Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 10, 2009
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
38
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
AkutoSep 11, 2011
Overall a pretty funny movie, but a bit irritating if you're the type to notice details, like how Seth Rogen can commit crime after crime in public, sometimes against police themselves, with little repercussion. Or how handfuls of pills andOverall a pretty funny movie, but a bit irritating if you're the type to notice details, like how Seth Rogen can commit crime after crime in public, sometimes against police themselves, with little repercussion. Or how handfuls of pills and alcohol aren't lethal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelFApr 11, 2009
Absolutely hilarious. A bipolar hero? I was rooting for him!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PorterhouseWagonsmithApr 11, 2009
Comparisons to "Taxi Driver" are appropriate, but this movie is 10x better because it's FUNNY! Don't listen to the ivory tower critics. See a movie about life in the real world of minimum wage workers with impossible dreams they Comparisons to "Taxi Driver" are appropriate, but this movie is 10x better because it's FUNNY! Don't listen to the ivory tower critics. See a movie about life in the real world of minimum wage workers with impossible dreams they hold in a death grip. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteFSep 27, 2009
Really dumb movie with absolutely terrible writing, bad ugly acting and moronic directing. Only a complete idiot would like this movie. Shame on you stupid critcs..shame on you
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SpangleAug 19, 2016
Ever watch a movie and realize you are wildly incapable of putting together your thoughts on what you just watched? Well, that was me with Observe and Report. A disturbing look at a man suffering from extreme mental illness and rife with darkEver watch a movie and realize you are wildly incapable of putting together your thoughts on what you just watched? Well, that was me with Observe and Report. A disturbing look at a man suffering from extreme mental illness and rife with dark jokes and dark scenes (date rape...). That said, the film can be quite funny at times and is reminiscent of a lesser Taxi Driver-esque look at those suffering from violent mood swings and violent inclinations such as Seth Rogen in this film. Rogen is very good in the lead role and encapsulates this delusion and the man different sides of Ronnie. Though he can be quite awkward and creepy, this is all part of his character and can be very tough to watch. Essentially, Ronnie is a very good antihero and thoroughly unreliable narrator. You can be misled into rooting for him many times, even if his actions dictate that he is certainly not the hero of this tale. Overall, Observe and Report is never quite as funny as it thinks it is, but the dark picture portrays of its protagonist/antihero is richly rewarding and thoroughly disturbing. Observe and Report plays less as a comedy and more as a drama about a man who suffers from a serious mental illness and for that, it really hits hard at times. Unfortunately, its tone is all over the place and the film can never decide whether it wants to horrify you, make you laugh, or extract drama and tears from the situation. For this inconsistent tone, the film winds up being only slightly above average. If it remained more focused, it could have been far better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
PaulCOct 9, 2009
This movie was terrible. Rude jokes, bad language and drug use in a mall was supposed to be funny. Things seemed out of place and disjointed with no real story line. I can't see how any critics would say it was good at all. It tried to This movie was terrible. Rude jokes, bad language and drug use in a mall was supposed to be funny. Things seemed out of place and disjointed with no real story line. I can't see how any critics would say it was good at all. It tried to be a raunchy Paul Blart Mall Cop and it did not succeed. Try the other mall cop movie if you want a few laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayK.Oct 1, 2009
Amazing. Nearly perfect. Funny, unique, emotive. Any reviewer that can't at least acknowledge the greatness of this movie really is unqualified
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SeanF.Oct 5, 2009
I really don't get Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and all of that crew. In my opinion collectively the whole lot of them have only made a select few even watchable 'films'. These guys have been nothing but bad for the I really don't get Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and all of that crew. In my opinion collectively the whole lot of them have only made a select few even watchable 'films'. These guys have been nothing but bad for the quality of major Hollywood comedies IMHO. Unquestionably, they've made a lot of money for a lot of folks in the major motion picture industry (and they've undoubtedly put a lot of butts in the seats) but IMHO, their (plus Adam Sandler's, not that he's part of their crew) fifteen minutes, really ought to be up. Ray Liotta's acting career must really be in dire straits to have participated in any way in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Johnny2centsOct 7, 2009
Observe. Hey I can write a screen play!! Here is the secret recipe. F--ck You, No F--k You, No F--k You. Motherf--ker. C--ks--cker. Repeat ten to fifteen times every five minutes for 88 minutes et voila a movie. Report. This movie is truly Observe. Hey I can write a screen play!! Here is the secret recipe. F--ck You, No F--k You, No F--k You. Motherf--ker. C--ks--cker. Repeat ten to fifteen times every five minutes for 88 minutes et voila a movie. Report. This movie is truly an insult to comedy. Ray Liotta shame on you. Celia Weston shame shame shame on you. Michael Pena you already played in real disaster movie so give it up. And one more thing can someone PLEEEEASE sent Seth Rogen off far away to play in a stage version of Shrek for the next 10 years so that we don't have to see him in any more of his childish crap on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
denisevApr 11, 2009
I laughed hard at times.. and at other times, i was like, where is this going? very real though- i was one of those kids in jr. high that used to clown on dudes like Ronny, until one day, in Sr. year of highschool, Ronny hit me w/ his I laughed hard at times.. and at other times, i was like, where is this going? very real though- i was one of those kids in jr. high that used to clown on dudes like Ronny, until one day, in Sr. year of highschool, Ronny hit me w/ his backpack due to my friends mumbling mean things about him.. and i'm a girl!! arrrg.. he had major anger issues.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AMovieCriticApr 10, 2009
Yeesh. Had some funny moments but this dark comedy's at times so dark that it's almost hard to watch. Rogen's character's a delusional and psychotic person with a very bleak life who simply has no grasp of any sort of Yeesh. Had some funny moments but this dark comedy's at times so dark that it's almost hard to watch. Rogen's character's a delusional and psychotic person with a very bleak life who simply has no grasp of any sort of reality, and watching him's just not funny. Yes, some jokes work, but overall it's hard to get any enjoyment out of a movie that tries to play up a character, who so obviously needs psychiatric help, for laughs. And when the laughs do happen, they're really not all that funny. Plus, towards the end, the movie goes completely into fantasy land, and it just doesn't make sense considering the realism before it. I dunno. An unfortunate miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadSApr 10, 2009
Even at his most heroic, during the movie's major action set-piece, the filmmaker undermines the mall cop's heroism with a quick excursion into racially-motivated violence as he strives for a redemptive outcome to his Even at his most heroic, during the movie's major action set-piece, the filmmaker undermines the mall cop's heroism with a quick excursion into racially-motivated violence as he strives for a redemptive outcome to his citizen's arrest. Ronnie Barnhardt(Seth Rogen) is a genuine anti-hero, the rarest of things in a contemporary mainstream comedy, let alone, contemporary mainstream film, period. At times, the mall cop can be downright hateful, especially in a politically incorrect scene with an Arab vendor that will give large portions of the audience pause. Although "Observe and Report" makes compromises galore, making amends with the skin-care expert he derisively calls Saddamn(Aziz Ansari) isn't one of them, thankfully. Ronnie remains fundamentally Ronnie. It helps offset some of the film's inevitable banalities. After the major action set-piece climaxes in a heart-stopping act of violence, for a split-second, "Observe and Report", you think, went all the way with a truly subversive coda. But alas, the film plays it safe, and slaps on a happy ending, which is the unfortunate mandate for all studio films, comedies especially. "Observe and Report" never goes the distance with its "Bad Mall Cop" sensibilities; the film goes depressingly mainstream when it counts. For instance, the character of Nell(Collette Wolfe), who is obviously pretty in spite of her temporary dismobilization and bad hair, should be plain, the complete opposite of his dream girl Brandi(Anna Faris), appearance-wise, because their convergence is supposed to be the union of two lonely people. All dolled up and cast-free, Nell now seems ill-fitted for the down-and-out security guard, but that's the Hollywood way: obsessively ramming happy endings down its customers' throats. For a racist with anger management problems, who in one scene, comes close to raping a girl, "Observe and Report" seems awfully forced in its attempts to make Ronnie likable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexTApr 12, 2009
A wonderful movie that is destined to be misunderstood for quite some time. The film establishes Jody Hill's voice of comedy that takes us into the mind of a repugnant asshole, gives us some laughs, and then throws us out of the theater A wonderful movie that is destined to be misunderstood for quite some time. The film establishes Jody Hill's voice of comedy that takes us into the mind of a repugnant asshole, gives us some laughs, and then throws us out of the theater feeling conflicted and uneasy. By having the main asshole character's delusions have strong moments of influence over the narrative, the uncomfortable feelings that have been Hill's bread and butter are taken to a truly sublime level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DoronKApr 17, 2009
Awful! Very few funny scenes and simply boring. Unlike Virgin, profanity is not funny here and overused. Lead character is just plain crazy--not that funny! Fell asleep, but didn't leave at least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EugeneWApr 23, 2009
My wife ans I walked out on this movie and got our money back. Jody Hill better go back and take a refresher course in writing . Lanuage was deplorable.F word every other word. If Jody Hill thinks his audience needs to hear filthy lanuage to My wife ans I walked out on this movie and got our money back. Jody Hill better go back and take a refresher course in writing . Lanuage was deplorable.F word every other word. If Jody Hill thinks his audience needs to hear filthy lanuage to make a movie funny, he needs to think again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexHApr 24, 2009
A very stupid movie that will cause a few laughs credited to Michael Pena, for once not Seth Rogen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
daveySep 28, 2009
I thought it was remarkably unfunny, except for maybe 3 good lines. Mostly embarrassingly condescending, confused, and pointless. Rogen could have been replaced by R2D2. The director couldn't decide if it was supposed to be a weepy or a I thought it was remarkably unfunny, except for maybe 3 good lines. Mostly embarrassingly condescending, confused, and pointless. Rogen could have been replaced by R2D2. The director couldn't decide if it was supposed to be a weepy or a comedy, so tried for both and got neither. Maybe the worst movie I've seen this year (unless Sex and the City was this year). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SmithSep 30, 2009
There is nothing here to recommend. This is a joyless film that actually could have been quite good if ANY of the joke set-ups would have played out with a humourous punch line but, no. This is just a mean spirited film and may hold a record There is nothing here to recommend. This is a joyless film that actually could have been quite good if ANY of the joke set-ups would have played out with a humourous punch line but, no. This is just a mean spirited film and may hold a record for comic mis-fires. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JTOct 3, 2009
Besides the final few minutes, this film is devoid of laughs. Is it just me or do Seth Rogen's films seem to be getting less and less entertaining?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
McCormickOApr 11, 2009
I've never rated a movie on line before but I felt compelled to after suffering through the worst 65 minutes of my life. I could have never lived with myself if I didn't walk out of Observe and Report and warn others of how truly I've never rated a movie on line before but I felt compelled to after suffering through the worst 65 minutes of my life. I could have never lived with myself if I didn't walk out of Observe and Report and warn others of how truly awful this film is. If you enjoy passing kidney stones, chewing on tinfoil, or Yoko Ono's greatest hits, then this film is for you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeeNApr 12, 2009
The movie was stupid and wasn't funny. I don't even no how this movie got to the big screen. Ugly guy running around naked. Stealing, shooting up drugs, the F word ever other word. Even my 24 year old son hated it. He said the The movie was stupid and wasn't funny. I don't even no how this movie got to the big screen. Ugly guy running around naked. Stealing, shooting up drugs, the F word ever other word. Even my 24 year old son hated it. He said the reviewers were getting payed off to give this movie a good rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimFApr 13, 2009
I didn't expect to see a comic version of "Taxi Driver" at the multiplex, but I'm glad that Jody Hill, in true 1970's spirit, decided to make one. "Observe and Report" is painfully funny, the pain coming from the knowledge I didn't expect to see a comic version of "Taxi Driver" at the multiplex, but I'm glad that Jody Hill, in true 1970's spirit, decided to make one. "Observe and Report" is painfully funny, the pain coming from the knowledge that the psychosis at the heart of the central character's actions are both real and increasingly commonplace, while the humor derives from Hill's ability to send up our expectations of the usual irrelevant nonsense. The film ultimately doesn't have any grand meaning, except perhaps to say that the violence that's constantly recycled in bad and meaningless action films is probably a lot more meaningful to the people watching it than most of us would care to admit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnPApr 17, 2009
A fantastic movie, as mentioned, that's destined to be misunderstood. I enjoyed it because of the creativity in the presentation of the characters and the themes of the movie. Though it still follows the Hero's motif as almost all A fantastic movie, as mentioned, that's destined to be misunderstood. I enjoyed it because of the creativity in the presentation of the characters and the themes of the movie. Though it still follows the Hero's motif as almost all hollywood flicks do nowadays, the viewer is forced to hate the main character because of his psychosis, but love him at the same time for his upright belief in justice and kindness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennyPApr 18, 2009
This movie is absolutely awesome. It really was a completely refreshing and dark comedy. Anybody who accuses Seth Rogen of being the same character in all his movies needs to check this one out, it's absolutely genius, and way ahead of This movie is absolutely awesome. It really was a completely refreshing and dark comedy. Anybody who accuses Seth Rogen of being the same character in all his movies needs to check this one out, it's absolutely genius, and way ahead of its time. Jody Hill (who also created the show East Bound and Down) is doing an excellent job of making a name for himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KGFreezeApr 20, 2009
This movie is not funny. It's quite disturbing. And it's really really good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
martinbApr 26, 2009
Very demented take on the genre,very funny!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Sep 15, 2009
Not too bad, but I must say I was a bit disappointed. Anna Faris is great as always, but for a comedy, it has a lot of meanness to it, which kind of spoils the fun. It does have some great scenes, I just wish it was more consistent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanS.Sep 23, 2009
This movie makes you laugh at just how messed up it is. It's really quite brilliantly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ToddFSep 24, 2009
Eugene, I agree with you that the movie wasn't that great, or even that funny. But it did have a few funny moments. But to walk out of a movie and give it a 0/10 because YOU are too fragile to handle the f word? Thats deplorable. I give Eugene, I agree with you that the movie wasn't that great, or even that funny. But it did have a few funny moments. But to walk out of a movie and give it a 0/10 because YOU are too fragile to handle the f word? Thats deplorable. I give it a 4 for entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayDSep 30, 2009
I've only seen one other movie this bad, and that was Palahniuk's "Choke". Tons of now-obligitory male frontal nudity? Check. Date rape used as comedy? Check. This has worse writing than a George Lucas script. It only gets a 3 I've only seen one other movie this bad, and that was Palahniuk's "Choke". Tons of now-obligitory male frontal nudity? Check. Date rape used as comedy? Check. This has worse writing than a George Lucas script. It only gets a 3 because of the great soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful