Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 912 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft,Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. Part of a massive operation to extract vital resources after decades of war with a terrifying threat known as the Scavs, Jack’s mission is nearly complete. But when he rescues a beautiful stranger from a downed spacecraft, he begins to question everything he knows. [Universal Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Oblivion is a technical triumph rather than a philosophical breakthrough, demonstrating how beautifully digital effects can be blended with real people and real sets, demonstrating that neither Tom Cruise nor the 1970s will ever die, and announcing the unexpected arrival of a major science-fiction director.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Franco
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    Oblivion is a terrific-looking movie, alternating spare, sterile environments with homey organic ones, and making both look tremendously pretty. Kosinski also handles his action well, with cut-and-dried clarity and edge-of-seat energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 10, 2013
    67
    It is overlong, and familiar, and never quite hits top gear -- it's never especially bad, but neither is it especially excellent, beyond the visual wow factor. But there's still a lot to admire in the film, not least that it's engaging from the first moment to the last.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    Kosinski has again built a fantasy world that feels real to its core, but once more put most effort into the scenery and too little into the people.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Oscar-winners Morgan Freeman and Melissa Leo turn up in cameo roles anyone could have played. Kosinski was smart to limit their screen time, because it’s awkward to have actors with weight and charisma hanging around those who lack both.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 18, 2013
    12
    Absent of any sense of self-awareness, Oblivion seems only self-serious, a ponderous mess both misguided and unaware.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 278
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of aWhile the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    This movie was very solid all around. I think the writers did a fantastic job with the plot by generating a very engaging story which makesThis movie was very solid all around. I think the writers did a fantastic job with the plot by generating a very engaging story which makes you care about the characters. The story has a few twists and definitely will make you think a little. Furthermore, the special effects are all great with just the right amount of action and I think Cruise is very believable. In the end there really isn't much to complain about. If you are looking for a movie with a really awesome story and great effects I highly suggest this one. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Its beautiful, its intense, its exciting, and its a bit confusing. But, all in all i really enjoyed this, even though the story was a bitIts beautiful, its intense, its exciting, and its a bit confusing. But, all in all i really enjoyed this, even though the story was a bit confusing, espesially at the end. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    Oblivion provides stunning visuals and a cinematography that is truly mesmerizing but as the story moves along, all the beauty begins toOblivion provides stunning visuals and a cinematography that is truly mesmerizing but as the story moves along, all the beauty begins to disappear and your left with a beautiful beginning and a somewhat lifeless ending. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    6
    A surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan ofA surprisingly decent Sci-Fi film nothing special but good enough for me to at least watch it unlike "After Earth". I'm really not a fan of Tom Cruise the only movies of his that iv'e actually watched and liked in the past 10 years was Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol. Well he barely in Tropic Thunder though when he was he was super funny so it was cool to see him in another decent film that i liked. Some fantastic use of CGI everything was top notch and didn't look overly fake.

    Story wasn't really that great and it seemed like half way through the movie they decided to throw in multiple sci-fi movie cliches and it just didn't all come together right. Morgan Freeman was barley in this and when he was it still wasn't anything special sure there at the end he has some great scenes but it just wasn't enough.

    Overall i give a 6.5 definitely thought this could have been better but for a Tom Cruise movie it really wasn't that bad and worth a watch if you like sci-fi.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2015
    5
    An uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case,An uneven mix of Moon, Star Wars, The Matrix and any post-apocalyptic movie. Cruise stars as usual as the hero of the story (in this case, even multiple hero), a guy named Jack who is watching over planet earth after an alien invasion destroyed the moon.

    He lives in a wonderful, futuristic villa with a beautiful, stylish, well-dressed woman and commutes by helicopter around the planet to fix broken weapons. Not a bad job or accommodation, if you ask me.
    Desolate earth looks quite peaceful and not having traffic jams of annoying neighbors looks great. Unfortunately for Jack, dark secrets are lurking around. Jack discovers that things are not quite as he thinks and that perhaps it would have been better if they were.

    The discovery involves the crash of an "old" spacecraft containing mysterious Julia, who is in mysterious ways related with Jack. After the crash the movie lose steam and it turns into a boring ride involving too many video-game style fights.

    The end is quite a let-down. Throughout the movie, which is a good 20 minutes too long, I just kept wondering what Jack and co. were eating, since there was no visible sign of agriculture, fishing or any other activity that provided food. And also, where there those stylish clothes coming from…
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the worst movie I've ever seen. The only reason I saw this movie was because I saw that Morgan Freeman was in it and I was like "Hey Morgan Freeman's in it it couldn't possibly suck really bad" yet it definitely did. My main (emphasis on "main" meaning definitely not limited to) problem with this disgrace of-a-movie is that it makes no sense. I don't know if one can message me on Meta critic but if you can could someone please attempt to explain this movie to me. This is me at the movie:

    So there's a guy and he's like a clone i guess? Wait what? Who? How? When? Where? I went to the movie with my mom and it took our brainpower together about 2 days to sort of figure out what this movie was about.
    Expand

See all 278 User Reviews

Trailers