Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 881 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Joseph Kosinski
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Mystery, Thriller
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 124 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Oblivion is a technical triumph rather than a philosophical breakthrough, demonstrating how beautifully digital effects can be blended with real people and real sets, demonstrating that neither Tom Cruise nor the 1970s will ever die, and announcing the unexpected arrival of a major science-fiction director.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Franco
    Apr 17, 2013
    75
    Oblivion is a terrific-looking movie, alternating spare, sterile environments with homey organic ones, and making both look tremendously pretty. Kosinski also handles his action well, with cut-and-dried clarity and edge-of-seat energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 10, 2013
    67
    It is overlong, and familiar, and never quite hits top gear -- it's never especially bad, but neither is it especially excellent, beyond the visual wow factor. But there's still a lot to admire in the film, not least that it's engaging from the first moment to the last.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Apr 10, 2013
    60
    Kosinski has again built a fantasy world that feels real to its core, but once more put most effort into the scenery and too little into the people.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Oscar-winners Morgan Freeman and Melissa Leo turn up in cameo roles anyone could have played. Kosinski was smart to limit their screen time, because it’s awkward to have actors with weight and charisma hanging around those who lack both.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 18, 2013
    12
    Absent of any sense of self-awareness, Oblivion seems only self-serious, a ponderous mess both misguided and unaware.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 269
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than its getting credit for, and although some pieces seem familiar, they are grounded in plot and explanations that hardly make them derivative. This has underrated written all over it. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed Oblivion. At times I felt like the creators had spent some time watching Tron Legacy for inspiration and flashes of futuristic art direction. I even felt that the movie represents a lot of what the upcoming game from Bungie (creators of the "Halo" franchise) have in store for "Destiny" (for you gamers out there, you'll know what I mean). The movie is straight-up cool. The music score was powerful. Tom Cruise doesn't get in the way. The final scenes of the movie may surprise many (it certainly caught me off guard). It's unfortunate that this movie isn't perfect, because what a monumental experience that would have been. It certainly would have made it harder for the upcoming Star Trek to standout. But the gist of it is: Oblivion is good. Some won't absolutely love it, but I believe most will enjoy it. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    I think the critics have been too hard on this one. Stunning cinematography, soundtrack, Olga Kurylenko, and a plot that isn't completely predictable. Getting Tom Cruise involved may have been a mistake (he's something of a ridiculous person these days), but if you like dystopian sci-fi, you'll like Oblivion. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    Great setting, great World, great Visuals, great robotics, the first hour or so is quite good, but after the aliens true identity is revealed, Things start going from bad to worse. Not a very good ending. All in all a mediocre scifi Flick. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although I enjoyed Oblivion there were moments where I found myself beginning to lull. I certainly am not knocking the film for it's obvious nods and similarities to other sci-fi because there's nothing wrong with that but it never really is able to wow or fully grasp my attention. I really enjoyed the first part of the movie where you are initially introduced to the character and the setting. This kind of apocalyptic setting is one of my favorites and it really shines in this film. Unfortunately there's never any draw towards the character and in my opinion Cruise was lackluster. He seemed very forced throughout the film and unnatural. Much like reading a Stephen King novel (especially It) as soon as I discovered what the aliens were (humans) it was a meh moment, not to mention the fact that if you see a trailer for a movie you can guess what's going to happen. They really tried to throw in as much as they could, what with clones, droids, etc. Nothing just ever seemed to hold any weight. I was expecting an epic battle of thousands of Tom Cruises being sent to destroy the human resistance but instead the evil entity sent two drones. That for me was a let down, I certainly expected a big bang of a battle but was underwhelmed. I enjoyed seeing Nikolaj Coster-Waldau but his character was so underdeveloped, he was just a familiar face. The story overall took a lot from other films but never gave the audience anything to hold onto. There's certainly a homage to Hal 9000 but didn't give me the eerie feeling as a Space Odyssey did. All in all I thought the movie was an enjoyable one time experience and that's all it needed to be. It wasn't able to hold the atmosphere for the entire movie, only the beginning. Here's my biggest beef with the film; the ending. Tom Cruise flies into the evil triangle up in space with a nuke set to destroy it and put an end to the drones so humanity and repopulate Earth. The main issue here is from the beginning of the movie to the end-ish, the drones scan everything to tell if they're a threat or friend. Not here, not after Tom Cruise had defied Tet (Hal 9000) and just let him stroll on through with a nuke. Oh, and Morgan Freeman. Apparently they didn't want to check that the passenger he had with him was his wife but instead it was Morgan Freeman with a nuke. Whereas earlier in the film the drones could even pick up his DNA particles in the air but they can't tell the difference between a white lady and a black man. It just didn't add up for me. Why would this super being even care about the survivor in the first place when it had just blasted them before. It seemed like an easy cop out. Then it goes back to earth and one of his clones meets up with his wife who apparently gave birth on her own and he intends to fill in as the father/husband role. I imagine it will be really awkward when they find the other 998 Tom Cruise's scouring the planet, maybe they'll take turns being the father/husband. Who knows! Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the worst movie I've ever seen. The only reason I saw this movie was because I saw that Morgan Freeman was in it and I was like "Hey Morgan Freeman's in it it couldn't possibly suck really bad" yet it definitely did. My main (emphasis on "main" meaning definitely not limited to) problem with this disgrace of-a-movie is that it makes no sense. I don't know if one can message me on Meta critic but if you can could someone please attempt to explain this movie to me. This is me at the movie:

    So there's a guy and he's like a clone i guess? Wait what? Who? How? When? Where? I went to the movie with my mom and it took our brainpower together about 2 days to sort of figure out what this movie was about.
    Expand

See all 269 User Reviews

Trailers