Oblivion

Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 959 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft,Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft, he begins to question everything he knows. [Universal Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Oblivion is a technical triumph rather than a philosophical breakthrough, demonstrating how beautifully digital effects can be blended with real people and real sets, demonstrating that neither Tom Cruise nor the 1970s will ever die, and announcing the unexpected arrival of a major science-fiction director.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Franco
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    Oblivion is a terrific-looking movie, alternating spare, sterile environments with homey organic ones, and making both look tremendously pretty. Kosinski also handles his action well, with cut-and-dried clarity and edge-of-seat energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 10, 2013
    67
    It is overlong, and familiar, and never quite hits top gear -- it's never especially bad, but neither is it especially excellent, beyond the visual wow factor. But there's still a lot to admire in the film, not least that it's engaging from the first moment to the last.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    Kosinski has again built a fantasy world that feels real to its core, but once more put most effort into the scenery and too little into the people.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Oscar-winners Morgan Freeman and Melissa Leo turn up in cameo roles anyone could have played. Kosinski was smart to limit their screen time, because it’s awkward to have actors with weight and charisma hanging around those who lack both.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 18, 2013
    12
    Absent of any sense of self-awareness, Oblivion seems only self-serious, a ponderous mess both misguided and unaware.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 280
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of aWhile the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than itsThe emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than its getting credit for, and although some pieces seem familiar, they are grounded in plot and explanations that hardly make them derivative. This has underrated written all over it. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed Oblivion. At times I felt like the creators had spent some time watching Tron Legacy for inspiration and flashes ofI really enjoyed Oblivion. At times I felt like the creators had spent some time watching Tron Legacy for inspiration and flashes of futuristic art direction. I even felt that the movie represents a lot of what the upcoming game from Bungie (creators of the "Halo" franchise) have in store for "Destiny" (for you gamers out there, you'll know what I mean). The movie is straight-up cool. The music score was powerful. Tom Cruise doesn't get in the way. The final scenes of the movie may surprise many (it certainly caught me off guard). It's unfortunate that this movie isn't perfect, because what a monumental experience that would have been. It certainly would have made it harder for the upcoming Star Trek to standout. But the gist of it is: Oblivion is good. Some won't absolutely love it, but I believe most will enjoy it. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good.I give this movie a 7 for one reason, the visuals. The visuals in Oblivion were absolutely stunning, no doubt. Story line was pretty good. Acting, not bad. Delivery? Meh, could have done much better. Spent too much time explaining the setting than actually telling the story. By that I mean the first 2/3 of the movie is used to set up the last 1/3. Best part of this movie is the end. you Sally. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    An inoffensive enough science fiction adventure, not terrible, but not without it's flaws. Oblivion is insubstantial, at its core, it wastesAn inoffensive enough science fiction adventure, not terrible, but not without it's flaws. Oblivion is insubstantial, at its core, it wastes little to no time on the how, why or when and travels from point A to B in a relatively simple manner. Some nice cinematography, costumes and effects help what appears to be a predictable pastiche of every piece of pop sci fi. Worth a watch. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    5
    What saves "Oblivion" from being a complete disaster is the stunning visual scenarios and once again, a good performance from Tom Cruise. But,What saves "Oblivion" from being a complete disaster is the stunning visual scenarios and once again, a good performance from Tom Cruise. But, not of that points can compensate the boring story and confusing narrative. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the worst movie I've ever seen. The only reason I saw this movie was because I saw that Morgan Freeman was in it and I was like "Hey Morgan Freeman's in it it couldn't possibly suck really bad" yet it definitely did. My main (emphasis on "main" meaning definitely not limited to) problem with this disgrace of-a-movie is that it makes no sense. I don't know if one can message me on Meta critic but if you can could someone please attempt to explain this movie to me. This is me at the movie:

    So there's a guy and he's like a clone i guess? Wait what? Who? How? When? Where? I went to the movie with my mom and it took our brainpower together about 2 days to sort of figure out what this movie was about.
    Expand

See all 280 User Reviews

Trailers