Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 847 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Joseph Kosinski
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Mystery, Thriller
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 124 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Oblivion is a technical triumph rather than a philosophical breakthrough, demonstrating how beautifully digital effects can be blended with real people and real sets, demonstrating that neither Tom Cruise nor the 1970s will ever die, and announcing the unexpected arrival of a major science-fiction director.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Franco
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    Oblivion is a terrific-looking movie, alternating spare, sterile environments with homey organic ones, and making both look tremendously pretty. Kosinski also handles his action well, with cut-and-dried clarity and edge-of-seat energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 10, 2013
    67
    It is overlong, and familiar, and never quite hits top gear -- it's never especially bad, but neither is it especially excellent, beyond the visual wow factor. But there's still a lot to admire in the film, not least that it's engaging from the first moment to the last.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    Kosinski has again built a fantasy world that feels real to its core, but once more put most effort into the scenery and too little into the people.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Oscar-winners Morgan Freeman and Melissa Leo turn up in cameo roles anyone could have played. Kosinski was smart to limit their screen time, because it’s awkward to have actors with weight and charisma hanging around those who lack both.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 18, 2013
    12
    Absent of any sense of self-awareness, Oblivion seems only self-serious, a ponderous mess both misguided and unaware.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 263
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than its getting credit for, and although some pieces seem familiar, they are grounded in plot and explanations that hardly make them derivative. This has underrated written all over it. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Its beautiful, its intense, its exciting, and its a bit confusing. But, all in all i really enjoyed this, even though the story was a bit confusing, espesially at the end. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    First hour is extremely boring and once you closed to last 15 minutes movie becomes so interesting and quite please to watch.This is a classic Sci Fi movie without adding any commercial elements to attract all kind of crowed.Writers and Actors justify what we payed for. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    Great setting, great World, great Visuals, great robotics, the first hour or so is quite good, but after the aliens true identity is revealed, Things start going from bad to worse. Not a very good ending. All in all a mediocre scifi Flick. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you can escape a couple of major plot holes, I found the film an entertaining escape. As opposed to some of the other reviewers, I found the plot easy to understand and interesting. However, the execution in the film left a bit to be desired: i.e. why didn't the humans inform Jack of his situation when they first met? why didn't jack's wife tell him who she was immediately? why did the humans hail the orbiting escape pod from earlier knowing all the people on board would be killed? how? why now 60 years later? The film is littered with these questions (very Prometheus-esque). So believing it all was a bit of an effort, unfortunately. ...could have been a much better film. ...shame. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the worst movie I've ever seen. The only reason I saw this movie was because I saw that Morgan Freeman was in it and I was like "Hey Morgan Freeman's in it it couldn't possibly suck really bad" yet it definitely did. My main (emphasis on "main" meaning definitely not limited to) problem with this disgrace of-a-movie is that it makes no sense. I don't know if one can message me on Meta critic but if you can could someone please attempt to explain this movie to me. This is me at the movie:

    So there's a guy and he's like a clone i guess? Wait what? Who? How? When? Where? I went to the movie with my mom and it took our brainpower together about 2 days to sort of figure out what this movie was about.
    Expand

See all 263 User Reviews

Trailers