User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 930 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 930
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you can escape a couple of major plot holes, I found the film an entertaining escape. As opposed to some of the other reviewers, I found the plot easy to understand and interesting. However, the execution in the film left a bit to be desired: i.e. why didn't the humans inform Jack of his situation when they first met? why didn't jack's wife tell him who she was immediately? why did the humans hail the orbiting escape pod from earlier knowing all the people on board would be killed? how? why now 60 years later? The film is littered with these questions (very Prometheus-esque). So believing it all was a bit of an effort, unfortunately. ...could have been a much better film. ...shame. Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    While visually arresting and primed with action-sequences, "Oblivion" compromises its technical accomplishments with a disheveled script that helps itself liberally from numerous science fiction films. That being said, that doesn’t mean that much of it’s audience won’t find this fairly engaging and entertaining. Tom Cruise returns to the realms of science fiction, collaborating withWhile visually arresting and primed with action-sequences, "Oblivion" compromises its technical accomplishments with a disheveled script that helps itself liberally from numerous science fiction films. That being said, that doesn’t mean that much of it’s audience won’t find this fairly engaging and entertaining. Tom Cruise returns to the realms of science fiction, collaborating with director Joseph Kosinski "Tron: Legacy" (2010), in a big screen adaptation of his unpublished graphic novel.

    Like a great deal of science fiction films, “Oblivion” requires a lengthy prologue in order to contextualize the viewer to the imaginative world they are being introduced to. In this case, that world is actually our own, just not at all like we know it. In 2077, 60 years after an alien invasion triggered a nuclear war that decimated the planet, the human race has all but abandoned Earth for Titan, the largest of Saturn's moons. Tom Cruise plays Jack Harper, one of the last few drone repairmen stationed on an Earth which has been abandoned for years following decades of war with a group known as the Scavs. Along with his wife Victoria (Andrea Riseborough), they maintain the fleet of drones, protecting the earth from the threat of the Scavs. Yet, when a series of drones go down, and a spaceship crashes with a beautiful survivor Julia (Olga Kurylenko) on board, Jack finds his life changed forever as everything he knows, (or thinks he knows), is blown apart.

    "Oblivion" is an incredible piece of visual sci-fi eye candy; sleek, a wonderfully realized world of day-after-tomorrow style technology, including some brutally intense fight sequences. It's one of those films that demands it to be watched on the biggest screen you can possibly find. The world “Oblivion” paints is certainly a striking one, but the emptiness that now dominates the planet inevitably also permeates throughout the picture itself. This is the underlining problem with "Oblivion." The movie comes off as merely a derivative of other well-done, successful science fiction films. So much creativity went into the visual design that apparently little was left when crafting the plot. The movie liberally borrows from “WALL-E” (2008), “Total Recall” (1990), “Independence Day” (1996), “Planet of the Apes” (2001), and “Moon” (2009), that it often veers dangerously close into lawsuit territory.

    "Oblivion" is admirable in its look and style, but the film is not unique or exceptional. It holds its own as the mystery initially plays out, and you do find yourself drawn in, but as the pieces begin to slot together, you can't help but feel you've seen it all before. Like the drones and Cruise himself “Oblivion” is competent, durable, and undeniably mechanical.
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    Oblivion has great audio and visual effects. Sadly those are the best things within the entire movie. This movie lacked a good story. The movie was mainly star-driven. Tom cruise showed us that even at his age, he could still play a badass. The movie did deserve a better metascore than it got. This is a movie that is awesome the first time but never the same again. I would recommendOblivion has great audio and visual effects. Sadly those are the best things within the entire movie. This movie lacked a good story. The movie was mainly star-driven. Tom cruise showed us that even at his age, he could still play a badass. The movie did deserve a better metascore than it got. This is a movie that is awesome the first time but never the same again. I would recommend watching this movie... Once. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    It has a cool premise and stunning FX in the action scenes, but the film feels too long and lost interest nearer to the end. Though it is nothing of a masterpiece it has some great action and a nice one or two plot twists which got me hooked for a short time. The ending was a nice touch as well, but overall the film dragged for me.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    I din't actually like Oblivion. It was too hard to understand and it was kind of boring sometimes and i didn't really enjoy it. I didn't understand the whole point and what was really or not. A waste of 7 euros. Only on Dvd for the special effects which are kinda impressive. I also like the fight Cruise Vs Cruise.
  6. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    Oblivion is very aesthetically pleasing; the visuals are certainly well done. However, a deeper script and more watertight storyline would help to satisfy the movie-goer looking for more than just visuals.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    Not good, not bad. Fun, at least. The turn in the story is kind of funny, the actors choice were fitting, the visuals were pretty. But the conclusion was very poor and the enemy was so uncharismatic... 5, I will stay half the way.
  8. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    It was not the best sci-fi movie I have ever seen, but I thought it was good. It started out very good, almost great, then went down to average about half way through, and ended up as what I would describe as a good sci-fi movie for a sci-fi fan. I would not recommend this to a non-sci-fi fan. The visuals were great; the overall story was good too. It's the execution of the second half ofIt was not the best sci-fi movie I have ever seen, but I thought it was good. It started out very good, almost great, then went down to average about half way through, and ended up as what I would describe as a good sci-fi movie for a sci-fi fan. I would not recommend this to a non-sci-fi fan. The visuals were great; the overall story was good too. It's the execution of the second half of the film that was a let-down, especially after the very well designed set-up of the beginning. I was hoping the story would go one way, but it went another way and it was ok, but I had a better path laid out in my head for the second half of the movie while I was watching it. My opinion is that people who make movies are pressured to make them/keep them simple, with less thought provoking storylines and more pop and flash; stories you can wrap up neatly in a bow at the end. I understand it, some of the dumbest movies I've ever seen, made the most money, and in the end, it's a business. However, in the long run, they will need to start making better, smarter, more thought provoking movies; otherwise they will eventually lose everyone. A great place to do this is with sci-fi movies. There is no reason you can't have action, pop and flash, and a great story. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This really is a visual feast but that can't sustain a lightweight, lumbering storyline which is at all times vaguely reminiscent of some past sci-fi film (Silent Running, Omega Man, Moon). It seems to borrow bits and pieces and wrap them up in outstanding production values. Morgan Freeman reprises the sort of role he's delivered elsewhere, this time with limited gravitas. Brilliant CGIThis really is a visual feast but that can't sustain a lightweight, lumbering storyline which is at all times vaguely reminiscent of some past sci-fi film (Silent Running, Omega Man, Moon). It seems to borrow bits and pieces and wrap them up in outstanding production values. Morgan Freeman reprises the sort of role he's delivered elsewhere, this time with limited gravitas. Brilliant CGI but little suspension of disbelief. The second half is missing some points of logic so that you come away slightly unsatisfied. Expand
  10. Apr 30, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed SEEING the film, but once I came outside, I realised the really wasn't that much to it, and I might've wasted my money seeing this in cinemas. I think they paid too much attention to "super cool" effects instead of giving the story more substance.
  11. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Everything about this film is AVERAGE. The acting is AVERAGE, the story is AVERAGE, and the action is AVERAGE. The only thing above AVERAGE in this film is the score and visuals. Everything in the film seems familiar. Most audiences that like this film haven't seen all the other movies it's stealing from. Films being ripped off include Moon, Independence Day, Star Wars, 2001 and TheEverything about this film is AVERAGE. The acting is AVERAGE, the story is AVERAGE, and the action is AVERAGE. The only thing above AVERAGE in this film is the score and visuals. Everything in the film seems familiar. Most audiences that like this film haven't seen all the other movies it's stealing from. Films being ripped off include Moon, Independence Day, Star Wars, 2001 and The Matrix. The lack of originality makes this film extremely predictable because we've seen all these elements before. The movie is comprised of every science fiction cliche combined into one film and distributed to the public. If it was more original and more tightly constructed it would be a far more entertaining and thought provoking picture. But as it stands right now, it is AVERAGE. Expand
  12. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Not bad, but after a great opening the script refuses to do anything original. The very promising first hour gets dragged down by an inconsistent second half, that plays like a mish-mash of 2001 space odyssey, 2010, Prometheus, The Matrix, Independence day, Dune and other (and better) Science-Fiction films. It is frustrating to see a movie with such potential turned into easy box-officeNot bad, but after a great opening the script refuses to do anything original. The very promising first hour gets dragged down by an inconsistent second half, that plays like a mish-mash of 2001 space odyssey, 2010, Prometheus, The Matrix, Independence day, Dune and other (and better) Science-Fiction films. It is frustrating to see a movie with such potential turned into easy box-office schlock, easy to digest to make a quick buck from the audience. They should have come up with something better. Collapse
  13. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Initially I was intrigued by the post apocalyptic landscape and high tech gadgetry, but soon I became confused. Large gaps were left in the plot and I began to wonder if we would ever get the story behind the madness. Eventually all was explained, but instead of giving you the information and allowing you to plot it out yourself, it is essentially completely explained, which makes the movie's twist less of a twist and more of a "wah wah". There are not a lot of actors in the film either, very little screentime is devoted to anyone who is not Tom Cruise, while its understandable given the nature of the film's plot, it leaves me wondering how much more they could have garnered from the story if there had been some stronger characters developing as well.

    Overall Oblivion is a sci-fi action film that doesn't really deliver much in the form of action and the special effects seem mainly limited to the landscape and the flying ship. Without a strong cast or even strong action it seems to fall on its face more often than not. The movie tries to make itself serious through flashbacks and moments of tension, but these fall short because the flashbacks are confusing and the tension is never really there; they won't kill off the only character they ever even develop in the movie less than halfway through and the only other dramatic moment is solved by high tech medical gadgetry. I would have to rate this as a rental and not a theater worthy movie, it just doesn't deliver enough to warrant the expense or the effort.
    Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    It's Cruise, Cruise, Cruise, Cruise......everywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Oblivion is a beautifully made movie. It has impressive visual effects, cinematography and art design. But an uninspired story (a mix between Wall-E, Total Recall, Terminator and 2001: A Space Odyssey) that doesn't make any sense, below average acting, and an awkward pacing avoid it from being entertaining. The twists can be seen coming from a mile away. The action sequences are formulaic,Oblivion is a beautifully made movie. It has impressive visual effects, cinematography and art design. But an uninspired story (a mix between Wall-E, Total Recall, Terminator and 2001: A Space Odyssey) that doesn't make any sense, below average acting, and an awkward pacing avoid it from being entertaining. The twists can be seen coming from a mile away. The action sequences are formulaic, few and far in between. The characters are so one-dimensional it's hard to root for them. The undercooked love story drags the movie until forever, not to mention the chemistry between Tom Cruise and Olga Kurylenko is non-existent. You spend most of the film not knowing what's going on, and when that is revealed, it's very underwhelming. Only worthy for the visuals. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    The first blockbuster out of the gate is for the most part an engaging sci-fi thriller. An obliterated New York looks great! Photographed and lit superbly, for the most part in muted colour tones, the resultant effect works extremely well. In fact, the film intrigues right up until the true identity of the scavengers is revealed. From here on a lack of clarity in the script, selfThe first blockbuster out of the gate is for the most part an engaging sci-fi thriller. An obliterated New York looks great! Photographed and lit superbly, for the most part in muted colour tones, the resultant effect works extremely well. In fact, the film intrigues right up until the true identity of the scavengers is revealed. From here on a lack of clarity in the script, self indulgence in the direction and a surplus of endings that becomes tiresome dilutes the overall effect. The final twist is just one unbelievable plot point too far, given the context of what's gone before. Cruise and, especially, Andrea Riseborough make an effective team. Melissa Leo is again just fab in another of her small, but effective, supporting turns and it is only Morgan Freeman who doesn't bring anymore than his obvious stature to the role. Also, although it is not his fault, it is precisely on his entry that the film begins to implode. Still, if the other blockbusters are half as imaginative and entertaining as this one we will indeed be fortunate. Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    I have to start off by saying that I saw this in 35mm film. This matters, because the thing that drew me most in the trailer were the visuals, and what I ended up seeing definitely didn't impress. Nor did anything else. If it were a dish it would taste rather bland... and disappointing.
  18. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    The visuals are great. While watching it you will be reminded of many other Sci-Fi films, and Tom Cruise has played this same character many times. It kept me intrigued until the end but the ending was eye-rollingly bad. The whole movie became unbelievable at that point (are the super intelligent aliens really that stupid?). I also thought the soundtrack was annoying at times. Not aThe visuals are great. While watching it you will be reminded of many other Sci-Fi films, and Tom Cruise has played this same character many times. It kept me intrigued until the end but the ending was eye-rollingly bad. The whole movie became unbelievable at that point (are the super intelligent aliens really that stupid?). I also thought the soundtrack was annoying at times. Not a horrible film, but it won't be a blu-ray purchase. Expand
  19. Apr 9, 2014
    5
    A really good sci-fi spoiled by being far too long and drawn out and some stupid additions in the story not least at the every end. Its still OK but it could have been much much better if a lot of the rubbish had been cut out.
  20. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    Oblivion is an eye candy movie disguised as a post-apocalyptic science fiction flick. Throughout the entire film I saw not only movie elements I had seen many times before, but also nearly every Tom Cruise character of note. I saw three Jacks (Jack from Legend, Jack from Jack Reacher, and Jack from Oblivion), Maverick, Cole Trickle from Days of Thunder, John Anderton from Minority Report,Oblivion is an eye candy movie disguised as a post-apocalyptic science fiction flick. Throughout the entire film I saw not only movie elements I had seen many times before, but also nearly every Tom Cruise character of note. I saw three Jacks (Jack from Legend, Jack from Jack Reacher, and Jack from Oblivion), Maverick, Cole Trickle from Days of Thunder, John Anderton from Minority Report, and Ethan Hunt. I like Cruise but without a compelling story I just kept seeing him in every other role (and jumping on Oprah's couch a few times). This movie could have been great but alas was barely good. Time for Cruise to play a 50 year old character for once and give up on the 30-something heroes. Expand
  21. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although I enjoyed Oblivion there were moments where I found myself beginning to lull. I certainly am not knocking the film for it's obvious nods and similarities to other sci-fi because there's nothing wrong with that but it never really is able to wow or fully grasp my attention. I really enjoyed the first part of the movie where you are initially introduced to the character and the setting. This kind of apocalyptic setting is one of my favorites and it really shines in this film. Unfortunately there's never any draw towards the character and in my opinion Cruise was lackluster. He seemed very forced throughout the film and unnatural. Much like reading a Stephen King novel (especially It) as soon as I discovered what the aliens were (humans) it was a meh moment, not to mention the fact that if you see a trailer for a movie you can guess what's going to happen. They really tried to throw in as much as they could, what with clones, droids, etc. Nothing just ever seemed to hold any weight. I was expecting an epic battle of thousands of Tom Cruises being sent to destroy the human resistance but instead the evil entity sent two drones. That for me was a let down, I certainly expected a big bang of a battle but was underwhelmed. I enjoyed seeing Nikolaj Coster-Waldau but his character was so underdeveloped, he was just a familiar face. The story overall took a lot from other films but never gave the audience anything to hold onto. There's certainly a homage to Hal 9000 but didn't give me the eerie feeling as a Space Odyssey did. All in all I thought the movie was an enjoyable one time experience and that's all it needed to be. It wasn't able to hold the atmosphere for the entire movie, only the beginning. Here's my biggest beef with the film; the ending. Tom Cruise flies into the evil triangle up in space with a nuke set to destroy it and put an end to the drones so humanity and repopulate Earth. The main issue here is from the beginning of the movie to the end-ish, the drones scan everything to tell if they're a threat or friend. Not here, not after Tom Cruise had defied Tet (Hal 9000) and just let him stroll on through with a nuke. Oh, and Morgan Freeman. Apparently they didn't want to check that the passenger he had with him was his wife but instead it was Morgan Freeman with a nuke. Whereas earlier in the film the drones could even pick up his DNA particles in the air but they can't tell the difference between a white lady and a black man. It just didn't add up for me. Why would this super being even care about the survivor in the first place when it had just blasted them before. It seemed like an easy cop out. Then it goes back to earth and one of his clones meets up with his wife who apparently gave birth on her own and he intends to fill in as the father/husband role. I imagine it will be really awkward when they find the other 998 Tom Cruise's scouring the planet, maybe they'll take turns being the father/husband. Who knows! Expand
  22. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Not a movie to see with the girlfriend... This movie amazes with the awesome landscapes of a vacant earth. A scene that showed Tom Cruise riding his bike across the arid plains was one of my favorite. But you quickly realize that Tom and his friend up in the skytower are pretty much alone with drones. All of the other humans have left to the moon, Titan. So this gives the movie a slowNot a movie to see with the girlfriend... This movie amazes with the awesome landscapes of a vacant earth. A scene that showed Tom Cruise riding his bike across the arid plains was one of my favorite. But you quickly realize that Tom and his friend up in the skytower are pretty much alone with drones. All of the other humans have left to the moon, Titan. So this gives the movie a slow start with Tom Cruise doing his daily routine of fixing up the drones. Then, halfway through the movie, after the very long intro, a new character arrives and weird things, really weird things, start to happen. During the intro, my girlfriend checked her phone to see what the time was which was a sign to me that she was losing interest. Then, after the third character arrives, our minds are blown and we have no idea whats going on... And we were paying attention, but we must have missed a little detail somewhere because at the lackluster ending, we had many questions that were left unanswered. Most sci-fi lovers will probably get it, but two 15 year olds might not. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise is a mercurial actor when you dig into his body of work, and his role in Oblivion almost seems custom-built for somebody else. The story itself is incredibly thin, but all the pieces fall together in proper sequence, and in the end, you're not left surprised so much as satisfied that things play out the way they do.

    For much of the early portion of the film, the overall
    Tom Cruise is a mercurial actor when you dig into his body of work, and his role in Oblivion almost seems custom-built for somebody else. The story itself is incredibly thin, but all the pieces fall together in proper sequence, and in the end, you're not left surprised so much as satisfied that things play out the way they do.

    For much of the early portion of the film, the overall mystery factor leaves you curious, but once they strip this away, the film does a poor job of evaluating the antagonist and its motives. Much like Cruise's role, that of Morgan Freeman could have been filled by a much lesser actor with similar results; there is simply not enough room for him to deftly navigate the film in the manner he is capable. Minor parts aside, the casting is not so much a flaw for Oblivion as it is a point of confusion; such big names need not have applied.

    The plot itself, as I mentioned, is thin on detail and heavy on putting things in their right place. Sci-fi goes in either one direction or the other most of the time, and as a huge fan of the genre in a film sense, Oblivion doesn't have the balance between style, substance and storytelling to truly grip me. The big revealing moments are not so much expected as they are dry, leaving a taste in mouth that is familiar, but one which you cannot quite place where you've experienced it before. A strange sort of deja vu.

    A few minor tweaks, and a story that didn't pat itself on the back for being sequenced properly and went further into the details of the intriguing world it only dabbles in, could have made Oblivion much more than what it is; an average film, overcasted and underfed.
    Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2013
    4
    This movie is mostly a collage of concepts found in other, much better sci-fi movies. This is your average film that no one will remember this time next year, because it is boring and derivative.
  25. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    In “Oblivion” you get two Tom Cruises for the price of one. You get the actor who is accessible, likeable, the guy next door and you get the man of action. He comes through for fans of both and might even bring in a few more who are looking for a fast moving film with looks of what the future might be. The only problem I have, and which I have with many sci-fi movies, is that I need theIn “Oblivion” you get two Tom Cruises for the price of one. You get the actor who is accessible, likeable, the guy next door and you get the man of action. He comes through for fans of both and might even bring in a few more who are looking for a fast moving film with looks of what the future might be. The only problem I have, and which I have with many sci-fi movies, is that I need the “Big Bang” guys or Trekkies to explain the last half hour to tell me what it was all about.

    Earth has lost a war in 2077 and most of the citizens have been moved to a planet called Titan. Jack Harper’s (Tom Cruise) mind has been wiped of past memories though a few seep through for a second of Julie (Olga Kurylenko) a woman he remembers but doesn’t know exactly why. He has been paired with Vika (Andrea Riseborough) as part of a perfect team and are monitored by Sally (Melissa Leo) a Southern talking TV image. Jack’s job is repairing drones and searching for any ‘scavengers’, people still living on Earth, before he and Vika retire to Titan.

    Without going into spoilers Morgan Freeman and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, as head of a group of scavengers, capture Julie and Jack which is when they start to lose me. One thing I do like about films that take place in the future is how the filmmaker pictures it. In 2077 the motorcycles, drones, helicopters not to forget their all clear plastic and glass home referred to as Skytower with a swimming pool that will have you talking, as will the nude swimming scene, are a part of the future we can imagine.

    Cruise, about to turn 51, works hard to keep his body in shape and while men will be jealous of his near nude scenes women will appreciate it. As their girlfriends sigh over Cruise the men will keep their feelings to themselves regarding Kurylenko and Riseborough, if they are smart.

    “Oblivion” is visual candy in the landscapes, shots of recognizable parts of the USA buried in sand or lush parts that somehow managed to escape what happened to the planet. There are action scenes, perhaps one too many, for the guys and enough Tom eye candy for the women. All in all it is a visual experience thanks to the production crew and director Joseph Kosinski but now if I can only get the screenwriters Karl Gajdusek and Michael DeBruyn, (or you), to explain the last 40 minutes I would appreciate it much more.
    Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2013
    4
    Good acting, direction, graphics, action. What brought the score down to 4 was the story line It was convoluted, not credible, and weak. A bad story line in a 2 hour movie made it seem 3 hours. Plenty of action lost on an impossible to follow story.
  27. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would say the movie is excellent...until Morgan Freeman shows up. He destroys pretty much everything that has been built up until that point. The same happens in every movie where Michael Caine shows up. These guys are not made to play supporting roles. Anyway, the CGI is awesome. Tom Cruise is as awesome as always, too bad he has to be there next to Olga Kurylenko, who does nothing more than stare at the screen with her big eyes.
    I want that apartment That is one cool apartment...and the pool is...CGI, unfortunately...
    Expand
  28. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    It's a strange movie with an unoriginal idea. Then again, there aren't that many original idea's anymore. But anyway, Oblivion has it's ups and downs. As far as visuals go, it's really marvelous. But as far as the storyline goes, it's pretty bleak. Yet characters such as Jack (Tom Cruise) and Beech (Morgan Freeman) tend to (at times) save the movie. Other than that, other characters suchIt's a strange movie with an unoriginal idea. Then again, there aren't that many original idea's anymore. But anyway, Oblivion has it's ups and downs. As far as visuals go, it's really marvelous. But as far as the storyline goes, it's pretty bleak. Yet characters such as Jack (Tom Cruise) and Beech (Morgan Freeman) tend to (at times) save the movie. Other than that, other characters such as Julia (Olga Kurylenko) don't really draw you into the story. I did like director Joseph Kosinski's TRON: Legacy, but after watching this, it almost felt like watching a bleak sci-fi version of TRON 3. Overall, it's a visually dull sci-fi movie. Expand
  29. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    The only positive side of this movie is visualization. Gorgeous post-apocalyptic America. The storyline pretends to be something big but it appears to be collected from parts of other sci-fi stories and if you've seen at least Moon 2112. Some of this one's storyline twists will be obvious to you. The (melo)dramatic moments do not seen natural to the other components.
    P.s. and I liked
    The only positive side of this movie is visualization. Gorgeous post-apocalyptic America. The storyline pretends to be something big but it appears to be collected from parts of other sci-fi stories and if you've seen at least Moon 2112. Some of this one's storyline twists will be obvious to you. The (melo)dramatic moments do not seen natural to the other components.
    P.s. and I liked Andrea Riseborough's role. She was great.
    Expand
  30. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    When you know what is coming next all the suspense disapates and the movie is just so-so. Unfortunately, despite loving science fiction this was a by the numbers of other scify movies of the past. Nothing new and kind of slow to get going. Okay for a rainy day.
  31. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    An inoffensive enough science fiction adventure, not terrible, but not without it's flaws. Oblivion is insubstantial, at its core, it wastes little to no time on the how, why or when and travels from point A to B in a relatively simple manner. Some nice cinematography, costumes and effects help what appears to be a predictable pastiche of every piece of pop sci fi. Worth a watch.
  32. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Generic Sci-Fi movie with predictable Sci-Fi stuff. I could take it or leave. Maybe watch it if you happen to catch it on TV/Netflix sometime and you don't have anything better in mind.
  33. Apr 21, 2013
    6
    Action, not horror-filled life and death choices that etch themselves into your brain (Prometheus). An enjoyable sci-fi movie with good visuals, good future technology, a very good plot (who's in conflict and what they're up to), and action. It's a good, satisfying meal.
  34. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    If you don't like a painfully simplistic and predictable plot and mediocre acting combined with generally good sound and visuals avoid unless you want a good laugh. I did laugh but that's not enough to compensate for the disappointment Oblivion is.
  35. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    A duração contribui para que o filme seja uma experiência chata, porém interessante, mesmo assim não deixa de um filme ruim porém bom. Bons efeitos, bons sons, bons efeitos mais mal construído.
  36. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Nice idea, boring execution. Effect were decent, but this movie feels more like a Tom Cruise showcase than an actual movie. There is potential here for there to be more, but the direction the production team took was just the wrong one. The twists, while clever, were also transparent and further added to the pointlessness of the movie. Adding more questions than answers, an obvious setupNice idea, boring execution. Effect were decent, but this movie feels more like a Tom Cruise showcase than an actual movie. There is potential here for there to be more, but the direction the production team took was just the wrong one. The twists, while clever, were also transparent and further added to the pointlessness of the movie. Adding more questions than answers, an obvious setup for a followup movie.

    Overall:
    The movie is OK, and perhaps worth a rental, but don't expect too much out of it. It tries to be more clever than it actually is and I found it mostly boring.
    Expand
  37. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    Oblivion stars Tom Crusie as Jack Harper a drone repair man working on a post apocalyptic earth after alien invasion. Things happen and Jack ends up at the centre of events. The action in this film is done well considering the age rating(12A) although it is possible to see where the violence was reduced. I felt the drones had quite a lot of character being faceless robots and all, howeverOblivion stars Tom Crusie as Jack Harper a drone repair man working on a post apocalyptic earth after alien invasion. Things happen and Jack ends up at the centre of events. The action in this film is done well considering the age rating(12A) although it is possible to see where the violence was reduced. I felt the drones had quite a lot of character being faceless robots and all, however the same can't be said of the majority of the supporting cast whom i had a hard time caring at all about losing tension in action sequences and stand off moments. The cinematography in this film at times is brilliant subtly hinting at characters feelings and stand points through the use of glass doors and colour pallets. The colour is also used well during the flashbacks initially being black and white and then in colour as Harper figures out the truth about them. The music in this film sounds great and certainly helps the film out aptly raising for action and quietly disappearing during moments where Harper is alone (after all there isn't any one else around). My biggest gripe with the film was the use of the monologue exposition at the start and end of the film which is pretty much in the trailer so I had heard it at least a dozen times before the film started and didn't help the film off to a good start, it probably could have just been dropped for a visual representation of events or left out entirely as the story is explained again latter on in the film. Rating 6 out of 10 A slightly better than average popcorn action film Expand
  38. Apr 21, 2013
    6
    This movie is mediocre at best, I was not expecting the next Avatar, but the actors lacked emotion, character and nothing really made me care for the actors. The movie was trying to be something its not, trying to portray a deep and moving plot when it was very poorly executed. When you see this movie expect to come out scratching your head and with more questions than answers. TheThis movie is mediocre at best, I was not expecting the next Avatar, but the actors lacked emotion, character and nothing really made me care for the actors. The movie was trying to be something its not, trying to portray a deep and moving plot when it was very poorly executed. When you see this movie expect to come out scratching your head and with more questions than answers. The characters were shallow, the acting was not sound, nothing about this movie was consistent. The movie does however have massive set pieces, but is lacking so much exposition you come in confused and walked out confused. It expects you to know what the hell is going on even though this is its first and last entry into it's "series". The only redeeming quality of this movie had to be the twists, how some may be predictable at times while others make your head spin. This movie lacked exposition, lacked character development, and expects too much from the audience, but does have great set pieces, great twists, and so much potential. A definite watch for Tom Cruise fans. This has been a fine review. Expand
  39. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A hotch-potch film delivering a hotch-potch of reactions. Fascinating, frustrating, laughable, thought-provoking. The cliches are cringe-worthy; heavy, meaningful, melodramatic pauses and looks make it hard to take it seriously. Many of the ideas have been explored elsewhere: Sam Rockwell in Duncan Jones' study of clones meeting in 'Moon' was more moving and insightful than the displays in Oblivion; Morgan Freeman's attempts at sounding deep and meaningful were difficult to take seriously. The action scenes were fairly entertaining at times but again, largely derivative: a spaceship chase through a narrow canyon: a last minute 90 degree flip through the narrow crevice to escape the chasing drones. However, there were sufficient narrative developments and sci-fi ideas to maintain viewer interest and there was plenty to discuss on the way home. I think the film would have benefitted from having a director other than the story's writer. While a lot of scenes worked well, there were some which should have been left on the cutting room floor and some which should never have been shot in the first place. There wasn't much the actors could do with some of the lines they had to deliver, I certainly couldn't have kept a straight face, but they all gave it a good shot. On the whole, worth the ride but frustrating as I sensed this could have been a classic in the hands of a more experienced director with a sharper screenplay. Expand
  40. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    This movie should have been titled "Oblivious" instead. Tom Cruise was Oblivious to the tings that was happening around him. The Director was trying to keep you Oblivious and surprise you at the end...Actually,you do end up Oblivious...As to why you SAT THROUGH THIS WHOLE MOVIE!

    Oblivion Review Cast and Crew Oblivion is directed by Joseph Kosinski the director of the legendary
    This movie should have been titled "Oblivious" instead. Tom Cruise was Oblivious to the tings that was happening around him. The Director was trying to keep you Oblivious and surprise you at the end...Actually,you do end up Oblivious...As to why you SAT THROUGH THIS WHOLE MOVIE!

    Oblivion Review

    Cast and Crew

    Oblivion is directed by Joseph Kosinski the director of the legendary "Tron Legacy"...that was sarcasm. I have to say this director has a thing for vast emptiness and dark colors. Kosinski must have a fascination with sci-fi and I have to say he has a knack somewhere in his style. Eventually he will get it down and put out a sci-fi classic but Oblivion is not his career-making Gem. Tom Cruise plays Jack, Engineer 52. He is basically the only cast member worthy of discussing because this whole movie was his show. That is actually a good thing. I feel if the movie actually just kept the stupporting cast out of the picture more this would have been a great film. BUUUT the supporting cast are there...Morgan Freeman is Beech, he did good. Other people play other parts and I cannot discuss them without spoiling so let us move on :).

    The Story
    Jack, Engineer 52, is part of the clean up crew in a post apocalyptic Earth. Humanity was invaded and won, through the use of nuclear arms. It would be up to Jack to repair drones and explore the wastelands in various vehicles.However, Jack is a bit more intrigued with the land and less intrigued with his mission and starts digging. That is all I can tell you about the story .

    The Presentation
    This movie is gorgeous. It looks like Jack is in a post apocalypse. One of the things that made me glad that I was watching this movie in the theaters was its stunning visuals. Tom Cruise is awesome in this movie. His act in Jack Reacher was commical to say the least but in this movie he put on his acting hat. So what is wrong with this movie that triggered my mean statement in my opening? The cast is great, the visuals are stunning, the story is actually very good, but Joseph Kosinski, your PRESENTATION sucks!!!

    Take that Kosinski!!!!

    Ok...had to let off some steam, let us move on shall we.I had the same issues with "Tron Legacy" this director took a cool ass premise like: (A teen gets sucked into one of the most addictive arcade games in history) and turned it into a bunch of wannabe "Matrix" Here he takes a really cool story that should have been an instant classic and turned it into Boring I had to censor myself because the use of the genre made its way into this movie to become an unnecessary plot point!!! I'm a fan of but that is out of the window in a world that is mostly Fallout 3 without the mutants. It was better when the was between Jack and the planet he didn't want to abandon.
    This movie takes a deep deep blow when it goes from actually intriguing to boring and the ending is a total cop out. Right after an ending that you accept to expect after coping with the bull**** the movie cops out and gives you a generic "Happily ever after" ending. I hate when a movie has everything going for it then a director tries to pull an M. Night Shammywammy on you Forecast...M. Night sucks! he is a terrible director! There is no need to try to keep an audience guessing when you have a story with such an obvious ending. It will only piss us off an hour and forty five minutes into the movie.

    Rating

    The story and the dedication my Tom Cruise and his supporting cast followed by these amazing visuals are proof that this movie deserves a better rating. I can actually see how some readers may get upset at my rating and argue that this movie was great. I have no problem with long movies but when a movie makes me think that I was watching it for three hours when in fact, I was watching it for two hours and five minutes then something is not right. When the action hit, it hit. When the drama weighs down, it was a little heavy. Yet, entertainment prevails and I was thoroughly bored during some of this film With some better editing this movie could easily be about 20 to 30 minutes shorter and be a ton more entertaining. So I have to say I had my fill well before the third act. Oblivious was as Fattening and Bland as a Gallon of mushy rice!

    Bland and Fattening
    (needs more seasoning and too Damn Much!!!)

    Quick Trivia
    For the readers who had a chance to sit through the movie. When I mentioned bull****, what was I talking about? What genre doesn't belong in this
    film? First guess gets an honorable mention in a post.
    Expand
  41. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    the special effects were good but it lacks depth in the story and the script is weak Tom cruises performance was good rather than that the movie is just a waste of time.
  42. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    Even though Oblivion isn't that bad -- with its beautiful cinematography and visually stunning images -- it just seems kind of mainstream.

    Story was decent enough I guess, but there were some flaws in it and logic had to be suspended. In fact, at some scenes, I thought I was sitting in Inception! So, some of the flaws include: Morgan Freeman's character. This is the first (and hopefully
    Even though Oblivion isn't that bad -- with its beautiful cinematography and visually stunning images -- it just seems kind of mainstream.

    Story was decent enough I guess, but there were some flaws in it and logic had to be suspended. In fact, at some scenes, I thought I was sitting in Inception! So, some of the flaws include: Morgan Freeman's character. This is the first (and hopefully last) time I will say this... Morgan Freeman was not right for this role, even though he did a good job.

    Plot holes.

    Too many silence scenes; no enough action scenes.

    and finally, illogical scenes and bad editing.

    Overall, this was a slightly too long movie that tried to be more than it was, with a mainstream story line, but very visually stunning cinematography.
    Expand
  43. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Oblivion" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Solid idea with decent enough execution. The concept at it's core is a good one and there are moments where I was genuinely entertained. While Cruise was merely adequate, Andrea Riseborough turns in a great performance. The Bad: Far too many scenes and ideas are direct rip offs of other films. Even during moments where the film
    "Oblivion" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Solid idea with decent enough execution. The concept at it's core is a good one and there are moments where I was genuinely entertained. While Cruise was merely adequate, Andrea Riseborough turns in a great performance.

    The Bad: Far too many scenes and ideas are direct rip offs of other films. Even during moments where the film starts to get good, the scenes are ultimately ruined by a lack of originality.
    Expand
  44. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    well its kind of hard to see movies with very few actors in them, this one had very few people. the story line was lacking i taught it was a waste of time.
  45. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    This film was flawed in a lot of ways. Lots of effects, lots of irrational premises, poor casting, dumb story not well-told. Since AMC doesn't refund money for poor film-making, I sat through it.
    I usually like Tom Cruise movies, but this was one where I actually hoped he'd kill himself.
  46. May 22, 2013
    5
    Great looking but disappointing. There are some great scenes, but the plot is very derivative. A shame cos they got everything else right. SF really needs to find some new tunes. Some clunky dialogue "F**k you Sally" ugh. That being said it's so well executed that it's still ok, preferably on the big screen.
  47. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    Great cinematography and special effects, but those things don't save movies from bad scripts and bobble-heads named Bob. Nor do they save them from bobble-heads named Cruise - Even if he does play a better future man, that he does a Hollywood actor. By the way, in my future, douches won't get to call themselves Cruise, or Edge, or Sting.
  48. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    "Oblivion is no question a visual marvel and features Tom Cruise at his best. But sadly that gets clouded by its overwhelming and confusing plot while all the same running too long and it fails to capture or retain your attention after about the hour mark." C
  49. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    This movie both pleased me and irked me. The story was generic, all though I do like this form of story. In fact I actually enjoyed the story. The plot is slowly and subtly leaked to the viewers over time. About 40 minutes away from the end the plot is fully realized. The movie is about two hours ten minutes long, what irks me about this time is that half the movie is pointless travelThis movie both pleased me and irked me. The story was generic, all though I do like this form of story. In fact I actually enjoyed the story. The plot is slowly and subtly leaked to the viewers over time. About 40 minutes away from the end the plot is fully realized. The movie is about two hours ten minutes long, what irks me about this time is that half the movie is pointless travel scenes. These scenes did not build the story nor did they really build suspense. Tons of plot twists, and you have to pay attention to really enjoy it. The movie is not really action oriented, only about 20 minutes are actually devoted to action, the rest is all story. I like these types of movies but in the end the pointless travel scenes really ruined it for me. 5 out of 10 for poor direction but decent story. Expand
  50. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise acting his typical type again. Which isn't bad. But it is getting old now.
    Morgan Freeman hardly has any minutes in the movie, so his name is only in there to attract more people to watch it.
    The story is pretty flimsy and quite predictable. A few moments that seemed to peek my interest story wise, otherwise it was pretty bland all over.
    Setting is alright, CGI nicely done.
  51. May 1, 2013
    6
    Oblivion was a waste of a good premise. The setting was very well done and the idea was interesting but too many cliched moments, an outright stupid villain, and an especially bad ending drag the whole movie down. I would recommend waiting until it's on Netflix or cable.
  52. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    The definition of "oblivion" is: "the state of being unaware or unconscious of what is happening". It's a blissful state in which the writers of Oblivion must have spent most of their time, and which explains the movie's plot holes, ridiculous dialogues, and badly told story. Only pro: Tom Cruise's flying vehicle sometimes moves beautifully, contrary to the director's camera work which isThe definition of "oblivion" is: "the state of being unaware or unconscious of what is happening". It's a blissful state in which the writers of Oblivion must have spent most of their time, and which explains the movie's plot holes, ridiculous dialogues, and badly told story. Only pro: Tom Cruise's flying vehicle sometimes moves beautifully, contrary to the director's camera work which is just banal, cold, and misses any opportunity he might've had to save such a bad script. Expand
  53. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Mediocre. Cliched. Forgettable. Tom Cruise movi- ah that explains.

    One of the most forgettable bland and altogether average films, that I have the displeasure of watching. Not only it is slow paced, confusing, characters are completely bland, it delivers nothing speculatar that hasn't been seen in other movies. Rent or purchase Independence Day, and save money from this mediocre film.
  54. Jan 14, 2014
    4
    With a slow plot loosely held together by lukewarm tension and mediocre acting, Oblivion is a very weak film. Tom Cruise reprises the role he has played for most of his career (that of the cardboard cut-out action hero), and struggles to command much presence as he drags the audience through a short series of plot twists that are either predictable or nonsensical.
    It scores points for its
    With a slow plot loosely held together by lukewarm tension and mediocre acting, Oblivion is a very weak film. Tom Cruise reprises the role he has played for most of his career (that of the cardboard cut-out action hero), and struggles to command much presence as he drags the audience through a short series of plot twists that are either predictable or nonsensical.
    It scores points for its undeniably impressive visuals and set pieces while Morgan Freeman adds some much needed charisma but sadly it isn't enough to make me call this film good. The whole thing is a very drawn out underwhelming experience.
    Expand
  55. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    Oblivion is all the things a $150 million movie starring Tom Cruise is nowadays: beautiful to look at, empty visual effects sequences, interspersed with just human emotion not to be totally artificial, all while having a recycled script from an interesting concept not fully developed. Director Joseph Kosinski is in need of making a low-budget passion project to prove his chops beforeOblivion is all the things a $150 million movie starring Tom Cruise is nowadays: beautiful to look at, empty visual effects sequences, interspersed with just human emotion not to be totally artificial, all while having a recycled script from an interesting concept not fully developed. Director Joseph Kosinski is in need of making a low-budget passion project to prove his chops before studios throw another $150 million his way again, as his films (also including Tron: Legacy) have the look and feel of a cologne commercial set in a futuristic video game world. His 2 films have no emotion, depth or artifice. Love the setting in Iceland and the music selection of M83, even using my favorite painting, Andrew Wyeth's "Christina's World", but these are devices that try and distract the viewer from the emotion that Cruise should be exhibiting at any point during the film. I understand it's a director's choice to have Cruise play a restrained, hollow character relearning the value of human emotion, but Cruise was upstaged by everyone he shared the screen with, even the drones. Expand
  56. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    Great setting, great World, great Visuals, great robotics, the first hour or so is quite good, but after the aliens true identity is revealed, Things start going from bad to worse. Not a very good ending. All in all a mediocre scifi Flick.
  57. Jan 26, 2015
    4
    The problem with this film is not that its cliché and combo of parts from other SF films, its in a way it sets up itself from the very beginning. In the very first 5 min. of the film you can guess all that is going to happen-the main story, the twists, everything. Narration is a cheap way of doing exposition and when there is so much of it, that shows how bad the script is-show me don'tThe problem with this film is not that its cliché and combo of parts from other SF films, its in a way it sets up itself from the very beginning. In the very first 5 min. of the film you can guess all that is going to happen-the main story, the twists, everything. Narration is a cheap way of doing exposition and when there is so much of it, that shows how bad the script is-show me don't tell me.
    Tom Cruise is ok, a little bit hamming it out but its not like he's acting even if great could save the film.
    Olga Kurylenko is an actress similar to younger Sophie Marceau- visually stunning and can have face full of emotions, acting through silence but her character is not convincing here- just a pretty face- did not buying for a second that she's who she claimed to be.
    Andrea Riseborough is a little bit better but even she flats out. Her character is the only one remotely interesting.
    In a triangle of these 3 people it could be an interesting drama even if SF part is bad. But it wants to be an action blockbuster first and there it fails miserably.
    At the end, I liked the art direction, the house, the machines, the visuals, Andreas dress.
    And the music had good cyberpunk/techno beat to it.
    Expand
  58. Aug 3, 2013
    4
    Another movie that starts off promising with its solid story and good visuals, but then crashes and burns. Not only is it difficult to follow, it is so uninteresting.
  59. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    "Oblivion" is a brilliant-looking movie. The visuals are stunning and the action is pretty well handled. The problem with it is the story. It's too dense and has uneven pacing.
  60. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Its was very forgettable indeed the plot became clear half way through the film. Overall it was very predictable and generic. The movie could have been executed better but the characters were just lacking at times. I wish I could give it a higher score but it is very mediocre when it comes to the plot.
  61. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    It gets better toward the end. The movie would be better without Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman. There are lots of your typical sci-fi plot twists in the movie but overall not bad for watching during the day by yourself. The plot twists rip off a lot of other movies but at the end of day it was decent scifi entertainment when I wanted some scifi. It could have been much worse.
  62. May 7, 2013
    5
    I'm glad they made a movie like this, I just wish they had hired better people to do it. There's always the potential for sci fi movies to shoot for artistic and fall squarely into autistic, and this is another one of those duds.. story doesn't hold up, visuals and plot are all stolen and a mixed bag, romance is rather week. The acting isn't as bad as you'd think, but they just don't haveI'm glad they made a movie like this, I just wish they had hired better people to do it. There's always the potential for sci fi movies to shoot for artistic and fall squarely into autistic, and this is another one of those duds.. story doesn't hold up, visuals and plot are all stolen and a mixed bag, romance is rather week. The acting isn't as bad as you'd think, but they just don't have much to go on. Pick a theme and run with it, dammit, don't try to cover all your bases so obsessively. Expand
  63. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    Featuring some really great visuals, a stylish soundtrack, and two really good lead performances from Tom Cruise and Andrea Riseborough, the first forty minutes were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, Oblivion includes a few too many predictable, unimportant, or borrowed plot twists that really made the film less satisfying than it could have been.
  64. May 19, 2013
    6
    It's like 2001: A Space Odyssey only not written well at all. However besides its confusing atmosphere, Tom Cruise, as usual, has a good performance to make for the plot, and the production and visual masterpiece is mind-blowing.
  65. Aug 31, 2014
    5
    "If we have souls, they are made of the love we share... undimmed by time and bound by death." - Jack Harper

    Seriously..i expect to be a great movie with these actors.Morgan Freeman, Tom Cruise..but no. Is another CGI movie with no sense.
  66. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    I mean what can I say not really the best syfi film but probably one of the most entertaining. Tom Cruise was eh...I only really like his Mission Impossible films but this was eh good 6. I mean I just dont have the words. All I can say is I expected more from seeing the trailer ever 3-4 commercial breaks on every channel I turn to. I just hope After Earth is better.
  67. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    The plot felt like chunks of Logans Run, The Island, Moon... the production values were great, the set design was sleek, the soundtrack by M83 reminded me in bits of Vangelis work from Blade Runner... Tom Cruise was being Tom Cruise, Morgan Freeman doing his wise old guy that knows whats really going on... the plot was pretty underwhelming, the acting was like an old director of mine usedThe plot felt like chunks of Logans Run, The Island, Moon... the production values were great, the set design was sleek, the soundtrack by M83 reminded me in bits of Vangelis work from Blade Runner... Tom Cruise was being Tom Cruise, Morgan Freeman doing his wise old guy that knows whats really going on... the plot was pretty underwhelming, the acting was like an old director of mine used to say "talking props"... the summer movie season is here... this film is for popcorn consumption and hot-sun avoidance purposes... and about 30 minutes too long (didn't need to go to cabin with Olga before final act) Expand
  68. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    has a lot of action but I found my self lost in the story because there is a lot of different plotting and copies of people This movie you guys can pass on it isn't that good
  69. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    I went to go see this with some friends not really expecting much and was not disappointed. The backgrounds and scenery of this movie were stunning to behold but it suffers the same way as Tron Legacy where it struggles to keep audience members drawn in and invested in the story/characters. It also has a very Looooonnggg and boring start and I could also see what movies it obviously drewI went to go see this with some friends not really expecting much and was not disappointed. The backgrounds and scenery of this movie were stunning to behold but it suffers the same way as Tron Legacy where it struggles to keep audience members drawn in and invested in the story/characters. It also has a very Looooonnggg and boring start and I could also see what movies it obviously drew from. Tom Cruise's acting was decent but I found his voice overs very hammy and drawing away from the dead seriousness of the movie and left me begging for Morgan Freeman to take over the narrations. And like I said before this movie takes itself dead serious too much in my opinion with nay a joke or humor in sight. so for a final verdict I find this movie okay but I just don't see any reason to watch it again and I will probably skip by it when it ends up being played on FX some day.

    P.S this is my first review on this site.
    Expand
  70. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Loved the movie to a point.

    The point where so many questions went unanswered, Yet I thought they would tie in with the end (Had to watch the movie twice just to make sure) and No.

    And the one thing that bugged the crap out of me, your telling me this girl is fine with being in love with multiple men? She knows its not really him, But she tells him "Its the memories that make you." SO I guess that means shes just gonna love the memorys out of the man? lol. come on.
    Expand
  71. May 24, 2013
    4
    I hate Tom Cruise, I really do. He is one of the worst actors ever and is annoyingly pretentious. His acting is drier than a rattlesnake's vagina and can not emote worth a in mind I gave Oblivion a shot and like Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion it was a huge waste of time. Where do I start? The story tries to be inventive, but just ends up being predictable. There are two main "plot twist" inI hate Tom Cruise, I really do. He is one of the worst actors ever and is annoyingly pretentious. His acting is drier than a rattlesnake's vagina and can not emote worth a in mind I gave Oblivion a shot and like Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion it was a huge waste of time. Where do I start? The story tries to be inventive, but just ends up being predictable. There are two main "plot twist" in the movie that is so obvious I guessed they would happen a 10 mins. You know what I hate? Blatant exposition which this movie has a of. Oh! And that ending, is You know how a good movie would wrap all loose ends or hell if they are just being money grubbing whores sequel-bait? This movie instead end the movie with lazy exposition. Let's not forget this movie is filled with plot-holes and I mean FILLED!!! My friends who dragged me to this said it was a There is a difference between a movie that causes you to really think and a movie that lazily throws away plot-lines; this being the latter. Btw there were a lot of things that happened for no reason other than the plot said so(I said bull**** so many times). What about the actors? As much as I want to solely blame Cruise, I can't, because they are all terrible! Even(sniff) even Morgan Freeman. I can't find one actor who did a good job. They really made the experience worse. If one of them died I couldn't be bothered to care cause they didn't get me emotionally invested. "Oh, what's-her-face died?" Boo freaking Hoo. The effects? Hit or miss. While the buildings; vehicles and those awesome guns were top-notch, the droids looked like the personality spheres from Portal and the green screen effect was among the worst I've seen in recent memory. The action was pretty good too I must admit, but then we're again back to those bull**** moments. If there is anything I can give homage to is the musical score which is done by French electronic/shoegaze band M83. This was definitely done with care as every note mixes with the moment bringing emotion that unfortunately the actors can't bring their selves. With that said the final score for me is a 4/10. Have you ever went into an area for two hours and after your stay there was over you left wondering what you did for two hours? Well that is this movie in a nutshell and why does my wallet feel lighter? Expand
  72. May 6, 2013
    5
    Oblivion had a very strong intro up until the body arch of the movie it gives so much thrill and sends so much questions to the audience but then when all is about to explode into 7 colors, right before the hill of the climax, the movie turned down everyone and gave us an awful disappointment still it is a very interesting movie overall the acting was fine and the storyline was quiteOblivion had a very strong intro up until the body arch of the movie it gives so much thrill and sends so much questions to the audience but then when all is about to explode into 7 colors, right before the hill of the climax, the movie turned down everyone and gave us an awful disappointment still it is a very interesting movie overall the acting was fine and the storyline was quite interesting up to almost the end where the solution the answers were not up to the point Expand
  73. May 29, 2013
    5
    Iam really able to ignore the real-life of Tom Cruise.So I can normally just focus on the movies.
    The film has very good graphics.But to be honest its one of the only good things that the movie has.The plot is average and and the twist is not the best.There some logical mistakes that do not take the quality down but also not lift it.
    ´Finally you can watch it and you will be not annoyed
    Iam really able to ignore the real-life of Tom Cruise.So I can normally just focus on the movies.
    The film has very good graphics.But to be honest its one of the only good things that the movie has.The plot is average and and the twist is not the best.There some logical mistakes that do not take the quality down but also not lift it.
    ´Finally you can watch it and you will be not annoyed by it.But that is not a real compliment to a film i think.
    Expand
  74. May 12, 2013
    6
    It is visually incredible and the finale is very unexpected and tom cruise is incredible but in some parts is slow. Is a movie for be see in the cinema
  75. May 19, 2013
    6
    The bad Tom Cruise acting got annoying at points but had a mostly enjoyable plot but I find some of it to be too romantic. The actual action scenes are well done, bit I would of liked to see more Morgan Freeman. I fell like it's more of a women sci-fi because of the over-done "Tom Cruise Feel".
  76. Feb 23, 2015
    5
    An uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case, even multiple hero), a guy named Jack who is watching over planet earth after an alien invasion destroyed the moon.

    He lives in a wonderful, futuristic villa with a beautiful, stylish, well-dressed woman and commutes by helicopter around the planet
    An uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case, even multiple hero), a guy named Jack who is watching over planet earth after an alien invasion destroyed the moon.

    He lives in a wonderful, futuristic villa with a beautiful, stylish, well-dressed woman and commutes by helicopter around the planet to fix broken weapons. Not a bad job or accommodation, if you ask me.
    Desolate earth looks quite peaceful and not having traffic jams of annoying neighbors looks great. Unfortunately for Jack, dark secrets are lurking around. Jack discovers that things are not quite as he thinks and that perhaps it would have been better if they were.

    The discovery involves the crash of an "old" spacecraft containing mysterious Julia, who is in mysterious ways related with Jack. After the crash the movie lose steam and it turns into a boring ride involving too many video-game style fights.

    The end is quite a let-down. Throughout the movie, which is a good 20 minutes too long, I just kept wondering what Jack and co. were eating, since there was no visible sign of agriculture, fishing or any other activity that provided food. And also, where there those stylish clothes coming from…
    Expand
  77. Dec 13, 2014
    6
    Oblivion captures the imagination well. The story is up to scratch as are the incredible visuals and the appropriately selected music. Tom Cruise puts in a strong performance in a role a bit different to that we are used to seeing him in. It has the ability to swiftly change in it's approach to the viewer. This delivers a sense of mystery to the story's outcome and furthers our intrigue.Oblivion captures the imagination well. The story is up to scratch as are the incredible visuals and the appropriately selected music. Tom Cruise puts in a strong performance in a role a bit different to that we are used to seeing him in. It has the ability to swiftly change in it's approach to the viewer. This delivers a sense of mystery to the story's outcome and furthers our intrigue. It's flaws are obvious though. The story contains very few characters and can feel quite empty at times as a result. The ending is unsatisfying in comparison to the rest of the story which makes us feel slightly foolish for allowing our intrigue to get ahead of itself. Nevertheless, it is a satisfying sci-fi flick that delivers an experience that cannot be found elsewhere. Expand
  78. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Could've used more back-story, but all in all, I was entertained and it held my attention. Cruise played himself, as he usually does no matter what the role, but he fits well in this film. The story is not the most original, but feels more original than most sci-fi/action flicks these days. Gorgeous CGI. Not a movie I'd buy, but I don't regret seeing it either.
  79. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    It's a very mediocre movie. The very last pictures of Tom Cruise are not good. He has grown up a bit and my opinion is that he has to stop acting now!!!!
  80. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    Watchable? Definitely. Enjoyable? Sure. Applaudable? Hardly. Tom Cruise delivers, as does Morgan Freeman, and the story is solid. The cinematography is great, even if the world is bland. But while the film succeeds in some respects, in most, it just leaves you with great longing for the sic-fi films of old, that grow more flawless through the years (alien, the matrix, district 9).
  81. May 25, 2014
    6
    A surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan of Tom Cruise the only movies of his that iv'e actually watched and liked in the past 10 years was Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol. Well he barely in Tropic Thunder though when he was he was super funny so it was cool to see him in another decent filmA surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan of Tom Cruise the only movies of his that iv'e actually watched and liked in the past 10 years was Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol. Well he barely in Tropic Thunder though when he was he was super funny so it was cool to see him in another decent film that i liked. Some fantastic use of CGI everything was top notch and didn't look overly fake.

    Story wasn't really that great and it seemed like half way through the movie they decided to throw in multiple sci-fi movie cliches and it just didn't all come together right. Morgan Freeman was barley in this and when he was it still wasn't anything special sure there at the end he has some great scenes but it just wasn't enough.

    Overall i give a 6.5 definitely thought this could have been better but for a Tom Cruise movie it really wasn't that bad and worth a watch if you like sci-fi.
    Expand
  82. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    I'm not saying it's horrible, I'm not saying that is bad, because of the beautiful scenery, the fantastic soundtrack, but it lacked the "plus" that makes you say that yes ...
    Nevertheless, I do not want anyone to talk about it.
    Everyone look and decide for yourself!
  83. Sep 21, 2013
    6
    If I could I would give this movie 5 & 1/2 stars, but Metacritic doesn't allow you to do that. I felt that this movie was pretty solidly average, maybe a slight bit above.
    Oblivion is set 60 years after the Earth's destruction in 2017. The story is that these aliens called "Scavs" invaded the Earth and humanity's only choice was to nuke itself. The remaining survivors are living in a
    If I could I would give this movie 5 & 1/2 stars, but Metacritic doesn't allow you to do that. I felt that this movie was pretty solidly average, maybe a slight bit above.
    Oblivion is set 60 years after the Earth's destruction in 2017. The story is that these aliens called "Scavs" invaded the Earth and humanity's only choice was to nuke itself. The remaining survivors are living in a space station hovering above the Earth called the "Tet". Jack Harper and his partner Victoria are basically maintenance workers who are remaining on Earth to maintain drones that protect big "oil rig" type of machinery, which are sucking up the Earth's water to convert in to fuel for the humans, supposedly. They have two weeks left before they can join the rest of the human survivors and head to start a new colony on one of Jupiter's moons. Repetitious, mysterious dreams that Jack has, as well as several unexpected discoveries reveal to him that not everything is as it seems. Disaster ensues!
    Oblivion's plot promises a lot of excitement, which is why I ended up watching it. Personally, I found it to be somewhat, well, not "slow" exactly, but a bit dull. Maybe I just don't find Tom Cruise to be a very exciting actor. He's very good at being gruff and monotone. Additionally, at a certain point, the outcome of the story becomes way too predictable, which was why although the plot was something that could have been very original, in the end you kind of feel like you're watching a 2001: A Space Odyssey wannabe. But, I do give the movie credit for visual-awesomeness. The designs of the ships, drones, space station, etc., are all very visually-pleasing. Moreover, I thought it was very cool how they gave hints of the "old Earth" in the landscape that you could catch while watching and realize what it was. (For example, the top of the Empire State Building, the flame from the Statue of Liberty's torch, etc.) Sadly, I think this is a problem with most films coming out these days: no problem with eye candy, but lacking in plot.
    Expand
  84. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    Oblivion's script is written badly, spoiling its plot and confusing audiences. However, it is rescued by its Tom Cruise's strong acting and its dazzling visuals.
  85. Dec 19, 2013
    6
    For a big budget Hollywood sci-fi film, Oblivion is a respectable, entertaining crossover of the 'alien invasion' and 'post-apocalyptic' genres. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role, although his performances rarely vary from role to role. Speaking of playing the same role, Morgan Freeman is a great actor, but I honestly get tired of seeing him in pretty much every other film playingFor a big budget Hollywood sci-fi film, Oblivion is a respectable, entertaining crossover of the 'alien invasion' and 'post-apocalyptic' genres. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role, although his performances rarely vary from role to role. Speaking of playing the same role, Morgan Freeman is a great actor, but I honestly get tired of seeing him in pretty much every other film playing almost the same type of character. There had to be someone less cliche and more suited for this role than him. Expand
  86. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    I spent about half of Oblivion thinking about all the superior sci-fi that this movie borrows story elements from, and the other half just downright confused.
  87. Jun 11, 2014
    5
    What saves "Oblivion" from being a complete disaster is the stunning visual scenarios and once again, a good performance from Tom Cruise. But, not of that points can compensate the boring story and confusing narrative.
  88. Nov 8, 2014
    6
    Oblivion works as a technical frontier and benefits from a fine performance from Tom Cruise but on a narrative scale, falls flat from a script that confuses instead of resolving logic gaps.
  89. Oct 12, 2014
    5
    Despite having outstanding visuals and a fantastic soundtrack and even some pretty good performances,the inconsistency of the plot and nonexistent coherency makes this movie nothing more than a popcorn flick.
  90. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    It might not be the best science fiction movie 2013, but this movie gives a good adventure and a few unexpected twists with some good visual effects. (68 - 100)
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 11, 2013
    50
    Oblivion is a special effects extravaganza with a lot of blatant symbolism and very little meaning. It starts slow, turns dull and then becomes tedious — which makes it a marginal improvement over the earlier film. It features shiny surfaces, clicky machinery and no recognizable human behavior. It's equally ambitious and gormless.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Yet Oblivion is worth the trip. There are two reasons for this. The first is the cinematography of Claudio Miranda.