for as she becomes a woman and a business professional, compromising her health, the little family Joe has, and of course, the limits of her addiction. Volume II of the saga explores the ways in which people find meaning in their addictions without penetration, although they are overall, mostly naturally and habitually inclined to express themselves through intercourse.

    If you know anything about Lars von Trier, you would know that he is a man with many phobias. An intense fear of flying and various bouts of serious depression, the director is a man who implements so many of his phobias onto his characters, especially Nymphomaniac. Ironically enough, since his declaration to never be part of interviews or press conferences again since his last conference at Cannes accused him of loving Hitler and being a Satanist, Volume II has a lot of bottled up feelings the director has been dying to express–in controversial fashion.

    Throughout Joe’s narration of her life to Seligman (Skarsgård), he describes her actions to those of a man’s behaviour of sex. For the most part, Joe is always powerless to her men, especially in the scenes with K (Bell) who appropriately gives her the alias Fido, a name predominantly used for a dog. Joe is submissive and obedient to anything K says, including tying her to couches, chairs or asked to stand still, unflinching, regardless of the painful outcome. Although Joe seems to give all the power to her sexual partners, there is no denying the control she has over them, mentally persuading them to adhere to her requests.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    *NOTE: This is a review for Nymphomaniac as a whole; Volume I and II* Nymphomaniac is more than "sex epic"; it is an intelligent, gripping and*NOTE: This is a review for Nymphomaniac as a whole; Volume I and II* Nymphomaniac is more than "sex epic"; it is an intelligent, gripping and a rather intense masterpiece made brilliant by great writing and fantastic acting - blending humour and shocking moments in equal measure, but also being a smart and engaging experience as well. It does have its flaws, albeit minor; Shia LaBeouf's strange "British" accent and some odd casting changes in Volume II. This film is definitely NOT for everyone due to its incredibly raunchily and controversial nature and some jaw-droppingly shocking moments and also its length which some may consider to be overlong. But the film is definitely worth a watch, and is worth to be analysed as well. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    This is undoubtedly more of a piece than the first film, but the two should be viewed in tandem and despite flaws are well worth sittingThis is undoubtedly more of a piece than the first film, but the two should be viewed in tandem and despite flaws are well worth sitting through even as a four hour plus marathon. Charlotte Gainsbourg takes over the central role from Stacy Martin and by now one has accepted the improbable scenario connecting chapters. This second part flows a lot better than the first and the screenplay touching on some really provocative themes, including race, paedophilia and gender in equality, is handled in an interesting and thought provoking manner. The ending ties things up effectively and somewhat surprisingly. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    A 4-hour binge watching of provocateur Lars von Trier’s latest feminist saga (divided into two volumes) is a candid confession of a middle-ageA 4-hour binge watching of provocateur Lars von Trier’s latest feminist saga (divided into two volumes) is a candid confession of a middle-age nymphomaniac Joe (Gainsbourg, doughtily consummates her enthralling rendering in von Trier’s Trilogy of Depression, after ANTICHRIST 2009 and MELANCHOLIA 2011, 8/10), out of self-hatred, she chronicles her deviant life from childhood to present, to an elder Jewish polymath Seligman (Skarsgård), who brings her home after finding her lying on the street afflicted from a savage assault.

    read the rest of my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore, thanks!
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2014
    7
    As the story follows from the volume 1 my review too not much difference because to me, I watched these two parts as a narrow single story. IAs the story follows from the volume 1 my review too not much difference because to me, I watched these two parts as a narrow single story. I does liked it for many reasons and one of it was the soundtracks, so awesome. This installment was only slightly different in form of a story. It demonstrates the transformation of the character Joe, from what we had known her in the first.

    This movie with two volumes were the final movie of Lars Von Trier's 'depression' trilogy after 'Antichrist' and 'Melacholia'. An astonishing performance by Charlotte Gainsbourg in all the three movie. In fact Von Trier used her perfectly according to the script demanded. All these three movies will be her career best. In some of the scenes I could not believe it and said 'was she did it?'. Yes of course, but filmmakers has a different theory and says they used a body double in sensitive portion of the scenes with the little help of computer magic.

    It is an inappropriate movie for the few though well made movie if you consider it is a reality for those who are affected by nymphomania. The movie is available in two versions, explicit and softer edition. So I recommend the people are eager to watch this choose according to your need.

    I have already said almost everything in the volume 1 review that is why volume 2 review looks kind of pale. So you can go through that if you have not read yet. #Nymphomaniac: Volume 1 Review. Overall, this duology was one of the best among similar themes, especially who love adult movie with a clean merge of reasonable drama.
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Un simple film pornographique du style Emmanuelle dont le but est de provoqué/déranger comme tout les film de ce réalisateur .
    Les "vrai"
    Un simple film pornographique du style Emmanuelle dont le but est de provoqué/déranger comme tout les film de ce réalisateur .
    Les "vrai" acteurs étant doublé par des acteurs pornographique pour les tres nombreuses scenes de sexes , autant allé voir directement un vrai film pornographique .
    Notons au passage , que les enfants de Charlotte Gainsbourg on été insulté/chahuté par leur camarade d'école et traumatisé à la sortie de ce film ....
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews