Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 19, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1035 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
695
Mixed:
256
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
zachpenningtonApr 23, 2013
Krasinski's involvement gave me trepidations because of the miasma that was Tron: Legacy's plot. This outing proves he can do more than just visuals. Excellent performances all around and a great third act. This one has some depth. GreatKrasinski's involvement gave me trepidations because of the miasma that was Tron: Legacy's plot. This outing proves he can do more than just visuals. Excellent performances all around and a great third act. This one has some depth. Great soundtrack from M83 as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shwanziApr 23, 2013
You can read my review of the Tom Cruise science fiction action thriller "Oblivion" here http://geektasticfilmreviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/oblivion.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScorpionApr 23, 2013
And confusing at first, but if one becomes unfold esperiencia rewarding packs for one of the most beautiful visuals I've ever seen, and this makes up the scenes of action generic and emotionless unalterable in the final evaluation
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
captscurvyApr 26, 2013
Oblivion is beautiful simulacrum! It is well acted and the dialog is sparse but proficient, its love story well rendered. Oblivion is also an auteurist work with deeper theoretical underpinnings. There is a very deliberate reason why it willOblivion is beautiful simulacrum! It is well acted and the dialog is sparse but proficient, its love story well rendered. Oblivion is also an auteurist work with deeper theoretical underpinnings. There is a very deliberate reason why it will remind you of other sci-fi films. not perfect but fascinating Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jonathan117Apr 24, 2013
I don't understand how everyone hates this movie. I found it to be really enjoyable and exciting to watch, this might not be for the all out action movie fans, they can go watch mission impossible or something, but for everybody else II don't understand how everyone hates this movie. I found it to be really enjoyable and exciting to watch, this might not be for the all out action movie fans, they can go watch mission impossible or something, but for everybody else I strongly recommend this movie, it's romantic, it's dramatic, there is quite alot of action, there are great characters and there is a nice backstory to everything. I just would've liked seeing more of what happened pre invasion and where this enemy came from. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SmoothrunnerNov 21, 2015
Visually stunning film - widescale, aesthetic, unhurried and slightly aloof, by it's style bringing reminiscences of "Lawrence of Arabia" and "2001: A Space Odyssey". Perhaps the visual part, the "atmosphere", obscures the story andVisually stunning film - widescale, aesthetic, unhurried and slightly aloof, by it's style bringing reminiscences of "Lawrence of Arabia" and "2001: A Space Odyssey". Perhaps the visual part, the "atmosphere", obscures the story and characters, however the story itself is pretty intriguing, and the characters are interesting. Avoidance of the excessive dynamics is an advantage - this is what clearly distinguishes "Oblivion" among the modern sci-fi genre, separating the thoughtful viewer from an emotions consumer, and giving to the first one time to reflect, and to the second one time to get bored and disappointed. That, in general, is well. Any true art must be creative expression and have its audience, rather than try to please everyone by sacrificing sincerity and quality. 8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RIKI_JApr 25, 2013
A perfectly functional Sci-Fi movie with great CG and an interesting premise. Although I think various plot developments that were given away in the trailer ultimately reduced their impact in the film, it was still a solid, enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FelixGuzman117Apr 28, 2013
has a lot of action but I found my self lost in the story because there is a lot of different plotting and copies of people This movie you guys can pass on it isn't that good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GreyMatter603Apr 25, 2013
I went to go see this with some friends not really expecting much and was not disappointed. The backgrounds and scenery of this movie were stunning to behold but it suffers the same way as Tron Legacy where it struggles to keep audienceI went to go see this with some friends not really expecting much and was not disappointed. The backgrounds and scenery of this movie were stunning to behold but it suffers the same way as Tron Legacy where it struggles to keep audience members drawn in and invested in the story/characters. It also has a very Looooonnggg and boring start and I could also see what movies it obviously drew from. Tom Cruise's acting was decent but I found his voice overs very hammy and drawing away from the dead seriousness of the movie and left me begging for Morgan Freeman to take over the narrations. And like I said before this movie takes itself dead serious too much in my opinion with nay a joke or humor in sight. so for a final verdict I find this movie okay but I just don't see any reason to watch it again and I will probably skip by it when it ends up being played on FX some day.

P.S this is my first review on this site.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GavniApr 25, 2013
Oblivion past my expectations, though they were not high to begin with. I suspected that the plot and the oncoming twist would be overly simple and most likely given away in the trailers, but I was surprised. The setting and atmosphereOblivion past my expectations, though they were not high to begin with. I suspected that the plot and the oncoming twist would be overly simple and most likely given away in the trailers, but I was surprised. The setting and atmosphere though somewhat generic to a post-apocalyptic flick, was quite a beauty to look at and the music perfectly added to the setting. Characters are a little flat and the opening 30 minutes follow a predictable format, its the last hour of the film that provide it its praise. You keep waiting for the inevitable twist and when it hits is obvious, but what the twist is isn't. MetaCritic provides a low score for such a pretty and engaging flick. Oblivion doesn't scream of new ideas and heartbreaking moments but what it does provide is exhilarating and interesting from beginning and definitely in the end. I have been waiting for some good films to come out this year, looks like Oblivion is a sign for the better. There is a reason the User Score is much higher than the Critic Score, its good to see a decent movie this year finally come out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfMonsterzApr 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Loved the movie to a point.

The point where so many questions went unanswered, Yet I thought they would tie in with the end (Had to watch the movie twice just to make sure) and No.

And the one thing that bugged the crap out of me, your telling me this girl is fine with being in love with multiple men? She knows its not really him, But she tells him "Its the memories that make you." SO I guess that means shes just gonna love the memorys out of the man? lol. come on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JmsbppSep 27, 2013
Oblivion es un desastre que quiere expresar buenas cosas al final despues de un espantoso comienzo sin embargo el remedio no fue suficiente para la muerte en su totalidad de la pelicula es muy aburrida con cosas que caen muy bajo en grandesOblivion es un desastre que quiere expresar buenas cosas al final despues de un espantoso comienzo sin embargo el remedio no fue suficiente para la muerte en su totalidad de la pelicula es muy aburrida con cosas que caen muy bajo en grandes actuaciones como la de Tom Cruise Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EvilNinjaDaveApr 27, 2013
The soundtrack is amazing. Also, the design of the technology (bubble ship, drones, ocean processor machines) really makes me think back to being a kid and looking at drawings/paintings of what people thought the future would look like, andThe soundtrack is amazing. Also, the design of the technology (bubble ship, drones, ocean processor machines) really makes me think back to being a kid and looking at drawings/paintings of what people thought the future would look like, and these would fit right in. I was quite happy with what I saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CravurokApr 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. La segunda película Joseph Kosinski es un confortable producto que genera bastante entretenimiento y así, hace que sus ciento veintiséis minutos de duración se pasen rápido y con buen sabor.

Jack Harper es uno de los humanos sobrevivientes a un conflicto con unos alienígenas llamados los carroñeros, quienes destruyeron la luna sesenta años atrás y obligaron a que la humanidad se marchara de la Tierra y en el proceso tuviera además, que secar los mares.
Harper trabaja en una de las succionadoras, reparando droides de combate y demás maquinaria de la casa; sin embargo su rutinaria vida cambia cuando accidentalmente se topa con una astronauta sobreviviente al ya mencionado conflicto. Ella ha estado en suspensión criogénica durante la última década y tiene una misteriosa relación con Jack.

Al igual que con su ópera prima, Kosinski ofrece una joya audiovisual que presenta una fotografía espectacular, una producción de sonido maravillosa y un entretenidísimo Ost. No obstante como sigue y, al parecer, seguirá pasando en la industria del cine, guion y actuaciones son el punto débil de este viaje fantástico.

Los efectos especiales de Oblivion marcan un precedente este año (2013) y es por ello que las secuencias de acción son emocionantes y hasta cierto punto épicas. Los apartados de la película en donde el Ost se combina con los elementos visuales se sienten alucinantes y por momentos, rayan en lo increíble.
Definitivamente los sonidos electrónicos aportan mucho a las composiciones musicales de las producciones sci-fi.

Uno de los mejores aspectos de la película es la producción de sonido, que crea rugidos, runrunes, silbidos y soniquetes tan únicos y especiales como para dar la importancia necesaria a droides de batalla no antropomorfos.
Todos los sonidos en la película son tan buenos y creíbles que podrían compararse a los de Star Wars o a los de Disctric 9 en sus respectivas épocas.

Para hablar del guion es necesario empezar por las buenas intenciones, las cuales son: una gran matización en cuanto a temáticas del mundo de la ciencia ficción y tratar de tener datos ocultos; pero luego las intenciones se quedan cortas cuando los diálogos aparecen y dejan esa sensación de... así no funciona el habla. En fin, diálogos malos y una historia predecible que bajan el resultado final de un producto que pudo ser impresionante.

Luego de hablar de lo peor, el texto, puedo pasar a lo mejor: la fotografía de Claudio Miranda que tiene una iluminación perfecta y permite al director manejar la profundidad de campo a cabalidad. Además, cada paisaje es tan hermoso y vívido como en las ilustraciones originales de Kosinski.
Una vez más el chileno, reciente ganador del Óscar, muestra su genial capacidad de concebir el mundo en imágenes y reproducirlas a favor del séptimo arte.

De las actuaciones no hay quejas, pero tampoco hay felicitaciones; no obstante hay que hacer mención especial a Olga “dos gestos” Kurylenko, quien con su mala actuación baja considerablemente la evaluación del elenco y resta ritmo a la fluidez con la que se desenvuelve la película en cada una de sus apariciones (por fortuna no tantas). Por tanto la ucraniana es la culpable del bajonazo en el nivel histriónico del film.

Bueno, la pregunta final es: ¿cubre el precio de la boleta Oblivion? Sí, vale la pena verla en teatros, al fin de cuentas es entretenida y es la mejor experiencia audiovisual no textual en lo que va del año. Como dije antes, por parajes se acerca a lo épico.

http://ociobycravurok.blogspot.com/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LogicBombMay 24, 2013
I hate Tom Cruise, I really do. He is one of the worst actors ever and is annoyingly pretentious. His acting is drier than a rattlesnake's vagina and can not emote worth a in mind I gave Oblivion a shot and like Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion itI hate Tom Cruise, I really do. He is one of the worst actors ever and is annoyingly pretentious. His acting is drier than a rattlesnake's vagina and can not emote worth a in mind I gave Oblivion a shot and like Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion it was a huge waste of time. Where do I start? The story tries to be inventive, but just ends up being predictable. There are two main "plot twist" in the movie that is so obvious I guessed they would happen a 10 mins. You know what I hate? Blatant exposition which this movie has a of. Oh! And that ending, is You know how a good movie would wrap all loose ends or hell if they are just being money grubbing whores sequel-bait? This movie instead end the movie with lazy exposition. Let's not forget this movie is filled with plot-holes and I mean FILLED!!! My friends who dragged me to this said it was a There is a difference between a movie that causes you to really think and a movie that lazily throws away plot-lines; this being the latter. Btw there were a lot of things that happened for no reason other than the plot said so(I said bull**** so many times). What about the actors? As much as I want to solely blame Cruise, I can't, because they are all terrible! Even(sniff) even Morgan Freeman. I can't find one actor who did a good job. They really made the experience worse. If one of them died I couldn't be bothered to care cause they didn't get me emotionally invested. "Oh, what's-her-face died?" Boo freaking Hoo. The effects? Hit or miss. While the buildings; vehicles and those awesome guns were top-notch, the droids looked like the personality spheres from Portal and the green screen effect was among the worst I've seen in recent memory. The action was pretty good too I must admit, but then we're again back to those bull**** moments. If there is anything I can give homage to is the musical score which is done by French electronic/shoegaze band M83. This was definitely done with care as every note mixes with the moment bringing emotion that unfortunately the actors can't bring their selves. With that said the final score for me is a 4/10. Have you ever went into an area for two hours and after your stay there was over you left wondering what you did for two hours? Well that is this movie in a nutshell and why does my wallet feel lighter? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
general_tsoMay 5, 2013
Great story though untypical, which I think is very welcome. Like one you might have read in the old Heavy Metal magazine. Really impressive sound work in this movie. My only negative criticism is that Oblivion might be about 20 mins. too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
uckuckuckMay 6, 2013
Oblivion had a very strong intro up until the body arch of the movie it gives so much thrill and sends so much questions to the audience but then when all is about to explode into 7 colors, right before the hill of the climax, the movieOblivion had a very strong intro up until the body arch of the movie it gives so much thrill and sends so much questions to the audience but then when all is about to explode into 7 colors, right before the hill of the climax, the movie turned down everyone and gave us an awful disappointment still it is a very interesting movie overall the acting was fine and the storyline was quite interesting up to almost the end where the solution the answers were not up to the point Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
abraxesMay 15, 2013
See this movie; in parts it is convoluted and the end is somewhat trite but overall it is one of the better, more imaginative sci fi outings of recent years. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JonLabudakisMay 29, 2013
Iam really able to ignore the real-life of Tom Cruise.So I can normally just focus on the movies.
The film has very good graphics.But to be honest its one of the only good things that the movie has.The plot is average and and the twist is
Iam really able to ignore the real-life of Tom Cruise.So I can normally just focus on the movies.
The film has very good graphics.But to be honest its one of the only good things that the movie has.The plot is average and and the twist is not the best.There some logical mistakes that do not take the quality down but also not lift it.
´Finally you can watch it and you will be not annoyed by it.But that is not a real compliment to a film i think.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MvskiMay 8, 2013
I joined metacritic just so I could write this review. This was possibly the one of the worst movies I have ever seen--boring, disjointed. Technologically, it was good, but the movie and the plot were bad, bad, bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SRJ9098May 12, 2013
When people write a review for the movie and give it a zero, you must ask yourself what is the motive? To be realistic very few movies deserve this rating, especially a movie with Tom Cruise & Morgan Freeman I think this was a very goodWhen people write a review for the movie and give it a zero, you must ask yourself what is the motive? To be realistic very few movies deserve this rating, especially a movie with Tom Cruise & Morgan Freeman I think this was a very good science fiction movie, so many people can not be wrong... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
guillepcosioMay 12, 2013
It is visually incredible and the finale is very unexpected and tom cruise is incredible but in some parts is slow. Is a movie for be see in the cinema
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
fc2013May 12, 2013
I am thinking that film critic underrated the sci-fi film "Oblivion" and over time the film will be credited with being a classic in the sci-fi genre by film critics. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and think it is one of the best films thisI am thinking that film critic underrated the sci-fi film "Oblivion" and over time the film will be credited with being a classic in the sci-fi genre by film critics. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and think it is one of the best films this year. It is a visual feast with outstanding production values in all aspects of film making and hope that more people will get out to see it before it is buried by lesser efforts. Put aside your dislike of Tom Cruise and get out to see the film. I understand that if their is to be a sequel it all depends on its Box Office success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Freemann098May 19, 2013
The bad Tom Cruise acting got annoying at points but had a mostly enjoyable plot but I find some of it to be too romantic. The actual action scenes are well done, bit I would of liked to see more Morgan Freeman. I fell like it's more of aThe bad Tom Cruise acting got annoying at points but had a mostly enjoyable plot but I find some of it to be too romantic. The actual action scenes are well done, bit I would of liked to see more Morgan Freeman. I fell like it's more of a women sci-fi because of the over-done "Tom Cruise Feel". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dierregiFeb 23, 2015
An uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case, even multiple hero), a guy named Jack who is watching over planet earth after an alien invasionAn uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case, even multiple hero), a guy named Jack who is watching over planet earth after an alien invasion destroyed the moon.

He lives in a wonderful, futuristic villa with a beautiful, stylish, well-dressed woman and commutes by helicopter around the planet to fix broken weapons. Not a bad job or accommodation, if you ask me.
Desolate earth looks quite peaceful and not having traffic jams of annoying neighbors looks great. Unfortunately for Jack, dark secrets are lurking around. Jack discovers that things are not quite as he thinks and that perhaps it would have been better if they were.

The discovery involves the crash of an "old" spacecraft containing mysterious Julia, who is in mysterious ways related with Jack. After the crash the movie lose steam and it turns into a boring ride involving too many video-game style fights.

The end is quite a let-down. Throughout the movie, which is a good 20 minutes too long, I just kept wondering what Jack and co. were eating, since there was no visible sign of agriculture, fishing or any other activity that provided food. And also, where there those stylish clothes coming from…
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CriticWesMay 25, 2013
OBLIVION

Oblivion takes place in the year 2077. Earth has all but been destroyed by a major war between mankind and alien invaders. Jack Harper (Tom Cruise), a drone repairman, must question everything he knows upon the events that take
OBLIVION

Oblivion takes place in the year 2077. Earth has all but been destroyed by a major war between mankind and alien invaders. Jack Harper (Tom Cruise), a drone repairman, must question everything he knows upon the events that take place two weeks prior to his assignment coming to an end.

The film starts out a little slow, but builds with suspense as it goes. It drags a little here and almost seemed like it was 3 hours long even though the run time is listed at 126 minutes.

The acting was okay, given the subpar dialogue and cheesy moments. Tom Cruise was his usual self and Morgan Freeman added a nice, but small touch. I didn't really have my expectations too high going into this movie and that set me up for a pleasant surprise. I found the story to be compelling and although not the most unpredictable or original, I couldn't help but to sit back and enjoy the ride.

The best thing about this movie were the special effects and sound editing. I must say they were fantastic throughout the entire film and made the film worthwhile. This is a fun movie and I believe most audiences will find themselves enjoying it for the most part.

If you liked iRobot, Moon, or Promethius, give this movie a try.

My Grade for this film: B

To view my grading scale, go to: facebook.com/CriticWes
To view my movie blog, go to: http://www.mix93.com/pages/16393587.php?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dementeAug 19, 2013
ITALIANO

Semplicemente fantastico, uno dei film sci-fi più belli degli ultimi tempi secondo me. Geniale la trama, ottimi effetti speciali e gran finalone con tanto di spiegazione di tutte le domande che ci si pone durante la visione.
ITALIANO

Semplicemente fantastico, uno dei film sci-fi più belli degli ultimi tempi secondo me.
Geniale la trama, ottimi effetti speciali e gran finalone con tanto di spiegazione di tutte le domande che ci si pone durante la visione.
Finalmente un gran bel film, dopo la guerra dei mondi (sempre con Tom Cruise) un altro grandissimo dvd da aggiungere alla collezione.
Cruise anche in questo film si dimostra a parere personale uno dei più bravi attori di sempre, caratterizzando ed inpersonando un personaggio che davvero in pochi avrebbero potuto far rendere come lui. FILM STUPENDO!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
Oblivion captures the imagination well. The story is up to scratch as are the incredible visuals and the appropriately selected music. Tom Cruise puts in a strong performance in a role a bit different to that we are used to seeing him in. ItOblivion captures the imagination well. The story is up to scratch as are the incredible visuals and the appropriately selected music. Tom Cruise puts in a strong performance in a role a bit different to that we are used to seeing him in. It has the ability to swiftly change in it's approach to the viewer. This delivers a sense of mystery to the story's outcome and furthers our intrigue. It's flaws are obvious though. The story contains very few characters and can feel quite empty at times as a result. The ending is unsatisfying in comparison to the rest of the story which makes us feel slightly foolish for allowing our intrigue to get ahead of itself. Nevertheless, it is a satisfying sci-fi flick that delivers an experience that cannot be found elsewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gojira63Aug 8, 2013
picked up the latest Science-Fiction epic Oblivion. Sometimes I get a little worried buying a movie sight unseen but this time it certainly did not disappoint! The movie stars Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman and was directed by Joseph Kosinskipicked up the latest Science-Fiction epic Oblivion. Sometimes I get a little worried buying a movie sight unseen but this time it certainly did not disappoint! The movie stars Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman and was directed by Joseph Kosinski and based on his graphic novel of the same name. The movie is one of the apocalyptic films which displays the planet earth after it has been destroyed by aliens.

I have decided this will be a spoiler free review because I think this is a movie you really need to see for yourself and to see it unfold before you. I will give a basic synopsis of the plot. It is the year 2077, 60 years after earth was invaded by aliens. Jack Harper (Tom Cruise) and his partner Victoria "Vika" Owen, played by the beautiful Andrea Riseborough, are the only ones on after the invasion and they are there to repair drones that are fighting off the residual alien resistance. The surviving inhabitants of earth are living on Titan one of the moons of Saturn. Harper meets up with Malcolm Beech a resistance fighter played by the legendary Morgan Freeman (one of my very favorite actors) and he also begins to have flash backs to a time he was with a woman on the Empire State Building prior to the alien invasion. Things begin to unravel and we begin to see that appearances can be deceptive.

Pros: The cinematography and special effects are stellar. This movie is great eye candy but you do not get an overdose of it. The acting is great and two of my favorites, Cruise and Freeman, are in this film and do a fine job. This is my first time seeing Andrea Riseborough and I enjoyed her performance. She portrays a sense of vulnerability while also wanting to stay in denial concerning the things Jack is discovering. I do like the story. Some of the criticisms I have read that there are plot elements that we have seen in other movies. While I can agree with that assessment, I can also see that this is common in Hollywood movies. I am fine with movies that may have similar plot elements to other movies as long as it is executed well and that is the case with this movie. I also enjoy the story. The movie mixes romance, mystery and action adventure into a tale that will keep the viewer engaged and caring about all the characters throughout. Despite great special effects this is a very character driven movie.

Cons: I really have only one minor complaint. Director Kosinski wanted this movie to be an homage to the science fiction films of the 70s and in many way he succeeds in that endeavor. The movie is paced more like a film from the 70s and it is slower than the more kinetic pacing we modern viewers and grown accustomed to. Is that a fault of the directors or is it a fault of the viewer? I will place blame on myself. We live in a fast paced mircowave society that wants instant gratification. So it was hard to slow down and get absorbed into the story. I just wasn't used to it. So really this is not a con, it is just something that the viewer needs to be aware of when going in to the movie. It is an old-fashioned movie and as I think more on the pacing, it really does work even though some viewers might not be used to it.

This movie does have some good re watch capabilities for me. As a mystery there are clues throughout the movie and on more than one viewing you can pick up on these clues. In an era where science fiction films are heavy with CGI and are like cotton candy for the mind, this one is not. It will make you think and keep you on your toes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jdadams01Jun 14, 2013
Could've used more back-story, but all in all, I was entertained and it held my attention. Cruise played himself, as he usually does no matter what the role, but he fits well in this film. The story is not the most original, but feels moreCould've used more back-story, but all in all, I was entertained and it held my attention. Cruise played himself, as he usually does no matter what the role, but he fits well in this film. The story is not the most original, but feels more original than most sci-fi/action flicks these days. Gorgeous CGI. Not a movie I'd buy, but I don't regret seeing it either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jckandersenJun 2, 2014
A movie, so subtle and yet so powerful! That alone, is an achievement. It's visually extremely impressive.. The imagery here is the storyteller, not the dialogue. The story is by far not original - but it serves us some good surprises. It'sA movie, so subtle and yet so powerful! That alone, is an achievement. It's visually extremely impressive.. The imagery here is the storyteller, not the dialogue. The story is by far not original - but it serves us some good surprises. It's perhaps more an art film and that is excellent! The soundtrack is quite simply one of the best I've heard in a long time. This movie continues what Moon and Prometheus started with.. The return of real science-fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MercentJun 11, 2014
The cinematography...wow. The first time you watch, it felt inadequate as the plot is somewhat prosaic. If you watch it the second time and pay attention to the details rather than the general picture, there is much breathtaking artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JEPJFJun 18, 2013
This is an excellent movie in the sci fi genre. The plot is interesting and intriguing, the sets and costumes are great, the photography and action are very good, and the music is fine. This film would have received a much better rating fromThis is an excellent movie in the sci fi genre. The plot is interesting and intriguing, the sets and costumes are great, the photography and action are very good, and the music is fine. This film would have received a much better rating from the critics if Tom Cruise was not in it. They hate him so much that it affects their judgement, and they do not even hide it. I'm not a supporter of scientology and I admit that Tom Cruise is not the greatest actor. However, he is good enough for those movies. I thik that we must separate the persons from the films. If we gave low ratings to films based on stupid things that actors, directors, or writers had said or done, we would trash a lot of movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
culinarymasterJun 18, 2013
I give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good. Acting, not bad. Delivery? Meh, could have done much better. Spent too much time explaining the settingI give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good. Acting, not bad. Delivery? Meh, could have done much better. Spent too much time explaining the setting than actually telling the story. By that I mean the first 2/3 of the movie is used to set up the last 1/3. Best part of this movie is the end. you Sally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gokartmozart491Sep 14, 2013
There is nothing new under the sun, or so said Abraham. Movie fans had better get used to it. While there are a lot of familiar themes in Oblivion, they are all blended together in such a way to still surprise and audience. I found myselfThere is nothing new under the sun, or so said Abraham. Movie fans had better get used to it. While there are a lot of familiar themes in Oblivion, they are all blended together in such a way to still surprise and audience. I found myself connecting with the main characters, even with little time or depth of dialogue to do so and was touched by the relationships and situations they found themselves in. There are many surprises to be had, much dramatic tension and some exciting action sequences. I'm putting this movie on my Buy list and I don't do that with many. Oh and yes there are underlying philosophical discussions in this film. It's a theme that was found in great works such as Blade Runner, you just have to be able to recognize it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
It's a very mediocre movie. The very last pictures of Tom Cruise are not good. He has grown up a bit and my opinion is that he has to stop acting now!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
manofthemoonJan 13, 2015
Not perfect, not always original, but still hugely enjoyable, well-played and beautiful shot; "Oblivion" may not have the full package of "Edge of Tomorrow", but it's still another example of how well Cruise does Sci-Fi ("Minority Report",Not perfect, not always original, but still hugely enjoyable, well-played and beautiful shot; "Oblivion" may not have the full package of "Edge of Tomorrow", but it's still another example of how well Cruise does Sci-Fi ("Minority Report", "War of the Worlds"). Underrated and worth a watch. Also looks great on Blu-ray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ChedJul 26, 2013
I expected more and I was disappointed. The story and visuals are ok but it can't compensate for the bad acting. Tom Cruise can't even manage the right facial expression for "No!" and "What?!". Watch this late at night and it will improveI expected more and I was disappointed. The story and visuals are ok but it can't compensate for the bad acting. Tom Cruise can't even manage the right facial expression for "No!" and "What?!". Watch this late at night and it will improve your chances of falling asleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RevRonAug 15, 2013
I went into this one with no real expectations but I ended up enjoying it more than I thought I would. The film stars and ends great (but the middle drags slightly) and the story is pretty awesome. Tom Cruise is fantastic in his role andI went into this one with no real expectations but I ended up enjoying it more than I thought I would. The film stars and ends great (but the middle drags slightly) and the story is pretty awesome. Tom Cruise is fantastic in his role and the special effects and sound are second to none! Very entertaining! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
genkisanJul 29, 2013
I absolutely loved this movie. I came to it with high expectations which normally kills a movie dead for me, but this didn't disappoint. 10 minutes in I was already riding the wave of beautiful visuals, stunning conceived technology and moreI absolutely loved this movie. I came to it with high expectations which normally kills a movie dead for me, but this didn't disappoint. 10 minutes in I was already riding the wave of beautiful visuals, stunning conceived technology and more than capable acting. I really enjoyed the story line path as it opened questions, invited possible answers and really left a good feeling at the end. On a slight critical note the story did also create and leave a number of open ends that could cause the story problems which I wont mention here as may spoil the story if you haven't seen it. But this is all forgiven... I look forward to watching this again..... and again....and again.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
branthewinNov 4, 2013
Watchable? Definitely. Enjoyable? Sure. Applaudable? Hardly. Tom Cruise delivers, as does Morgan Freeman, and the story is solid. The cinematography is great, even if the world is bland. But while the film succeeds in some respects, in most,Watchable? Definitely. Enjoyable? Sure. Applaudable? Hardly. Tom Cruise delivers, as does Morgan Freeman, and the story is solid. The cinematography is great, even if the world is bland. But while the film succeeds in some respects, in most, it just leaves you with great longing for the sic-fi films of old, that grow more flawless through the years (alien, the matrix, district 9). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
kix2mix2Aug 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So what mainly happens in this movie is a robot alien that looks like a triangle kidnaps 2 astronauts and multiplies them thousands of times erases their memory and makes them believe they fight to save humanity... one of the clones meets his wife and he remembers... obviously he than sacrifices himself and saves the world... but don't worry the poor lady has 1000 other clones to be with so it's not really a loss...

I give it 3 points for the super awesome landscapes there... it's really nice and cool the portrayal of the post apocalyptic world...still... the movie it overrated...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
annpeace1234Aug 6, 2013
I was board throw the hole movie! You are waiting more than half of the movie for something to happen. And bad pilot too. The movies used to be good but now every one tries to spice up movies and they suck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
A surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan of Tom Cruise the only movies of his that iv'e actually watched and liked in the past 10 years wasA surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan of Tom Cruise the only movies of his that iv'e actually watched and liked in the past 10 years was Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol. Well he barely in Tropic Thunder though when he was he was super funny so it was cool to see him in another decent film that i liked. Some fantastic use of CGI everything was top notch and didn't look overly fake.

Story wasn't really that great and it seemed like half way through the movie they decided to throw in multiple sci-fi movie cliches and it just didn't all come together right. Morgan Freeman was barley in this and when he was it still wasn't anything special sure there at the end he has some great scenes but it just wasn't enough.

Overall i give a 6.5 definitely thought this could have been better but for a Tom Cruise movie it really wasn't that bad and worth a watch if you like sci-fi.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
atrichornisAug 12, 2013
I think the critics have been too hard on this one. Stunning cinematography, soundtrack, Olga Kurylenko, and a plot that isn't completely predictable. Getting Tom Cruise involved may have been a mistake (he's something of a ridiculous personI think the critics have been too hard on this one. Stunning cinematography, soundtrack, Olga Kurylenko, and a plot that isn't completely predictable. Getting Tom Cruise involved may have been a mistake (he's something of a ridiculous person these days), but if you like dystopian sci-fi, you'll like Oblivion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
film_bugAug 18, 2013
Deja-vu much? This sci-fi failed to excite me. I loved the idea of Tom Cruise, but I had a hard time enjoying this one. The plotline was cliche, oh so cliche. Throughout the movie, I sat there thinking... I've seen this movie before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MichiganGamerAug 22, 2013
This movie...just was not good. Sure, the special effects were great, but that doesn't hold the movie up. The plot, the acting and the actors hold the movie up. Tom Cruise's acting was just bad. Morgan Freeman should not have been in thisThis movie...just was not good. Sure, the special effects were great, but that doesn't hold the movie up. The plot, the acting and the actors hold the movie up. Tom Cruise's acting was just bad. Morgan Freeman should not have been in this movie. The plot's full of holes, it takes twists that don't make sense or don't help with the plot in any way. This was disappointing, purely and simply. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MBMBaMAug 22, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Movie was awesome. Graphics were nice and acting good. Almost shed a tear. Better than twilight. Don't let computers get too powerful is the moral of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Film13Sep 20, 2013
I just enjoyed it. I was not looking for perfection, nor did I expect it. The movie does not present anything really new or ordinary which is fine. It is visually stunning. The world that they present (the house, the gadgets, the earth) isI just enjoyed it. I was not looking for perfection, nor did I expect it. The movie does not present anything really new or ordinary which is fine. It is visually stunning. The world that they present (the house, the gadgets, the earth) is cool. The acting is acceptable. The story also kept me interested an entertaining movie. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FirebalaSep 1, 2013
I'm not saying it's horrible, I'm not saying that is bad, because of the beautiful scenery, the fantastic soundtrack, but it lacked the "plus" that makes you say that yes ...
Nevertheless, I do not want anyone to talk about it.
Everyone
I'm not saying it's horrible, I'm not saying that is bad, because of the beautiful scenery, the fantastic soundtrack, but it lacked the "plus" that makes you say that yes ...
Nevertheless, I do not want anyone to talk about it.
Everyone look and decide for yourself!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EliteFeb 12, 2014
Oblivion: One of the most boring films of 2013. The best thing about the film were its visuals, the movie actually looks very pretty in terms of visual effects even though most of the movie is set in a wasteland earth. Everything else thoughOblivion: One of the most boring films of 2013. The best thing about the film were its visuals, the movie actually looks very pretty in terms of visual effects even though most of the movie is set in a wasteland earth. Everything else though is absolute garbage, the story is so crap that a 6th grader could have written it and none of the characters were likeable at all. Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman do what they can with the roles they have been given, but they end up being ok amongst all the other stiff characters. To put it nicely, Oblivion is a boring, pretty and awful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrewgarcia732Sep 5, 2013
While it may not be the most original movie out there, maybe cliched, and a mixture of other sci-fi films, Oblivion is still a great film with some of the most beautiful CGI/special effects out there. I actually liked the plot, even though itWhile it may not be the most original movie out there, maybe cliched, and a mixture of other sci-fi films, Oblivion is still a great film with some of the most beautiful CGI/special effects out there. I actually liked the plot, even though it was slightly confusing and left some questions unanswered. For those who criticize it for being to similar to other films, Oblivion "pays homage to science fiction films.", according to the director, Joseph Kosinski. Personally, I feel it was one of the best films I had ever seen. An interesting, engaging story. I loved Tom Cruise as Jack Harper! I think they should make a prequel, to address certain plot holes that weren't answered and to build on the story. Worth your money, at least.

If you liked this review, read my other work and mark this as helpful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DesertLunaSep 2, 2013
Picked this movie up at Hastings. I was on the lookout for a good movie and I found one. The movie is a tad slow and I wish they wouldn't mumble so much as I felt I missed key clues but at the same time its gripping. Its a puzzle box thatPicked this movie up at Hastings. I was on the lookout for a good movie and I found one. The movie is a tad slow and I wish they wouldn't mumble so much as I felt I missed key clues but at the same time its gripping. Its a puzzle box that hooks you and compels you to open it and find out its secrets. The only way to do this is to continue watching the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
is_isSep 8, 2013
A beautiful and fascinating film full of mystery and action. This movie creates a unique and very believable future for planet earth. Right off the bat, you get the sense that every detail has been carefully thought through. With everyA beautiful and fascinating film full of mystery and action. This movie creates a unique and very believable future for planet earth. Right off the bat, you get the sense that every detail has been carefully thought through. With every intriguing element of this dystopian future you feel yourself get drawn in more.

You do get a sense that this movie is trying to leave a big impression that it only just falls short of, but the story is strong, the surprises are interesting, and you genuinely care about the characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
redconnorSep 14, 2013
I felt motivated to give this movie a review because of how critics were downgrading it,sure it was confusing in the details,and maybe it copied a lot from other movies,mabye tom cruise showed lack of emotion,but who really cares,it was greatI felt motivated to give this movie a review because of how critics were downgrading it,sure it was confusing in the details,and maybe it copied a lot from other movies,mabye tom cruise showed lack of emotion,but who really cares,it was great movie,great story,a movie I watched twice Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gusto43Feb 18, 2014
I can't think of a movie I've seen recently which has been more unfairly reviewed. Oblivion has been called dull, overlong and the performances lacking in humanity. When you follow the plot of the movie through to the end, you will realiseI can't think of a movie I've seen recently which has been more unfairly reviewed. Oblivion has been called dull, overlong and the performances lacking in humanity. When you follow the plot of the movie through to the end, you will realise how ludicrous the last charge is. This film is a stunning homage to 70s sci-fi - but pre-Star Wars 70s sci-fi. So if you're looking for trash compactors, and trash-talking space princesses look elsewhere. Oblivion paints an epic landscape of barren post-apocalyptic wastelands, the sleekest technology populated only by an odd Adam-and-Eve pairing - sensual but alienated. All becomes clear in the fullness of time, and the mystery unfolds, deliciously, I think. There are themes here, the most obvious being ecological, but also in relationship to the role of memory in identity. For some there may be too many long shots and musings between the set-pieces, but these too are beautifully shot and nicely set up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
yerawizardSep 21, 2013
If I could I would give this movie 5 & 1/2 stars, but Metacritic doesn't allow you to do that. I felt that this movie was pretty solidly average, maybe a slight bit above.
Oblivion is set 60 years after the Earth's destruction in 2017. The
If I could I would give this movie 5 & 1/2 stars, but Metacritic doesn't allow you to do that. I felt that this movie was pretty solidly average, maybe a slight bit above.
Oblivion is set 60 years after the Earth's destruction in 2017. The story is that these aliens called "Scavs" invaded the Earth and humanity's only choice was to nuke itself. The remaining survivors are living in a space station hovering above the Earth called the "Tet". Jack Harper and his partner Victoria are basically maintenance workers who are remaining on Earth to maintain drones that protect big "oil rig" type of machinery, which are sucking up the Earth's water to convert in to fuel for the humans, supposedly. They have two weeks left before they can join the rest of the human survivors and head to start a new colony on one of Jupiter's moons. Repetitious, mysterious dreams that Jack has, as well as several unexpected discoveries reveal to him that not everything is as it seems. Disaster ensues!
Oblivion's plot promises a lot of excitement, which is why I ended up watching it. Personally, I found it to be somewhat, well, not "slow" exactly, but a bit dull. Maybe I just don't find Tom Cruise to be a very exciting actor. He's very good at being gruff and monotone. Additionally, at a certain point, the outcome of the story becomes way too predictable, which was why although the plot was something that could have been very original, in the end you kind of feel like you're watching a 2001: A Space Odyssey wannabe. But, I do give the movie credit for visual-awesomeness. The designs of the ships, drones, space station, etc., are all very visually-pleasing. Moreover, I thought it was very cool how they gave hints of the "old Earth" in the landscape that you could catch while watching and realize what it was. (For example, the top of the Empire State Building, the flame from the Statue of Liberty's torch, etc.) Sadly, I think this is a problem with most films coming out these days: no problem with eye candy, but lacking in plot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Thebestof_ritaOct 19, 2013
When I first saw the trailer I thought it was going to be another tom cruise movie. But this one was different. All the strangeness between the two members of the effective team, his dreams about an unknown woman... I found myself struglingWhen I first saw the trailer I thought it was going to be another tom cruise movie. But this one was different. All the strangeness between the two members of the effective team, his dreams about an unknown woman... I found myself strugling to find out the truth. I loved the twists and the image quality, as well as the characters acting. I only feel that some of the secondary characters development is missing. A good film, in my opinion Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VOP2288Mar 23, 2014
Oblivion is what a good science fiction film should look like - sleek, stunning, and incredibly beautiful. The effects are just the right amount of set/props and CGI, the camera work is excellent and captures both the most intimate and epicOblivion is what a good science fiction film should look like - sleek, stunning, and incredibly beautiful. The effects are just the right amount of set/props and CGI, the camera work is excellent and captures both the most intimate and epic moments, and just in general there are plenty of landscapes and shots in the film that make you say "Wow".

Where the film falters a bit though is in its story.

While the cast is small and talented (this is Tom Cruise's best most recent work) and the script focused the movie suffers from numerous pacing issues, avenues left unexplained or unexplored, a few predictable twists, and some questionable "stereotypical" sci-fi tropes.

However I think what really undermined the film was that the trailer gave away a "twist" that takes up nearly half the movie - thus making it impossible to feel the mystery and thrill that it clearly wants you to.

Either way Oblivion is a solid contemporary science fiction film that offers something unique and sorely missed in today's tired guns-blazing space epics.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingNov 28, 2013
Oblivion's script is written badly, spoiling its plot and confusing audiences. However, it is rescued by its Tom Cruise's strong acting and its dazzling visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AGarcia732Jun 26, 2014
While it may not be the most original movie out there, maybe cliched, and a mixture of other sci-fi films, Oblivion is still a great film with some of the most beautiful CGI/special effects out there. I actually liked the plot, even though itWhile it may not be the most original movie out there, maybe cliched, and a mixture of other sci-fi films, Oblivion is still a great film with some of the most beautiful CGI/special effects out there. I actually liked the plot, even though it was slightly confusing and left some questions unanswered. For those who criticize it for being to similar to other films, Oblivion "pays homage to science fiction films.", according to the director, Joseph Kosinski. For those who are sci-fi addicts this may be bland and forgetable, but those somewhat new to movies will enjoy it. Personally, I really just enjoyed this a lot. I'm sure if i go back and watch it again, it'll have more plot holes and errors than I remember. But I'd rather just remember being entertained for two hours, and leave that memory in the sweet land of nostalgia. An interesting, engaging story. I loved Tom Cruise as Jack Harper! I think they should make a prequel, to address certain plot holes that weren't answered and to build on the story. Worth your money, at least.

If you liked this review, read my other work and mark this as helpful.

(Now I'm expecting Edge of Tomorrow to be even better than this because it was similar in format, a blend of sci-fi, and managed to pull it off even better.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
richleveringDec 13, 2013
actually had to sign up for metacritic so I could post this. for all the hatters out there, critics (to our left) who are as optimistic as a South Philadelphian sports fan, or people who just can root for Tom Cruise anymore... this was anactually had to sign up for metacritic so I could post this. for all the hatters out there, critics (to our left) who are as optimistic as a South Philadelphian sports fan, or people who just can root for Tom Cruise anymore... this was an amazing movie but just not just visually, storytelling as well. One of those movies where you can't wait to find out whats around the corner while mentally crossing your fingers while you hope the story doesn't end. its got a little bit of everything, and it a hero story, the best kind. I know the real "critics" have to work from pessimism up (like dissing your government while you sit around and do nothing) but they're should be this type of reviewing section where some of us who aren't that jaded and numb to something original (and yes I do see similarities from other movies...we all live on this planet together) love to root for the hero, even if he once slide across a floor in his boxers... so for real, for once...stop hating.
go into a movie with no expectations,little to/no previews (yes that is possible), and one day you might enjoy a movie again... almost like it was the first one you remember. BOOM 10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
himeegDec 19, 2013
For a big budget Hollywood sci-fi film, Oblivion is a respectable, entertaining crossover of the 'alien invasion' and 'post-apocalyptic' genres. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role, although his performances rarely vary from role to role.For a big budget Hollywood sci-fi film, Oblivion is a respectable, entertaining crossover of the 'alien invasion' and 'post-apocalyptic' genres. Tom Cruise does a good job in his role, although his performances rarely vary from role to role. Speaking of playing the same role, Morgan Freeman is a great actor, but I honestly get tired of seeing him in pretty much every other film playing almost the same type of character. There had to be someone less cliche and more suited for this role than him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ambenderDec 28, 2013
I spent about half of Oblivion thinking about all the superior sci-fi that this movie borrows story elements from, and the other half just downright confused.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GrabacrJan 7, 2014
I think this is a seriously underrated movie. Sure it didn't have the best script, but it wasn't THAT bad. And sure it borrowed from other movies a fair amount, but it did so effectively, rather than just seeming like it was blatantlyI think this is a seriously underrated movie. Sure it didn't have the best script, but it wasn't THAT bad. And sure it borrowed from other movies a fair amount, but it did so effectively, rather than just seeming like it was blatantly stealing. Besides, most of the storyline was fairly original. The best part of the movie are the stunning visual effects, especially shots of the Tet and the shattered moon in orbit, and the drastically altered landscape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alpoJan 23, 2014
An enjoyable enough film for sci-fi fans. The setup is interesting, but the plot gets a little hackneyed as the movie goes on. The cast is solid and Tom Cruise does his best Tom Cruise impression. Some of the visuals are quite striking, theAn enjoyable enough film for sci-fi fans. The setup is interesting, but the plot gets a little hackneyed as the movie goes on. The cast is solid and Tom Cruise does his best Tom Cruise impression. Some of the visuals are quite striking, the action scenes are good, and the soundtrack is always epic (sometimes too much so). A fun movie to watch if you like sci-fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
levishandJan 16, 2014
I opened a metacritic account just to come here and vent a little about this movie, which I just finished watching. To put it subtly, "Oblivion" was a steaming pile of horse manure, not unlike that which was dumped today in front of theI opened a metacritic account just to come here and vent a little about this movie, which I just finished watching. To put it subtly, "Oblivion" was a steaming pile of horse manure, not unlike that which was dumped today in front of the French parliament building. These Scientologist creeps need to quit making post-apocalyptic heaps of dung like "Oblivion" and "After Earth", which I didn't even see and won't now that I've lost two hours of my life to the husk of an actor that was Tom Cruise and his pair of helpless, flat leading ladies. Good thing men are always around to save the useless women in this movie! Women do NOTHING but sit by helplessly until at one point one of them picks up a gun and in spite of being a military-trained flight officer, fumbles with it and finally requires a penis to come save her. I guess by saying the premise of this movie is STUPID I'm also saying that Scientology is stupid, so there: go ahead and watch "Oblivion" if you think you're going to live forever and have the hours to spare, because you'll NEVER get that time back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesJun 11, 2014
What saves "Oblivion" from being a complete disaster is the stunning visual scenarios and once again, a good performance from Tom Cruise. But, not of that points can compensate the boring story and confusing narrative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
battyspidermanJun 13, 2014
Tom Cruise is fantastic in this movie but moreover the director and writer does an amazing job. It was gripping and will keep you guessing until the end. One of the best films of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheCalrogJun 14, 2014
Okay film but Tom cruise got in the way of the more interesting characters played by Morgan Freeman and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. The story is okay and the CGI is very good however the movie was a Tom Cruise cash-in with little weight. It playsOkay film but Tom cruise got in the way of the more interesting characters played by Morgan Freeman and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. The story is okay and the CGI is very good however the movie was a Tom Cruise cash-in with little weight. It plays the audience for a fool with twists that anyone who see's the trailer will be able to spot miles away.

The ludicrous ending really sums up the stupidity of it all however, it IS worth your time if you can't get enough sic-fi but I wouldn't bother unless you're scraping the bottom of the barrel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xxenoSep 27, 2014
This is the one of the best soundtracks i've ever heard and one of the best sci-fi movies i've ever seen. I can watch it over and over.
Both have a magical atmosphere. I wish more movies like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DiskJul 14, 2014
Many people have addressed that the film seems almost, “routine" in a sense, because many of the themes portrayed in the film are reminiscent to those from other films before it. However, these criticisms go very far and completely state thatMany people have addressed that the film seems almost, “routine" in a sense, because many of the themes portrayed in the film are reminiscent to those from other films before it. However, these criticisms go very far and completely state that “there is nothing special about this film, it’s a blatant rip off of hundreds of sci-fi films before it." I have to disagree.

There is much to love about oblivion, in fact, it’s first half has possibly some of the most creative aspects of a story and setting I've seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThomasSmithsonJul 24, 2014
Okay so you've Morgan Freeman on board for your film project, AND HE'S BORING, OR HE'S BORED, PROBABLY BOTH!

Any questions? There's this thing called a script...okay..and what you do is MATURE AND CURE THE SCRIPT SO MORGAN F'N FREEMAN
Okay so you've Morgan Freeman on board for your film project, AND HE'S BORING, OR HE'S BORED, PROBABLY BOTH!

Any questions?

There's this thing called a script...okay..and what you do is MATURE AND CURE THE SCRIPT SO MORGAN F'N FREEMAN IS NOT BORING!!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 8, 2014
Oblivion works as a technical frontier and benefits from a fine performance from Tom Cruise but on a narrative scale, falls flat from a script that confuses instead of resolving logic gaps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DenisManuOct 12, 2014
Despite having outstanding visuals and a fantastic soundtrack and even some pretty good performances,the inconsistency of the plot and nonexistent coherency makes this movie nothing more than a popcorn flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
root_Dec 31, 2014
Only the intro was brilliant and some more 15 minutes then just some loose script.The concepts where great for a science-fiction film instead of sticking to the plot the film went for character elements.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rpastryDec 8, 2014
Engaging and beautiful. A well paced and thoughtful tale in this era of vacuous explosions. I'm not a fan of Tom Cruise but I have to admit he plays this role well, and is well supported, especially by Andrea Riseborough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mcfryOct 17, 2015
What a blatant insult to viewers' intelligence this film is! I'm very forgiving when it comes to post-apocalyptic and sci-fi themes, because I love these scenarios so much, but in this case ALL the main plot points make no sense! On severalWhat a blatant insult to viewers' intelligence this film is! I'm very forgiving when it comes to post-apocalyptic and sci-fi themes, because I love these scenarios so much, but in this case ALL the main plot points make no sense! On several occasions during watching, I had trouble to maintain a suspense of disbelieve, but towards the end, I could not invest into the story of Jack Harper anymore, who shouldn't even exist. There is only one believable plot moment (the mission flashback), everything else in this story is nonsense - what a very rare quality!
On the bright side, the landscape shots and concept art are both very well done. The action scenes are entertaining. Actors: Although all the characters in this plot suffer from dehydration of background, I like all of the female actors' performances in this movie. Somehow, they grow little bits of flesh over the non-functional skeletons of their characters. The male lead is ok in this environment.
So, it's all looks and action, and some acting. Well, one more benefit: The tech art is so well done, that it managed to inspire me to ponder (without intent, I suppose) at least one deeper thought from amidst the ruins that is the plot: If humanity were to progress artificial intelligence without simultaneously developing a human-like emotionality to restrict it, then there is a lot worry about - instead of where this movie makes us feel awe/, reality in the end could make us feel /ouch. Yes, it made me worry about man-hunting drones. That has to count for something. But no more than four.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CameraBounceGodFeb 22, 2015
Attractive people have to literally see an exact copy of themselves before realizing that ugly "spotted dick" Morgan freeman has know about the machine and the matrix this whole time.....just like most ugly people
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
darkbloodshed13May 19, 2015
Every few years I come across a movie that makes me want punch something because of it's stupidity, "Oblivion" is such movie. Oblivion is the type of movie that tries to capture you through it's visuals, but fails because the story idea isEvery few years I come across a movie that makes me want punch something because of it's stupidity, "Oblivion" is such movie. Oblivion is the type of movie that tries to capture you through it's visuals, but fails because the story idea is **** Plus it's a Sci-fi that fails to explain the science behind it. Meaning it fails to answer the question of how. Also the movie is 30 minutes to long. I mean by the time we get to the final seen I was bored out of my mind. In conclusion if your looking for good Sci-fi to pass the time then you should skip this pile of **** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Duke_NukemOct 14, 2015
This is a very entertaining sci-fi movie with beautiful, sterile visuals. The story starts out a bit confusing as to what is really happening.

It's about dreams, memories and love. I was surprised how this movie is both filled with action
This is a very entertaining sci-fi movie with beautiful, sterile visuals. The story starts out a bit confusing as to what is really happening.

It's about dreams, memories and love. I was surprised how this movie is both filled with action as well as emotions. This is certainly thanks to the lead actor Tom Cruise. Tom Cruise is becoming a real good actor by now and it shows in this movie. Olga Kurylenko is not the best actress but she's stunningly beautiful.

"Are you still an effective team?" "We are NOT an effective team..."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 5, 2016
A film whose beauty and emotional aspirations ultimately overpower the story problems it runs into along the way.

Watch this here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a17d1-Oblivion-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 23, 2016
Take the hunt... there's no possible way to give this a negative score. Want to know where's a better place to give a negative score to? My zeros! That's what!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147Jul 26, 2016
Though highly confusing upon initial viewing, Oblivion features a solid story-line, dazzling special effects, and a terrific performance from Tom Cruise that will drown out all of the cliches and plot holes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews