O

Lions Gate Films | Release Date: August 31, 2001
3.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 33 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
1
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
SetsunaSeieiApr 3, 2011
An interesting retelling, but somewhat luckluster since the actors weren't the best for their parts. Iago was the major offender here, since its character really couldn't be compared with the original's cunning and amorality. When you want toAn interesting retelling, but somewhat luckluster since the actors weren't the best for their parts. Iago was the major offender here, since its character really couldn't be compared with the original's cunning and amorality. When you want to rewrite something as important as Othello you should at least consider the reactions of those who appreciated the original and would like to see something at least marginally similiar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JohnGAug 15, 2009
I didn't like how they removed all abiguity of Iagos(Hugo) motives. Also the original scores sounded like they belonged on a day time soap opera, and the actors didn't always seen comfortable with the script. Harnet : "Am I your I didn't like how they removed all abiguity of Iagos(Hugo) motives. Also the original scores sounded like they belonged on a day time soap opera, and the actors didn't always seen comfortable with the script. Harnet : "Am I your boy" He seemed very uncomfortable say it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeQuilaH.Mar 26, 2008
I loved this movie. It captured Shakespear's thoughts and feelings in a perfect way. This movie helped mw to understand the complex words of Shakespeare. I loved it!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethW.Feb 25, 2003
Great Movie !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DuncanE.Dec 12, 2002
Pretty darned good adaptation of the classic play. Amost as good as "Internal Affairs." The true test of how good an Othello adaptation is is just how upset you get with the Iago character. Richard Gere was more despicable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YouCallMe...Robocop!IMean,MulroneycakesDec 12, 2002
One of Wild Bill's best plays (I should know, I had to study the bastard) done no small amount of justice. British TV did a better one with Kareem Said, but this one's worth a shout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NarguessA.Sep 4, 2001
I really enjoyed the movie because it showed a lot of the problems teens can go though such as jealousy, sex, drugs, drinking, and lying. Granted it was a bit extravagant or gruesome at the end, that's Shakespeare. I thought that it was I really enjoyed the movie because it showed a lot of the problems teens can go though such as jealousy, sex, drugs, drinking, and lying. Granted it was a bit extravagant or gruesome at the end, that's Shakespeare. I thought that it was a little awkward for the movie to take place in high school, but I thought it was great nontheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelF.Aug 31, 2001
This is a very powerful film. Filled with great performances and a solid script. Great issues are shown in this film so well. Tim Blake Nelson has done such a good job. A good film for children to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful