Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2000
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 191 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
154
Mixed:
26
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JordanPApr 16, 2011
This may be the only movie that has ever left me seriously tempted to leave the cinema and immediately join the queue for the next show. Structurally, it is a 'road movie', though it borrows the episodic encounters with larger-than-lifeThis may be the only movie that has ever left me seriously tempted to leave the cinema and immediately join the queue for the next show. Structurally, it is a 'road movie', though it borrows the episodic encounters with larger-than-life characters from Homer's Odyssey (including sirens and a cyclops!). But the artful combination of its photography and music with delightful story and characters makes this one of most bewitching and beautiful road movies ever made.

The critics seem to find it shallow, though I struggle to understand why. In addition to being genuinely funny and centred upon rich characters, the story includes a fair weight of political satire and a sprinkling of the Coens' strange metaphysical fascinations, with the Devil making his own cameo in the form of a lawman. If this is too shallow, I wonder what comedies the critics have been watching that are so deep?

If people are confusing depth for emotionalism, perhaps they should stick to rewatching the English Patient.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
How anyone could dislike this comic odyssey is beyond me. I still have real affection for these characters, and the film as a whole is a masterpiece. One of the best Coen bros. films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Jan 29, 2012
O Brother, Where Art Thou? is a beautifully filmed, hilarious, wild, amazingly original film featuring just fantastic performances from its three consistently funny leads. I give this film 61%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Dec 8, 2012
With the spirit of adventure these 3 prisoners made this movie one of the best comedies of all time. From collisons with police to bi-polar robbers this one hassel of a story makes this an easy classic for all to enjoy
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MeLikesMeHatesApr 18, 2016
Just my second favorite film of all time. No big deal!

There is not an unlikeable character in this film. Even the villains are fondly remembered. Own it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
christopherMay 30, 2009
"O Brother" is less a nostalgic screwball comedy than a highly contrived satire which emphasises the cruelty and absurdity of human existence. One may find the wanton slaughter of cows, superficially sexualized Sirens, satanic black side "O Brother" is less a nostalgic screwball comedy than a highly contrived satire which emphasises the cruelty and absurdity of human existence. One may find the wanton slaughter of cows, superficially sexualized Sirens, satanic black side kick, mocked/idealized villains, commercial contemporary take on folk music, incidental ties to Greek tragedy, and general aimlessness (tied together with a cute little literal string) to be light-hearted fun, but to see it as repugnant is an equally appropriate reaction. This is a story of selfishness and stupidity signifying nothing. The characters live in a beautiful world and have zero appreciation for it. This is exemplified by the slick, soulless direction and obvious, ugly digitized cinematography. "O Brother" can be called nihilistic and smug with perfect reason because, for all it creativity and polish, it is an intentionally aloft meditation on negativity and cynicism. At least "Days of Heaven" seems to have some sense of appreciation for atmosphere and environment even as it utilizes Depression era elements. Nihilism can be overtly expressed or implied, and "O Brother" wears it less like a badge than like a favorite pair of dirty socks kept in some high drawer, right next to a baby skull paper weight for a pornographic magazine. Sometimes laughter is a sign of sickness. JAFO (just another ****ing opinion) for what it is worth. Cheers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredCDec 9, 2007
The writing, directing, and producing team of Joel Coen and Ethan Coen created this picaresque comedy (inspired in part by Homer's The Odyssey) set in the Deep South during the Depression. Suave and fancy-talking Everett Ulysses McGill The writing, directing, and producing team of Joel Coen and Ethan Coen created this picaresque comedy (inspired in part by Homer's The Odyssey) set in the Deep South during the Depression. Suave and fancy-talking Everett Ulysses McGill (George Clooney), dim-witted Delmar (Tim Blake Nelson), and easily-excitable Pete (John Turturro) are serving time together on a prison chain gang. Everett knows where $1.2 million is hidden that's theirs for the taking, and the three manage to escape; however, a stranger soon warns them that they'll find treasure, but not the sort they're looking for. As Everett and his partners hit the road, they happen upon a gluttonous bible salesman, Big Dan Teague (John Goodman); meet up with Baby Face Nelson (Michael Badalucco) as he robs a bank; encounter three Sirens doing their washing; run into Everett's estranged wife Penny (Holly Hunter), who has told everyone her husband was killed in a train wreck; find themselves in the middle of a heated campaign between political boss Pappy O'Daniel (Charles Durning), and reformist candidate Homer Stokes (Wayne Duvall); and even find time to make a hit record as The Soggy Bottom Boys. Noted songwriter T-Bone Burnett helped compile the songs (combining vintage country blues tunes with originals in the same style), while Carter Burwell composed the background score. Incidentally, the title O Brother, Where Art Thou? is a reference to the classic Preston Sturges comedy Sullivan's Travels, in which a director plans to make a serious "message picture" with that name. O Brother, Where Art Thou? is the number one motion picture of the year, and has all the hip and jazz to almost reach the standards of The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BigRedJun 11, 2007
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. The wacky characters, the plot twists, the dialogue, the music, the look and feel of it all. Each scene is a joy to watch. Every actor and actress manages to create personalities that are just This is one of my favorite movies of all time. The wacky characters, the plot twists, the dialogue, the music, the look and feel of it all. Each scene is a joy to watch. Every actor and actress manages to create personalities that are just plain fun to watch. Any critic that rates Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 9, 2007
This is one of the greatest comedy films I have ever seen. The acting is simply brilliant. This is due, in part, to some very clever writing. Kudos go out to George Clooney, Tim Blake Nelson, and John Turturro for their portrayals of the This is one of the greatest comedy films I have ever seen. The acting is simply brilliant. This is due, in part, to some very clever writing. Kudos go out to George Clooney, Tim Blake Nelson, and John Turturro for their portrayals of the southern version of the Three Stooges. The music was awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
QuinnQMay 14, 2009
It was an alright movie. The best part was the old governor guy dancing that made me chuckle, and the criminal crying about his nickname. Oh and the part where that Big Dan guy hit Delmarr and Evertt on the head with a huge branch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
patrickd.Sep 22, 2005
Not the best movie ever, but certainly a good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelA.Feb 11, 2006
Moving and transporting -- beautiful and hilarious... Simply a stunning work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxM.Jun 29, 2006
This is a great movie! It's not just the comedy thats great, its the astounding broad appeal of the movie that was actually captured in this film. Everyone that I know of, regardless of age, can manage to love this movie. Also, the This is a great movie! It's not just the comedy thats great, its the astounding broad appeal of the movie that was actually captured in this film. Everyone that I know of, regardless of age, can manage to love this movie. Also, the entire films, in the artistic view of being able to portray the time period (the backdrops, the people of the time, etc. etc..), is unrivaled! Also, the dialogue of this movie is amazing - from the intellectual and witty Everett with company of the constantly dumbfounded and comedic Delmar to the always-stubborn and hard-headed Pete. Truly amazing. "I don't mean to be tellin' tales out of school, but there's a man in there that'll pay ya 15 bucks to sing into his can." The innocence in this character... Perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
damonsMay 14, 2009
This movie was amazing and it was one of my favorite of all time. My favorite scene was the one on the KKK. I liked it because they were trashing the KKK. When they cut the cord for the burning cross that was just hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HalfwelshmanOct 16, 2011
While it may not be among the Coen Brothers' finest work, O Brother Where Art Thou is an intriguing and original viewing experience. It's a road movie like no other, based on the ultimate adventure story, The Odyssey. There's so much to likeWhile it may not be among the Coen Brothers' finest work, O Brother Where Art Thou is an intriguing and original viewing experience. It's a road movie like no other, based on the ultimate adventure story, The Odyssey. There's so much to like about the film - the plot is wacky, the soundtrack a wonderful mix of American folk, and the Great Depression-era world is inhabited by weird and wonderful characters (including George Clooney's verbally dexterous, pomade-haired scoundrel Everett - perhaps his finest on-screen role to date). The Coens give us a rollicking good time right until the end, when a silly finale and some disappointing narrative tie-ups and underwhelming character payoffs threaten to ruin our fun. As a whole though, it's a vastly entertaining film, and only a little shy of the top pantheon of Coen Brothers films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Sep 30, 2011
I don't like coming out of a viewing of a film and feeling like I enjoyed it but knowing something is missing. What makes my experience of O Brother worse is that I cannot figure out why I didn't like it as much as I should have.
The acting
I don't like coming out of a viewing of a film and feeling like I enjoyed it but knowing something is missing. What makes my experience of O Brother worse is that I cannot figure out why I didn't like it as much as I should have.
The acting as always was stellar with George Clooney giving a performance that rivals some of his finest roles (Michael Clayton, Burn after Reading and Up in the Air) as Ulysses Everrett Mcgill a member of a chain gang who orchestrates a prison break so he can get back to his home town so he can regain some treasure in a valley due to be flooded. The Coen Brothers provide a great script that is even more quirky than some of there previous outings (The Hudsucker Proxy). The film pretty much has everything it needs to be a good Coen Brothers film with a great supporting cast including John Goodman and Holly Hunter, a great soundtrack and beautiful landscapes (even more so than True Grit).
However O Brother doesn't seem like an original thought (and I don't mean because it was loosely based on The Odyssey by Homer). It just seems like the Coen brothers have what they see as a working formula to there films and with this they just followed the recipe with it being very easy to compare the film to there others. Sure I liked the film but this may be the reason I didn't love it. Or perhaps I still haven't figured it out yet.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFJun 16, 2013
The Coen Brothers deliver another classic and unique comedy that explores friendship, accidental fame and a vast amount of unforgettable characters, with George Clooney, John Turturro and Tim Blake Nelson taking centre stage as three escapedThe Coen Brothers deliver another classic and unique comedy that explores friendship, accidental fame and a vast amount of unforgettable characters, with George Clooney, John Turturro and Tim Blake Nelson taking centre stage as three escaped convicts on the search for treasure in Depression-era America.
As the three convicts, Ulysses Everett McGill (Clooney), Delamar O'Donnell (Nelson) and Pete Hogwallop (Turturro) all have their own intentions in regards to freedom, and their adventures lead them down a road of robbery, music recordings and deals with the devil, with each scene oozing with its own flare and brilliant dialogue.
Everett is desperate for the right sort of hair wax and hairnets,while Pete and Delamar decide to get cleansed at a local baptism, they happen across an array of characters including the wonderful John Goodman who is a fast talking biblical salesman and sets his sights on the convicts. As they travel throughout the land in search for their treasure and also trying to evade the authorities, their musical fame and selection of friends may just catch up on them.
With an excellent soundtrack and stand out performances, the film will be difficult to forget for its bizarre yet hilarious flow and its band of misfit characters who make their roles their own, Clooney shows the Coen style of his acting as this was the sort of character he played later on in 'Burn After Reading", fast, edgy but hysterical, while Turturro plays a more serious and hardened man, but Nelson is the complete opposite, seemingly a bit of a simpleton, but combined they create quite the trio, stumbling into various avenues of opportunities and luckily evading the law in surprising fashion.
The exciting style of the Coen brothers has never been more apparent, their larger than life characters, while most are loosely based on 'Homer's Odyssey', the actor portraying them brings a sense of craze and unique quality to the role. The funniest moments of the film come from the the situations the trio get involved in, whether happening upon a bank robbery or a KKK gathering, Clooney leading the show is brilliant, his characters random bursts of knowledgeable facts are excellent.
Excellent comedy and an unforgettable addition to the Coen Brothers filmography.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 28, 2013
What a great movie this is. The Coen brothers and the rest of the production did a great job. The cinematography is spectacular (thanks to Roger Deakins), and the soundtrack is amazing, they are among the best in any film. And of course theWhat a great movie this is. The Coen brothers and the rest of the production did a great job. The cinematography is spectacular (thanks to Roger Deakins), and the soundtrack is amazing, they are among the best in any film. And of course the casting was good, Clooney's character is amusing along his co-stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PaperThingJun 28, 2012
" "O Brother" is less a nostalgic screwball comedy than a highly contrived satire which emphasises the cruelty and absurdity of human existence. "

... So what's the problem? Even if you are a fan of slow paced, existential cinema - and
" "O Brother" is less a nostalgic screwball comedy than a highly contrived satire which emphasises the cruelty and absurdity of human existence. "

... So what's the problem?

Even if you are a fan of slow paced, existential cinema - and generally avoid screwball comedies - this is worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleJul 17, 2013
The acting is good the directing is good, the film is certainly funny, and the plot is engaging enough to keep up your interest, but it just feels as though there is something missing from this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Diablo92Jun 2, 2013
This film was the best.. They did so terrific on this movie and will continue to be the best till the end of time. The soundtrack is excellent. Everything in this is perfect and just the way it should be, no more and no less.... I would loveThis film was the best.. They did so terrific on this movie and will continue to be the best till the end of time. The soundtrack is excellent. Everything in this is perfect and just the way it should be, no more and no less.... I would love to see another movie like this be released in the future and of course put alot of work into it casue this one was great and the next one would also need to be great.

I love films thats old or old and western style... Just pure excellent. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Aug 20, 2015
Fantastically catchy music, quaintly picturesque imagery, and funny-as-hell performances - "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" is the Coen Brothers at their very best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CoraApr 9, 2013
This movie connects from beginning to end. My husband, after viewing many times, shared with me this movie homage to "Homer the Odyssey. The actors all connect as if they were family/friends. The music was awesome. The guitar player Chris TThis movie connects from beginning to end. My husband, after viewing many times, shared with me this movie homage to "Homer the Odyssey. The actors all connect as if they were family/friends. The music was awesome. The guitar player Chris T King and his father are accomplished musicians. Pappy (Charles Durning) was nominated for two oscars. So many characters connects all to the end. "That's not my ring"... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heathermMay 13, 2015
The plot of this movie is fun in the way that it unravels, and the movie's exaggerations in events and characters is charming as well, but the real star of this movie is the soundtrack. The songs are all so gorgeous, beautifully sung and soThe plot of this movie is fun in the way that it unravels, and the movie's exaggerations in events and characters is charming as well, but the real star of this movie is the soundtrack. The songs are all so gorgeous, beautifully sung and so evocative, conjuring up a completely different ideal of a lost world in the past that never really existed in the storybook way it appears here. Don't get me wrong, the movie is good too, but the soundtrack will definitely get more replay value with me than the movie will--it's the most exceptional and beautiful part of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SomePersonaJan 27, 2017
This film has many clever and witty allegories to its source material, The Odyssey. The three leads work well by themselves and with each other as well as the rest of the cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews