Oblivion

Oblivion Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1000 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft,Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft, he begins to question everything he knows. [Universal Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Oblivion is a technical triumph rather than a philosophical breakthrough, demonstrating how beautifully digital effects can be blended with real people and real sets, demonstrating that neither Tom Cruise nor the 1970s will ever die, and announcing the unexpected arrival of a major science-fiction director.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Franco
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    Oblivion is a terrific-looking movie, alternating spare, sterile environments with homey organic ones, and making both look tremendously pretty. Kosinski also handles his action well, with cut-and-dried clarity and edge-of-seat energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 10, 2013
    67
    It is overlong, and familiar, and never quite hits top gear -- it's never especially bad, but neither is it especially excellent, beyond the visual wow factor. But there's still a lot to admire in the film, not least that it's engaging from the first moment to the last.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    Kosinski has again built a fantasy world that feels real to its core, but once more put most effort into the scenery and too little into the people.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Oscar-winners Morgan Freeman and Melissa Leo turn up in cameo roles anyone could have played. Kosinski was smart to limit their screen time, because it’s awkward to have actors with weight and charisma hanging around those who lack both.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 18, 2013
    12
    Absent of any sense of self-awareness, Oblivion seems only self-serious, a ponderous mess both misguided and unaware.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 284
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of aWhile the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than itsThe emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than its getting credit for, and although some pieces seem familiar, they are grounded in plot and explanations that hardly make them derivative. This has underrated written all over it. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    It was kind of an old school sci-fi, a little slow, with the type of storytelling that creates a good atmosphere by showing how the “everydayIt was kind of an old school sci-fi, a little slow, with the type of storytelling that creates a good atmosphere by showing how the “everyday future life” is.
    The CGI is nice, believable, nothing fancy, just as it should be. Loved the sounds.
    Acting is OK (yet not specially good as the big names would indicate).
    The story is consistent, however, there are a few unnecessary scenes, and in some other parts it feels something is missing.
    Although there is nothing new in this movie and what we got isn’t perfect it was still enjoyable and worth to watch.
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good.I give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good. Acting, not bad. Delivery? Meh, could have done much better. Spent too much time explaining the setting than actually telling the story. By that I mean the first 2/3 of the movie is used to set up the last 1/3. Best part of this movie is the end. you Sally. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    An inoffensive enough science fiction adventure, not terrible, but not without it's flaws. Oblivion is insubstantial, at its core, it wastesAn inoffensive enough science fiction adventure, not terrible, but not without it's flaws. Oblivion is insubstantial, at its core, it wastes little to no time on the how, why or when and travels from point A to B in a relatively simple manner. Some nice cinematography, costumes and effects help what appears to be a predictable pastiche of every piece of pop sci fi. Worth a watch. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2014
    5
    "If we have souls, they are made of the love we share... undimmed by time and bound by death." - Jack Harper

    Seriously..i expect to be a
    "If we have souls, they are made of the love we share... undimmed by time and bound by death." - Jack Harper

    Seriously..i expect to be a great movie with these actors.Morgan Freeman, Tom Cruise..but no. Is another CGI movie with no sense.
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the worst movie I've ever seen. The only reason I saw this movie was because I saw that Morgan Freeman was in it and I was like "Hey Morgan Freeman's in it it couldn't possibly suck really bad" yet it definitely did. My main (emphasis on "main" meaning definitely not limited to) problem with this disgrace of-a-movie is that it makes no sense. I don't know if one can message me on Meta critic but if you can could someone please attempt to explain this movie to me. This is me at the movie:

    So there's a guy and he's like a clone i guess? Wait what? Who? How? When? Where? I went to the movie with my mom and it took our brainpower together about 2 days to sort of figure out what this movie was about.
    Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for April 15-21

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for April 15-21 Image
    Published: April 14, 2013
    Notable releases and premieres this week include the sci-fi film Oblivion, new albums from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Flaming Lips, a fighting game featuring DC Comics characters, a new Netflix horror series, and more.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 1, 2013
    Get a recap of this week's movie news, and watch all of this week's new trailers, including new looks at "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2," "Oblivion," "Kon-Tiki," "Simon Killer," and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: December 14, 2012
    In our final Film Friday column of 2012, watch new trailers for "Pacific Rim," "Man of Steel, "Oblivion," "After Earth," and more upcoming films, and get a quick recap of all the week's film news.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.